DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the support structure comprises a reflector positioned between the first antenna module and the slot (claim 16) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 797A-1 and 797A-2. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4-20 and 23 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1, 11, and 16 (final paragraph): “the first antenna” and “the second antenna” do not have exact antecedent basis and should read “the first antenna module” and “the second antenna module”.
Claims 1, 11 and 16: “wherein the second band is a band except for the mmWave band” should read “wherein the second frequency band is a band except for the mmWave band”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 4-10, 12-15, 17-20 and 23 are objected to due to their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitations “the support structure comprises a reflector positioned between the first antenna module and the slot” and “the first antenna [module] is arranged directly adjacent to the slot”. However, it is not clear how the reflector can be positioned between the first antenna module and the slot if the first antenna module is arranged directly adjacent to the slot. Clarification is required.
For examination purposes, the limitation “wherein the first antenna is arranged directly adjacent to the slot and directly adjacent to the second antenna such that the first antenna is disposed directly between the slot and the second antenna” is interpreted as “wherein the first antenna module is arranged
Claims 17-20 are rejected due to their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edwards et al. (US 2022/0006198 – of record; “Edwards”) in view of Chen et al. (US 2021/0226318 – of record; “Chen”), and further in view of Moon et al. (US 2017/0373374 – of record; “Moon”).
Claim 16: Edwards discloses (fig. 10 and annotated fig. 11) “An electronic device (10), comprising:
a housing (12) comprising:
a first cover comprising a first outer surface (120), a first inner surface (upper 110) opposite to the first outer surface (120), and a first side surface (118) between the first outer surface (upper 110) and the first inner surface (122);
a second cover comprising a second outer surface (12R) and a second inner surface (lower 110) opposite to the second outer surface (12R) and facing the first inner surface (upper 110); and
a slot (aperture 98; ¶92 “sometimes referred to as slots 98”) positioned extending between the first inner surface of the first cover and the second inner surface of the second cover (see fig. 10);
a first antenna module (annotated fig. 11, A1, patch antenna 91) positioned in the housing (12) between the first inner surface (upper 110) and the second inner surface (lower 110) and facing the slot (98), the first antenna module (A1) configured to operate in a first frequency band (¶83, “antenna 40 [which include first patch antenna 91] covers 24-30 GHz”), wherein the first frequency band is a mmWave band (30 GHz is a mmWave band);
a second antenna module positioned (annotated fig. 11, A2, patch antenna 91) in the housing between the first inner surface (upper 110) and the second inner surface (lower 110) and facing the first antenna module (A1), the second antenna module configured to operate in a second frequency band (¶83);
a support structure (fig.11, substrate 85) positioned between the first inner surface (upper 110) and the second inner surface (lower 110), the support structure configured to support at least one of the first antenna module (A1) or the second antenna module (A2) (substrate 85 supports both antenna modules A1, A2); and
a ground sheet (¶74, “Ground traces 82 may be patterned onto the substrate 85) at least partially enclosing the support structure (85) (Referring to fig. 6, any ground traces (82) formed on the substrate could be considered to be partially enclosing the support structure),
wherein the first antenna module (A1) is arranged directly adjacent to the second antenna module (A2) such that the first antenna module is disposed directly between the slot and the second antenna module”.
Edwards does not explicitly disclose “a second frequency band different from the first frequency band, wherein the second frequency band is a band except for the mmWave band; the support structure comprises a reflector positioned between the first antenna module and the slot; and the ground sheet connected to the second antenna module”.
However, Edwards teaches (¶80 and ¶83) that “each antenna 40 may include any desired number of patch elements 91 for covering one or more frequency bands” and “where antennas 40 are dual-band antennas for covering both the first frequency band from 24-30 GHz and the second frequency band from 37-40 GHz”. Edwards also teaches (¶21) “Millimeter wave signals, which are sometimes referred to as extremely high frequency (EHF) signals, propagate at frequencies above about 30 GHz (e.g., at 60 GHz or other frequencies between about 30 GHz and 300 GHz). Centimeter wave signals propagate at frequencies between about 10 GHz and 30 GHz. If desired, device 10 may also contain antennas for handling satellite navigation system signals, cellular telephone signals, local wireless area network signals, near-field communications, light-based wireless communications, or other wireless communications”. Edwards further teaches (¶103) that “antenna currents on patch elements 91 may be received by millimeter/centimeter wave transceiver circuitry 38”.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have a second frequency band different from the first frequency band, wherein the second frequency band is a band except for the mmWave band in order to support wireless communications in millimeter wave and centimeter wave communications bands (¶4).
Edwards does not explicitly disclose “the ground sheet connected to the second antenna module”.
Chen, in the same field of endeavor, teaches (see figs. 2 and 3) a slot (12) positioned in a housing (1) of a mobile electronic device. A first antenna (4) faces the slot (12) and a second antenna (5) faces the first antenna (4). The electronic device is able to operate in two operating bands. A support structure (2) supports the first (4) and second (5) antennas. A ground sheet (23) at least partially encloses the support structure (2) (see fig. 2 and ¶33). The second antenna (5) is connected to ground sheet (23) via ground element (80) and element (9) (see fig. 2 and ¶48).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the Edwards electronic device where the ground sheet is connected to the second antenna module, as taught by Chen. Doing so allows antenna elements to be coupled to the metallic housing (1) (¶33 of Chen) to allow for multi-point grounding.
Edwards does not disclose “and the support structure comprises a reflector positioned between the first antenna module and the slot”.
Moon teaches (fig. 5) “and the support structure (body portion 131a) comprises a reflector (extension portion 131b, reflection member 135) positioned between the first antenna module (radiation conductor 133) and the slot (hinge recess 115)”.
It would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electronic device of Edwards in view of Chen, wherein the support structure comprises a reflector positioned between the first antenna module and the slot, as taught by Moon. Doing so prevents the deterioration of radiation performance by another metal structure of the electronic device and ensures improved directionality of the radio waves (¶12 of Moon).
Claim 17: the modified Edwards discloses the electronic device of claim 16.
Edwards does not disclose “wherein the reflector is formed along a length of the first antenna module”.
Moon teaches (figs. 4 & 5) “wherein the reflector (extension portion 131b, reflection member 135) is formed along a length of the first antenna module (133)”.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electronic device of Edwards in view of Chen and Moon, wherein the reflector is formed along a length of the first antenna module, as taught by Moon. Doing so allows the radio waves emitted from the first antenna (radiation conductor 133) to be altered by the presence of the reflector (131b, 135) (¶49 of Moon).
Claim 18: the modified Edwards discloses the electronic device of claim 16.
Edwards does not disclose “wherein the reflector extends from the first antenna module toward the slot”.
Moon teaches (figs. 4 & 5) “wherein the reflector (extension portion 131b, reflection member 135) extends from the first antenna module (133) toward the slot (hinge recess 115)”.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electronic device of Edwards in view of Chen and Moon, wherein the reflector extends from the first antenna module toward the slot. Doing so allows a portion of the reflector to extend through the slot (as shown in fig. 2 of Moon) for improved antenna performance.
Claim 19: the modified Edwards discloses the electronic device of claim 16.
Edwards does not disclose “wherein the support structure further comprises: an enclosure portion connected to the reflector that extends between the first inner surface and the second inner surface, the enclosure portion at least partially enclosing the first antenna module”.
Moon teaches (fig. 5) “wherein the support structure (body portion 131a) further comprises: an enclosure portion (F) connected to the reflector (extension portion 131b, reflection member 135) that extends between the first inner surface (inner surface of 101a) and the second inner surface (inner surface of 101b), the enclosure portion (F) at least partially enclosing the first antenna module (133)”.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electronic device of Edwards in view of Chen and Moon, wherein the support structure further comprises: an enclosure portion connected to the reflector that extends between the first inner surface and the second inner surface, the enclosure portion at least partially enclosing the first antenna module, as taught by Moon. Doing so allows the radio waves emitted from the first antenna (radiation conductor 133) to be altered by the presence of the reflector (131b, 135) (¶49 of Moon).
Claim 20: the modified Edwards discloses the electronic device of claim 16.
Edwards discloses (fig. 10 and annotated fig. 11) “wherein the first antenna module (A1) comprises a radiation portion (patch antenna 91)”.
Edwards does not disclose “the reflector is positioned between the radiation portion and the second inner surface”.
Moon teaches “the reflector (extension portion 131b, reflection member 135) is positioned between the radiation portion (133) and the second inner surface (the upper surface of lower case 101b) (part of the reflector is positioned between the radiation portion 133 and the second inner surface in a y-direction)”.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electronic device of Edwards in view of Chen and Moon, wherein the reflector is positioned between the radiation portion and the second inner surface, as taught by Moon. Doing so allows the radio waves emitted from the first antenna (radiation conductor 133) to be altered by the presence of the reflector (131b, 135) (¶49 of Moon).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 4-15 and 23 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The pertinent prior art, as a whole, or in combination, cannot be reasonably construed as adequately teaching or suggesting the elements and features of the claimed invention(s) as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant.
Regarding claim 1, Edwards et al. (US 2022/0006198 – of record; “Edwards”) discloses (fig. 10 and annotated fig. 11 below) “An electronic device (10), comprising:
a housing (12) comprising:
a first cover comprising a first outer surface (120), a first inner surface (upper 110) opposite to the first outer surface (120), and a first side surface (118) between the first outer surface (upper 110) and the first inner surface (122);
a second cover comprising a second outer surface (12R) and a second inner surface (lower 110) opposite to the second outer surface (12R) and facing the first inner surface (upper 110); and
a slot (aperture 98; ¶92 “sometimes referred to as slots 98”) positioned extending between the first inner surface of the first cover and the second inner surface of the second cover (see fig. 10);
a first antenna module (annotated fig. 11, A1, patch antenna 91) positioned in the housing (12) between the first inner surface (upper 110) and the second inner surface (lower 110) and facing the slot (98), the first antenna module (A1) configured to operate in a first frequency band (¶83, “antenna 40 [which include first patch antenna 91] covers 24-30 GHz”), wherein the first frequency band is a mmWave band (30 GHz is a mmWave band);
a second antenna module positioned (annotated fig. 11, A2, patch antenna 91) in the housing between the first inner surface (upper 110) and the second inner surface (lower 110) and facing the first antenna module (A1), the second antenna module configured to operate in a second frequency band (¶83)”.
Edwards does not explicitly disclose “a second frequency band different from the first frequency band, wherein the second frequency band is a band except for the mmWave band”. However, Edwards does teach (¶103) that “antenna currents on patch elements 91 may be received by millimeter/centimeter wave transceiver circuitry”.
Edwards does not teach, or suggest, wherein the first antenna module is arranged directly adjacent to the slot and directly adjacent to the second antenna module such that the first antenna module is disposed directly between the slot and the second antenna module”.
Khripkov et al. (US 2020/0203804; “K”) discloses (figs. 1B & 6 shown below) “An electronic device (communication device 100), comprising:
a housing (housing 102) comprising:
a first cover (dielectric cover 131) comprising a first outer surface (upper surface of 131), a first inner surface opposite to the first outer surface (lower surface of 131), and a first side surface between the first outer surface and the first inner surface;
a second cover (dielectric cover 132) comprising a second outer surface (lower surface of 132) and a second inner surface opposite to the second outer surface and facing the first inner surface (upper surface of 132); and
a slot (aperture 120, ¶12, “An aperture may form a slot in the metal frame”);
a first antenna module (second antenna 150) positioned in the housing between the first inner surface and the second inner surface and facing the slot (120), the first antenna module configured to operate in a first frequency band, wherein the first frequency band is a mmWave band (¶¶73-74, “The second antenna 150 comprises one or more radiating elements 330; 340 which are configured to radiate in a second set of frequency bands FB2 through at least one aperture 120 of the metal frame 110”, “each frequency band of the second set of frequency bands FB2 is in the interval from 10 GHz to 100 GHz”);
a second antenna module (first antenna 110, ¶72, “The metal frame 110 further forms a first antenna configured to radiate in a first set of frequency bands FB1. ”) positioned between the first inner surface and the second inner surface and facing the first antenna module (150), the second antenna module configured to operate in a second frequency band different from the first frequency band (¶73, “At least one frequency band of the first set of frequency bands FB1 is non-overlapping with at least one frequency band of the second set of frequency bands FB2”),
wherein the first antenna module (150) is arranged directly adjacent to the slot (120) and directly adjacent to the second antenna module (110)”.
K does not teach, or suggest “the slot positioned extending between the first inner surface of the first cover and the second inner surface of the second cover, the second antenna module positioned in the housing, wherein the second frequency band is a band except for the mmWave band, and wherein the first antenna module is arranged directly adjacent to the second antenna module such that the first antenna module is disposed directly between the slot and the second antenna module”.
Claims 4-10 and 23 are allowed due to their dependency on claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, Edward discloses (figs. 6 & 10 and annotated fig. 11) “An electronic device (10), comprising:
a housing (12) comprising:
a first cover comprising a first outer surface (120), a first inner surface (upper 110) opposite to the first outer surface (120), and a first side surface (118) between the first outer surface (upper 110) and the first inner surface (122);
a second cover comprising a second outer surface (12R) and a second inner surface (lower 110) opposite to the second outer surface (12R) and facing the first inner surface (upper 110); and
a slot (aperture 98; ¶92 “sometimes referred to as slots 98”) positioned extending between the first inner surface of the first cover and the second inner surface of the second cover (see fig. 10);
a first antenna module (annotated fig. 11, A1, patch antenna 91) positioned in the housing (12) between the first inner surface (upper 110) and the second inner surface (lower 110) and facing the slot (98), the first antenna module (A1) configured to operate in a first frequency band (¶83, “antenna 40 [which include first patch antenna 91] covers 24-30 GHz”), wherein the first frequency band is a mmWave band (30 GHz is a mmWave band);
a second antenna module positioned (annotated fig. 11, A2, patch antenna 91) in the housing between the first inner surface (upper 110) and the second inner surface (lower 110) and facing the first antenna module (A1), the second antenna module configured to operate in a second frequency band (¶83)
a support structure (fig.11, substrate 85), positioned between the first inner surface (upper 110) and the second inner surface (lower 110), configured to support at least one of the first antenna module (A1) or the second antenna module (A2) (substrate 85 supports both antenna modules A1, A2); and
a ground sheet (¶74, “Ground traces 82 may be patterned onto the substrate 85) at least partially enclosing the support structure (85) (Referring to fig. 6, any ground traces (82) formed on the substrate could be considered to be partially enclosing the support structure)”.
Edwards does not explicitly disclose “a second frequency band different from the first frequency band, wherein the second frequency band is a band except for the mmWave band”. However, Edwards does teach (¶103) that “antenna currents on patch elements 91 may be received by millimeter/centimeter wave transceiver circuitry”.
Edwards does not teach, or suggest, “the ground sheet connected to the second antenna module, wherein the support structure comprises a metal bracket, and wherein the first antenna module is arranged directly adjacent to the slot and directly adjacent to the second antenna module such that the first antenna module is disposed directly between the slot and the second antenna module”.
Chen (US 2021/0226318 – of record; “Chen”) discloses (figs. 2 & 3 below) “an electronic device (mobile device, abstract), comprising: a housing (metal housing 1) comprising: a slot (12);
a first antenna module (first radiating element 4) positioned in the housing and facing the slot (12), the first antenna module configured to operate in a first frequency band;
a second antenna module (second radiation element 5) positioned in the housing and facing the first antenna module, the second antenna module configured to operate in a second frequency band, wherein the second frequency band is a band except for the mmWave band (¶56, “mobile device U may generate the first operating band ranging from 2400 MHz to 2500 MHz and the second operating band ranging from 5150 MHz to 5875 MHz”);
a support structure (substrate 2) configured to support at least one of the first antenna module (4) or the second antenna module (5); and
a ground sheet (ground metal layer 23) at least partially enclosing the support structure and connected to the second antenna module (via grounding element 80 – see fig. 2), and wherein the first antenna module is arranged directly adjacent to the slot”.
Chen does not disclose “a first cover comprising a first outer surface, a first inner surface opposite to the first outer surface, and a first side surface between the first outer surface and the first inner surface; a second cover comprising a second outer surface and a second inner surface opposite to the second outer surface and facing the first inner surface; the slot positioned extending between the first inner surface of the first cover and the second inner surface of the second cover; wherein the first frequency band is a mmWave band, the second frequency band different from the first frequency band; wherein the support structure comprises a metal bracket, and wherein the first antenna module is arranged directly adjacent to the second antenna module (substrate 2 separates the first and second antenna modules) such that the first antenna module is disposed directly between the slot and the second antenna module”.
Claims 12-15 are allowable due to their dependency on claim 11.
Conclusion
/ANNA N HAMADYK/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845