Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12, 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong (US 2020/0163169) in view of Kwack et al (US 2020/0158905).
Regarding claim 1, Jeong discloses, an induction heating apparatus (See Fig 1 and Paragraph [0009]) comprising:
a working coil (204, See Figs 2 and 9, Paragraphs [0041];
a coil driver configured to supply the working coil with main power for heating; and (See Fig. 3, elements power source 502, rectifier 504, Filter circuit 506, inverter 508 and paragraphs [0076], [0083])
at least one processor configured to control the coil driver, (See Fig 9, Element 512 and Paragraph [0098])
wherein the coil driver (502, 504, 506, 508) includes: a direct current (DC) power supply circuit (DC voltage is generated by the driving circuit, See Paragraph [0077]) configured to supply the working coil with auxiliary power for container detection; (V1 is considered the aux power source and provides power to the sensing coil 44 for detection, See Figs 9 and 10, and Paragraphs [0089], [0091])
a resonance capacitor connected to the working coil; and (C1 is connected to the working coil and sensing coil 44. See Figs 9 and 10 and Paragraphs [0089], [0109])
a container detection switch connected to the working coil, configured to be turned on and off (Sensing button changes the device, via switch S1, into an automatic sensing mode for detecting the presence of a vessel, See Paragraphs [0097], [0116]);
wherein the at least one processor is configured to, while the coil driver operates as a container detection circuit for detecting a container on the working coil, identify whether a container is present on the working coil based on a resonance signal generated by on/off operation of the container detection switch. (Sensing button changes the device, via switch S1, into an automatic sensing mode for detecting the presence of a vessel, See Paragraphs [0097], [0116]);
However, Jeong does not disclose the working coil is used as the sensing coil.
Kwack discloses an induction heating device with a power supply, resonant capacitor Vdc and a working coil WC configured to heat an object and detect an object. (See Figs 4-6 and (Paragraphs [0138]-[0141], The controller determines whether or not the object is present, using a signal sent through the working coil WC. Also see Fig 8)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to adapt Jeong in view of Kwack to provide the working coil being used at the sensing coil for minimizing noise and increasing the accuracy of the detection operation. Also, it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claims 2-3, Jeong discloses, sensing button changes the device, via switch S1, into an automatic sensing mode for detecting the presence of a vessel, (See Paragraphs [0097], [0116]). This operation is controlled by processor 510 and sensing circuit 520) Regarding claim 4, processor is configured to, in order to operate the coil driver as the heating circuit, control the changeover switch such that one end of the working coil is connected to a main power supply circuit. (The controller 510 operates the switching device S1 to operate the coil 204 as the heating circuit and connect the coil to the main power supply via switches S1 and S2, See Paragraph [0090] and Fig 9) Regarding claim 5, The switches SE1 and SE2 are controlled by controller or processor 510. They are turned on and off based on whether or not the circuit is heating or detecting. (See Paragraph [0080]-[0084]) Kwack discloses an induction heating device with a power supply, resonant capacitor Vdc and a working coil WC configured to heat an object and detect an object. (See Figs 4-6 and (Paragraphs [0138]-[0141], The controller determines whether or not the object is present, using a signal sent through the working coil WC. Also see Fig 8)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to adapt Jeong in view of Kwack to provide the working coil being used at the sensing coil for minimizing noise and increasing the accuracy of the detection operation. Also, it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art.
Jeong discloses, regarding claim 6, current sensor D measure the current flowing through the working coil 204. The controller 510 determines whether a vessel is present in the heating region by performing the first vessel sensing on the basis of a resonance current value obtained by the current sensor D (804). (See Paragraph [0082], [0127])
Regarding claims 7-9, The controller 510 determines whether a vessel is present in the heating region by performing the first vessel sensing on the basis of a resonance current value obtained by the current sensor D (804). In one embodiment of the present disclosure, operation 804 of determining whether a vessel is present in the heating region by performing the first vessel sensing may include determining that a vessel is present in the heating region when a resonance current value obtained while the working coil operates according to a predetermined sensing frequency is less than a predetermined first reference value and determining that a vessel is not present in the heating region when the resonance current value obtained while the working coil operates according to the predetermined sensing frequency is greater than or equal to the predetermined first reference value. (See Paragraph [0127])
Kwack discloses, regarding claims 7-9, The detection operation may further include: measuring, by the sensor, a resonant current in the working coil based on the resonance of the current in the working coil; converting a second current value of the resonant current in the working coil into a second voltage value; comparing the second voltage value to a predetermined reference count value to generate an output pulse; comparing at least one of (i) a count of the output pulse to a predetermined reference count, or (ii) an on-duty time of the output pulse to a predetermined reference time; and determining whether an object is present on the working coil based on a result of the comparison. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the container based on a detect current or a voltage pulse as these are obvious variants for detecting a container in an induction device.
Kwack discloses, regarding claim 10, an induction heating device with a power supply, resonant capacitor Vdc and a working coil WC configured to heat an object and detect an object. (See Figs 4-6 and (Paragraphs [0138]-[0141], The controller determines whether or not the object is present, using a signal sent through the working coil WC. Also see Fig 8)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to adapt Jeong in view of Kwack to provide the working coil being used at the sensing coil for minimizing noise and increasing the accuracy of the detection operation. Also, it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 11, Jeong discloses the capacitor C1 is connected to ground and to the coil via the sensing circuit (See Paragraph [0089]). Regarding claim 12, Jeong discloses, the working coil (See Fig 2) comprises two coils 202 and 204. It would have been obvious to provide a plurality of coil drivers for independently controlling each coil.
Regarding claim 14, Jeong discloses, a method of controlling an induction heating apparatus(See Fig 1 and Paragraph [0009]) including a working coil (204, See Figs 2 and 9, Paragraphs [0041]) and a coil driver configured to supply the working coil with main power for heating, (See Fig. 3, elements power source 502, rectifier 504, Filter circuit 506, inverter 508 and paragraphs [0076], [0083]) the method comprising:
in response to the induction heating apparatus being powered on, converting the coil driver to operate as a container detection circuit; (V1 is considered the aux power source and provides power to the sensing coil 44 for detection, See Figs 9 and 10, and Paragraphs [0089], [0091] Sensing button changes the device, via switch S1, into an automatic sensing mode for detecting the presence of a vessel, See Paragraphs [0097], [0116]);
identifying whether a container is present on the working coil using the container detection circuit; and in response to a heating command being input while the container is located on the working coil, converting the coil driver to operate as a heating circuit. (the containers presence is identified in 1010 and the coil driver operates the heating circuit to heat in 1022, See Fig 20)
However, Jeong does not disclose the working coil is used as the sensing coil.
Kwack discloses an induction heating device with a power supply, resonant capacitor Vdc and a working coil WC configured to heat an object and detect an object. (See Figs 4-6 and (Paragraphs [0138]-[0141], The controller determines whether or not the object is present, using a signal sent through the working coil WC. Also see Fig 8)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to adapt Jeong in view of Kwack to provide the working coil being used at the sensing coil for minimizing noise and increasing the accuracy of the detection operation. Also, it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 15, Jeong discloses, the coil driver (502, 504, 506, 508) includes: a direct current (DC) power supply circuit (DC voltage is generated by the driving circuit, See Paragraph [0077]) configured to supply the working coil with auxiliary power for container detection; (V1 is considered the aux power source and provides power to the sensing coil 44 for detection, See Figs 9 and 10, and Paragraphs [0089], [0091]) a resonance capacitor connected to the working coil; and (C1 is connected to the working coil and sensing coil 44. See Figs 9 and 10 and Paragraphs [0089], [0109]) a container detection switch connected to the working coil, configured to be turned on and off (Sensing button changes the device, via switch S1, into an automatic sensing mode for detecting the presence of a vessel, See Paragraphs [0097], [0116]);
Regarding claim 16, Jeong discloses, monitoring the presence of the container, via the multiple sensing signals and maintaining the heating operation. (See Figs 17-20)
Claim(s) 13, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong (US 2020/0163169) in view of Kwack et al (US 2020/0158905) and Heo (US 2020/0022228).
Regarding claim 13, Jeong fails to disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to: based on a resonance signal generated by on/off operation of a container detection switch included in each of the plurality of coil drivers, independently identify whether a container is present on the plurality of working coils. However, it would have been obvious to detect a second container or a larger container to operate the heating elements based on where the container is placed, or how larger the container is.
Heo discloses a plurality of heating drivers 300, 330, 360, with each coil having a sensing coil. (See Abstract and Paragraph [0157]) A second version with a plurality of coil drivers 403 and 404, with sensing coils 405 and 406. (See Figs 6-8 an Paragraphs [0173]-[0175]) It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to adapt Jeong in view of Heo to provide based on a resonance signal generated by on/off operation of a container detection switch included in each of the plurality of coil drivers, independently identify whether a container is present on the plurality of working coils for detecting which part(s) of the heating regions the container is placed, and controlling the heating elements accordingly.
Regading claims 17 and 18, it is not clear if Jeong discloses, in response to detecting the container is not located on the working coil, stopping heating by the working coil, or in response to detecting the container is not located on the working coil, generating an output notification.
Heo discloses sensing if the container is not on the coil, stopping the heating and displaying a warning. (See Fig 5.) It would have been obvious to adapt Jeong in view of Heo to provide in response to detecting the container is not located on the working coil, stopping heating by the working coil, or in response to detecting the container is not located on the working coil, generating an output notification to stop heating or alert the user a heating element is being operated when no container is on the coil, or an incorrect container is being used.
Conclusion
/BRIAN W JENNISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761 12/10/2025