DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
Regarding claims 4, 10, and 17, the limitation “the actuator facilitates selective sliding of the tip dresser in a direction that is perpendicular to the first axis” is not properly supported in the specifications.
Regarding claims 8 and 15, the limitation “the driver cylinder being operably mounted to the arm assembly to facilitate pivoting of the arm assembly with respect to the mounting base about a second axis that is perpendicular to the first axis” is not properly supported in the specifications.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 21-23 and 26-32 of U.S. Patent No. 17163736. Each of the limitations of the pending case either is identical in language to or is anticipated by corresponding limitations in the reference case. This is because the limitations which differ in the reference case lie entirely within the scope of the pending claim. The noticeable differences between the limitation of the cases are as follows:
Claim 27 of the reference claim recites “a support plate; a mounting plate coupled with the support plate; and an actuator coupled with the mounting plate”. Thus, since both the support plate and actuator are coupled with the mounting plate, the support plate and actuator would also reasonably be considered to be coupled to one another. This lies entirely within the scope of claim 5 of the pending claims which recites “a support plate; and an actuator coupled with the support plate”.
Pending claims
Reference claims
1. A swing arm comprising: an arm; an extendible arm mount slidably coupled with the arm such that the extendible arm mount is slidable with respect to the arm along a first axis between a retracted position and an extended position; and a head mounted to the extendible arm mount and comprising: a support plate; and an actuator coupled with the support plate and configured to facilitate selective sliding of a tip dresser with respect to the support plate.
21. (Previously Presented): A swing arm assembly comprising: a tip dresser for a spot welding machine; a flange coupled with the tip dresser; and a swing arm comprising: a mounting base; and an arm assembly comprising: an arm pivotably coupled with the mounting base; an extendible arm mount disposed within the arm and slidably coupled with the arm such that the extendible arm mount is slidable with respect to the arm along a first axis between a retracted position and an extended position; and a head mounted to the extendible arm mount and comprising: a support plate; and an actuator coupled with the support plate, wherein: the tip dresser is coupled with the support plate; and the actuator is operably coupled with the flange to facilitate selective sliding of the tip dresser with respect to the support plate.
2. The swing arm of claim 1 wherein the actuator comprises a piston.
22. (Previously Presented): The swing arm assembly of claim 21 wherein the actuator comprises a piston.
3. The swing arm of claim 2 wherein the piston is electrically powered.
23. (Previously Presented): The swing arm assembly of claim 22 wherein the piston is electrically powered.
4. The swing arm of claim 1 wherein the actuator facilitates selective sliding of the tip dresser in a direction that is perpendicular to the first axis.
26. (Previously Presented): The swing arm assembly of claim 21 wherein the actuator facilitates selective sliding of the tip dresser in a direction that is perpendicular to the first axis.
5. A swing arm comprising: a mounting base; and an arm assembly pivotably coupled with the mounting base, the arm assembly comprising: an arm; an extendible arm mount slidably coupled with the arm such that the extendible arm mount is slidable with respect to the arm along a first axis between a retracted position and an extended position; and a head mounted to the extendible arm mount and comprising: a support plate; and an actuator coupled with the support plate and configured to facilitate selective sliding of a tip dresser with respect to the support plate.
27. (Previously Presented): A swing arm assembly comprising: a tip dresser for a spot welding machine; a flange coupled with the tip dresser; and a swing arm comprising: a mounting base; and an arm assembly pivotably coupled with the mounting base, the arm assembly comprising: an arm; an extendible arm mount disposed within the arm and slidably coupled with the arm such that the extendible arm mount is slidable with respect to the arm along a first axis between a retracted position and an extended position; and a head mounted to the extendible arm mount and comprising: a support plate; a mounting plate coupled with the support plate; and an actuator coupled with the mounting plate, wherein: the tip dresser is coupled with the mounting plate; and the actuator is operably coupled with the flange to facilitate selective sliding of the tip dresser with respect to the support plate.
6. The swing arm of claim 5 wherein a support plate; and an actuator coupled with the support plate
28. (Previously Presented): The swing arm assembly of claim 27 wherein the actuator comprises a piston.
7. The swing arm of claim 6 wherein the piston is electrically powered.
29. (Previously Presented): The swing arm assembly of claim 28 wherein the piston is electrically powered.
8. The swing arm of claim 5 further comprising a driver cylinder pivotally coupled to the mounting base, the driver cylinder being operably mounted to the arm assembly to facilitate pivoting of the arm assembly with respect to the mounting base about a second axis that is perpendicular to the first axis.
30. (Previously Presented): The swing arm assembly of claim 27 further comprising a driver cylinder pivotally coupled to the mounting base, the driver cylinder being operably mounted to the arm assembly to facilitate pivoting of the arm assembly with respect to the mounting base about a second axis that is perpendicular to the first axis.
9. The swing arm of claim 8 wherein the driver cylinder comprises a pneumatic drive.
31. (Previously Presented): The swing arm assembly of claim 30 wherein the driver cylinder comprises a pneumatic drive.
10. The swing arm of claim 5 wherein the actuator facilitates selective sliding of the tip dresser in a direction that is perpendicular to the first axis.
32. (Previously Presented): The swing arm assembly of claim 27 wherein the actuator facilitates selective sliding of the tip dresser in a direction that is perpendicular to the first axis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YEUM (US 20140360993 A1) in view of Asmis (US 6106203 A) and Kawabuchi (US 20120024091 A1).
Regarding claim 1, YEUM (US 20140360993 A1) teaches a swing arm (Figure 9, robot apparatus 100) comprising:
an arm (Figure 9 Paragraph 71, multi-joint robot 110 mount to rotate on a base 101);
an extendible arm mount (Figure 9, rotatable arm 111)
a head mounted to the extendible arm mount (Paragraph 71, frame 120 is engaged to arm 111 of the robot 110) and comprising:
a support plate (Figure 9, frame 120); and
an actuator coupled with the support plate and configured to facilitate selective sliding of a tip dresser with respect to the support plate (Figures 9-11 Paragraph 74, frame 120 having a moving device mounted thereon in which a plurality of sliders is linearly moved; Paragraph 74, moving device include a motorized linear cylinder tool 140).
Said a robot would be capable of sliding a tip dresser as said tip dresser is not positively recited. Furthermore, Column 1 Lines 19-26 and Column 4 Lines 1-9 of Asmis (US 6106203 A) teaches that mounting a tip dresser to a robot arm is well known in the art. It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yeum with Asmis and had the robot carry a tip dresser. This would have been done to allow the robot to reshape welding electrodes while reducing the number of debris that falls from elevated regions (Asmis Column 4 Lines 1-9).
YEUM modified with Asmis fails to explicitly teach:
an extendible arm mount slidably coupled with the arm such that the extendible arm mount is slidable with respect to the arm along a first axis between a retracted position and an extended position; and
Kawabuchi (US 20120024091 A1) teaches a linear-motion telescopic mechanism for a robot arm, comprising:
an extendible arm mount slidably coupled with the arm such that the extendible arm mount is slidable with respect to the arm along a first axis between a retracted position and an extended position (Figures 1-2 Paragraphs 57 and 65, arm section 2 of a robot arm 40 in which the robot arm is slidable between an elongated and a contacted position); and
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yeum with Kawabuchi and had the robot include a telescopic mechanism. This would be done to enhance safety by eliminating risk inevitable for a typical robot arm having an elbow joint (Kawabuchi Paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 2, YEUM as modified teaches the swing arm of claim 1 wherein
the actuator comprises a piston (Paragraphs 75-79, cylinder rod 145 moves forward and backwards with the driving of the motor such as to move the slider linearly along the LM guide 146).
Regarding claim 3, YEUM as modified teaches the swing arm of claim 2 wherein
the piston is electrically powered (Paragraph 101, control signal for driving each moving device is delivered to the encoder 141 from the control panel such as to drive the motor of each respective slider 130).
Regarding claim 4, YEUM as modified teaches the swing arm of claim 1, wherein:
the actuator facilitates selective sliding of the tip dresser in a direction that is perpendicular to the first axis (Figures 9-10 Paragraphs 42/44/71-72, sliders 130 linearly slide along the longitudinal directions of the sub-frames 121 and 122 in reference to the frame 120 which is arranged perpendicular to the robot 110 and rotatable arm 111)
Kawabuchi further teaches:
the actuator facilitates selective rotation of the tip dresser in a direction that is perpendicular to the first axis (Figures 80-81 Paragraph 112-114, sixth and seventh rotational joints J6/J7 are rotatable adjustable in an axis which is perpendicular to that of the arm section 2).
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 1.
Furthermore, Column 1 Lines 19-26 and Column 4 Lines 1-9 of Asmis (US 6106203 A) teaches that mounting a tip dresser to a robot arm is well known in the art. It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yeum with Asmis and had the robot carry a tip dresser. This would have been done to allow the robot to reshape welding electrodes while reducing the amount of debris that falls from elevated regions (Asmis Column 4 Lines 1-9).
Regarding claim 5, YEUM (US 20140360993 A1) teaches a swing arm comprising:
a mounting base (Figure 9 Paragraph 68, base 101 fixed in an installation place and robot 110); and
an arm assembly (rotatable arm 111/frame 120/ and plurality of components attached to frame 120) pivotably coupled with the mounting base (Figure 9 Paragraph 68, frame 120 is attached to a rotatable arm 111 of the robot 110 which is attached to the base 101), the arm assembly comprising:
an arm (rotatable arm 111);
a head mounted to the extendible arm mount (Paragraph 71, frame 120 is engaged to arm 111 of the robot 110) and comprising:
a support plate (Figure 9, frame 120); and
an actuator coupled with the support plate and configured to facilitate selective sliding of a tip dresser with respect to the support plate (Figures 9-11 Paragraph 74, frame 120 having a moving device mounted thereon in which a plurality of sliders is linearly moved; Paragraph 74, moving device include a motorized linear cylinder tool 140).
Said a robot would be capable of sliding a tip dresser as said tip dresser is not positively recited. Furthermore, Column 1 Lines 19-26 and Column 4 Lines 1-9 of Asmis (US 6106203 A) teaches that mounting a tip dresser to a robot arm is well known in the art. It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yeum with Asmis and had the robot carry a tip dresser. This would have been done to allow the robot to reshape welding electrodes while reducing the amount of debris that falls from elevated regions (Asmis Column 4 Lines 1-9).
YEUM modified with Asmis fails to explicitly teach:
an extendible arm mount slidably coupled with the arm such that the extendible arm mount is slidable with respect to the arm along a first axis between a retracted position and an extended position; and
Kawabuchi (US 20120024091 A1) teaches a linear-motion telescopic mechanism for a robot arm, comprising:
an extendible arm mount slidably coupled with the arm such that the extendible arm mount is slidable with respect to the arm along a first axis between a retracted position and an extended position (Figures 1-2 Paragraphs 57 and 65, arm section 2 of a robot arm 40 in which the robot arm is slidable between an elongated and a contacted position); and
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yeum with Kawabuchi and had the robot include a telescopic mechanism. This would be done to enhance safety by eliminating risk inevitable for a typical robot arm having an elbow joint (Kawabuchi Paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 6, YEUM as modified teaches the swing arm of claim 5 wherein
the actuator comprises a piston (Paragraphs 75-79, cylinder rod 145 moves forward and backwards with the driving of the motor such as to move the slider linearly along the LM guide 146).
Regarding claim 7, YEUM as modified teaches the swing arm of claim 6 wherein
the piston is electrically powered (Paragraph 101, control signal for driving each moving device is delivered to the encoder 141 from the control panel such as to drive the motor of each respective slider 130).
Regarding claim 10, YEUM as modified teaches the swing arm of claim 5, wherein:
the actuator facilitates selective sliding of the tip dresser in a direction that is perpendicular to the first axis (Figures 9-11 Paragraph 74, frame 120 having a moving device mounted thereon in which a plurality of sliders is linearly moved; Paragraph 74, moving device include a motorized linear cylinder tool 140; Figure 9, said sliding occurs vertically and horizontally with respect to the frame 120 while the robot arm extends perpendicularly in the z-axis with respect to the frame 120).
Kawabuchi further teaches:
the actuator facilitates selective rotation of the tip dresser in a direction that is perpendicular to the first axis (Figures 80-81 Paragraph 112-114, sixth and seventh rotational joints J6/J7 are rotatable adjustable in an axis which is perpendicular to that of the arm section 2).
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 1.
Furthermore, Column 1 Lines 19-26 and Column 4 Lines 1-9 of Asmis (US 6106203 A) teaches that mounting a tip dresser to a robot arm is well known in the art. It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yeum with Asmis and had the robot carry a tip dresser. This would have been done to allow the robot to reshape welding electrodes while reducing the amount of debris that falls from elevated regions (Asmis Column 4 Lines 1-9).
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YEUM (US 20140360993 A1) in view of Asmis (US 6106203 A) and Kawabuchi (US 20120024091 A1) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of WASNER (DE 10139807 A1).
Regarding claim 8, YEUM as modified teaches the swing arm of claim 5.
YEUM as modified fails to explicitly teach:
a driver cylinder pivotally coupled to the mounting base, the driver cylinder being operably mounted to the arm assembly to facilitate pivoting of the arm assembly with respect to the mounting base about a second axis that is perpendicular to the first axis.
WASNER (DE 10139807 A1) teaches a robot arm, comprising:
a driver cylinder pivotally coupled to the mounting base (Paragraph 21, rotary unit 12 is rotatably coupled to base 20 via a bearing device 20; Paragraphs 12 and 21, rotary unit 12 contains a workpiece unit 26a which drives a lifting rod 28 through pneumatic energy), the driver cylinder being operably mounted to the arm assembly to facilitate pivoting of the arm assembly with respect to the mounting base about a second axis that is perpendicular to the first axis (Paragraphs 21-22, rotary unit 12, first working unit 26a comprising a lifting rod 28a that is axially displaced in the direction to the axis of rotation such as to pivot the bearing block 34b via a horizontal pivot axis 38; Figure 1, said horizontal pivot axis extends into the page which is perpendicular to the horizontal/vertical axis in which the robot arm extends).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yeum with WASNER and used pneumatic drive cylinder to provide energy to a lifting rod such as to facilitate pivoting the arm assembly with respect to the mounting base. This would have been done to simply the design in terms of construction (WASNER Paragraph 12).
Regarding claim 9, YEUM as modified teaches the swing arm of claim 8.
WASNER further teaches:
the driver cylinder comprises a pneumatic drive (Paragraphs 12 and 21, rotary unit 12 contains a workpiece unit 26a which drives a lifting rod 28 through pneumatic energy).
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 8.
Claim(s) 11, 13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YEUM (US 20140360993 A1) in view of SON (KR 20060069974 A) and Asmis (US 6106203 A).
Regarding claim 11, YEUM (US 20140360993 A1) teaches a swing arm comprising:
a mounting base (Figure 9 Paragraph 68, base 101 fixed in an installation place and robot 110); and
an arm assembly (rotatable arm 111/frame 120/ and plurality of components attached to frame 120) pivotably coupled with the mounting base (Figure 9 Paragraph 68, frame 120 is attached to a rotatable arm 111 of the robot 110 which is attached to the base 101), the arm assembly comprising a head that comprises a support plate (Paragraph 71, frame 120 is engaged to arm 111 of the robot 110);
an actuator coupled with the head, wherein the actuator is configured to facilitate selective sliding (Figures 9-11 Paragraph 74, frame 120 having a moving device mounted thereon in which a plurality of sliders is linearly moved; Paragraph 74, moving device include a motorized linear cylinder tool 140)
YEUM fails to explicitly teach:
at least one self-equalizing spring that is coupled with the support plate, the at least one self-equalizing spring being configured to support a tip dresser; and
the actuator is configured to facilitate selective sliding of the tip dresser with respect to the support plate and in opposition to the at least one self-equalizing spring.
SON (KR 20060069974 A) teaches a dressing system for electrode, wherein:
at least one self-equalizing spring that is coupled with the support plate (Figure 3 Page 7, first spring 32 having one end fixed to the first moving body 31 and elastically moving in a direction perpendicular to the cross section of the electrode tip), the at least one self-equalizing spring being configured to support a tip dresser (Page 11, first spring 32 and second spring 37 cause the dresser to contact the cross-section of the electrode tip); and
the actuator is configured to facilitate selective sliding of the tip dresser with respect to the support plate and in opposition to the at least one self-equalizing spring (Page 6, the dresser approaches the cross-section of the electrode tip in a direction perpendicular to the cross-section of the electrode tip; Page 7, first and second springs elastically move in a direction perpendicular to the cross section of the electrode tip; Paragraph 11, elastic force is accumulated in the spring such as to move the dresser in a direction perpendicular to the cross-section of the electrode tip).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yeum with SON and included at least one self-equalizing spring and a tip dresser to the robot. This would be done such as such as to process the cross-sections of electrode tips (SON Page 3) wherein the use of robots to reshape electrode welding electrodes in known in the art to be beneficial in reducing the amount of debris that fall as evidenced by Column 1 Lines 19-26 and Column 4 Lines 1-9 of Asmis (US 6106203 A).
Regarding claim 13, YEUM as modified teaches the swing arm of claim 11 wherein
the actuator comprises a piston (Paragraphs 75-79, cylinder rod 145 moves forward and backwards with the driving of the motor such as to move the slider linearly along the LM guide 146).
Regarding claim 14, YEUM as modified teaches the swing arm of claim 13 wherein
the piston is electrically powered (Paragraph 101, control signal for driving each moving device is delivered to the encoder 141 from the control panel such as to drive the motor of each respective slider 130).
Claim(s) 12 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YEUM (US 20140360993 A1) in view of SON (KR 20060069974 A) and Asmis (US 6106203 A) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Kawabuchi (US 20120024091 A1).
Regarding claim 12, YEUM as modified teaches the swing arm of claim 11 wherein the arm assembly, comprising:
an arm (rotatable arm 111);
wherein the head is mounted to the extendible arm mount (Paragraph 71, frame 120 is engaged to arm 111 of the robot 110).
YEUM fails to explicitly teach:
and an extendible arm mount slidably coupled with the arm such that the extendible arm mount is slidable with respect to the arm along a first axis between a retracted position and an extended position
Kawabuchi (US 20120024091 A1) teaches a linear-motion telescopic mechanism for a robot arm, comprising:
an extendible arm mount slidably coupled with the arm such that the extendible arm mount is slidable with respect to the arm along a first axis between a retracted position and an extended position (Figures 1-2 Paragraphs 57 and 65, arm section 2 of a robot arm 40 in which the robot arm is slidable between an elongated and a contacted position); and
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yeum with Kawabuchi and had the robot include a telescopic mechanism. This would be done to enhance safety by eliminating risk inevitable for a typical robot arm having an elbow joint (Kawabuchi Paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 17, YEUM as modified teaches the swing arm of claim 12 wherein the arm assembly, wherein:
the actuator facilitates selective sliding of the tip dresser in a direction that is perpendicular to the first axis (Figures 9-10 Paragraphs 42/44/71-72, sliders 130 linearly slide along the longitudinal directions of the sub-frames 121 and 122 in reference to the frame 120 which is arranged perpendicular to the robot 110 and rotatable arm 111).
Kawabuchi further teaches:
the actuator facilitates selective rotation of the tip dresser in a direction that is perpendicular to the first axis (Figures 80-81 Paragraph 112-114, sixth and seventh rotational joints J6/J7 are rotatable adjustable in an axis which is perpendicular to that of the arm section 2).
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 1.
Furthermore, Column 1 Lines 19-26 and Column 4 Lines 1-9 of Asmis (US 6106203 A) teaches that mounting a tip dresser to a robot arm is well known in the art. It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yeum with Asmis and had the robot carry a tip dresser. This would have been done to allow the robot to reshape welding electrodes while reducing the amount of debris that falls from elevated regions (Asmis Column 4 Lines 1-9).
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YEUM (US 20140360993 A1) in view of SON (KR 20060069974 A), Asmis (US 6106203 A), and Kawabuchi (US 20120024091 A1) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of WASNER (DE 10139807 A1).
Regarding claim 15, YEUM as modified teaches the swing arm of claim 12.
YEUM as modified fails to explicitly teach:
a driver cylinder pivotally coupled to the mounting base, the driver cylinder being operably mounted to the arm assembly to facilitate pivoting of the arm assembly with respect to the mounting base about a second axis that is perpendicular to the first axis.
WASNER (DE 10139807 A1) teaches a robot arm, comprising:
a driver cylinder pivotally coupled to the mounting base (Paragraph 21, rotary unit 12 is rotatably coupled to base 20 via a bearing device 20; Paragraphs 12 and 21, rotary unit 12 contains a workpiece unit 26a which drives a lifting rod 28 through pneumatic energy), the driver cylinder being operably mounted to the arm assembly to facilitate pivoting of the arm assembly with respect to the mounting base about a second axis that is perpendicular to the first axis (Paragraphs 21-22, rotary unit 12, first working unit 26a comprising a lifting rod 28a that is axially displaced in the direction to the axis of rotation such as to pivot the bearing block 34b via a horizontal pivot axis 38; Figure 1, said horizontal pivot axis extends into the page which is perpendicular to the horizontal/vertical axis in which the robot arm extends).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yeum with WASNER and used pneumatic drive cylinder to provide energy to a lifting rod such as to facilitate pivoting the arm assembly with respect to the mounting base. This would have been done to simply the design in terms of construction (WASNER Paragraph 12).
Regarding claim 16, YEUM as modified teaches the swing arm of claim 15.
WASNER further teaches:
the driver cylinder comprises a pneumatic drive (Paragraphs 12 and 21, rotary unit 12 contains a workpiece unit 26a which drives a lifting rod 28 through pneumatic energy).
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 8.
Conclusion
/F.J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761