DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed September 11, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application. Applicant has submitted amendments to the claims along with other remarks. Claims 1-20 are still rejected by prior art references, refer to the following rejection for details.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, see pp. 1-3 of the response, filed September 11, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under § 103 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that the “Office’s rejection with reference to TS 36.508 falls short.” Remarks at 1. The Remarks then refer to TS 23.228 § 4.5 and its annex, which are not in the record or indicated with an appropriate version. TS 23.228 is not cited in the Specification of the Application and has not been provided in the only information disclosure statement of record (i.e., filed on December 20, 2024).
With regard to TS 36.508, the cited table and surrounding information provides “communicating a PDN connectivity request with an internet protocol multimedia system (IMS) bearer and without a data bearer” because it provides four possible configurations: IMS_Only, Internet_Only, IMS_Internet, Internet_IMS. These configurations are described in the table. For example, “IMS_Internet” is defined as having conditions “pc_IMS AND pc_Provide_Internet_as_second_APN,” which are explained as “UE is configured to request for IMS PDN connectivity first and then to request for an internet PDN connectivity.” Also, “IMS_Only,” which is described as the “UE is configured to request for IMS PDN connectivity only.” In other words, without a data bearer. These configurations are provided for in the table on p. 222/1005. On the preceding page (p. 221/1005), the reference provides “During initial UE registration the UE requests for one or two PDN connectivities.” That is, TS 36.508 provides for “communicating a PDN connectivity request with an internet protocol multimedia system (IMS) bearer without a data bearer (e.g., IMS_Only).
Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 3-4, 10-12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. US 2015/0055459 (hereinafter “Wong”) in view of Non-patent literature, “3GPP TS 24.301 version 17.9.0 Release 17” (hereinafter “TS 24.301”) and further in view of Non-patent literature, “3GPP TS 36.508 version 17.4.0 Release 17” (hereinafter “TS 36.508”).
Regarding claim 1, Wong teaches: A method for packet data network (PDN) device handling in a network (FIG. 1), the method comprising: determining a public land mobile network (PLMN) associated with a base station to which a user equipment (UE) is attempting to connect ([0026] This selected APN, which can be referred to as the "congested mode APN," . . . ); and based on a determination that the PLMN associated with the base station does not allow connection with a PDN data bearer ([0026] In the alternative, the MME might indicate a "congestion mode" along with the requested APN to the P-GW during PDN (packet data network) activation procedures.), communicating a PDN connectivity request with an internet protocol multimedia system (IMS) bearer and without a data bearer ([0026] The user equipment can then perform IMS registration.).
Wong does not explicitly teach: “the base station does not allow connection with a PDN data bearer.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, TS 24.301 teaches: the base station does not allow connection with a PDN data bearer (p. 158/616 If the attach request can neither be accepted by the network for EPS nor for non-EPS services, the MME shall send an ATTACH REJECT message to the UE including an appropriate EMM cause value . . . If the attach request is rejected due to NAS level mobility management congestion control, the network shall set the EMM cause value to #22 "congestion" and assign a back-off timer T3346).
Further, the combination of Wong and TS 24.301 does not explicitly teach: communicating a PDN connectivity request with an internet protocol multimedia system (IMS) bearer and without a data bearer.
However, in the same field of endeavor, TS 36.508 teaches: communicating a PDN connectivity request with an internet protocol multimedia system (IMS) bearer and without a data bearer (unlabeled table on p. 221/1005 as replicated in Figure 1 below).
Figure 1 - connectivity request with an IMS bearer and without a PDN data bearer
The cited table and surrounding information provides “communicating a PDN connectivity request with an internet protocol multimedia system (IMS) bearer and without a data bearer” because it provides four possible configurations: IMS_Only, Internet_Only, IMS_Internet, Internet_IMS. These configurations are described in the table. For example, “IMS_Internet” is defined as having conditions “pc_IMS AND pc_Provide_Internet_as_second_APN,” which are explained as “UE is configured to request for IMS PDN connectivity first and then to request for an internet PDN connectivity.” Also, “IMS_Only,” which is described as the “UE is configured to request for IMS PDN connectivity only.” In other words, without a data bearer. These configurations are provided for in the table on p. 222/1005. On the preceding page (p. 221/1005), the reference provides “During initial UE registration the UE requests for one or two PDN connectivities.” That is, TS 36.508 provides for “communicating a PDN connectivity request with an internet protocol multimedia system (IMS) bearer without a data bearer (e.g., IMS_Only).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wong and TS 24.301 to include the feature of registering a UE with an IMS bearer and without a data bearer and with an explicit rejection of the connection request, and a combination of Wong with TS 24.301 and TS 36.508 renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., providing an IMS bearer without a PDN data bearer and an explicit rejection of a connection with a PDN data bearer).
Regarding claim 3, Wong teaches: wherein the PDN connectivity request uses an IMS access point name ([0026] In the alternative, the MME might indicate a "congestion mode" along with the requested APN).
Regarding claim 4, Wong further teaches: wherein the IMS access point name is associated with a PDN connection ([0026] the P-GW during PDN (packet data network) activation procedures.):
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Wong and TS 24.301 teaches: wherein the base station is resource constrained and is not associated with an extraterrestrial RAN ([0026] In the alternative, the MME might indicate a "congestion mode" along with the requested APN to the P-GW during PDN (packet data network) activation procedures).
Regarding claim 11, Wong teaches: A method for packet data network (PDN) device handling in a network (FIG. 1), the method comprising: determining that a base station to which a user equipment (UE) is attempting to connect is resource constrained ([0026] This selected APN, which can be referred to as the "congested mode APN," . . . ); and based on a determination that the base station is resource constrained ([0026] In the alternative, the MME might indicate a "congestion mode" along with the requested APN to the P-GW during PDN (packet data network) activation procedures.), communicating a PDN connectivity request with an internet protocol multimedia system (IMS) bearer and without a data bearer ([0026] The user equipment can then perform IMS registration.).
Wong does not explicitly teach: the explicit determination of resource constraints.
However, in the same field of endeavor, TS 24.301 teaches: the base station does not allow connection with a PDN data bearer (p. 158/616 If the attach request can neither be accepted by the network for EPS nor for non-EPS services, the MME shall send an ATTACH REJECT message to the UE including an appropriate EMM cause value . . . If the attach request is rejected due to NAS level mobility management congestion control, the network shall set the EMM cause value to #22 "congestion" and assign a back-off timer T3346).
Further, the combination of Wong and TS 24.301 and does not explicitly teach: communicating a PDN connectivity request with an internet protocol multimedia system (IMS) bearer and without a data bearer.
However, in the same field of endeavor, TS 36.508 teaches: communicating a PDN connectivity request with an internet protocol multimedia system (IMS) bearer and without a data bearer (unlabeled table on p. 221/1005 as replicated in Figure 1 above).
The cited table and surrounding information provides “communicating a PDN connectivity request with an internet protocol multimedia system (IMS) bearer and without a data bearer” because it provides four possible configurations: IMS_Only, Internet_Only, IMS_Internet, Internet_IMS. These configurations are described in the table. For example, “IMS_Internet” is defined as having conditions “pc_IMS AND pc_Provide_Internet_as_second_APN,” which are explained as “UE is configured to request for IMS PDN connectivity first and then to request for an internet PDN connectivity.” Also, “IMS_Only,” which is described as the “UE is configured to request for IMS PDN connectivity only.” In other words, without a data bearer. These configurations are provided for in the table on p. 222/1005. On the preceding page (p. 221/1005), the reference provides “During initial UE registration the UE requests for one or two PDN connectivities.” That is, TS 36.508 provides for “communicating a PDN connectivity request with an internet protocol multimedia system (IMS) bearer without a data bearer (e.g., IMS_Only).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wong and TS 24.301 to include the feature of registering a UE with an IMS bearer and without a data bearer and with an explicit rejection of the connection request, and a combination of Wong with TS 24.301 and TS 36.508 renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., providing an IMS bearer without a PDN data bearer and an explicit rejection).
Regarding claim 12, Wong teaches: wherein the base station is associated with a public land mobile network (PLMN) (FIG. 1 – BS, eNB).
Regarding claim 18, Wong teaches: wherein the base station is resource constrained and is not associated with an extraterrestrial RAN ([0026] In the alternative, the MME might indicate a "congestion mode" along with the requested APN to the P-GW during PDN (packet data network) activation procedures).
Regarding claim 19, Wong teaches: A non-transitory computer storage media storing computer-useable instructions that, when used by one or more processors, cause the processors to ([0033]): determine a public land mobile network (PLMN) associated with a base station to which a user equipment (UE) is attempting to connect ([0026] This selected APN, which can be referred to as the "congested mode APN," . . . ); and communicate a packet data network (PDN) connectivity request with an internet protocol multimedia system (IMS) bearer and without a data bearer. ([0026] The user equipment can then perform IMS registration.).
Wong does not explicitly teach: query a data disallowed PLMN table indexed by a PLMN identifier; determine that the PLMN is included in the data disallowed PLMN table.
However, in the same field of endeavor, TS 24.301 teaches: query a data disallowed PLMN table indexed by a PLMN identifier (p. 76/616 When the lower layers indicate to prepare for an S101 mode to S1 mode handover and the PLMN identity of the target cell provided with this indication is not in one of forbidden PLMN lists, the UE shall enter substate NORMAL-SERVICE.); determine that the PLMN is included in the data disallowed PLMN table (p. 141/616 #35 (Requested service option not authorized in this PLMN) . . . In S1 mode, the UE shall store the PLMN identity in the "forbidden PLMN list")
Further Wong does not explicitly teach: communicating a PDN connectivity request with an internet protocol multimedia system (IMS) bearer and without a data bearer.
However, in the same field of endeavor, TS 36.508 teaches: communicating a PDN connectivity request with an internet protocol multimedia system (IMS) bearer and without a data bearer (unlabeled table on p. 221/1005 as replicated in Figure 1 above).
The cited table and surrounding information provides “communicating a PDN connectivity request with an internet protocol multimedia system (IMS) bearer and without a data bearer” because it provides four possible configurations: IMS_Only, Internet_Only, IMS_Internet, Internet_IMS. These configurations are described in the table. For example, “IMS_Internet” is defined as having conditions “pc_IMS AND pc_Provide_Internet_as_second_APN,” which are explained as “UE is configured to request for IMS PDN connectivity first and then to request for an internet PDN connectivity.” Also, “IMS_Only,” which is described as the “UE is configured to request for IMS PDN connectivity only.” In other words, without a data bearer. These configurations are provided for in the table on p. 222/1005. On the preceding page (p. 221/1005), the reference provides “During initial UE registration the UE requests for one or two PDN connectivities.” That is, TS 36.508 provides for “communicating a PDN connectivity request with an internet protocol multimedia system (IMS) bearer without a data bearer (e.g., IMS_Only).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wong to include the feature of registering a UE with an IMS bearer and without a data bearer and with an explicit rejection of the connection request, and a combination of Wong with TS 24.301 and TS 36.508 renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., providing an IMS bearer without a PDN data bearer and querying a list of forbidden PLMNs).
Claims 2, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong in view of TS 24.301 and TS 36.508 and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2022/0159511 (hereinafter “Vivanco”)
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Wong, TS 24.301, and TS 36.508 does not teach: wherein the base station is resource constrained due to association with an extraterrestrial radio access network (RAN).
However, in the same field of endeavor, Vivanco teaches: wherein the base station is resource constrained due to association with an extraterrestrial radio access network (RAN) ([0043] In some embodiments, convergence engine 102 can assign a random PCI value to the aerial-eNB equipment. In other embodiments, convergence engine 102 can assign a PCI value that has been specifically or intentionally reserved for the aerial-eNB equipment during instances of overwhelming traffic and/or data congestion within hotspot areas.).
Thus, the Wong combination and Vivanco each disclose congestion related to a base station. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the arial or non-terrestrial base stations of Vivanco could have been substituted for the terrestrial base stations of Wong because both perform the function of an access point for a network. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out the substitution. Finally, the substitution achieves the predictable result of providing an access point using the methods known in Vivanco.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the techniques in Vivanco for the base station in the combination of Wong according to known methods to yield the predictable result of providing an access point to the network.
Regarding claim 13 the combination of Wong, TS 24.301, and TS 36.508 does not teach: wherein the base station is resource constrained due to association with an extraterrestrial radio access network (RAN).
However, in the same field of endeavor, Vivanco teaches: wherein the base station is resource constrained due to association with an extraterrestrial radio access network (RAN) ([0043] In some embodiments, convergence engine 102 can assign a random PCI value to the aerial-eNB equipment. In other embodiments, convergence engine 102 can assign a PCI value that has been specifically or intentionally reserved for the aerial-eNB equipment during instances of overwhelming traffic and/or data congestion within hotspot areas.).
Thus, the Wong combination and Vivanco each disclose congestion related to a base station. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the arial or non-terrestrial base stations of Vivanco could have been substituted for the terrestrial base stations of Wong because both perform the function of an access point for a network. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out the substitution. Finally, the substitution achieves the predictable result of providing an access point using the methods known in Vivanco.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the techniques in Vivanco for the base station in the combination of Wong according to known methods to yield the predictable result of providing an access point to the network.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Wong, TS 24.301, and TS 36.508 does not teach: wherein the base station is resource constrained due to association with an extraterrestrial radio access network (RAN).
However, in the same field of endeavor, Vivanco teaches: wherein the base station is resource constrained due to association with an extraterrestrial radio access network (RAN) ([0043] In some embodiments, convergence engine 102 can assign a random PCI value to the aerial-eNB equipment. In other embodiments, convergence engine 102 can assign a PCI value that has been specifically or intentionally reserved for the aerial-eNB equipment during instances of overwhelming traffic and/or data congestion within hotspot areas.).
Thus, the Wong combination and Vivanco each disclose congestion related to a base station. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the arial or non-terrestrial base stations of Vivanco could have been substituted for the terrestrial base stations of Wong because both perform the function of an access point for a network. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out the substitution. Finally, the substitution achieves the predictable result of providing an access point using the methods known in Vivanco.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the techniques in Vivanco for the base station in the combination of Wong according to known methods to yield the predictable result of providing an access point to the network.
Claim 5-9 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong in view of TS 24.301 and TS 36.508 and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2008/0253399 (hereinafter “Wang”).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Wong, TS 24.301, and TS 36.508 does not explicitly teach: wherein the PDN connection is based on a table indexed by a PLMN identifier.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches: wherein the PDN connection is based on a table indexed by a PLMN identifier (e.g., Table 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Wong combination to include the feature of a table indexed by a PLMN identifier, and a combination of Wong with TS 24.301 and TS 36.508 renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., indexing a table by a PLMN identifier).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Wong, TS 24.301, and TS 36.508 does not explicitly teach: wherein the PLMN identifier uses a mobile country code (MCC) and a mobile network code (MNC).
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches: wherein the PLMN identifier uses a mobile country code (MCC) and a mobile network code (MNC) (e.g., Table 1 and [0004], [0016]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Wong combination to include the feature of a table indexed by a PLMN identifier, and a combination of Wong with TS 24.301 and TS 36.508 renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., indexing a table by a PLMN identifier).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Wong, TS 24.301, and TS 36.508 teaches: wherein the MCC and the MNC identify a type of PDN connection allowed (Figure 1 above (IMS_ONLY)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Wong combination to include the feature of a PDN type, and a combination of Wong with TS 24.301 and TS 36.508 renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., including a PDN type value).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Wong, TS 24.301, and TS 36.508 teaches: wherein the MCC and the MNC identify a type of PDN connection allowed (TS 36.508, Figure 1 above (IMS_ONLY)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wong and TS 24 to include the feature of a PDN type, and the combination of Wong with TS 24.301 and TS 36.508 renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., including a PDN type value).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Wong, TS 24.301, and TS 36.508 teaches: wherein the type of PDN connection allowed for the MCC and the MNS allows both a data PDN connection and an IMS PDN connection (TS 36.508, Figure 1 above (Internet_IMS)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wong with TS 24.301 to include the feature of a PDN type, and a combination of Wong with TS 24.301 and TS 36.508 renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., including a PDN type value).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Wong, TS 24.301, and TS 36.508 does not explicitly teach: wherein the IMS bearer accesses a table indexed by a PLMN identifier that includes an IMS access point name associated with a PDN connection.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches: wherein the PDN connection is based on a table indexed by a PLMN identifier (e.g., Table 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wong, TS 24.301, and TS 36.508 to include the feature of a table indexed by a PLMN identifier, and a combination of Wong with TS 24.301 and TS 36.508 renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., indexing a table by a PLMN identifier).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Wong, TS 24.301, and TS 36.508 does not explicitly teach: wherein the PLMN identifier further comprises a mobile country code (MCC) and a mobile network code (MNC).
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches: wherein the PLMN identifier further comprises a mobile country code (MCC) and a mobile network code (MNC) (e.g., Table 1 and [0004], [0016]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Wong combination to include the feature of a table indexed by a PLMN identifier, and a combination of Wong with TS 24.301 and TS 36.508 renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., indexing a table by a PLMN identifier).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Wong, TS 24.301, and TS 36.508 teaches: wherein the MCC and the MNC identify a type of PDN connection allowed (Figure 1 above (IMS_ONLY)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wong and TS 24.301 to include the feature of a PDN type, and a combination of Wong with TS 24.301 and TS 36.508 renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., including a PDN type value).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Wong, TS 24.301, and TS 36.508 teaches: wherein the type of PDN connection allowed for the MCC and the MNS allows both a data PDN connection and an IMS PDN connection. (Figure 1 above (IMS_ONLY)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wong and TS 24.301 to include the feature of a PDN type, and a combination of Wong with TS 24.301 and TS 36.508 renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., including a PDN type value).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Wong, TS 24.301, and TS 36.508 teaches: wherein the type of PDN connection allowed for the MCC and the MNS allows both a data PDN connection and an IMS PDN connection (Figure 1 above (Internet_IMS)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Wong combination to include the feature of a PDN type, and a combination of Wong with TS 24.301 and TS 36.508 renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., including a PDN type value).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAB/ Examiner, Art Unit 2643
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643