DETAILED ACTION
2. The election filed on 12/19/2025 in response to the Office Action of 11/19/2025 is acknowledged and has been entered.
Applicant has elected Group I, claims 1-13 and 17-19, drawn to a method of treating a breast cancer in a patient, wherein said method comprises administering a combination of an anti-interleukin-6 receptor antibody, a platinum-based antineoplastic drug, and a taxane.
Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out any supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse. See MPEP 818.03(a).
3. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application. Claims 14-16 and 20 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/19/2025.
Claims 1-13 and 17-19 are currently under prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
7. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "a dose of said taxane of steps (2) and (3)" in lines 8-9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
10. Claims 1-3, 8-13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nguyen et al. (WO 2021257503, published on 23 December 2021).
Claims 1-3, 8-13 and 19 are herein drawn to a method of treating a breast cancer in a patient, wherein said method comprises administering a combination of an anti-interleukin-6 receptor antibody, a platinum-based antineoplastic drug, and a taxane, wherein said platinum-based antineoplastic drug is cisplatin or carboplatin, wherein said taxane is docetaxel, paclitaxel, or nab-paclitaxel, wherein said anti-interleukin-6 receptor antibody is tocilizumab.
Nguyen et al. teach a method of treating breast cancer in a subject comprises administering a taxane (e.g., nab-paclitaxel or paclitaxel) and more chemotherapeutic agents, wherein the chemotherapeutic agents include platinum-based chemotherapeutic agents include (carboplatin or cisplatin) and interleukin 6 (IL-6) blockers (e.g., tocilizumab); see entire document, e.g., abstract, page 16-lines 6-10, page 17-line 1, page 19-line 5.
For claim 3, Nguyen et al. teach the pharmaceutical composition is administered to a human subject; see page 28-lines 34-35.
For claim 8, Nguyen et al. teach 125 mg/m2 nab-paclitaxel; see claim 9.
For claims 9-10, Nguyen et al. teach breast cancers is triple-negative breast cancer (TNBC); see abstract, page 1-line-10 and page 1-lines 22-23.
For claim 11, Nguyen et al. teach administering intravenously for nab-paclitaxel; see page 2-line 33-34.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
13. Claims 1-13 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alraouji et al. (Molecular Carcinogenesis, 2020, 59:1041–1051) in view of Chung et al. (npj Breast Cancer, 2022, 8: 30, pages 1-10).
Claims 1-13 and 17-19 are herein drawn to a method of treating a breast cancer in a patient, wherein said method comprises administering a combination of an anti-interleukin-6 receptor antibody, a platinum-based antineoplastic drug, and a taxane, wherein said platinum-based antineoplastic drug is cisplatin or carboplatin, wherein said taxane is docetaxel, paclitaxel, or nab-paclitaxel, wherein said anti-interleukin-6 receptor antibody is tocilizumab.
Alraouji et al. teach that tocilizumab can suppress the prometastatic capacity of triple‐negative breast cancer (TNBC) cells and enhances the cytotoxic effect of cisplatin against these cells; see entire document, e.g., title, abstract. Alraouji et al. teach doses, schedules, and routes of administration of tocilizumab and cisplatin; see page 1047.
Alraouji et al. do not teach combination of tocilizumab with docetaxel for treating triple‐negative breast cancer (TNBC).
However, this deficiency is remedied by Chung et al.
Chung et al. teach that docetaxel synergizes with anti-IL-6R antibody (tocilizumab) in treating triple‐negative breast cancer (TNBC); see entire document, e.g., pages 4-5. Chung et al. teach doses, schedules, and routes of administration of tocilizumab and docetaxel; see first paragraph of right col. of page 8.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the references so as to treat triple‐negative breast cancer (TNBC) comprising a combination of tocilizumab, cisplatin and docetaxel treatment. One would have been motivated to do so because Alraouji et al. teach that tocilizumab enhances the cytotoxic effect of cisplatin in triple‐negative breast cancer (TNBC) treatment; Chung et al. teach that docetaxel synergizes with anti-IL-6R antibody (tocilizumab) in treating triple‐negative breast cancer (TNBC). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success that by combining the teachings of the references so as to treat triple‐negative breast cancer (TNBC) comprising a combination of tocilizumab, cisplatin and docetaxel treatment, because tocilizumab enhances the cytotoxic effect of cisplatin and docetaxel in triple‐negative breast cancer (TNBC) treatment as taught by Alraouji et al. and Chung et al.
Conclusion
14. No claim is allowed.
/YAN XIAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1642