DETAILED ACTION
This action is made in response to the request for continued examination filed on December 18, 2025. This action is made non-final.
Claims 1-18 are pending. Claims 1, 7, and 13 have been amended. Claims 1, 7, and 13 are independent claims.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to independent claims 1, 7, and 13, the claims recite, among other things, “first distributing a plurality of objects, by applying the plurality of objects to the originally planned workflow, into any of a plurality of elements at an end of the originally planned workflow, out of elements included in the originally planned workflow, at least one of the plurality of objects flowing from a start of the originally planned workflow to at least one of the plurality of elements at the end of the originally planned workflow” and “second distributing the plurality of objects, by applying the plurality of objects to a comparative workflow including an element of a conditional branch that is different from the originally planned workflow, into any of a plurality of elements at an end of the comparative workflow, out of elements included in the comparative workflow, the at least one of the plurality of objects flowing from a start of the comparative workflow to at least one of the plurality of elements at the end of the comparative workflow”. However, it is unclear how the distributing of the plurality of objects occurs such that they are applied into a plurality of elements at an end of the workflow/comparative workflow, out of the elements included in the workflow/comparative workflow, at least one of the plurality of objects flowing from a start…to at least one of the plurality of elements at the end. It is unclear if the plurality of objects are distributed at an end or if the plurality of objects flow from a start…to at least one of the plurality of elements at the end. For the purposes of compact prosecution, the claims will be interpreted in a manner as best understood by the examiner to mean the elements are distributed in a workflow, flowing from a start to an end of the workflow. Appropriate correction is required.
Dependent claims 2-6, 8-12, and 14-18 fail to resolve the 112 deficiency of their parents claims and are similarly rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed December 18, 2025 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
With respect to the previous 101 rejection, Applicant argues the claims are integrated into a practical application by improving the technical field for graphical user interfaces (GUIs). However, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
MPEP 2106.04(d)(1) states “the word ‘improvements’ in the context of this consideration is limited to improvements to the functioning of a computer or any other technology/technical field, whether in Step 2A Prong Two or in Step 2B.” Here, there is no improvement to the computer nor is there an improvement to another technology. The claims recite a method for, to paraphrase, displaying a workflow. Merely displaying data, even as the recited workflows in Applicant’s claim, does not improve the functioning of the computer or other technology. Because neither type of improvement is present in the claims, an improvement to technology is not present and there is no practical application.
Applicant’s argument that the field of displaying workflows is a technology and the claimed invention improves this field is not persuasive. The claims are confined to a general-purpose computer and do not recite an improvement to how a computer performs the function of displaying. Moreover, the entire field of workflows is not reasonably understood to be a problem arising in technology, as it is instead a problem arising in business or other human activity. The claimed invention is using a computer as a tool and any improvement present is an improvement to the abstract idea of, to paraphrase, display a workflow, presumably for comparison purposes.
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) and (c) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references and because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
Saripalli is directed towards a method for rapid reconciliation of errors and bottlenecks in data-driven workflows, wherein datasets are defined and constructed into workflow processes for identifying where bottlenecks occur and how the performance of the workflow may be influenced. As further illustrated in at least Fig. 3 of Saripalli, the workflows can be illustrated as diagrams having a plurality of nodes and edges for tracking movement of data (i.e., distributing a plurality of objects…), wherein each edge can display the number of elements that flow along the edge (i.e., counting a number of the plurality of objects…). As such, Saripalli teaches the claimed limitations. Similarly, Andritsos is directed towards data visualization for generating journey maps (i.e., workflows) wherein nodes (i.e., objects) are distributed along the journey wherein new nodes and new visualizations can be updated (e.g., see Figs. 8-12, [0085], [0086]).
Accordingly, for at least these reasons, the previous grounds of rejection are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claims 1-6 recite a method displaying a workflow, which is within the statutory category of a process. Claims 7-12 recite a non-transitory computer readable memory performing instructions for displaying a workflow, which is within the statutory class of a manufacture. Claims 13-18 recite an information processing system for displaying a workflow, which is within the statutory class of a machine.
Claims are eligible for patent protection under § 101 if they are in one of the four statutory categories and not directed to a judicial exception to patentability. Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 573 U.S. ___ (2014). Claims 1-18, each considered as a whole and as an ordered combination, are directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
MPEP 2106 Step 2A – Prong 1:
The bolded limitations of:
Claims 1, 7, and 13 (claim 1 being representative)
accepting designation of an originally planned workflow including an element conditional branch; first distributing a plurality of objects, by applying the plurality of objects to the originally planned workflow, into any of a plurality of elements at an end of the originally planned workflow, out of elements included in the originally planned workflow, at least one of the plurality of objects flowing from a start of the originally planned workflow to at least one of the plurality of elements at the end of the originally planned workflow; first counting a number of the plurality of objects distributed for each of element the plurality of elements at the end out of elements included in the originally planned workflow; second distributing the plurality of objects, by applying the plurality of objects to a comparative workflow including an element of a conditional branch that is different from the originally planned workflow, into any of a plurality of elements at an end out of elements included in the comparative workflow; second distributing the plurality of objects, by applying the plurality of objects to a comparative workflow including an element of a conditional branch that is different from the originally planned workflow, into any of a plurality of elements at an end of the comparative workflow, out of elements included in the comparative workflow, the at least one of the plurality of objects flowing from a start of the comparative workflow to at least one of the plurality of elements at the end of the comparative workflow, associating with the element at the end, for each of the originally planned workflow and the comparative workflow, by a processor
as presently drafted, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a method of organizing human activity (i.e., managing personal behavior including following rules or instructions) but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, but for the noted computer elements, the claim encompasses a person following rules or instructions to process and present data in the manner described in the abstract idea, for instance an administrator can track the flow of people/resources and create a workflow diagram to assess bottlenecks. The examiner further notes that “methods of organizing human activity” includes a person’s interaction with a computer (see October 2019 Update: Subject Matter Eligibility at Pg. 5). If the claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers managing persona behavior or interactions between people but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “method of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
MPEP 2106 Step 2A – Prong 2:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no meaningful limitations that transform the exception into a patent eligible application. The additional elements merely amount to instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (“a processor”, "a non-transitory computer readable recording medium”, “an information processing apparatus”—all recited at a high level of generality). Although they have and execute instructions to perform the abstract idea itself, this also does not serve to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application as it merely amounts to instructions to "apply it." (See MPEP 2106.04(d)(2) indicating mere instructions to apply an abstract idea does not amount to integrating the abstract idea into a practical application). Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The claims only manipulate abstract data elements into another form. They do not set forth improvements to another technological field or the functioning of the computer itself and instead use computer elements as tools in a conventional way to improve the functioning of the abstract idea identified above. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation. None of the additional elements recited "offers a meaningful limitation beyond generally linking 'the use of the [method] to a particular technological environment,' that is, implementation via computers." Alice Corp., slip op. at 16 (citing Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U.S. 610, 611 (U.S. 2010)).
At the levels of abstraction described above, the claims do not readily lend themselves to a finding that they are directed to a nonabstract idea. Therefore, the analysis proceeds to step 2B. See BASCOM Global Internet v. AT&T Mobility LLC, 827 F.3d 1341, 1349 (Fed. Cir. 2016) ("The Enfish claims, understood in light of their specific limitations, were unambiguously directed to an improvement in computer capabilities. Here, in contrast, the claims and their specific limitations do not readily lend themselves to a step-one finding that they are directed to a nonabstract idea. We therefore defer our consideration of the specific claim limitations’ narrowing effect for step two.") (citations omitted).
MPEP 2106 Step 2B:
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons as presented in Step 2A Prong 2. Moreover, the additional elements recited are known and conventional generic computing elements (“a processor”, "a non-transitory computer readable recording medium”, “an information processing apparatus”—see Specification Fig. 16, [0097]-[0100] describing the various components as general purpose, common, standard, known to one of ordinary skill, and at a high level of generality, and in a manner that indicates that the additional elements are sufficiently well-known that the specification does not need to describe the particulars of such additional elements to satisfy the statutory disclosure requirements). Therefore, these additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept that amounts to significantly more. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
The Federal Circuit has recognized that "an invocation of already-available computers that are not themselves plausibly asserted to be an advance, for use in carrying out improved mathematical calculations, amounts to a recitation of what is 'well-understood, routine, [and] conventional.'" SAP Am., Inc. v. InvestPic, LLC, 890 F.3d 1016, 1023 (Fed. Cir. 2018) (alteration in original) (citing Mayo v. Prometheus, 566 U.S. 66, 73 (2012)). Apart from the instructions to implement the abstract idea, they only serve to perform well-understood functions (e.g., receiving, translating, and displaying data—see Specification above as well as Alice Corp.; Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307 (Fed. Cir. 2016); and Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334 (Fed. Cir. 2015) covering the well-known nature of these computer functions).
Dependent Claims
The limitations of dependent but for those addressed below merely set forth further refinements of the abstract idea without changing the analysis already presented. Claims 2, 4 (8, 10) (14, 16) merely recite calculating the difference in the workflows, claims 3, 9, 15 merely recite displaying the number of objects, claims 5-6 (11-12) (17-18) merely recite displaying workflow nodes in different forms, which covers a method of organizing human activity (i.e., managing personal behavior including following rules or instructions).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-9, and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saripalli et al. (USPPN: 2019/0325011; hereinafter Saripalli) in further view of Andritosos (USPPN: 2019/0377818; hereinafter Andritsos).
As to claim 1, Saripalli teaches A workflow display method on a graphical user interface (e.g., see Abstract) comprising:
accepting designation of an originally planned workflow including an element conditional branch (e.g., see Fig. 3, [0011], [0017], [0033]-[0052] wherein one or more workflows is generated wherein each data element can have different actions or transformations (i.e., conditional branches));
first distributing a plurality of objects, by applying the plurality of objects to the originally planned workflow, into any of a plurality of elements at an end of the originally planned workflow, out of elements included in the originally planned workflow, at least one of the plurality of objects flowing from a start of the originally planned workflow to at least one of the plurality of elements at the end of the originally planned workflow (See 112 rejection above. e.g., see Fig. 3, [0017], [0024] wherein each workflow is a collection of data elements of a plurality of elements, flowing from a start to an end);
first counting a number of the plurality of objects distributed for each of element the plurality of elements at the end out of elements included in the originally planned workflow (e.g., see Fig. 3, [0028] wherein a number of objects distributed along a workflow are determined);
second distributing the plurality of objects, by applying the plurality of objects to a comparative workflow including an element of a conditional branch that is different from the originally planned workflow, into any of a plurality of elements at an end of the comparative workflow, out of elements included in the comparative workflow, the at least one of the plurality of objects flowing from a start of the comparative workflow to at least one of the plurality of elements at the end of the comparative workflow (See 112 rejection above. e.g., see Fig. 3, [0017], [0019], [0024] teaching a plurality of wherein each workflow is a collection of data elements of a plurality of elements, flowing from a start to an end, wherein similarities and differences can be measured between the data elements);
second counting a number of the plurality of objects distributed for each of the plurality of elements at the end out of elements included in the comparative workflow (e.g., see Fig. 3, [0017], [0019], [0024] teaching a plurality of wherein each workflow is a collection of data elements of a plurality of elements); and
displaying the number of the plurality of objects distributed to an element at the end, associating with the element at the end, for each of the originally planned workflow and the comparative workflow, by a processor (e.g., see Fig. 3, [0028] displaying the number of objects distributed along each workflow, wherein multiple workflows are possible).
While Saripalli teaches counting and displaying the number of objects distributed along a workflow, flowing from the start to end of the workflow, wherein similarities and differences between the data elements can be measured, should the recited features upon which the examiner rely not provide sufficient support, in the same field of endeavor of data visualization Andritosos further teaches a comparative workflow that is different from the originally planned workflow (e.g., see Figs. 12, 27 teaching displaying the event log data as separate journey/workflow) and further teaches the at least one of the plurality of objects flowing from a start of the workflow/comparative workflow to at least one of the plurality of elements at the end of the workflow/comparative workflow (e.g., see Figs. 2, 3, 6, 8-12, [0085], [0086] wherein the journey maps (i.e., workflows) have a starting and ending nodes, wherein new nodes can be added and updated to the journey maps).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to modify Saripalli in view of Andritosos with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to make the modification in order to quickly and easily compare one workflow/journey to another to better identify fact-based insights from the event logs (e.g., see [0097]-[0098] of Andritsos)
As to claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Saripalli-Andritsos further teach first calculating, for each object included in the plurality of objects, a distance between a first symbol string corresponding to a first route on which the object flows from a start to an end of the originally planned workflow and a second symbol string corresponding to a second route on which the object flows from a start to an end of the comparative workflow (e.g., see [0057]-[0060] of Saripalli wherein a score is calculated between each data snapshot so that they are compared against one another. See also Fig. 27 of Andritosos illustrating a comparison between entire journeys (i.e., workflow)); and
second calculating a degree of difference of the originally planned workflow and the comparative workflow based on the distance calculated for each of the objects, wherein the displaying includes displaying the comparative workflow, the degree of difference of which satisfies a predetermined condition (e.g., se [0069]-[0072] of Saripalli wherein a degree of difference is calculated. See also [0188]-[0190] of Andritosos wherein the calculation of closeness (i.e., degree of difference) is of the entire journey (i.e., workflow)).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to modify Saripalli in view of Andritosos with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to make the modification in order to quickly and easily compare one workflow/journey to another to better identify fact-based insights from the event logs (e.g., see [0097]-[0098] of Andritsos)
As to claim 3, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated. Saripalli-Andritosis further teaches wherein the displaying includes displaying a number of objects distributed to the element at the end associating with the element at the end, for each of the originally planned workflow and the comparative workflow, the degree of difference of which is smallest (e.g., see Fig. 3, of Saripalli displaying the number of objects distributed. See also Fig. 27, [0188]-[0190] of Andritosos teaching calculating and displaying a closeness (i.e., degree of difference) is of the entire journey (i.e., workflow).
As to claim 4, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated. Saripalli further teaches wherein the distance is Levenshtein distance (e.g., see [0072] teaching the Levenshtein comparison functions).
As to claims 7-10, the claims are directed to the non-transitory computer-readable recording medium implementing the method of claims 1-4 and are similarly rejected.
As to claims 13-16, the claims are directed to the information processing apparatus implementing the method of claims 1-4 and are similarly rejected.
Claim(s) 5-6, 11-12, and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saripalli and Andritosos, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Janssen et al. (USPPN: 2016/0300024; hereinafter Janssen).
As to claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Saripalli-Andritosos fail to teach wherein the displaying includes changing a display form of an element of an edge connecting between elements of node according to a number of object distributed to the element of the edge.
However, in the same field of endeavor of data visualization, Janssen teaches wherein the displaying includes changing a display form of an element of an edge connecting between elements of node according to a number of object distributed to the element of the edge (e.g., see [0020], [0025] wherein workflow nodes are dynamically adjusted by color, shape, and/or size based on their predicted load and maximum capacity).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to modify Saripalli-Andritosos in view of Janssen with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to make the modification in order to quickly and easily indicate whether a workflow protocol is in compliance (e.g., see [0021] of Janssen).
As to claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Saripalli-Andritosos fail to teach wherein the displaying includes displaying an element at the end in which the number of object exceeds an upper limit in a display form different from a display form of other elements at the end.
However, in the same field of endeavor of data visualization, Janssen teaches wherein the displaying includes displaying an element at the end in which the number of object exceeds an upper limit in a display form different from a display form of other elements at the end (e.g., see [0020], [0025], [0064] wherein workflow nodes are dynamically adjusted by color, shape, and/or size based on their predicted load and maximum capacity wherein different thresholds can be applied in which a visual indicator is provided).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to modify Saripalli-Andritosos in view of Janssen with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to make the modification in order to quickly and easily indicate whether a workflow protocol is in compliance (e.g., see [0021] of Janssen).
As to claims 11-12, the claims are directed to the non-transitory computer-readable recording medium implementing the method of claims 5-6 and are similarly rejected.
As to claims 17-18, the claims are directed to the information processing apparatus implementing the method of claims 5-6 and are similarly rejected.
Relevant Art not Cited
As a courtesy, the following prior art documents have been found during the course of examination and deemed relevant to applicant’s disclosure. Applicant is strongly encouraged to review the following references prior to any amendments/remarks:
Zeltyn et al. (USPPN: 2022/0327291)
Dreyer (USPPN: 2021/0118555)
It is noted that any citation to specific pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. “The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain.” In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). Further, a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989). See also Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005); Celeritas Technologies Ltd. v. Rockwell International Corp., 150 F.3d 1354, 1361, 47 USPQ2d 1516, 1522-23 (Fed. Cir. 1998).
Conclusion
/STELLA HIGGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3681