This action is in response to the claims filed 1/16/2026. Claims 1-19 are pending. Claims 1 (a method), 13 (a machine), and 15 (a machine) are independent.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks, filed 1/16/2026, on page 8 of the response, directed to the Abstract, are persuasive and the objection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s remarks on pages 8-9, directed to the 35 U.S.C. §§ 112(a/b) are persuasive and the rejections are withdrawn.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejection, the further act of preventing logins of compromised credentials integrates the abstract idea into a practical application. Additionally, as noted in Applicant’s specification page 6, ¶ 3, the determination of compromised identities and prevention of their use is an improvement to the technology of authenticating users. As such, the claims now amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejection of the claims is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 13, filed 1/16/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under He et al., US 2022/0084036, have been fully considered and are persuasive. As argued, “He[] … fails to disclose … prevent[ing] logins based on gathered identity information that is compromised.” Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of He et al., US 2022/0084036, in view of Ulrich et al., US 11,489,829.
Applicant's arguments filed 1/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 13 Applicant states: “He's transaction-risk-focused system therefore fails to disclose or suggest a security monitoring system that continuously gathers and stores information of different types that includes information from dark web sources, derives general-purpose blended identity risk profiles based on the gathered information.” This argument is not persuasive.
As previously cited:
a security monitoring system that continuously gathers ([0021], e.g., data collected over a period of time) and stores information ([0024], e.g., current profile data stored) of different types that includes ([0025], e.g., Some of the collected data may come from financial institutions… and account data relating to personal information on account holders and other information (such as account status)) information from dark web sources, ([0026], e.g., data from shared fraud and/or account abuse databases….and other relevant transaction, account and risk data may be available from other sources (e.g., credit card companies, loan companies, merchants, etc.)). derives general-purpose blended identity risk profiles based on the gathered information, ([0031], e.g., Once data records have been linked by the data associating system, profile system may build profiles for social tokens).
Applicant’s argument as to the other features of claim 1, besides preventing login, are not persuasive.
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitations in claim 15 of this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means”, but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “identity information gathering interface operative” recited in claim 13 and “records reconciliation subsystem operative” recited in claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication No. 20220084036 A1 (hereinafter He), in view of Ulrich et al., US Pat. No. 11,489,829 (hereafter Ulrich).
Regarding claim 1, He discloses a computer network security monitoring method for a processor ([0007], e.g., processing unit comprising one or more processors) and a storage device ([0010], e.g., non-transitory machine-readable storage medium) including instructions configured to run on the processor, including:
continuously gathering ([0021], e.g., data collected over a period of time) and storing ([0024], e.g., current profile data stored) machine-readable identity information records ([0025], e.g., data relating to social tokens associated with individuals or entities) of a first type ([0025], e.g., Some of the collected data may come from financial institutions) for different individuals ([0026], e.g., different users),
continuously gathering and storing machine-readable identity information records of a second type for different individuals from the dark web via the computer network, and ([0026], e.g., data from shared fraud and/or account abuse databases)
continuously deriving and storing general-purpose blended identity risk profiles for each of a plurality of the individuals based on both the continuously gathered machine-readable identity information records of the first type and the continuously gathered machine-readable identity information records of the second type ([0031], e.g., Once data records have been linked by the data associating system, profile system may build profiles for social tokens).
Hu does not disclose:
Preventing logins based on gathered identity information that is compromised.
Ulrich discloses:
A computer network security monitoring method for a processor and a storage device including instructions configured to run on the processor, including:
continuously gathering and storing machine-readable identity information records (“The process in FIG. 1 may be run periodically (e.g., daily).” Ulrich col. 2, ln. 52) of a first type for different individuals, (“Leaked credentials 102, 104, 106 may represent three different sets of credential files. Each credential file may originate from a different location (e.g., forums, Dark Web, etc.) and may be formatted in different ways.” Ulrich col. 2, ln. 53. Also Ulrich col. 4, ln. 1+ discussing various identity information including preferences)
continuously gathering and storing machine-readable identity information records (“The process in FIG. 1 may be run periodically (e.g., daily).” Ulrich col. 2, ln. 52) of a second type for different individuals from the dark web via the computer network, and (“Leaked credentials 102, 104, 106 may represent three different sets of credential files. Each credential file may originate from a different location (e.g., forums, Dark Web, etc.) and may be formatted in different ways.” Ulrich col. 2, ln. 53)
deriving and storing general-purpose blended identity risk profiles for each of a plurality of the individuals based on both the continuously gathered machine-readable identity information records of the first type and the continuously gathered machine-readable identity information records of the second type, and (“In order to allow a single process to be run against the leaked credentials, the leaked credential files may be standardized into a common format before being processed by control file generator 108.” Ulrich col. 2, ln. 59)
preventing logins based on gathered identity information that is compromised. (See Ulrich Figs. 3-4. “If the validation of username & password received in credentials file(s) matches an existing username/password combination, the Security Flag may be set per the following rules.” Ulrich col. 7, ln. 40-62. “having a security flag also means that a subset of a set of login methods are disabled. For examples, the subset of login methods may include biometric methods or login requests from applications using the username as alternative login method.” Ulrich col 9, ln. 41)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have combined He with Ulrich by performing compatible leaked credential checking and resetting a user’s credentials when found to be compromised, per Ulrich. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine He with Ulrich in order to prevent leaked passwords from a site impacting user security on other websites, Ulrich background.
Regarding claim 2, He in view of Ulrich discloses the method of claim 1. He further discloses the step of continuously gathering and storing machine-readable identity information records of the first type gathers and stores a first type of identity information records from the following types of identity information records: leaked credential information records, leaked personal information records, validated identity information records from an identity validation service, and payment credential information from a payment monitoring service ([0025], e.g., Some of the collected data may come from financial institutions).
Regarding claim 3, He in view of Ulrich discloses the method of claim 2. He further discloses the step of continuously gathering and storing machine-readable identity information records of the second type gathers and stores a second type of identity information records from the following types of identity information records: leaked credential information records, leaked personal information records, validated identity information records from an identity validation service, and payment credential information from a payment monitoring service ([0026], e.g., data from shared fraud and/or account abuse databases).
Regarding claim 4, He in view of Ulrich discloses the method of claim 3. He further discloses a step of continuously gathering and storing further machine-readable identity information records of a third type ([0026], e.g., data from third-party P2P payment systems that maintain data for individuals that may have provided personal data, as part of, for example, setting up an account with a P2P payment system), and wherein the step of continuously deriving and storing general- purpose blended identity risk profiles for each of a plurality of individuals is further based on the continuously gathered machine-readable identity information records of the third type ([0031], e.g., Once data records have been linked by the data associating system, profile system may build profiles for social tokens).
Regarding claim 5, He in view of Ulrich discloses the method of claim 4. He further discloses the step of continuously gathering and storing machine-readable identity information records of the third type gathers and stores a third type of identity information records from the following types of identity information records: leaked credential information records, leaked personal information records, validated identity information records from an identity validation service, and payment credential information from a payment monitoring service ([0026], e.g., data from third-party P2P payment systems that maintain data for individuals that may have provided personal data, as part of, for example, setting up an account with a P2P payment system).
Regarding claim 6, He in view of Ulrich discloses the method of claim 1. He further discloses a step of continuously gathering and storing further machine-readable identity information records of a third type ([0028], e.g., Data aggregating system may collect all data from financial institutions, services, social databases, and any other sources relevant to the social token(s) being analyzed), and wherein the step of continuously deriving and storing general- purpose blended identity risk profiles for each of a plurality of individuals is further based on the continuously gathered machine-readable identity information records of the third type ([0028], e.g., The data aggregating system stores the data that has been provided by the various sources for subsequent processing by a data associating/linking system).
Regarding claim 7, He in view of Ulrich discloses the method of claim 1. He further discloses the risk profile includes a numerical blended identity score ([0031], e.g., The risk system 100 further includes a risk/data assessment system 140 that is used, among other things, to calculate specific health scores for social tokens associated with profiles generated by profile system 120.)
Regarding claim 8, He in view of Ulrich discloses the method of claim 1. He further discloses reconciling records that belong to a same individual for at least one of the information record types ([0032], e.g., a profile associated with the user may link the multiple social tokens associated with the user so that when one social token is used, data associated with all social tokens associated with the user are analyzed).
Regarding claim 9, He in view of Ulrich discloses the method of claim 1. He further discloses at least some of the information records of the first and second types is obtained from dark internet sources ([0026], e.g., data from shared fraud and/or account abuse databases. Ulrich col. 2, ln. 53).
Regarding claim 10, He in view of Ulrich discloses the method of claim 1. He further discloses providing access to the general-purpose blended identity risk profiles via an application programming interface ([0047], e.g., network device application (e.g., representing the P2P payment system). Ulrich col. 7, ln. 53).
Regarding claim 11, He in view of Ulrich discloses the method of claim 1. He further discloses the continuously derived and stored general-purpose blended identity risk profiles reflect relationships between at least some of the individuals for which records are stored ([0053], e.g., a party to a transaction (payee or payer) may be more than one person (e.g., the co-owners of a joint account used for funding or receiving a payment), and health scores for such social tokens maybe based on past data for those persons, either as individuals or acting together, or a combination of both).
Regarding claim 12, He in view of Ulrich discloses the method of claim 1. He further discloses the continuously derived and stored general-purpose blended identity risk profiles reflect professional relationships between at least some of the individuals for which records are stored ([0053], e.g., a party to a transaction (payee or payer) may be more than one person (e.g., the co-owners of a joint account used for funding or receiving a payment), and health scores for such social tokens maybe based on past data for those persons, either as individuals or acting together, or a combination of both).
Regarding claim 13, He discloses a computer network security monitoring system, including a processor ([0007], e.g., processing unit comprising one or more processors) and a storage device ([0010], e.g., non-transitory machine-readable storage medium) including instructions configured to run on the processor, including:
a first identity information gathering interface operative to continuously receive ([0028], e.g., Data aggregating system may collect all data from financial institutions) and store ([0028], e.g., data aggregating system stores the data that has been provided by the various sources) machine-readable identity information records of a first type for different individuals ([0026], e.g., different users),
a second identity information gathering interface operative to continuously receive ([0028], e.g., Data aggregating system may collect all data from …services) and store machine-readable identity information records of a second type for different individuals from the dark web via the computer network, and ([0026], e.g., data from shared fraud and/or account abuse databases)
a general-purpose blended identity scoring that is operative to access machine-readable identity information records of the first type gathered by the first identity information gathering interface ([0029], e.g., system may then associate or link the data from each of those accounts or transactions as related to the same social token, in order to determine a health score), operative to access machine- readable identity information records of the second type gathered by the first identity information gathering interface ([0032], e.g., Since the profile may have access to data associated with multiple social tokens associated with a user), and operative to derive risk profiles for each of a plurality of the individuals based on both the continuously gathered machine-readable identity information records of the first type and the continuously gathered machine-readable identity information records of the second type ([0031], e.g., Once data records have been linked by the data associating system, profile system may build profiles for social tokens) to prevent logins based on gathered identity information that is compromised.
Hu does not disclose:
Preventing logins based on gathered identity information that is compromised.
Ulrich discloses:
A computer network security monitoring system, including a processor and a storage device including instructions configured to run on the processor, including: (Ulrich Fig. 5)
a first identity information gathering interface operative to continuously receive (“The process in FIG. 1 may be run periodically (e.g., daily).” Ulrich col. 2, ln. 52) and store machine-readable identity information records of a first type for different individuals, (“Leaked credentials 102, 104, 106 may represent three different sets of credential files. Each credential file may originate from a different location (e.g., forums, Dark Web, etc.) and may be formatted in different ways.” Ulrich col. 2, ln. 53. Also Ulrich col. 4, ln. 1+ discussing various identity information including preferences)
a second identity information gathering interface operative to continuously receive and store (“The process in FIG. 1 may be run periodically (e.g., daily).” Ulrich col. 2, ln. 52) machine-readable identity information records of a second type for different individuals from the dark web via the computer network, and (“Leaked credentials 102, 104, 106 may represent three different sets of credential files. Each credential file may originate from a different location (e.g., forums, Dark Web, etc.) and may be formatted in different ways.” Ulrich col. 2, ln. 53)
a general-purpose blended identity scoring that is operative to access machine-readable identity information records of the first type gathered by the first identity information gathering interface, operative to access machine- readable identity information records of the second type gathered by the first identity information gathering interface, and operative to derive risk profiles for each of a plurality of the individuals based on both the continuously gathered machine-readable identity information records of the first type and the continuously gathered machine-readable identity information records of the second type (“In order to allow a single process to be run against the leaked credentials, the leaked credential files may be standardized into a common format before being processed by control file generator 108.” Ulrich col. 2, ln. 59) to prevent logins based on gathered identity information that is compromised. (See Ulrich Figs. 3-4. “If the validation of username & password received in credentials file(s) matches an existing username/password combination, the Security Flag may be set per the following rules.” Ulrich col. 7, ln. 40-62. “having a security flag also means that a subset of a set of login methods are disabled. For examples, the subset of login methods may include biometric methods or login requests from applications using the username as alternative login method.” Ulrich col 9, ln. 41)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have combined He with Ulrich by performing compatible leaked credential checking and resetting a user’s credentials when found to be compromised, per Ulrich. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine He with Ulrich in order to prevent leaked passwords from a site impacting user security on other websites, Ulrich background.
Regarding claim 14, He in view of Ulrich discloses the method of claim 13. He further discloses a records reconciliation subsystem operative to reconcile records that belong to a same individual for at least one of the information record types ([0032], e.g., the profile may have access to data associated with multiple social tokens associated with a user, the system may analyze transactions, develop health scores, and perform other actions based on a fuller picture of the user's actual risk).
Regarding claim 15, the system claim is drawn to the system corresponding to the method of using same as claimed in claim 1. Therefore, system claim 15 corresponds to method claim 1, and are rejected for the same reasons as used above (see [0021]).
Regarding claim 16, He in view of Ulrich discloses the method of claim 15. He in view of Ulrich further discloses:
including means for providing access to the general-purpose blended identity risk profiles (“In order to allow a single process to be run against the leaked credentials, the leaked credential files may be standardized into a common format before being processed by control file generator 108.” Ulrich col. 2, ln. 59) and to other organizational security information to a plurality of subscribing users. (“User accounts 204 may include information on users associated with credential checking system 202. As a running example, consider that credential checking system 202 is part of Acme Corp (Acme). Acme may have a userbase that it is trying to proactively protect against leaks from other companies, services, etc. Acme may be a financial institution, a health care provider, a merchant, etc.” Ulrich col. 4, ln. 1)
Regarding claim 17, He in view of Ulrich discloses the method of claim 1. He in view of Ulrich further discloses:
including providing access to the general-purpose blended identity risk profiles (“In order to allow a single process to be run against the leaked credentials, the leaked credential files may be standardized into a common format before being processed by control file generator 108.” Ulrich col. 2, ln. 59) and to other organizational security information (“In addition to the user-facing preferences, login name, etc., a user account may store account information for use by Acme.” Ulrich col. 4, ln. 15) to a plurality of subscribing users. (“User accounts 204 may include ….” Ulrich col. 4, ln. 1)
Regarding claim 18, He in view of Ulrich discloses the method of claim 1. He in view of Ulrich further discloses:
including providing access to the general-purpose blended identity risk profiles (“In order to allow a single process to be run against the leaked credentials, the leaked credential files may be standardized into a common format before being processed by control file generator 108.” Ulrich col. 2, ln. 59) and to other organizational security information (“In addition to the user-facing preferences, login name, etc., a user account may store account information for use by Acme.” Ulrich col. 4, ln. 15) to a plurality of subscribing users (“User accounts 204 may include ….” Ulrich col. 4, ln. 1) via an application programming interface. (“Login component 208 may be a service or API of credential checking system 202 that processes login requests from mobile applications, websites, etc. Login component 208 may be implemented as a web service provided by web server 210” Ulrich col. 7, ln. 53)
Regarding claim 19, He in view of Ulrich discloses the method of claim 13. He in view of Ulrich further discloses:
including an application programming interface to provide access (“Login component 208 may be a service or API of credential checking system 202 that processes login requests from mobile applications, websites, etc. Login component 208 may be implemented as a web service provided by web server 210” Ulrich col. 7, ln. 53) to the general-purpose blended identity risk profiles (“In order to allow a single process to be run against the leaked credentials, the leaked credential files may be standardized into a common format before being processed by control file generator 108.” Ulrich col. 2, ln. 59) and to other organizational security information (“In addition to the user-facing preferences, login name, etc., a user account may store account information for use by Acme.” Ulrich col. 4, ln. 15) to a plurality of subscribing users. (“User accounts 204 may include ….” Ulrich col. 4, ln. 1)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892, particularly:
Verma et al., US 2019/0349351, disclosing risk detection and mitigation of compromised customer log-in credentials.
Lockhart, III et al., US 2017/0161520, disclosing methods of determining compromised identity information.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/RUPAL DHARIA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2492