DETAILED ACTION
Summary
Since the Office Action mailed on 14 May 2026, claim 2 is cancelled, and claims 1 and 3 are amended. Claims 1, 3-7 and 9-13 remain in the application that is being further examined in this Office Action.
New in this Office Action are 112a and 103 rejections necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-7 and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 was amended for a limitation to recite “wherein the plurality of bumpy parts have thicknesses different from thicknesses of adjacent bumpy parts, respectively” and claim 3 was amended for the previous recitation of “height” to be now recited “thickness”. Applicant included in the filed remarks that support for this amendment comes from [0044] to [0045] of the filed specification. However, these paragraphs of the specification discloses only “height” and “heights” of the bumpy part, and does not disclose thickness as being the dimensional extent of the bumpy part rather than a positional elevation.
This rejection is also applied to claims 3-7 and 9-13 by way of dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-7 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al (US 2022/0029231 A1) in view of Kim et al (US 2011/0086259 A1). These prior art references being cited to as Hwang and Kim, respectively, hereinafter in this Office Action.
Regarding claim 1, Hwang discloses a pouch-type secondary battery (“a battery” [0006]), comprising:
an electrode assembly (“an electrode assembly” [0006]);
a pouch configured to accommodate the electrode assembly inside (“a laminate sheet for a pouch , the laminate sheet including an inner resin layer , a metal layer , and an outer resin layer , and includes a storage space in which an electrode assembly and an electrolyte are accommodated” [0006]); and
a sealing part formed along a side circumference of the pouch (“a sealing portion sealed around the electrode assembly” [0006]),
wherein the sealing part comprises a pattern sealing part in at least a portion thereof (“The sealing portion 300 includes a first fusion portion 310 having the smallest thickness in the sealing portion 300 and a second fusion portion 320 having the largest thickness in the sealing portion 300. The first fusion portion 310 and the second fusion portion 320 are continuously formed at least one time alternately in a direction from an innermost side of the sealing portion 300 in contact with the inner space of the secondary battery pouch 1 to an outer side of the sealing portion 300 .” [0031]), and
the pattern sealing part is provided with a plurality of bumpy parts protruding in a direction forming an angle of less than 90º with a height direction of the pouch (Fig. 2 shows the pattern of each pair of a first fusion portion 310 and a second fusion portion 320 protrudes in an inclined direction that is less than 90º with respect to the height direction of the disclosed pouch), and
wherein the plurality of bumpy parts have thicknesses different from thicknesses of adjacent bumpy parts, respectively (“a first fusion portion 310 having the smallest thickness in the sealing portion 300 and a second fusion portion 320 having the largest thickness in the sealing portion 300” [0030]).
Hwang does not disclose wherein any one bumpy part among the plurality of bumpy parts and another bumpy part adjacent to the any one bumpy part are arranged to have a step shape in which thicknesses thereof sequentially increase or decrease.
However, Kim discloses a pouch-type secondary battery (“a pouch type secondary cell” [0037]), comprising an electrode assembly (“electrode assembly of the positive electrode, the separation layer, and the negative electrode” [0038]), a pouch configured to accommodate the electrode assembly inside (“a pouch type cell casing” [0038]), and a sealing part formed along a side circumference of the pouch (“sealing units sealed by the thermal compression sealing” [0038] where “the outer circumferential surfaces 250 on both sides of the lower casing 220 form a sealing unit” [0010]) that is provided with a plurality of bumpy parts protruding in a direction forming an angle of less than 90º with a height direction of the pouch (Fig. 5 shows the pattern of bumps protrudes in an inclined direction that is less than 90º with respect to the height direction of the disclosed pouch).
Kim teaches wherein any one bumpy part among the plurality of bumpy parts and another bumpy part adjacent to the any one bumpy part are arranged to have a step shape in which thicknesses thereof sequentially increase or decrease (Fig. 5 where consecutive bumps formed from the left to right direction of the figure has thicknesses that progressively increases), and that this feature of the sealing part enhances water resistance while guaranteeing the insulating and sealing property of the sealing part due to the relative thin thickness on the outer side ([0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to replace the sealing part of Hwang with the sealing part taught in Kim, wherein any one bumpy part among the plurality of bumpy parts and another bumpy part adjacent to the any one bumpy part are arranged to have a step shape in which thicknesses thereof sequentially increase or decrease, in order to achieve a sealing part with enhanced water resistance that also guarantees insulating and sealing properties.
Regarding claim 3, modified Hwang discloses the pouch-type secondary battery with all of the features set forth in claim 1 above, and wherein a thickness of each bumpy part of the pattern sealing part is 0.01 mm to 1 mm (Hwang “In the secondary battery pouch 1 according to the embodiment of the present disclosure , the first fusion portion 310 is formed to a thickness of 200 to 225 µm as the heat fusion layer 311 of the first fusion portion 310 is fused” [0054] and “In the secondary battery pouch 1 according to the embodiment of the present disclosure , the second fusion portion 320 is formed to a thickness of 225 to 250 µm as the heat fusion layer 321 of the second fusion portion 320 is fused .” [0058]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Hwang discloses the pouch-type secondary battery with all of the features set forth in claim 1 above, and wherein the number of the bumpy parts of the pattern sealing part is 2 to 10 (Kim Fig. 5 where 3 bumps is shown, and Kim [0058] discloses “the steps can include two or more discontinuous steps”).
Regarding claim 6, modified Hwang discloses the pouch-type secondary battery with all of the features set forth in claim 1 above, and wherein an area of the pattern sealing part is 10% to 90% with respect to 100% of a total area of the sealing part (“the fusion ratio of the heat fusion layer of the second fusion portion may be 24 to 57%” [0018] with respect to “the sealing portion” [0016]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Hwang discloses the pouch-type secondary battery with all of the features set forth in claim 1 above, and wherein a cathode tab connected to a cathode of the electrode assembly and an anode tab connected to an anode of the electrode assembly (Hwang [0006] discloses “Examples of the electrode assembly accommodated in the storage space may include a jelly - roll type ( wound type ) electrode assembly , a stack type electrode assembly , or a combination type ( stack / folding type ) electrode assembly .” where Kim [0005] discloses “The electrode assembly can include, for example, a cylinder type (i.e., a take-up type) to Jelly-roll type electrode assembly, a stack type electrode assembly in which a number of positive electrodes and negative electrodes cut in a specific size unit are sequentially stacked with a separation layer interposed therebetween, a stack/folding type electrode assembly in which bi-cells or full cells, each having positive electrodes and negative electrodes of a specific unit stacked therein with a separation layer interposed therebetween” and Kim [0011] discloses “Electrode tabs 310 and 320 protruded from the electrode assembly 300 are connected to the respective electrode leads 410 and 420.”) protrude from inside of the pouch through the sealing part to outside of the pouch, respectively, and pattern sealing parts are respectively located in portions of the sealing part where the cathode tab and the anode tab protrude (Hwang Fig. 2 shows the tab located above and protrudes from sealing portion 300).
Regarding claim 9, modified Hwang discloses the pouch-type secondary battery with all of the features set forth in claim 1 above, and wherein the bumpy part protrudes in the height direction of the pouch (Hwang Fig. 2 shows that first and second fusion portions 310 and 320 has thicknesses that extend in the thickness direction of the battery).
Regarding claim 10, modified Hwang discloses the pouch-type secondary battery with all of the features set forth in claim 1 above, and wherein the pouch comprises an upper pouch located at its upper part and a lower pouch located at its lower part, and the sealing part is formed to couple the upper pouch and the lower pouch (Hwang [0032] “In the secondary battery pouch 1 according to the embodiment of the present disclosure , the sealing portion 300 is formed by fusion of an upper sheet 100 and a lower sheet 200 , and the innermost side of the sealing portion 300 has the second fusion portion 320.).
Regarding claim 11, modified Hwang discloses the pouch-type secondary battery with all of the features set forth in claim 10 above, and wherein the bumpy part protrudes toward in a direction of the upper part or the lower part (Hwang Fig. 2 shows that first and second fusion portions 310 and 320 has thicknesses that extend toward where upper sheet 100 and lower sheet 200 are disposed in the battery).
Claims 5 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang (US 2022/0029231 A1) in view of Kim (US 2011/0086259 A1) and Miyake (US 2016/0043359 A1). The latter prior art reference being cited to as Miyake hereinafter in this Office Action.
Regarding claim 5, modified Hwang discloses the pouch-type secondary battery with all the features set forth in claim 1 above, but does not disclose wherein a width of each bumpy part of the pattern sealing part is 0.1 mm to 5 mm.
However, Miyake discloses a pouch-type secondary battery (“FIG. 20A illustrates a secondary battery” [0202]) comprising an electrode assembly (“in which the positive electrode active material layer 18 is provided on one surface of the positive electrode current collector 12 and the negative electrode active material layer 19 is provided on one surface of the negative electrode current collector 14. Specifically, the negative electrode active material layer 19 is provided on one Surface of the negative electrode current collector 14 and the separator 13 is stacked on and in contact with the negative electrode active material layer 19. On a surface of the separator 13 remote from the negative electrode active material layer 19, the positive electrode active material layer 18 that is provided on one surface of the positive electrode current collector 12 is provided…” [0202]), a pouch configured to accommodate the electrode assembly inside (“The secondary battery that can be fabricated according to Embodiment 1 or 2 includes a thin and flexible film as an exterior body” [0211]), and a sealing part formed along a side circumference of the pouch (“sealed on four sides” [0036]) wherein the sealing part comprises a pattern sealing part (“the projections are made different between an end portion of the film, which is subjected to pressure bonding” [0038]).
Miyake teaches wherein a width of each bumpy part of the pattern sealing part is 0.1 mm to 5 mm (“For a calculation model 1, r1 and r2 were set to 250 µm and 210 µm, respectively” [0113] where “FIG. 8 shows the relationship between t1/t2 and the maximum stress σ on the top portion of the projection obtained by the calculation.” [0114] and “Next, calculation was conducted in a similar manner under the condition where t1/t2 is greater than 5. For a calculation model 2, r1, r2, and the thickness t2 of the bottom portion were set to 500 µm, 460 µm, and 40 µm, respectively … FIG. 9 shows the calculation results” [0115]. Fig. 8 therefore shows maximum stress σ measurements for a bumpy part with a width of 420 µm and Fig. 9 shows maximum stress σ measurements for a bumpy part with a width of 920 µm, or 0.42 mm and 0.92 mm respectively, which both fall within the claimed width.).
Miyake further teaches that maximum stress applied to the top portion of the pouch of the battery is smaller as the width of the bumpy part decreases (comparison of Fig. 8, representing the corresponding bumpy part of smaller width, versus Fig. 9, representing the corresponding bumpy part of larger width), which reduces the risk of deterioration or breakage of the secondary battery as well as an electrolyte solution leakage ([0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to add a specified width range to adhere to for each bumpy part of the pattern sealing part of modified Hwang, in view of Miyake, wherein the width of each bumpy part of the pattern sealing part is 0.1 mm to 5 mm in order to achieve a structure of the pouch-type secondary battery that results in minimized stress on an upper part of the pouch that would reduce deterioration or breakage of the secondary battery and an occurrence of electrolyte leakage.
Regarding claim 12, modified Hwang discloses the pouch-type secondary battery with all of the features set forth in claim 1 above, but does not disclose a battery module comprising the pouch-type secondary battery as a unit cell.
However, Miyake discloses a pouch-type secondary battery (“FIG. 20A illustrates a secondary battery” [0202]) comprising an electrode assembly (“in which the positive electrode active material layer 18 is provided on one surface of the positive electrode current collector 12 and the negative electrode active material layer 19 is provided on one surface of the negative electrode current collector 14. Specifically, the negative electrode active material layer 19 is provided on one Surface of the negative electrode current collector 14 and the separator 13 is stacked on and in contact with the negative electrode active material layer 19. On a surface of the separator 13 remote from the negative electrode active material layer 19, the positive electrode active material layer 18 that is provided on one surface of the positive electrode current collector 12 is provided…” [0202]), a pouch configured to accommodate the electrode assembly inside (“The secondary battery that can be fabricated according to Embodiment 1 or 2 includes a thin and flexible film as an exterior body” [0211]), and a sealing part formed along a side circumference of the pouch (“sealed on four sides” [0036]) wherein the sealing part comprises a pattern sealing part (“the projections are made different between an end portion of the film, which is subjected to pressure bonding” [0038]).
Miyake teaches a battery module comprising the pouch-type secondary battery as a unit cell (“In the case of providing a laminated secondary battery in the vehicle, a battery module including a plurality of laminated secondary batteries is placed in one place or more than one place.” [0223]), and that the pouch-type secondary battery has a structure that is appropriate for including the pouch-type secondary battery as a unit cell of a plurality of pouch-type secondary batteries such that the plurality is placed in either only one place or more than one place of a hybrid electric vehicle as well as small spaces of the vehicle, which provides a vehicle with high-mileage and passenger storage space ([0223]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to add a battery module to the invention of modified Hwang, in view of Miyake, such that the battery module comprises the pouch-type secondary battery as a unit cell in order to achieve a means for powering a hybrid electric vehicle with high-mileage and sufficient passenger storage space.
Regarding claim 13, modified Hwang discloses a device comprising the battery module with all of the features set forth in claim 12 above as a power source (Miyake [0223] “providing a laminated secondary battery in the vehicle … The secondary battery is used not only to drive the electric motor, but also to supply electric power to a light-emitting device Such as a headlight 8101 or a room light (not illustrated).”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 has been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHARLENE BERMUDEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721