DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the following limitations render the claim indefinite:
“a plurality of propane tanks for generating power” – unclear how tanks themselves generate power vs supplying power to the generator
“a plurality of solar panels for charging onboard batteries due to parasitic loads” – unclear relationship of “due to parasitic loads” because claim does not provide sufficient structure or context to clarify the intended relationship. Suggested correction: “a plurality of solar panels with an onboard battery for parasitic loads” as disclosed in the applicant’s specification [0082]
Regarding claim 3, the following limitations render the claim indefinite:
“software architecture capable of…”
“detecting where the charging system is at all times”
“processing advanced data analytics to improve performance”
These are purely functional results with no structural limitations.
Regarding claim 4, the following limitations render the claim indefinite:
“augment computer vision using machine learning and AI” – unclear scope of “augment” and no defined structure or algorithm.
Regarding claim 5, the following limitations render the claim indefinite:
The limitation, “which combines all of the necessary onboard electronics, advanced sensors, communication gateway, redundant data portals with cloud connectivity…renewal solar energy and storage system.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
“renewal solar energy” – unclear term, perhaps a typo for “renewable”
Regarding claim 6, the following limitations render the claim indefinite:
“accurately and reliably manages, monitors” - terms of degree with no objective boundaries
“automatically alert the nearest propane provider” – indefinite, as unclear how “nearest” is determined.
Regarding claim 7, the following limitations render the claim indefinite:
“parasitic power source” – unclear structure
Regarding claim 8, the following limitations render the claim indefinite:
“networks onboard camera system” – unclear as a verb (what structure performs networking is unclear)
Regarding claim 9, the following limitations render the claim indefinite:
“all data is securely uploaded in a cloud server” – intended result and unclear structure. Lacks antecedent basis, because it is unclear which “data” is securely uploaded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 3, 5, 6, 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stumpf (US 20240300351) in view of Casteel (US 20140285005) and in further view of Smith (US 20210376634).
Regarding claim 1, Stumpf teaches a charging system for a mobile and portable high-capacity Electrical Vehicle (EV) charging station (figure 1 item 100 a mobile charging platform configured to charge electric vehicles),
comprising: a plurality of tanks for generating power (figure 2 item 30 a tank for providing fuel to an onboard generator item 4) ;
a generator (figure 2 item 4 a generator);
an EV charger (shown in figure 2 item 9 defined in paragraph [0102] as a power harvester which charges electric vehicles);
a plurality of solar panels for charging onboard batteries due to parasitic loads (figure 2 item 10 defined in paragraph [0096] as photovoltaic solar panels which provide charge to battery bank item 5);
a communication backhaul (paragraph [0137] discloses a communication network item 70) ;
a diagnostics and monitoring device for monitoring the plurality of tanks, the generator, and the EV charger (Paragraphs [0129] teaches wherein different sensor detect different aspects of the devices on the platform. Paragraphs [0142] – [0144] teaches wherein server 80 includes a monitoring the status of the devices on the platform).
Stumpf does not explicitly teach or suggest propane tanks on the mobile charging platform.
Casteel teaches a system with propane tanks (figure 3 item 72) provided to an onboard generator stored on board a mobile platform (figure 3 item 66 a generator. Paragraph [0046] teaches wherein generator uses propane and the propane is stored in the tanks onboard).
a security device (defined in paragraph [0059] wherein a plurality of security devices such as cameras, motion sensors or infrared lights).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Stumpf reference with the charging system of the Casteel reference so that a generator maximize overall efficiency and extend battery service life.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Casteel reference in paragraph [0047] the generator maximizes overall efficiency and extend battery service life.
Stumpf and Casteel do not explicitly teach or suggest a voltage selector switch.
Smith teaches a voltage selector switch (figure 1D item 116 and defined in paragraph [0042] teaches a voltage selector switch item 116).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Stumpf and Casteel references with the charging system of the Smith reference so that the user may easily switch between desired power outputs.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Smith reference in paragraph [0042] wherein the switching to desired power outputs is taught.
Stumpf figure 4 shows a mobile transportable charging platform
Casteel figure 3 show a mobile transportable charging platform with propane tanks on board item 72
Smith Figure 1D shows a voltage selector switch item 116 in mobile charging device item 100.
Regarding claim 2, Stumpf teaches the charging system according to claim 1, wherein the charging system is configured to be used in a plurality of platforms, the plurality of platforms comprising: a skid; a truck; a trailer. (paragraph [0094] discloses wherein the mobile platform may be pulled by a vehicle such as a trailer, and includes a skid. Figure 4 shows a trailer).
Stumpf and Casteel do not explicitly teach wherein the platform includes a pod.
Smith teaches wherein the platform includes a pod (shown in figure 1B shows a pod defined in paragraph [0037] as a housing).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Stumpf and Casteel references with the housing system of the Smith reference so that the devices within the system are protected by the elements outdoors.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Smith reference in paragraph [0037] wherein the housing is taught to provide external protection to the system.
Regarding claim 3, Stumpf teaches the charging system according to claim 1, wherein the charging system further comprises a software architecture capable of detecting where the charging system is at all times, diagnosing the charging system remotely, and processing advanced data analytics to improve performance (paragraph [0139] teaches a remote server item 80 oversees the mobile platforms. Paragraphs [0141]-[0142] teaches wherein the server detects the location of the charging platforms and diagnoses or determines issues which may require replacement or removal to improve performance).
Regarding claim 5, Stumpf teaches the charging system according to claim 1, wherein the charging system further comprises an onboard data system through a NERD (Networked Electronic Resources Distribution) Box, which combines all of the necessary onboard electronics, advanced sensors, communication gateway, redundant data portals with cloud connectivity that is kept powered 24/7 through renewal solar energy and energy storage system, wherein the onboard electronics connect all of the major systems within the charging system and ensures reliable communication between the plurality of propane tanks, the generator, the EV charger, the plurality of solar panels, the security device, and the diagnostics and monitoring device (figure 7 and paragraphs [0124] – [0125] shows a NERD box, interpreted as a mechanical cabinet which houses major communication systems such as the control unit to monitor various data within the system).
Regarding claim 6, Stumpf teaches the charging system according to claim 5, wherein the advanced sensors comprise an ultrasonic propane tank level sensor that is noncontact, non-intrusive, accurately and reliably manages, monitors the level of propane fuel on board and is integrated with cloud connectivity, to automatically alert the nearest propane provider to ensure reliable delivery and refill the plurality of propane tanks (paragraph [0113] and [0129]-[0130] teaches sensors item 67 which detect real time levels of the fuel in the onboard tanks. Paragraph [0142] teaches wherein this information is integrated with a server to automatically manage the fuel).
Stumpf does not explicitly teach propane fuel within the tanks.
Casteel teaches a system with propane tanks (figure 3 item 72) provided to an onboard generator stored on board a mobile platform (figure 3 item 66 a generator. Paragraph [0046] teaches wherein generator uses propane and the propane is stored in the tanks onboard).
a security device (defined in paragraph [0059] wherein a plurality of security devices such as cameras, motion sensors or infrared lights).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Stumpf reference with the charging system of the Casteel reference so that a generator maximize overall efficiency and extend battery service life.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Casteel reference in paragraph [0047] the generator maximizes overall efficiency and extend battery service life.
Regarding claim 8, Stumpf teaches the charging system according to claim 5, but does not explicitly teach wherein the NERD Box networks onboard camera system and safety lighting systems for security protection.
Casteel teaches wherein the NERD Box networks onboard camera system and safety lighting systems for security protection. (defined in paragraph [0059] wherein a plurality of security devices such as cameras, motion sensors or infrared lights).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Stumpf reference with the charging system of the Casteel reference so that a generator maximizes overall efficiency and extend battery service life.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Casteel reference in paragraph [0047] the generator maximizes overall efficiency and extend battery service life.
Regarding claim 11, Stumpf teaches the charging system according to claim 1, wherein the charging system is further extended to a multiple-way charging station, in which a plurality of EVs are charged simultaneously (paragraph [0095] teaches wherein multiple charge terminals provide for simultaneously charging multiple vehicles 200).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stumpf (US 20240300351) in view of Casteel (US 20140285005) and in further view of Smith (US 20210376634) and in further view of Silva (US 20200409325).
Regarding claim 4, Stumpf, Casteel, and Smith teaches the charging system according to claim 3, but does not explicitly teach wherein the software architecture is built with the ability to augment computer vision using machine learning and Al (Artificial Intelligence).
Silva teaches wherein the software architecture is built with the ability to augment computer vision using machine learning and Al (Artificial Intelligence) (defined in paragraph [0070] wherein machine learning and Al (Artificial Intelligence) software architecture to predict various data on a mobile platform charging).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Stumpf, Casteel, and Smith references with the software architecture system of the Silva reference so that the user or operator may easily understand when the system is operating in specific mode without having to determine the state of the system by manually analyzing the devices on board the mobile charging platform.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Silva reference in paragraph [0076] wherein the user is easily able to understand the specific modes of operation.
Silva Figure 2 shows mobile charging station which uses machine learning and Artificial Intelligence to predict data on charging
5. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stumpf (US 20240300351) in view of Casteel (US 20140285005) and in further view of Smith (US 20210376634) as applied to claim 1 and in further view of Spangler (US 8185762).
Regarding claim 7, Stumpf teaches the charging system according to claim 1, teaches a user interface screen of the EV charger (shown in figure 9 item 64 defined in paragraphs [0128]-[0129] as a user interface powered by a power source which includes power harvested from the generator).
Stumpf, Casteel, and Smith do not explicitly teach wherein even when a generator power is off, is active through an onboard parasitic power source and an electronic circuitry design.
Spangler teaches wherein even when a generator power is off, a user interface screen of the EV charger is active through an onboard parasitic power source and an electronic circuitry design (column 6 lines 12 – 29 teaches a system wherein a user interface screen, such as a display device may be powered parasitic energy when a power source, such as when a generator is off. Parasitic power is known in the art to generated from a power source when a power source is powered off).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Stumpf, Casteel, and Smith reference with the low power display system of the Spangler reference so that costly infrastructure updates are avoided.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Spangler reference in column 2 lines 26 - 29 wherein costly infrastructure updates can be avoided.
6. Claim 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stumpf (US 20240300351) in view of Casteel (US 20140285005) and in further view of Smith (US 20210376634) as applied to claim 1 and in further view of Hall (US 20170363432).
Regarding claim 9, Stumpf teaches the charging system according to claim 1, wherein all data is securely uploaded in a server (paragraph [0130]-[0131] teaches storing data on a remote server).
Stumpf, Casteel, and Smith do not explicitly teach a cloud server.
Hall teaches wherein data is securely uploaded in a cloud server (paragraph [0029] teaches wherein data is stored securely in a cloud-based server).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Stumpf, Casteel, and Smith reference with the cloud server system of the Hall reference so that vehicle refueling locations are more easily predicted and an optimized refueling path may be created.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Hall reference in the Abstract wherein predicting refueling locations and optimizing a refueling path is taught.
Hall Figure 1 shows a mobile fuel station which uses a cloud server to securely store data
7. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stumpf (US 20240300351) in view of Casteel (US 20140285005) and in further view of Smith (US 20210376634) as applied to claim 1 and in further view of Fisher (US 20230081083)
Regarding claim 10, Stumpf, Casteel and Smith teach the charging system according to claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the charging system is configured to use either rLPG (renewable Liquid Petroleum Gas) or rDME (renewable Dimethyl Ether) for energy source.
Fisher teaches wherein the charging system is configured to use either rLPG (renewable Liquid Petroleum Gas) or rDME (renewable Dimethyl Ether) for energy source (defined in paragraph [0109] wherein an rLPG (renewable Liquid Petroleum Gas) or rDME (renewable Dimethyl Ether) for energy source is used, interpreted as a biofuel).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Stumpf, Casteel, and Smith reference with the renewable energy source of the Fisher reference so that a plurality of batteries may be charged when wind and solar power in unavailable.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Fisher reference paragraph [0096] wherein a plurality of harvesting devices may be used to recharge batteries for charging vehicles.
Fisher Figure 3 shows a mobile charging station which uses a variety of renewable energy sources including biofuels
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20240416781 A1 Mobile Vehicles Charging System Alotaibi; Mutlaq Senhat Z.
US 20180358919 A1 Transportable Hybrid Power System Ansari; Reza
US 20160264035 A1 Mobile Service Unit Brand; David Paul
US 20100065344 A1 Self Propelled Vehicle Recharging Trailer Collings, Iii; John K.
US 20230006457 A1 Modular Charging System Corley; Clifford Brian Et Al.
US 20170327091 A1 Charging Power Sources Vehicles Capizzo; Peter D.
US 20240424933 A1 Cart System Cristache; Lucian
US 20170282736 A1 Managing A Network Of Charging Stations Goei; Esmond
US 20190351783 A1 Mobile Electric Vehicle Charging Station System Goei; Esmond
US 20180264955 A1 Fast Charging Of Electric Vehicle Gupta; Ranjan Kumar
US 20120271758 A1 Recharging Electric Vehicles In Transit Jammer; Daniel
US 10737583 B2 Mobile Variable Power System Johnsen; Stephen G. Et Al.
US 20230256848 A1 Renewable Energy EV Charging Jorgenson; Joel A. Et Al.
US 20140116870 A1 Resource Distribution System Kamen; Dean Et Al.
US 20220127969 A1 Gas Turbine Propulsion System O'neill; Francis Et Al.
US 20120299531 A1 Mobile Charging Service Vehicles Prosser; Ronald D. Et Al.
US 20190135125 A1 Mobile Energy Storage Device Sponheimer; Arnulf Et Al.
US 10389121 B1 Efficient Portable Power Generator System Sherry; Raymond C.
ALEXIS BOATENG PACHECO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/ALEXIS B PACHECO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859