DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
1. This action is in response to the amendment filed February 17, 2026.
Claim 1 was amended and claim 11 was added, rendering claims 1-11 pending, with claims 8-10 withdrawn as a non-elected invention.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1, 3-7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitaguchi et al. (JP 2000254518 A).
Kitaguchi discloses a powder surface coating on a porous substance or a substrate having voids (paragraph 31) along with a zirconium coating (paragraph 49).
Although Kawaguchi does not explicitly disclose the arrangement of the coatings,
it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to rearrange the layers, since it has been held that rearranging the layers of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70, as in claim 1. In claim 1, the instant invention includes the preamble language of, “door protection plate''. Although the instant preamble has been considered, the preamble merely recites the intended use of a structure, and the body of the claim is able to stand alone. In claim 1, the phrase, “plurality of holes are each sized to accept at least one fastener” constitutes a “capable of” limitation and that such a recitation that an element is ‘capable of’ performing a function is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform.
Concerning claim 3, Kitaguchi discloses a powder surface coating on a porous substance or a substrate having voids (paragraph 31) where Figure 4d shows holes around a perimeter of the article.
Concerning claim 4, Kitaguchi discloses a powder surface coating on a porous substance or a substrate having voids (paragraph 31). In claim 4, the phrase, “configured to enable fastening the door protection plate to a door” constitutes a ‘capable of” limitation and that such a recitation that an element is ‘capable of’ performing a function is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform.
Concerning claim 5, Kitaguchi discloses a powder surface coating on a porous substance or a substrate having voids (paragraph 31). Because Kitaguchi discloses a substrate with a plurality of holes with a zirconium coating, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the coating with similar materials as claimed, to provide corrosion protection. Additionally, in the claim 5, the phrase, “configured to provide corrosion protection” constitutes a ‘capable of” limitation and that such a recitation that an element is ‘capable of’ performing a function is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform.
Concerning claim 6, Kitaguchi discloses a powder surface coating on a porous substance or a substrate having voids (paragraph 31). Because Kitaguchi discloses a substrate with a plurality of holes with a powder coating, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the coating with similar materials as claimed, to provide chemical protection. Additionally, in the claim 6, the phrase, “configured to provide chemical protection” constitutes a ‘capable of” limitation and that such a recitation that an element is ‘capable of’ performing a function is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform.
Concerning claim 7, Kitaguchi discloses a powder surface coating on a porous substance or a substrate having voids (paragraph 31). Kitaguchi does not appear to explicitly teach the coatings are disposed inside the plurality of holes, however substantially identical materials treated in a substantially identical manner are expected to have substantially identical properties. In the present case the coated substrate is carried out using material and process conditions which are substantially identical to those disclosed by applicants. Therefore the coated substrate discussed above would be expected to have coatings material dispersed inside the plurality of holes of the substrate.
Concerning claim 11, Kitaguchi discloses a powder surface coating on a porous substance or a substrate having voids (paragraph 31) along with a zirconium coating (paragraph 49). Although Kitaguchi does not explicitly disclose the thickness of the coating in relation to the holes, thickness modifications involve a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art and therefore obvious. Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984) See MPEP 2144.04.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
4. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitaguchi et al. (JP 2000254518 A) in view of Firstad et al (RU 2363769).
Kitaguchi is taken as above. Kitaguchi does not disclose a galvannel material. Firstad teaches panels of galvanized steel (page 14, lines 52-53) with zirconium coatings and powder coatings (page 13, lines 9-48). Kitaguchi and Firstad are combinable because they are related to a similar technical field, which is powder coatings. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have employed the galvanized substrate, as taught in Firstad, for the substrate of Kitaguchi to achieve the predictable result of improving the corrosion resistance of the article, as in claim 2.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant’s argument of the rejection made under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitaguchi et al. (JP 2000254518 A) has been considered, however, is unpersuasive. Applicant argues Kitaguchi does not disclose the claimed invention, as amended. In response to Applicant’s argument, in claim 1, the phrase, “plurality of holes are each sized to accept at least one fastener” constitutes a “capable of” limitation and that such a recitation that an element is ‘capable of’ performing a function is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. Additionally, Applicant has added claim 11 to include a door protection plate, wherein the first coating is disposed on the substrate with a greater thickness around the plurality of holes. In response to the newly added claim, Kitaguchi discloses a powder surface coating on a porous substance or a substrate having voids (paragraph 31) along with a zirconium coating (paragraph 49). Although Kitaguchi does not explicitly disclose the thickness of the coating in relation to the holes, thickness modifications involve a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art and therefore obvious. Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984) See MPEP 2144.04.
Conclusion
6. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAWRENCE D FERGUSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1781