DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-14, 16-27, and 29-35 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 12-14, 16-27, and 29-35 are rejected because claim 12 recites, “the force or mechanical energy,” and claim 25 recites, “the force or mechanical load.” Each of these limitations lack antecedent basis and will be interpreted as, “a force or mechanical…” for examination purposes.
Claim 25 recites, “the plurality of wire receiving openings,” in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes it will be interpreted as, “the at least one wire receiving opening.”
Claim 25 recites, “the plurality of the plurality of activating member openings,” in line 15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes it will be interpreted as, “the at least one activating member opening.”
Claim 25 recites, “the plurality of cavities,” in line 17. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes it will be interpreted as, “the at least one cavity.”
Claims 13-14, 16-24, 26-27, and 29-35 rejected for inheriting the deficiencies of the claims from which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-9, 11-14, 16-20, 22-27, and 29-35 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Scanzillo (US 10461444 B2).
Regarding claim 1: Scanzillo (Figures 1-9) teaches an electrical wiring device comprising:
a housing (i.e. 20, 30, 50, 70) having at least one cavity (i.e. 32) within an interior of the housing (i.e. as in figure 4), at least one wire receiving opening (i.e. 74) and at least one activating member opening (i.e. 80); and
at least one contact assembly (i.e. 100) positioned at least partially in the at least one cavity such that the at least one contact assembly is accessible from the at least one wire receiving opening and the at least one activating member opening (i.e. as in figure 3);
wherein the at least one contact assembly includes:
a wire terminal (i.e. 130) having a clamp brace (i.e. 132) and a force applying member (i.e. 136) secured to the clamp brace, the force applying member including a clamp arm (i.e. 142) that is movable between a first position (i.e. position of figure 8) where a wire (i.e. 700) can be secured between the clamp brace and the clamp arm and a second position (i.e. position of figure 9) where the wire can be inserted through at least one wire receiving opening and between the clamp brace and the clamp arm; and
an activating member (i.e. 150) extending at least partially through the at least one activating member opening such that at least a portion of the activating member is at least partially positioned in the at least one cavity (i.e. as in figure 5), the portion of the activating member within the at least one cavity having a camming surface (i.e. 152a) in close proximity to the clamp arm when the clamp arm is in the first position, the camming surface configured to at least partially engage the force applying member such that movement of the activating member in a first direction (i.e. B) causes the camming surface to ride along the force applying member applying a force or mechanical energy to the force applying member and causing the clamp arm to move from the first position to the second position, and movement of the activating member in a second direction (i.e. opposite to B) removes the force or mechanical energy from the force applying member so that the clamp arm moves from the second position to the first position.
Regarding claim 2: Scanzillo (Figures 1-9) teaches the electrical wiring device according to claim 1, wherein the force applying member is a clamping member (i.e. as in figure 8).
Regarding claim 3: Scanzillo (Figures 1-9) teaches the electrical wiring device according to claim 2, wherein the clamping member is a clamp spring (i.e. as in figure 8).
Regarding claim 5: Scanzillo (Figures 1-9) teaches the electrical wiring device according to claim 1, wherein the activating member remains in the first position or the second position until manually moved (i.e. as understood from figures 8-9).
Regarding claim 6: Scanzillo (Figures 1-9) teaches the electrical wiring device according to claim 1, wherein the movement of the activating member in the second direction is opposite the movement of the activating member in the first direction (i.e. as between figures 8-9)
Regarding claim 7: Scanzillo (Figures 1-9) teaches the electrical wiring device according to claim 1, wherein the movement of the activating member in the first direction and the second direction is parallel to the clamp brace (i.e. as in figures 8-9).
Regarding claim 8: Scanzillo (Figures 1-9) teaches the electrical wiring device according to claim 1, wherein the movement of the activating member in the first direction and the second direction is linear (i.e. as between figures 8-9).
Regarding claim 9: Scanzillo (Figures 1-9) teaches the electrical wiring device according to claim 1, wherein movement of the activating member in the first and second directions is relative to the force applying member or the clamp brace (i.e. as understood from figures 8-9).
Regarding claim 11: Scanzillo (Figures 1-9) teaches the electrical wiring device according to claim 1, wherein when in the first position the clamp arm can clamp the wire with the force that is substantially perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the wire (i.e. as understood from figure 8).
Regarding claim 12: Scanzillo (Figures 1-9) teaches an electrical wiring device comprising:
a housing (i.e. 20, 30, 50, 70) having a plurality of cavities (i.e. 32) within an interior of the housing, a plurality of wire receiving openings (i.e. 74) and a plurality of activating member openings (i.e. 80);
a plurality of contact assemblies (i.e. 100), wherein one of the plurality of contact assemblies is positioned at least partially in one of the plurality of cavities such that the one of the plurality of contact assemblies is accessible from a respective one of the plurality of wire receiving openings and a respective one of the plurality of activating member openings (i.e. as in figure 5); and
wherein each of the plurality of the contact assemblies includes:
a wire terminal (i.e. 130) having a clamp brace (i.e. 132) and a force applying member (i.e. 136) secured to the clamp brace, the force applying member includes a clamp arm (i.e. 142) that is movable between a first position (i.e. position of figure 8) where a wire (i.e. 700) can be secured between the clamp brace and the clamp arm and a second position (i.e. position of figure 9) where the wire can be inserted through one of the plurality of wire receiving openings and between the clamp brace and the clamp arm; and
an activating member (i.e. 150) extending at least partially through the one of the plurality of activating member openings such that at least a portion of the activating member is at least partially positioned in the one of the plurality of cavities (i.e. as in figure 5), the portion of the activating member within the one of the plurality of cavities having a camming surface (i.e. 152a) in close proximity to the clamp arm when the clamp arm is in the first position, the camming surface configured to at least partially engage the force applying member such that movement of the activating member in a first direction (i.e. B) causes the camming surface to ride along the force applying member applying the force or mechanical energy to the force applying member and causing the clamp arm to move from the first position to the second position, and movement of the activating member in a second direction (i.e. opposite to B) removes the force or mechanical energy from the force applying member so that the clamp arm moves from the second position to the first position.
Regarding claim 13: Scanzillo (Figures 1-9) teaches the electrical wiring device according to claim 12, wherein the force applying member is a clamping member (i.e. as in figure 8).
Regarding claim 14: Scanzillo (Figures 1-9) teaches the electrical wiring device according to claim 13, wherein the clamping member is a clamp spring (i.e. as in figure 8).
Regarding claim 16: Scanzillo (Figures 1-9) teaches the electrical wiring device according to claim 12, wherein the activating member remains in the first position or the second position until manually moved (i.e. as understood from figures 8-9).
Regarding claim 17: Scanzillo (Figures 1-9) teaches the electrical wiring device according to claim 12, wherein the movement of the activating member in the second direction is opposite the movement of the activating member in the first direction (i.e. as understood from figures 8-9).
Regarding claim 18: Scanzillo (Figures 1-9) teaches the electrical wiring device according to claim 12, wherein the movement of the activating member in the first direction and the second direction is parallel to the clamp brace (i.e. as understood from figures 8-9).
Regarding claim 19: Scanzillo (Figures 1-9) teaches the electrical wiring device according to claim 12, wherein the movement of the activating member in the first direction and the second direction is linear (i.e. as understood from figures 8-9).
Regarding claim 20: Scanzillo (Figures 1-9) teaches the electrical wiring device according to claim 12, wherein movement of the activating member in the first and second directions is relative to the force applying member or the clamp brace (i.e. as understood from figures 8-9).
Regarding claim 22: Scanzillo (Figures 1-9) teaches the electrical wiring device according to claim 12, wherein when in the first position the clamp arm force applying member can clamp the wire spring with the force that is substantially perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the wire (i.e. as understood from figures 8-9).
Regarding claim 23: Scanzillo (Figures 1-9) teaches the electrical wiring device according to claim 12, wherein the activating member is a rectangular shaped member (i.e. as in figure 8).
Regarding claim 24: Scanzillo (Figures 1-9) teaches the electrical wiring device according to claim 12, wherein a notch (i.e. 152) of the activating member includes the camming surface.
Regarding claim 25: Scanzillo (Figures 1-9) teaches an electrical wiring device comprising:
a housing (i.e. 20, 30, 50, 70) having at least one cavity (i.e. 32) within an interior of the housing, at least one wire receiving opening (i.e. 74) and at least one activating member opening (i.e. 80); and
at least one contact assembly (i.e. 100) positioned at least partially in the at least one cavity such that the at least one contact assembly is accessible from the at least one wire receiving opening and the at least one activating member opening (i.e. as in figure 3);
wherein the at least one contact assembly includes:
a wire terminal (i.e. 130) having a clamp brace (i.e. 132) and a force applying member (i.e. 136) secured to the clamp brace, the force applying member includes a clamp arm (i.e. 142) that is movable between a first position (i.e. position of figure 8) where a wire (i.e. 700) can be secured between the clamp brace and the clamp arm, and a second position (i.e. position of figure 9) where the wire can be inserted through one of the plurality of wire receiving openings and between the clamp brace and the clamp arm; and
an activating member (i.e. 150) extending at least partially through the one of the plurality of activating member openings such that at least a portion of the activating member is at least partially positioned in the one of the plurality of cavities (i.e. as in figure 5), the activating member having a notch (i.e. 152) and a camming surface (i.e. 152a) in close proximity to the clamp arm when the clamp arm is in the first position, the notch is configured to receive at least a portion (i.e. 140b) of the force applying member when in the first position and the camming surface is interactive with the force applying member such that movement of the activating member in a first direction (i.e. B) causes the camming surface to apply the force or mechanical load to the force applying member causing the clamp arm to move from the first position to the second position, and movement of the activating member in a second direction (i.e. opposite to B) removes the force or mechanical energy from the force applying member so that the clamp arm moves from the second position to the first position.
Regarding claim 26: Scanzillo (Figures 1-9) teaches the electrical wiring device according to claim 25, wherein the force applying member is a clamping member (i.e. as in figure 8).
Regarding claim 27: Scanzillo (Figures 1-9) teaches the electrical wiring device according to claim 26, wherein the clamping member is a clamp spring (i.e. as in figure 8).
Regarding claim 29: Scanzillo (Figures 1-9) teaches the electrical wiring device according to claim 25, wherein the activating member remains in the first position or the second position until manually moved (i.e. as understood from figures 8-9).
Regarding claim 30: Scanzillo (Figures 1-9) teaches the electrical wiring device according to claim 25, wherein the movement of the activating member in the second direction is opposite the movement of the activating member in the first direction (i.e. as understood from figures 8-9).
Regarding claim 31: Scanzillo (Figures 1-9) teaches the electrical wiring device according to claim 25, wherein the movement of the activating member in the first direction and the second direction is parallel to the clamp brace (i.e. as understood from figures 8-9).
Regarding claim 32: Scanzillo (Figures 1-9) teaches the electrical wiring device according to claim 25, wherein the movement of the activating member in the first direction and the second direction is linear (i.e. as understood from figures 8-9).
Regarding claim 33: Scanzillo (Figures 1-9) teaches the electrical wiring device according to claim 25, wherein movement of the activating member in the first and second directions is relative to the force applying member or the clamp brace (i.e. as understood from figures 8-9).
Regarding claim 34: Scanzillo (Figures 1-9) teaches the electrical wiring device according to claim 25, wherein movement of the activating member in the first direction is outward relative to the housing and wherein movement of the activating member in the second direction is inward relative to the housing (i.e. as understood from figures 8-9).
Regarding claim 35: Scanzillo (Figures 1-9) teaches the electrical wiring device according to claim 25, wherein when in the first position the clamp arm can clamp the wire with the force that is substantially perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the wire (i.e. as understood from figures 8-9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 34 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scanzillo.
Regarding claim 10: Scanzillo teaches the electrical wiring device according to claim 1, but does not specifically teach wherein movement of the activating member in the first direction is inward relative to the housing and wherein movement of the activating member in the second direction is outward relative to the housing.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to remove the stop (i.e. “S” in figure below) of Scanzillo’s electrical wiring device, allowing a swap of the first and second directions. The activating member and force applying member taught by Scanzillo are inherently configured to have the first direction be opposite to B and the second direction as B. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to routinely optimize (by reducing the net size of) Scanzillo’s device by having movement of the activating member in the first direction is inward relative to the housing and
movement of the activating member in the second direction is outward relative to the housing.
Regarding claim 21: Scanzillo teaches the electrical wiring device according to claim 12, but does not specifically teach wherein movement of the activating member in the first direction is inward relative to the housing and wherein movement of the activating member in the second direction is outward relative to the housing.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to remove the stop (i.e. “S” in figure above) of Scanzillo’s electrical wiring device, allowing a swap of the first and second directions. The activating member and force applying member taught by Scanzillo are inherently configured to have the first direction be opposite to B and the second direction as B. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to routinely optimize (by reducing the net size of) Scanzillo’s device by having movement of the activating member in the first direction is inward relative to the housing and movement of the activating member in the second direction is outward relative to the housing.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the camming surface of Scanzillo is in a different location than that of instant claim 1 and that the direction of movement of the activating member of Scanzillo is different than that of instant claim 1.
Examiner can find no indication in instant claims 1, 12, or 25 which suggest that the location of the camming surface taught by Scanzillo is inappropriate as cited or that the direction of movement of the activating member is not anticipated by Scanzillo.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Christopher Koehler can be reached at 571-272-3560. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/GREGORY L MANGOT/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834