DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission filed on 12/08/2025 has been entered. Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 9-12 and 14-23 are pending in the application.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21-23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/08/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regard to applicant’s following remarks on claim 1 (on pages 9-10),
(1) Claim 1 requires "querying a dataset stored locally on the UE comprising an anticipated coverage area associated with an extraterrestrial base station." The Examiner cites Wu paragraph [0061], which teaches "when camping on the NTN cell, the terminal device stores the received service information of the satellite and the received coverage information of the NTN cell." Wu further explains that "service information includes ephemeris information and/or service start time information." Wu et al., paragraph [0007].
Wu teaches storing service information and coverage information that were broadcast by the NTN access network device when the UE previously camped on an NTN cell. This stored information does not constitute "an anticipated coverage area associated with an extraterrestrial base station" as required by claim 1. The claimed "anticipated coverage area" requires geographic location or coverage boundary information that enables the UE to determine whether it is "within a predetermined threshold distance" of that coverage area as recited by claim 1.
Wu's locally stored service and coverage information broadcast by the network cannot support such geographic proximity determinations because it lacks anticipated coverage area data.
Applicant contends that Wu’s stored “service information” and “coverage information” do not constitute an “anticipated coverage area” as claimed, and that Wu’s broadcast data cannot support geographic proximity determinations. This argument is not persuasive.
Wu expressly teaches that when camping on an NTN cell, the UE stores the received service information of the satellite and the received coverage information of the NTN cell (¶[0061], ¶[0062], ¶[0284]–[0286]). Wu further discloses that service information includes ephemeris information and/or service start time information (¶[0007], ¶[0144]), and that coverage information includes parameters defining the geographic footprint of the NTN cell. For quasi-earth-fixed cells, Wu teaches a reference (center) location with latitude/longitude and a cell coverage radius; for moving cells, Wu teaches elevation bounds and a coverage radius (¶[0145]). These parameters define a geographic coverage boundary and, together with predictive ephemeris/service-time data, enable the UE to anticipate when and where coverage will exist.
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) consistent with the specification, a locally stored dataset containing predictive and geospatial coverage parameters meets the “anticipated coverage area” limitation. Wu’s disclosure allows the UE to compare its current location to the stored coverage footprint to determine whether it is within, at the edge of, or outside the coverage area. This is the claimed functionality.
(2) Claim 1 requires "determining the location of the UE is within a predetermined threshold distance of the anticipated coverage area associated with the extraterrestrial base station." The Examiner cites Wu paragraph [0203], but Wu teaches that "the distance threshold is used to indicate to perform an idle mode task when a distance between a current geographical location of the terminal device and a reference geographical location reaches the distance threshold" where "the reference geographical location is a geographical location of the terminal device when the terminal device is triggered to perform a TN cell search due to discontinuous coverage of the NTN cell last time, or a geographical location of the terminal device when stopping of performing an idle mode task is last triggered." Wu et al., paragraph [0208].
Wu's distance threshold measures distance from a historical reference location where the UE previously stopped performing idle mode tasks, not distance from an anticipated coverage area of an extraterrestrial base station as required by claim 1.
Wu's distance threshold operates as a retry mechanism that re-enables idle mode tasks after the UE has moved away from a location where it previously experienced search failures, which is fundamentally different from determining proximity to anticipated coverage areas for deciding whether to initiate cell search.
Applicant argues that Wu’s “distance threshold” (¶[0203], ¶[0208]) measures distance from a historical reference location rather than from an anticipated coverage area. This argument is unpersuasive because Wu teaches multiple location-based triggers that serve the same functional purpose as the claimed threshold distance.
Wu discloses that the network can learn the UE’s current geographic location (¶[0169]) and broadcast search time indication information and/or a distance threshold (¶[0203]). Wu also teaches broadcasting geographic area information (¶[0222]–[0247]) specifying regions in which relevant cells exist, and conditioning UE search behavior on whether its current location belongs to such areas (¶[0259]–[0261]). Under BRI, both the explicit coverage footprint parameters (center + radius; elevation bounds + radius) and broadcast geographic area descriptors provide a defined spatial boundary. Determining whether the UE is inside or outside these boundaries is equivalent to determining whether the UE is within a “predetermined threshold distance” of the anticipated coverage area.
While Wu’s distance threshold can be used to re-enable idle-mode tasks after movement, this does not exclude its reasonable reading as a threshold for proximity to a predicted coverage footprint. Wu’s combined teachings of coverage boundaries, geographic area membership tests, and quantitative thresholds satisfy the claimed proximity determination.
With regard to applicant’s following remark on claim 6 (on pages 10-11),
Claim 6 recites "wherein the dataset is created based on historical observations by the UE of the extraterrestrial base station." The specification teaches that "the UE may detect a set of synchronization signals from an extraterrestrial base station at a particular location at a first time and a subsequent second time, and determine that the extraterrestrial base station provides coverage for the particular location at an interval equal to an amount of time between the first and second times."
The Examiner cites Wu paragraph [0061], but Wu teaches "storing the received service information of the satellite and the received coverage information of the NTN cell that are broadcast by an NTN access network device." Wu stores network-broadcast information received while camping on an NTN cell, not observations of synchronization signals made by the UE to deduce orbital patterns as required by claim 6.
Applicant contends that Wu does not disclose UE-made historical observations, but only storage of broadcast network information. This argument is not persuasive because Wu teaches that the UE stores service and coverage information when it previously camped on an NTN cell “at a historical moment” (¶[0061], ¶[0062]) and later uses that stored information to determine coverage status. The act of storing coverage information tied to a past camping event inherently constitutes a historical observation of the extraterrestrial base station’s coverage at that location and time. Under BRI, the stored dataset—derived from the UE’s prior experience and retained for future use—meets the “historical observations” limitation.
With regard to applicant’s following remark on claim 7 (on page 11),
Claim 7 recites "wherein the dataset is created based on an external data source."
The specification teaches that external constellation data may comprise "indications that the
satellite constellation includes one or more satellites" with "information that each satellite travels
along orbital paths" enabling "the UE to model, calculate, or otherwise determine when service is
expected at said current position."
The Examiner cites Wu paragraph [0007], but Wu's "service information includes ephemeris information and/or service start time information" that are broadcast by the NTN access network device to the terminal device, not external constellation data obtained independently by the UE from an external data source as required by claim 7.
Applicant argues that Wu’s ephemeris/service-time data are broadcast by the network and therefore are not “external” as claimed. This argument is not persuasive because under BRI, “external data source” encompasses any source outside the UE itself. Wu teaches that service information (including ephemeris) may be broadcast to the UE by an NTN or TN access network device, and that such information may originate from other network elements, gateways, or operation and maintenance personnel (¶[0063], ¶[0163], ¶[0144]). Wu’s network-provisioned ephemeris and coverage information, originating from external network or gateway sources, meets the “external data source” limitation.
With regard to applicant’s following remark on dependent claims 2-20 (on page 11),
Claims 2-20 depend from or recite similar limitations as claim 1 and are allowable for the same reasons as claim 1, since Wu fails to disclose the fundamental limitations of a locally
stored dataset comprising an anticipated coverage area associated with an extraterrestrial base
station and determining the UE location is within a predetermined threshold distance of that
anticipated coverage area.
Under BRI, with the reasonings mentioned above for claim 1 arguments, Wu’s disclosure anticipates the claims.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Applicant’s
“AMENDMENTS TO THE SPECIFICATION – Please replace paragraphs [0019]-[0020] in the published application with the following amended paragraph [0019]: [0020] Accordingly, … of the
Requested on 12/08/2025 is not clear. As shown below the published application originally has ¶[0019] and ¶[0020]. In the request, the label “[0020]” appears struck through and no replacement text for ¶[0019] is provided, creating ambiguity as to the intended paragraph numbering and content.
Please clarify which paragraph(s) are to be replaced and provide the complete amended text with correct paragraph labels. Additionally, the remaining paragraphs in the specification should be renumbered consecutively to reflect any changes.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-12 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wu et al. (US 2025/0159595 A1), hereinafter “WU”.
Regarding claim 1, WU teaches, ‘A system for performing cell search of one or more
extraterrestrial base stations, the system comprising:’ (Paragraph [0006], this application provides
a cell search method, and the method is applied to a terminal device. Specifically, the terminal device receives service information of a satellite and coverage information of an NTN cell of the satellite):
‘one or more antennas configured to receive downlink signals from an extraterrestrial base station of a first radio access network;’ (FIG. 8, Paragraph [0322], the transceiver 803 may be configured to support receiving or sending of a radio frequency signal between the communication apparatus 80 and an access network device. The transceiver 803 may be connected to the antenna 804. Paragraph [0169], there is signaling exchange between the NTN access network device and the terminal device in the NTN cell);
‘and one or more computer processing components configured to perform operations comprising:’ (FIG. 8, Paragraph [0321], the memory 802 can store program code for performing the technical solution in this embodiment of this application, and the processor 801 controls execution of the program code):
‘determining the UE is not in a coverage area of a second radio access network;’ (Paragraph [0006], the terminal device determines, based on the service information and the coverage information, whether the terminal device is within a coverage area of the NTN cell or whether the terminal device is at an edge of the coverage area of the NTN cell (corresponds to the terminal device not in a coverage area of a terrestrial network));
‘determining a location of the UE;’ (Paragraph [0169], the NTN access network device can learn of a geographical location of the terminal device, and the NTN access network device can determine,
with reference to the geographical location of the terminal device);
‘querying a dataset stored locally on the UE comprising an anticipated coverage area associated with an extraterrestrial base station;’ (Paragraph [0061], when camping on the NTN cell, the terminal device stores the received service information of the satellite and the received coverage information of the NTN cell. The terminal device can store the received service information of the satellite and the received coverage information of the NTN cell, so that when the terminal device needs to search for an NTN cell again, it can be determined whether the terminal device is currently within a coverage
area of the NTN cell);
‘determining the location of the UE is within a predetermined threshold distance of the anticipated coverage area associated with the extraterrestrial base station;’ (Paragraph [0203), Step 303: The NTN access network device broadcasts search time indication information and/or a distance
threshold, and correspondingly, the terminal device receives the search time indication information and/or the distance threshold);
‘and performing a cell selection procedure.’ (Paragraph [0050], the terminal device receives first time information. The first time information is used by the terminal device to determine a moment for starting to search for the NTN cell, or is used by the terminal device to determine a
moment for reselecting to the NTN cell).
Regarding claim 2, WU teaches, the system of claim 1, ‘wherein the second radio access
network is a terrestrial radio access network.’ (Paragraph [0006], when the terminal device determines that the terminal device is not within the coverage area of the NTN cell or is at the edge of the coverage area of the NTN cell, the terminal device searches for the TN (corresponds to second radio access network) neighboring cell based on the first information).
Regarding claim 4, WU teaches, the system of claim 1, ‘wherein the dataset further
comprises a set of downlink frequencies used by the extraterrestrial base station to communicate with the UE.’ (Paragraph [0304], the terminal device starts to measure a frequency in which an NTN cell may exist, and determines, based on a measurement result for each frequency, whether there may
be an NTN cell on which the terminal device can camp).
Regarding claim 5, WU teaches, the system of claim 4, ‘wherein the cell selection procedure comprises tuning to the set of downlink frequencies used by the extraterrestrial base station without tuning to frequencies supported by the UE outside of the set of downlink frequencies used by the extraterrestrial base station to communicate with the UE.’ (FIG. 7, Paragraph [0304], the TN access network device does not perform(corresponds to without tuning to frequencies supported by the UE outside of the set of downlink frequencies used by the extraterrestrial base station) step 702 (corresponds to send TN first time information to the terminal device) and performs only step 701 (corresponds to obtain service information of a satellite and coverage information of an NTN cell of the satellite). In this solution, when the terminal device camping on the TN determines, based on the received service information of the satellite and the received coverage information of the NTN cell of the satellite, that the terminal device is within the coverage area of the NTN cell, the terminal device immediately starts to search for an NTN cell. For example, the terminal device starts to measure a frequency in which an NTN cell may exist, and determines, based on a measurement result for each frequency, whether there may be an NTN cell on which the terminal device can camp. Paragraph [0030], the first information further includes TN neighboring cell information. The TN neighboring cell information includes frequency information of at least one TN neighboring cell and/or cell identifier information of the at least one TN neighboring cell).
Regarding claim 6, WU teaches, the system of claim 5, ‘wherein the dataset is created
based on historical observations by the UE of the extraterrestrial base station.’ (Paragraph [0061], the terminal device obtains service information of a satellite and coverage information of an NTN cell of the satellite includes: When camping on the NTN cell, the terminal device stores the received service information of the satellite and the received coverage information of the NTN cell. For example, the terminal device camps on the NTN cell at a historical moment, and can receive the service information of the satellite and the coverage information of the NTN cell that are broadcast by an NTN access network device. In this way, the terminal device can store the received service information of the satellite and the received coverage information of the NTN cell, so that when the terminal device
needs to search for an NTN cell again, it can be determined whether the terminal device is currently within a coverage area of the NTN cell).
Regarding claim 7, WU teaches, the system of claim 5, ‘wherein the dataset is created based an
external data source.’ (Paragraph [0007], The service information includes ephemeris information and/or service start time information. The service information includes ephemeris information of a neighboring satellite. Optionally, the service information further includes ephemeris information of a serving satellite. The service start time information indicates a time at which the neighboring satellite starts to provide a service for a terminal device in a geographical area. The coverage information of the NTN cell can indicate at least one NTN cell).
Regarding claim 9, WU teaches, the system of claim 8, ‘wherein the dataset is created on the UE based on a determination that the UE is departing a persistent coverage area.’ (Paragraph [0304], when the terminal device camping on the TN determines, based on the received service information of the satellite and the received coverage information of the NTN cell of the satellite, that the terminal device is within the coverage area of the NTN cell, the terminal device immediately starts to search for an NTN cell).
Regarding claims 10 and 19, WU teaches, the system of claim 9, wherein the dataset comprises
anticipated coverage areas for one or more extraterrestrial base stations for a predetermined range beyond the persistent coverage area.’ (FIG. 7, Paragraph [0302], the TN access network device provides the first time information for the terminal device, so that the terminal device determines, based on the first time information, the moment for starting to search for the NTN cell or the moment for reselecting to the NTN cell. Paragraph [0303], Step 703a: If the terminal device determines, based
on the service information and the coverage information, that the terminal device is within a coverage area of the NTN cell, the terminal device starts to search for the NTN cell).
Regarding claim 11, WU teaches, the system of claim 8, ‘wherein the dataset is created based
on an input received at the UE.’ (Paragraph [0020], the reference geographical location (corresponds to an input received at the UE) is a geographical location of the terminal device when the terminal device is triggered to perform a TN cell search due to discontinuous coverage of the NTN cell last time, or a geographical location of the terminal device when the terminal device last triggers stopping of performing the idle mode task).
Regarding claims 12 and 17, WU teaches, the system of claim 11, ‘wherein the input comprises a target location and the dataset comprises anticipated coverage areas for one or more extraterrestrial base stations within a predetermined distance of the target location.’ (FIG. 3, Paragraph [0203], Step 303: The NTN access network device broadcasts search time indication information and/or a distance
threshold, and correspondingly, the terminal device receives the search time indication information and/or the distance threshold. Paragraph [0211], the terminal device uses a preset distance as the distance threshold. For example, the terminal device determines the distance threshold based on a feature of a geographical location of the terminal device).
Regarding claim 14, WU teaches, ‘A method for cell searching comprising:’ (Paragraph [0006], a cell search method):
‘determining a location of a user equipment (UE);’ (Paragraph [0169], the NTN access network device can learn of a geographical location of the terminal device, and the NTN access network device can determine, with reference to the geographical location of the terminal device);
‘querying a dataset stored locally on the UE comprising an anticipated coverage area associated
with an extraterrestrial base station;’ (Paragraph [0061], when camping on the NTN cell, the terminal device stores the received service information of the satellite and the received coverage information of the NTN cell. The terminal device can store the received service information of the satellite and the received coverage information of the NTN cell, so that when the terminal device needs to search for an NTN cell again, it can be determined whether the terminal device is currently within a coverage
area of the NTN cell);
‘determining the location of the UE is within a predetermined threshold distance of the anticipated coverage area associated with the extraterrestrial base station;’ (Paragraph [0203), Step 303: The NTN access network device broadcasts search time indication information and/or a distance
threshold, and correspondingly, the terminal device receives the search time indication information and/or the distance threshold);
‘and performing a cell selection procedure.’ (Paragraph [0050], the terminal device receives first time information. The first time information is used by the terminal device to determine a moment for starting to search for the NTN cell, or is used by the terminal device to determine a
moment for reselecting to the NTN cell).
Regarding claim 15, WU teaches, the system of claim 14, ‘wherein the dataset comprises a date and time the anticipated coverage area of the extraterrestrial base station within the predetermined threshold distance of the location of the UE.’ (Paragraphs [0059]-[0060], T=M2+RxD. T is the moment for starting to search for the NTN cell or the moment for reselecting to the NTN cell. M2 is a moment at which the terminal device predicts that there is NTN coverage. D is the first duration. R is a random number generated by the terminal device. Paragraph [0211], the NTN access network device broadcasts the search time indication information, and the terminal device receives the search time. The terminal device uses a preset distance as the distance threshold).
Regarding claim 16, WU teaches, the method of claim 15, ‘wherein the method further comprises creating the dataset stored locally on the UE based on input received at the UE.’ (Paragraph [0061], when camping on the NTN cell, the terminal device stores the received service information of the satellite and the received coverage information of the NTN cell. The terminal device can store the received service information of the satellite and the received coverage information of the NTN cell, so that when the terminal device needs to search for an NTN cell again, it can be determined whether the terminal device is currently within a coverage area of the NTN cell. Paragraph [0020], the reference geographical location (corresponds to an input received at the UE) is a geographical location of the terminal device when the terminal device is triggered to perform a TN cell search due to discontinuous coverage of the NTN cell last time, or a geographical location of the terminal device when the terminal device last triggers stopping of performing the idle mode task).
Regarding claim 18, WU teaches, the method of claim 15, ‘wherein the dataset is created and stored locally on the UE based on a determination that the UE is departing a persistent coverage area.’ (Paragraph [0061], when camping on the NTN cell, the terminal device stores the received service information of the satellite and the received coverage information of the NTN cell. The terminal device can store the received service information of the satellite and the received coverage information of the NTN cell, so that when the terminal device needs to search for an NTN cell again, it can be determined whether the terminal device is currently within a coverage area of the NTN cell. Paragraph [0304], when the terminal device camping on the TN determines, based on the received service information of the satellite and the received coverage information of the NTN cell of the satellite, that the terminal device is within the coverage area of the NTN cell, the terminal device immediately starts to search for an NTN cell).
Regarding claim 20, WU teaches, ‘A method for performing cell search in a wireless telecommunication network, the method comprising:’ (Paragraph [0006], a cell search method, and the method is applied to a terminal device):
‘based on a determination that a user equipment (UE) is within a persistent coverage area of a terrestrial radio access network, not performing a cell search procedure for one or more extraterrestrial base stations;’ (Paragraph [0006], when the terminal device determines that the terminal device is not within the coverage area of the NTN cell or is at the edge of the coverage area of the NTN cell (corresponds to the terminal device is in a terrestrial network), the terminal device searches for the TN neighboring cell (corresponds to not cell search for extraterrestrial base stations) based on the first information);
‘and based on a determination that the UE is outside the persistent coverage area of the terrestrial radio access network, performing the cell search procedure for one or more extraterrestrial base stations, the cell search procedure comprising:’ (Paragraph [0006], the terminal device determines, based on the service information and the coverage information, whether the terminal device is within a coverage area of the NTN cell or whether the terminal device is at an edge of the coverage area of the NTN cell (corresponds to the terminal device not in a coverage area of a terrestrial network)):
‘querying a locally stored dataset comprising anticipated coverage areas of the one or more extraterrestrial base stations;’ (Paragraph [0061], when camping on the NTN cell, the terminal device stores the received service information of the satellite and the received coverage information of the NTN cell. The terminal device can store the received service information of the satellite and the received coverage information of the NTN cell, so that when the terminal device needs to search for an NTN cell again, it can be determined whether the terminal device is currently within a coverage
area of the NTN cell));
‘determining a location of the UE;’ (Paragraph [0169], the NTN access network device can learn of a geographical location of the terminal device, and the NTN access network device can determine,
with reference to the geographical location of the terminal device);
‘determining the location of the UE is within a predetermined threshold distance of the anticipated coverage areas of the one or more extraterrestrial base stations;’ (Paragraph [0203), Step 303: The NTN access network device broadcasts search time indication information and/or a distance
threshold, and correspondingly, the terminal device receives the search time indication information and/or the distance threshold);
‘and scanning one or more downlink frequencies of the one or more extraterrestrial base stations to acquire time and frequency synchronization with a cell associated with the one or more extraterrestrial base stations.’ (Paragraph [0169], there is signaling exchange between the NTN access network device and the terminal device in the NTN cell. Paragraph [0211], the NTN access network device broadcasts the search time indication information, and the terminal device receives the search time. FIG. 7, Paragraph [0304], when the terminal device camping on the TN determines, based on the received service information of the satellite and the received coverage information of the NTN cell of the satellite, that the terminal device is within the coverage area of the NTN cell, the terminal device immediately starts to search for an NTN cell. For example, the terminal device starts to measure a frequency in which an NTN cell may exist, and determines, based on a measurement result for each frequency, whether there may be an NTN cell on which the terminal device can camp).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAESHIL JESSICA CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479