DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: reference character 9 and reference character 6 are both used to refer to the “frame” in Par. [00020].
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of lack of consistency between Fig. 2A and Fig. 2B. As understood in combination with specification Par. [00020], each pushcart includes four casters referenced as “11a-11d.” Reference number “11d” has been used to designate multiple casters in Fig. 2B, and reference number “11b” was used in Fig. 2A but is missing from Fig. 2B. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference characters not mentioned in the description: 17d in Fig. 2D, and 40 in Fig. 4A and Fig. 4B. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 objected to because of the following informalities: “push parts” is interpreted as meaning “pushcarts.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 objected to because of the following informalities: “no more that half” is interpreted as meaning “no more than half.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "IR" without defining the acronym in the claims or the specification. The intended meaning of the acronym should be spelled out for its first occurrence.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2021091494 A1 to Tan et al. in view of U.S. 9370969 B2 to Kroening et al.
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Tan discloses
a cable conveying assembly including a plurality of pushcarts [the pair of locomotives 180 scoops up and lifts / elevates portions of the cable 300; Tan, pg. 26 col. 24 lines 16-20];
portions of the cable disposed between the pushcarts form articulated joints in the cable conveying assembly [portions of the cable 300 form articulated joints between locomotives 180 and between the carts 130; Tan, Fig. 9].
Regarding the limitation “cables configured to be electrically connected between an uninterruptible power supply and a load bank,” Tan discloses that the cable 300 can be a power cable (e.g., a high voltage power cable), or another type of cable, or a cable-like structure [Tan, pg. 9 col. 7 lines 6-9]. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to recognize that the pushcart disclosed by Tan is capable of conveying cables configured to be electrically connected between an uninterruptible power supply (herein referred to as a UPS) and a load bank.
Tan does not explicitly disclose a pushcart carrying a plurality of cables parallel to one another, and further does not disclose that the parallel cables are supported in a spaced-apart relationship both horizontally and vertically. Nevertheless, Kroening teaches that it is known in the art for pushcarts to support multiple long materials in a parallel and spaced-apart configuration. Therefore, Kroening teaches pushcarts
configured to support the plurality of cables parallel to one another, wherein each pushcart is further configured to support the parallel cables in a spaced-apart relationship both horizontally and vertically [Kroening, Fig. 1].
Thus, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to have modified the pushcarts, as disclosed by Tan, to support multiple cables in parallel and in a spaced-apart relationship, as taught by Kroening, in order to provide the advantage of simultaneously transporting and arranging a plurality of cables without the risk of cables becoming intertwined.
Regarding claim 2, as best understood, the combination of Tan and Kroening teaches that
each pushcart includes a plurality of steps that support the parallel cables in a spaced-apart relationship both horizontally and vertically [steps 258 of carts 20 are parallel and spaced apart both horizontally and vertically; Kroening, Fig. 1].
Regarding claim 7, in response to the claim limitation “the system is used to test an uninterruptible power supply in a building having access corridors through which the load bank cables are transported to the uninterruptible power supply,” a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Tan teaches pushcarts for operating within a space-constrained environment such as tunnel, passageway, or corridor [Tan, pg. 3 col. 1 lines 5-8]. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to recognize that the cable conveying system disclosed by Tan is capable of performing the task of transporting load bank cables to a UPS in a building having access corridors.
The combination of Tan and Kroening does not explicitly disclose the width of the pushcarts. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to include that “a width of the pushcarts is no more than half of a width of the access corridors” in order to maintain safety regulations, as most building codes generally require access corridors to be unobstructed in the event of evacuation.
Regarding claim 8, as best understood, the combination of Tan and Kroening teaches
the supporting steps of each of the pushcarts are arranged into a pair of opposing stair-like structures [steps 258 of carts 20 are arranged into a pair of opposing stair-like structures; Kroening, Fig. 1].
Regarding claim 9, as best understood, the combination of Tan and Kroening teaches
a cable conveying assembly including a plurality of pushcarts arranged in-tandem [the pair of locomotives 180 scoops up and lifts / elevates portions of the cable 300; locomotives 180 are in-tandem since carts 130 are in-tandem on track 110; Tan, pg. 26 col. 24 lines 16-20, Fig. 9];
portions of the plurality of cables disposed between the in-tandem pushcarts form articulated joints in the cable conveying assembly [portions of the cable 300 form articulated joints between in-tandem locomotives 180 and between the carts 130; Tan, Fig. 9].
Regarding the limitation “cables configured to be electrically connected between an uninterruptible power supply and a load bank,” Tan discloses that the cable 300 can be a power cable (e.g., a high voltage power cable), or another type of cable, or a cable-like structure [Tan, pg. 9 col. 7 lines 6-9]. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to recognize that the pushcart disclosed by Tan is capable of conveying cables configured to be electrically connected between a UPS and a load bank.
Tan does not explicitly disclose a pushcart carrying a plurality of cables parallel to one another, and further does not disclose the arrangement of pushcart steps. Additionally, Tan does not disclose that the parallel cables are supported in a spaced-apart relationship both horizontally and vertically. Nevertheless, Kroening teaches that it is known in the art for pushcarts to support multiple long materials in parallel on a pair of opposing stair-like structures and in a spaced-apart configuration. Therefore, Kroening teaches pushcarts
configured to support the plurality of cables parallel to one another, wherein each pushcart includes a plurality of steps arranged into a pair of opposing stair-like structures [steps 258 of carts 20 are parallel and arranged into a pair of opposing stair-like structures; Kroening, Fig. 1],
each step of which supports the parallel cables in a spaced-apart relationship both horizontally and vertically [steps 258 of carts 20 are spaced apart both horizontally and vertically; Kroening, Fig. 1].
Thus, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to have modified the in-tandem pushcarts, as disclosed by Tan, to support multiple cables in parallel on pairs of opposing stair-like structures and in a spaced-apart relationship, as taught by Kroening, in order to provide the advantage of simultaneously transporting and arranging a plurality of cables without the risk of cables becoming intertwined.
Claims 3-5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2021091494 A1 to Tan et al. in view of U.S. 9370969 B2 to Kroening et al., and further in view of EP 2585748 B1 to Darnell.
Regarding claim 3, as best understood, the combination of Tan and Kroening does not explicitly teach cables bundled together into three-phase groups. Nevertheless, Darnell teaches that it is known in the art to arrange cables such that
the cables are bundled together in three-phase groups including three cables each [a common cable arrangement includes three cables delivering a three-phase electrical power supply; Darnell, Par. [0003], Fig. 1].
Thus, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the cable conveying assembly taught by Tan and Kroening, such that the cables are bundled together into groups of three cables each, as taught by Darnell, in order to restrain cables into specific groups that can be maintained during transport.
Regarding claim 4, as best understood, the combination of Tan, Kroening, and Darnell teaches
the cables are bundled together in groups including three cables each [Darnell, Fig. 1].
Regarding the limitation “each of the plurality of steps is configured to support one cable bundle,” Kroening teaches that the cart 20 can be arranged to hold a variety of materials [Kroening, pg. 14 col. 3 lines 17-23]. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to recognize that each plurality of steps on the pushcart taught by Kroening is capable of supporting one cable bundle taught by Darnell.
Regarding claim 5, as best understood, the combination of Tan, Kroening, and Darnell teaches
the cable bundles have a trefoil cross-section [trefoil cable arrangement forms a triangular cross-sectional shape; Darnell, Par. [0003]].
Regarding claim 10, as best understood, the combination of Tan, Kroening, and Darnell teaches
the cables are bundled together in groups including three cables each [Darnell, Fig. 1].
Regarding the limitation “each of the plurality of steps is configured to support one cable bundle,” Kroening teaches that the cart 20 can be arranged to hold a variety of materials [Kroening, pg. 14 col. 3 lines 17-23]. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to recognize that each of the plurality of steps on the pushcarts taught by Kroening is capable of supporting one cable bundle taught by Darnell.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2021091494 A1 to Tan et al. in view of U.S. 9370969 B2 to Kroening et al., and further in view of US 11679794 B2 to Greenblatt et al.
Regarding claim 6, as best understood, the combination of Tan and Kroening does not explicitly teach that the steps are covered with a heat insulating material. However, Greenblatt teaches that it is known in the art to include protective material on supporting steps of pushcarts. Therefore, Greenblatt teaches pushcarts wherein
each of the plurality of steps is covered with a heat insulating material [engaging surface(s) 120 comprises a material which protects a corresponding surface of the part from damage when the part is carried by the cart… the engaging surfaces 120 of each of the saddles 115a preferably comprises a polymer or a foam; Greenblatt, pg. 33 col. 5 lines 23-31].
Thus, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to have modified the combination of pushcarts taught by Tan and Kroening, to cover steps of pushcarts with a known heat insulating material like a polymer or a foam, as taught by Greenblatt, in order to protect the cables from damage during transport.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2021091494 A1 to Tan et al. in view of U.S. 9370969 B2 to Kroening et al., and further in view of CN 114256647 A to Xiang et al.
Regarding claim 11, as best understood, the combination of Tan and Kroening discloses a cable conveying assembly capable of performing the steps of:
arranging the pushcarts in tandem in a spaced-apart relationship along their longitudinal axes [the pair of locomotives 180 scoops up and lifts / elevates portions of the cable 300; locomotives 180 are in-tandem and spaced apart along their longitudinal axes since carts 130 are in-tandem on longitudinal track 110; Tan, pg. 26 col. 24 lines 16-20, Fig. 9];
loading the cables onto the cable conveying assembly in parallel relationship [steps 258 of carts 20 are parallel; Kroening, Fig. 1]
such that portions of the cables extend across the spaces between the pushcarts to form articulated joints between the pushcarts [portions of the cable 300 form articulated joints between locomotives 180 and between the carts 130; Tan, Fig. 9];
With regards to the claim limitation “transporting the cables through the building to the uninterruptible power supply,” a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Tan teaches pushcarts for operating within a space-constrained environment such as tunnel, passageway, or corridor [Tan, pg. 3 col. 1 lines 5-8]. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to recognize that the cable conveying system disclosed by Tan is capable of performing the task of transporting cables to a UPS through a building.
The combination of Tan and Kroening does not explicitly disclose methods of connecting cables between a UPS and a load bank, and further does not disclose supporting the cables on pushcarts during testing of the uninterruptible power supply. Nevertheless, Xiang teaches
connecting the cables between an output of the uninterruptible power supply and an input of a load bank [leading-out wire 400 connected from the three-phase contact 500 of the circuit breaker to the test instrument 600; Xiang, Fig. 4], and
testing the uninterruptible power supply while the cables are supported on the pushcarts [leading-out wire 400 is fixed to support leading-out mechanism 300 of test wiring device; Xiang, Fig. 1, Fig. 2].
In response to the claim limitations of cables connected between “the uninterruptible power supply” and “a load bank,” a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Xiang teaches that it is known in the art for pushcarts to connect cables between electrical equipment and a test instrument, and to test the electrical equipment while the cables are supported on pushcarts. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to recognize that the cable conveying system taught by Xiang is capable of performing the steps of connecting cables between a UPS and a load bank and supporting the cables on pushcarts during testing of the UPS.
Thus, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the method of conveying cables taught by the combination taught by Tan and Kroening, to include the steps of connecting the cables and supporting the cables on pushcarts during testing, as taught by Xiang, in order to complete testing safely and efficiently without risk of cables disconnecting from equipment (Xiang, pg. 6 – see attached English translation).
Claims 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2021091494 A1 to Tan et al. in view of U.S. 9370969 B2 to Kroening et al. and CN 114256647 A to Xiang et al., and further in view of CN 114362032 A to Li.
The combination of Tan, Kroening, and Xiang does not explicitly teach methods for inspecting the cables during testing. Nevertheless, Li teaches that it is known in the art of cable inspection to include the step of
conducting an IR scan of the cables during testing to determine if any faults are present in an insulation covering of the cables [infrared temperature sensor 107 detects whether there are flaws or defects in the cables; Li, pg. 8 - see attached English translation].
Thus, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the method of conveying cables taught by the combination of Tan, Kroening, and Xiang, to add the step of conducting an IR scan during testing, as taught by Li, in order to prevent faulty cables from impacting test results.
Claims 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2021091494 A1 to Tan et al. in view of U.S. 9370969 B2 to Kroening et al. and CN 114256647 A to Xiang et al., and further in view of EP 2585748 B1 to Darnell.
Regarding claim 13, as best understood, the combination of Tan, Kroening, and Xiang teaches that
each pushcart includes a plurality of steps that support the parallel cables in a spaced- apart relationship both horizontally and vertically [Steps 258 of carts 20 are parallel and spaced apart both horizontally and vertically; Kroening, Fig. 1],
The combination of Tan, Kroening, and Xiang does not explicitly teach cables bundled into groups. Nevertheless, Darnell teaches that it is known in the art of arranging cables to include the step of
bundling the cables together in groups of three [Darnell, Fig. 1].
Regarding the limitation “loading each cable bundle onto one of the plurality of steps,” Kroening teaches that the cart 20 can be arranged to hold a variety of materials [Kroening, pg. 14 col. 3 lines 17-23]. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to recognize that each of the plurality of steps on the pushcarts taught by Kroening is capable of supporting one cable bundle taught by Darnell.
Thus, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the method of conveying cables taught by the combination of Tan, Kroening, and Xiang, to add the step of bundling cables together in groups of three, as taught by Darnell, in order to restrain cables into specific groups that can be maintained during transport.
Regarding claim 14, as best understood, the combination of Tan, Kroening, Xiang, and Darnell teaches
each of the three cables forming each bundle are configured to connect to a different phase of a three-phase power supply to avoid eddy-current heating during the testing of the uninterruptible power supply [a common cable arrangement includes three cables delivering a three-phase electrical power supply; Darnell, Par. [0003], Fig. 1].
Regarding claim 15, as best understood, the combination of Tan, Kroening, Xiang, and Darnell teaches
the cables are bundled together such that each bundle has a trefoil cross-section [trefoil cable arrangement forms a triangular cross-sectional shape; Darnell, Par. [0003]].
Regarding claim 16, as best understood, the combination of Tan, Kroening, Xiang, and Darnell teaches
further including the step of securing each cable bundle [cable securing devices 139 on carts 130; Tan, Fig. 5]
to its respective step [respective steps 258 of carts 20; Kroening, Fig. 1].
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to add the step of securing each cable bundle to its respective step, as taught by Tan and Kroening, to the method of conveying cables with pushcarts as taught in combination with Xiang and Darnell, for the advantage of maintaining contact between the cables and steps of the pushcarts without shifting during transport.
Conclusion
/C.M.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3617
/JOHN R OLSZEWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3617