DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-30 are pending in the application. Claims 1-3, 5 and 26-30 are rejected. Claims 4 and 6-25 are withdrawn from further consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the species of polymer from example 11 to prosecute the invention of Group I, claims 1-5 (and now including claims 26-30) in the reply filed on December 8th, 2025 is acknowledged.
As per MPEP 803.02, the examiner will determine whether the entire scope of the claims is patentable. Applicants' elected species is not allowable. MPEP 803.02 states:
Following election, the Markush claim will be examined fully with respect to the elected species and further to the extent necessary to determine patentability. […]
If the Markush claim is not allowable, the provisional election will be given effect and examination will be limited to the Markush claim and claims to the elected species, with claims drawn to species patentably distinct from the elected species held withdrawn from further consideration. […]
If on examination the elected species is found to be anticipated or rendered obvious by prior art, the Markush claim and claims to the elected species will be rejected, and claims to the nonelected species will be held withdrawn from further consideration.
As the elected species has been found not allowable, the Markush-type claims have been rejected and claims to the nonelected invention held withdrawn from further consideration. Claims 1-3, 5 and 26-30 appear to embrace the elected species and are under examination. Claims 1-3, 5 and 26-30 have been examined to the extent they embrace the elected species. Subject matter not embraced by the elected embodiment is withdrawn from further consideration.
Claims 4 and 6-25 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species or invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on December 8th, 2025.
Priority
Each claim under examination is supported by U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/320,894 and therefore each claim under examination has an effective filing date of March 17th, 2022.
Claim Objections
In the definition of A, B, C and D in claim 1, the word “and” at the following position should be deleted:
.
Improper Markush Grouping
The nonstatutory Markush grouping rejection is based on a judicially approved “improper Markush grouping” doctrine. A Markush claim contains an “improper Markush grouping” if: (1) The species of the Markush group do not share a “single structural similarity,” or (2) the species do not share a common use. Members of a Markush group share a “single structural similarity” when they belong to the same recognized physical or chemical class or to the same art-recognized class. Members of a Markush group share a common use when they are disclosed in the specification or known in the art to be functionally equivalent. When an examiner determines that the species of a Markush group do not share a single structural similarity or do not share a common use, then a rejection on the basis that the claim contains an “improper Markush grouping” is appropriate. See the Federal Register, Vol. 76, No. 27, dated February 9, 2011, page 7166.
Claims 1-3, 5 and 26-30 are rejected under improper Markush grouping as the claims contain an improper grouping of alternatively useable species. In the present case, at least (1) applies. It cannot be said that all members of the Markush group have a single structural similarity. The instant claims are drawn to polymers containing monomers where the only commonality between formulae I, II and III is that the monomers contain multiple double bonds, which does not correspond to the same recognized physical or chemical class or to the same art-recognized class. The following three options would correspond to proper Markush groupings, along with their corresponding classifications in CPC that demonstrate they belong to different recognized chemical classes:
Crystalline polymers comprising monomers of Formula I, classified in C08F 132/06;
Crystalline polymers comprising monomers of Formula II, classified in C08F 132/08; and
Crystalline polymers comprising monomers of Formula III, classified in C08F 136/06.
Therefore, it cannot be said that all members of the Markush group have a single structural similarity with respect to the monomers present and the claims therefore are considered to contain an “improper Markush grouping”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 3 and 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3 and 26-28 are rejected as indefinite based on the limitation of “a depolymerization temperature” within a certain range. The specification (for the elected species) discloses the following transformation on pages 55 and 56:
.
The specification teaches that depolymerization was performed at ~258 °C in paragraph [00086] and notes in paragraph [00087] that “depolymerization also occurred at lower temperature in a boiling 2:1 solvent mixture of diphenyl ether and trichlorobenzene (~228 °C), but with longer reaction time of 3 H, affording 60% recovery yield (60 mg) of ME-OMeB monomers.” The specification there provides at least two different conditions in which a depolymerization can occur and that yield different temperatures. In this situation, it is unclear if Applicant’s claims require a particular polymer to have (1) a lowest depolymerization temperature within the recited range, (2) a depolymerization temperature within the recited range using some undefined standard conditions, or (3) at least one set of conditions in which the depolymerization occurs within the recited range. The remarks filed December 8th, 2025 state that claims 1-3 and 26-30 read on the elected species where claims 26, 27 and 28 recite ranges that only overlap (for claims 26 and 27) at 220 °C. The specification; however, refers to plotting singular depolymerization temperatures in paragraph [00050] relative to bond length, which are presumably obtained using the same conditions for the different polymers discussed in paragraph [00050]. For these reasons, it is unclear how to determine which polymers fall within the scope of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 30 recites a partial structural formula with a repeat group bound by “n”. Parent claim 1, however, defines the variable “n” as 0 to 20. Accordingly, the structure as recited in claim 30 reduces to not being present at all such that all polymers embraced by the parent claim 1 are also embraced by the dependent claim 30. Since the dependent claim does not narrow the scope of the parent claim by requiring some minimum structure to be present, the dependent claim covers the identical scope to its parent claim. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5 and 26-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsumoto et al. Synthesis 2005, 9, 1479-1490.
Matsumoto et al. teach the following muconate monomer on page 1480:
.
The monomer above is embraced by instant formula II of instant claims 1 and 29 where A and B are both the third option recited in claim 1, n is 1, two instances of R are hydrogen and the other is C1 alkyl substituted by -O- (where the Examiner has interpreted optional substitution by divalent radicals to mean insertion at any point in the alkyl group), and C and D are hydrogen. The authors further teach Table 2 on page 1482 where the (E,E)-4-MeO monomer was treated with UV irradiation and γ-radiation where both treatments resulted in a polymeric product and where Table 2 notes refers to “in the Crystalline Statea”. The authors further teach the general type of polymers on page 1479 where the backbone involves carbon-carbon bond formation.
Regarding instant claim 5, this claim defines the organic cation but does not require that the organic cation be present. Claim 30 is rejected under 35 USC 112(d) as embracing the same scope of its parent claim; however, the polymer as depicted has the same backbone that would be obtained by Matsumoto et al.
Regarding instant claims 2, 3 and 26-28, these claims recite certain properties of carbon-carbon bond length and depolymerization temperatures. The limitations of depolymerization temperatures are considered indefinite as discussed above. Nevertheless, MPEP 2112.01(II) states: “"Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable.” MPEP 2112.01(I) further states: “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).” In this situation, the prior art teaches irradiation using UV or γ-radiation where the instant specification discloses the use of a UVA lamp in Example 11. Both methods are performed using crystalline (E,E)-monomer starting material. Accordingly, the recited properties are considered anticipated in view of the MPEP guidance. Regardless, the instant claims regarding bond length recite a lower limit of “about 1.57 Å” where the specification refers “standard lengths of 1.53-1.54 Å” on page 2 (paragraph [0004]). Therefore the lower limit would still appear to overlap with standard bond lengths.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW P COUGHLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626