DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 8-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to one or more non-elected inventions/species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 30 January 2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 14, 15, 17 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koui (US 2015/0310881) in view of Liu et al. (US 2019/0279662).
With respect to claims 1, 3 and 21, Koui (US 2015/0310881) teaches a write head (see FIG. 15, for instance) comprising a leading shield (204); a side shield (216) connected to the leading shield (as shown in FIG. 15, for instance, i.e., via layer 10), wherein portions of the side shield form a cavity (as shown in FIG. 15, for instance); a side gap insulator (12, see paragraph [0064], for instance, i.e., “insulator layer 12”) disposed within the cavity and along a sidewall adjacent to the portions of the side shield (as shown in FIG. 15, for instance), wherein the side gap insulator terminates near the leading shield (as shown in FIG. 15, for instance) such that a bottom of the cavity adjacent to the leading shield is substantially free from the side gap insulator (as shown in FIG. 15, for instance); a metallic side gap (includes 4, for instance, see paragraph [0054], for instance, i.e., “Gold (Au), silver (Ag), copper (Cu), aluminum (Al), a nickel-aluminum (NiAl) alloy, an aluminum-copper (AlCu) alloy, or a non-magnetic alloy made of the materials selected from those listed above can be used as the intermediate layer 4”) with at least a portion disposed in the cavity and interior of the side gap insulator (as shown in FIG. 15, for instance), wherein a thickness of the side gap insulator (12) is less than that of the metallic side gap (4, as shown in FIG. 15, for instance); and a main pole (206) with at least a portion disposed in the cavity and interior of the metallic side gap (as shown in FIG. 15, for instance), wherein a current (supplied by power source 408, see FIG. 2, for instance) is configured to flow (via layers 2, 4 and 10) between the main pole (206) and the leading shield (204, as shown in FIGS. 2, 3 and 15, for instance, see also paragraph [0043], for instance, i.e., “the driving current applied from the power source 408 flows through the portions of the leading shield 204, the main magnetic pole 206, and the trailing shield 208”) [as per claim 1]; wherein the side gap insulator comprises an oxide material (see paragraph [0064], for instance, i.e., “the oxide of aluminum is used as the insulator layer 12”) [as per claim 3]; and wherein the write head is part of (as shown in FIG. 1, for instance) a head arm assembly (includes 400, 406 and 408, for instance), wherein the write head is connected to a slider (400) and a load beam (406), wherein the load beam is connected to a suspension (404) configured to support the write head and the slider (as shown in FIG. 1, for instance) [as per claim 21].
With respect to claims 14, 15 and 17, Koui (US 2015/0310881) teaches a device (see FIG. 15, for instance) comprising a leading shield (204); a side shield (216) connected to the leading shield (as shown in FIG. 15, for instance, i.e., via layer 10), wherein sidewall portions of the side shield form a cavity (as shown in FIG. 15, for instance); a side gap insulator (12, see paragraph [0064], for instance, i.e., “insulator layer 12”) disposed within the cavity and along the sidewall portions of the side shield (as shown in FIG. 15, for instance), wherein the side gap insulator terminates near the leading shield (as shown in FIG. 15, for instance) such that a bottom of the cavity adjacent to the leading shield is substantially free from the side gap insulator (as shown in FIG. 15, for instance); and a metallic side gap (includes 4, for instance, see paragraph [0054], for instance, i.e., “Gold (Au), silver (Ag), copper (Cu), aluminum (Al), a nickel-aluminum (NiAl) alloy, an aluminum-copper (AlCu) alloy, or a non-magnetic alloy made of the materials selected from those listed above can be used as the intermediate layer 4”) with at least a portion disposed in the cavity and interior of the side gap insulator (as shown in FIG. 15, for instance), wherein a thickness of the side gap insulator (12) is less than that of the metallic side gap (4, as shown in FIG. 15, for instance), wherein a current (supplied by power source 408, see FIG. 2, for instance) is configured to flow (via layers 2, 4 and 10) between a main pole (206) and the leading shield (204, as shown in FIGS. 2, 3 and 15, for instance, see also paragraph [0043], for instance, i.e., “the driving current applied from the power source 408 flows through the portions of the leading shield 204, the main magnetic pole 206, and the trailing shield 208”) [as per claim 14]; wherein at least a portion the main pole (206) is disposed in the cavity and interior of the metallic side gap (as shown in FIG. 15, for instance) [as per claim 15]; and wherein the side gap insulator comprises an oxide material (see paragraph [0064], for instance, i.e., “the oxide of aluminum is used as the insulator layer 12”) [as per claim 17].
Koui (US 2015/0310881), however, remains silent as the side gap insulator (12) being disposed “only” within the cavity and “only” along the sidewall as it extends outside of the cavity (as shown in FIG. 15, for instance).
Liu et al. (US 2019/0279662) teach that confining a side gap insulator (204) to only within a cavity (203) along a sidewall (as shown in FIG. 4A, for instance) is a notoriously old and well known gap insulator configuration. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had the side gap insulator of Koui (US 2015/0310881) be disposed only within the cavity and only along the sidewall as taught/suggested by Liu et al. (US 2019/0279662). The rationale is as follows:
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have had the side gap insulator of Koui (US 2015/0310881) be disposed only within the cavity and only along the sidewall as taught/suggested by Liu et al. (US 2019/0279662) since such is a notoriously old and well known gap insulator configuration, and selecting a known gap insulator configuration on the basis of its suitability for the intended use is considered to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 20 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that Koui (US 2015/0310881) does not teach that “the side gap insulator terminates near the leading shield such that a bottom of the cavity adjacent to the leading shield is substantially free from the side gap insulator.”
This argument, however, is not found to be persuasive as FIG. 15 of Koui (US 2015/0310881) teaches/shows that a side gap insulator (12) terminates near a leading shield (204) such that a bottom of a cavity (defined between side shield portions 216) adjacent to the leading shield (204) is substantially free from the side gap insulator (12). Note that intermediate layer (4) is positioned on the bottom of the cavity that is substantially free from the side gap insulator (12), as shown in FIG. 15.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CRAIG A. RENNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688