2. Claims 1-12 are pending. Bolded claim language below regards newly amended subject matter with a corresponding new rejection citation. Newly amended subject matter that is not bolded does not comprise a new rejection citation (utilizes previous interpretation that is unchanged in view of the new language) or is a newly added claim.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6, and 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2002/0181090), herein after referred to as Song, in view of Augst et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0006029), herein after referred to as Augst, and further in view of Carpini et al. (US Patent Application Publication 20150304743), herein after referred to as Carpini.
Regarding independent claim 1, Song discloses a cascaded optical amplifier (Figure 3) for imparting gain to input signals operating at wavelengths within a defined wavelength range (Paragraph [0019] examples the produced broad optical amplified output wavelength range as C -band 1530-1560nm and L-Band 1570-1600nm.), the cascaded optical amplifier comprising:
a first amplifier arrangement (Paragraph [0019] describes 18+14 as a first amplifier stage) responsive to an input optical signal (12) operating at a wavelength within the defined wavelength range (1550nm) and including a first section of rare-earth doped fiber (EDF 18m) [ ], one (only EDF 18m “directly”) [ ] of the first section of rare-earth doped fiber (EDF 18m) [ ] receiving as a second input a pump beam (14) operating at a wavelength (980nm) selected to provide amplification of the input signal (Input 1590nm), creating a first amplified output signal (20) from the first amplifier arrangement (14+18) (Paragraph [0019] describers WSC 20 to receive the amplified output from of the first amplifier arrangement 18.);
a second amplifier arrangement (Paragraph [0019] describes 26+30 as a second amplifier stage) responsive to at least to first amplified output signals (20) within a longer wavelength portion (L-Band 1570-1600nm) of the defined wavelength range (1590nm), the second amplifier arrangement (26+30) comprising at least one section of rare-earth doped fiber (EDF 95m) and a reflective element (32) disposed at a far-end termination (Paragraph [0024] describes after second amplification stage the amplified L-band signals traveling in the forward direction are reflected by reflector 32.) of the at least one section of rare-earth doped fiber (EDF 95m) to create an optical path length greater than a physical length of the at least one section of rare-earth doped fiber for providing amplification of the first amplified output signal within the longer wavelength portion (Paragraphs [0020]-[0021] describes the lengths of the first and second amplifier stages respectively as at least 18 meters and at least 95 meters.), creating a second amplified output signal from the second amplifier arrangement (Paragraph [0021] describes the circulator 24 to pass/output the amplified L-band, amplified by the second amplifier arrangement 26+30, towards WSC 24.);
an optical filter (20) disposed along a signal path between the output of the first amplifier arrangement (14+18) and the at least one section of rare-earth doped fiber (EDF 95m) of the second amplifier arrangement (26+30), the optical filter (20) directing, via a second signal path (Figure 3 filter 20 receives input from signal path output EDF 18m. The output of the filter splits to two different signal paths (neither the same as the input signal path before the filter), one to the circulator 24 and the other to the isolator 22.), signals operating within the longer wavelength portion (L-band) into (20→24→28) the at least one section of rare-earth doped fiber of the second amplifier arrangement (EDF 95m) (Paragraphs [0019]- [0020] describes the WSC 20 to split the amplified optical signals, of the first amplifier arrangement 18+14, into C-band and L-band.); and
wherein the cascaded optical amplifier is configured such that the outputs from the first and second amplifier arrangements are combined into a common output path of the cascaded optical amplifier with use of an optical combiner (34) (Paragraph [0019] describes WSC 34 for combining the C-band output from the isolator 22 and the reversely amplified L-band that is redirected by the circulator 24 towards the input of the WSC 34 to produce broad optical bandwidth.).
Song does not specifically disclose the first amplifier comprising a second section of rare-earth doped fiber (EDF 95m).
Augst discloses a first amplifier arrangement (Figure 6A 630) responsive to an input optical signal (601) operating at a wavelength within a defined wavelength range (inherent the optical signal 601 comprises a defined wavelength) and including a first section of rare-earth doped (paragraph [0005] describes the fiber to be ytterbium Yb doped) fiber (632) and a second section of rare-earth doped (paragraph [0005] describes the fiber to be ytterbium Yb doped) fiber (634), one (only 632 “directly” receives 620) or both (634 indirectly receives 620 via 632, paragraph [0044] describes that the pump diode(s) may alternately be connected to both 632+634) of the first section of rare-earth doped fiber (632) and the second section of rare-earth doped fiber (634) receiving as a second input a pump beam (620) operating at a wavelength (inherent the comp beam operates at a wavelength) selected to provide amplification (paragraph [0041]) of the input signal (601), creating a first amplified output signal (681) from the first amplifier arrangement (630).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Song’s first amplifier arrangement with second input pump beam with the known technique of comprising a second section of rare-earth doped fiber, wherein one or both of the sections of rare-earth doped fibers receive as a second input a pump beam yielding the predictable results of further amplifying the gain of the input signal as disclosed by Augst (paragraph [0036]).
Song does not specifically disclose wherein the cascaded optical amplifier is configured such that the outputs from the first and second amplifier arrangements are combined into a common output path of the cascaded optical amplifier without use of an optical combiner.
Carpini discloses wherein the cascaded optical amplifier is configured such that the outputs from the first and second amplifier arrangements are combined into a common output path of the cascaded optical amplifier without use of an optical combiner
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Song’s means of combining first and second amplifier outputs into a common output path via an optical combiner with the known technique of being replaced by an alternative means such as an optical circulator yielding the predictable results of performing the same function of combining optical outputs to a single common output path as disclosed by Carpini (paragraph [0050]).
Regarding claim 2, Song discloses the cascaded optical amplifier of claim 1, wherein the optical filter (Figure 3 20) is a wavelength-selective bandpass filter (Paragraphs [0019]- [0020] describes the WSC 20 to split the amplified optical signals, of the first amplifier arrangement 18+14, into C-band and L-band.) configured to direct amplified signals within a shorter wavelength portion (C-band) of the defined wavelength range (1590nm) along a first signal path (20→22→34), and direct amplified signals within the longer wavelength portion (L-band) into (20→24→28→30) the second amplifier arrangement (26+30) (paragraph [0021]).
Regarding claim 4, Song discloses the cascaded optical amplifier of claim 1, wherein the optical filter (Figure 3 20) is a reflective optical filter (Paragraph [0020] describes the WSC 20 may take many forms including components suitable for reflecting one or more band of wavelengths.) disposed at the input (20→24→28→30) to the at least one section of rare-earth doped fiber (EDF 95m) of the second amplifier arrangement (26+30), the reflective optical filter (20) configured to reflect (20→22) amplified signals within the shorter wavelength range (C-band) and pass amplified signals within the longer wavelength range (L-band) into the at least one section of rare-earth doped fiber (EDF 95m) of the second amplifier arrangement (26+30) (paragraph [0021]).
Regarding claim 6, Song discloses the cascaded optical amplifier of claim 4, further comprising:
a three-port optical circulator (Figure 3 24) disposed to receive at a first input port (20→24) the first amplified signal formed by the first amplifier arrangement (14+18) (paragraph [0019]), the first amplified signal exiting at the bi-directional port (24↔28) of the optical circulator (24) and coupled into the reflective optical fiber (32) (paragraph [0021]), with amplified signals within both the shorter wavelength range (C-band) (Paragraph [0021] describes the circulator 24 may receive reflected L-band and backward C-band ASE propagating towards the circulator 24, the circulator 24 filters out the noise light including the ASE and passes the amplified L-band towards 34.) and longer wavelength range (L-band) coupled into the bidirectional port (24→28 / 24→34) and directed through the optical circulator (24) to exit at the output port (24→34).
Regarding claim 8, Song discloses the optical amplifier of claim 1, wherein the optical filter (Figure 3 20) comprises a tunable filter for adjusting a wavelength defining a boundary between the first, shorter wavelength range (C-band) and the second, longer wavelength range (L-band) (Paragraph [0020] describes the exampled ranges of C-band from 1530-1560 nm and L-band from 1570-1600 nm may vary (tunable) dependent upon implementation, design, and EDF.).
Regarding claim 9, Song discloses the optical amplifier of claim 1, wherein the first, shorter wavelength range comprises a C-band wavelength range and the second, longer wavelength range comprises an L-band wavelength range (paragraph [0019]).
Regarding claim 10, Song discloses the optical amplifier of claim 1, wherein the first amplifier arrangement (Figure 3 14+18) is configured as a reflective arrangement (Paragraph [0020] describes the WSC 20 may take many forms including components suitable for reflecting one or more band of wavelengths.) and further comprises a reflective element (20) disposed at a far-end termination (right side of EDF 18m as oriented in the figure) of the one (only EDF 18m) or both of the first section of rare-earth doped fiber (EDF 18m) and the second section of rare-earth doped fiber.
Regarding claim 11, Song discloses the optical amplifier of claim 1, wherein the second amplifier arrangement (Figure 3 26+30) further comprises a three-port optical circulator (24) including an input port (20→24), a bi-directional signal port (24↔28), and an output port (24→34),
the second signal path of the optical filter (20) is coupled to the input port (20→24) of the three-port optical circulator (24) such that amplified signals within the second, longer wavelength range (L-band) propagate through the optical circulator (24) and exit at the bidirectional port (24↔28) (paragraph [0019]),
the at least one section of rare-earth doped fiber (EDF 95m) of the second amplifier arrangement is coupled (via 28) to the bi-directional port (24↔28) of the three-port optical circulator (24) and used to create additional amplification of signals within the second, longer wavelength range (L-band) (paragraphs [0019]-[0020]) and thereafter direct a twice-amplified signal within the second, longer wavelength range (L-band) into the bi-directional port (28↔24) of the optical circulator (24) so as to propagate therethrough and exit at the output port (24→34) of the optical circulator (24) as the amplified output of the second amplifier arrangement (26+30) (paragraphs [0019]-[0020]).
Regarding claim 12, Song discloses the optical amplifier as defined in claim 1, wherein each section of rare-earth doped fiber (Figure 3 EDF 18m and EDF 95m) comprises a section of erbium-doped fiber (paragraph [0019]) and each pump beam (14) operates at a wavelength of about 980 nm (Figure 3 and paragraph [0019] describes 14 to operate at 980 nm.).
5. Claim(s) 3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song-Augst-Carpini in view of Grubb et al. (US Patent 6,344,925), herein after referred to as Grubb.
Regarding claim 3, Song discloses the cascaded optical amplifier of claim 2, wherein the wavelength-selective bandpass filter comprises a [ ] filter (Figure 3 Paragraph [0020] describes the WSC 20 may take many forms including a grating, band splitter, thin film filter, WEDM, and other components suitable for reflecting/redirecting one or more band of wavelengths.).
Song does not specifically disclose the wavelength-selective bandpass filter comprises a dichroic filter.
Grubb discloses the wavelength-selective bandpass filter comprises a dichroic filter (column 5 lines 8-11).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Song’s wavelength-selective bandpass filter with the known technique of comprising a dichroic filter yielding the predictable results of performing filtering as disclosed by Grubb (column 5 lines 8-11).
Regarding claim 5, Song discloses the cascaded optical amplifier of claim 4, wherein the reflective optical filter comprises a [ ] grating configured to reflect amplified signals within the shorter wavelength range (Figure 3 C-band) and pass amplified signals within the longer wavelength range (L-band) (Paragraph [0020] describes the WSC 20 may take many forms including a grating, band splitter, thin film filter, WEDM, and other components suitable for reflecting/redirecting one or more band of wavelengths.).
Song does not specifically disclose the reflective optical filter comprises a fiber Bragg grating.
Grubb discloses the reflective optical filter comprises a fiber Bragg grating (column 5 lines 8-11).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Song’s wavelength-selective bandpass filter with the known technique of comprising a fiber Bragg grating yielding the predictable results of performing filtering as disclosed by Grubb (column 5 lines 8-11).
6. Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song-Augst-Carpini in view of Williams et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0281323), herein after referred to as Williams.
Regarding claim 7, Song discloses the optical amplifier of claim 1.
Song does not specifically disclose further comprises a gain flattening filter disposed along the common output path.
Williams discloses further comprises a gain flattening filter disposed along the common output path (paragraph [0065]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Song with the known technique of further comprises a gain flattening filter disposed along the common output path yielding the predictable results of reducing the wavelength (or channel)-dependent gain variation fundamental to the doped-fiber amplifier as disclosed by Williams (paragraph [0065]).
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant's arguments filed 6/29/2026 have been fully considered but relate towards newly amended subject matter. Newly cited art Carpini is utilized in combination with Song and Augst to reject the newly amended subject matter. Please refer to the new rejection necessitated by amendment above as rebuttal. This action is non-final in view of the RCE.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER E LEIBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621