This office action is in response to remarks filed on 01/15/2026.
Claims 1, 3-4, 7, 9-10, 13, 15-17, and 19-20 are pending and presented for examination. Claims 1, 4, 7, 10, 13, 16-17, and 20 are amended. Claims 5-6 and 11-12 are cancelled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/03/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendments
Claims 1, 4, 7, 10, 13, 16-17, and 20 have been considered based on amendments.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 13, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O-RAN et al (O-RAN.WG4.CUS.0-v04.00) (hereinafter "O-RAN") in view of Lee et al (US20210126760A1) (hereinafter "Lee").
Regarding claim 1, O-RAN discloses a method performed by a distributed unit (DU) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising (Pg. 20, Ln. 18-19: ln case of lower layer fronthaul based on split option 7-2x for DL and UL, the required external data (excluding M-plane) to exchange information between O-DU and O-RU can be categorized as follows. Pg. 20-21, Ln. 1-2: C-Plane Data Flow 2a: Scheduling commands (DL and UL) & Beamforming commands):
transmitting, to a radio unit (RU), a control message (Pg. 21, Fig. 2-8: 2a: Scheduling commands (DL and UL) & Beamforming commands) for user equipment (UE) identifier (ID) based beamforming (Pg. 65, Ln. 31: 5.4.2 Scheduling and Beamforming Commands Pg. 68, Ln. 22: ueld (UE identifier) field 15 bits),
wherein a type of the control message includes a section type 5 for scheduling information or a section type 6 for channel information (Pg. 67, Ln. 37: Section Type "5" Fields (used for UE scheduling information) Pg. 68, Ln. 23: Section Type "6" Fields (used for sending channel information for a specific UE ID)),
wherein a section extension of the section type 5 or the section type 6 includes fields, and the fields include an extension flag (ef) (Pg. 68, Ln. 21: ef (extension flag) field: 1 bit), an extension type (extType) (Pg. 99: Table 5-26: SectionFormat for SectionExtension 5(one scaler value, modulation compression parameters) extType = 0x05), an extension length (extLen) (Pg. 99: Table 5-26: SectionFormat for SectionExtension 5(one scaler value, modulation compression parameters) extLen = 0x2 (2 words)), a frame structure (Pg. 67, Ln. 22: frameStructure (frame structure) field: 8 bits), a frequency offset (Pg. 67, Ln. 35: freqOffset (frequency offset) field: 24 bits), and a cyclic prefix (CP) length (Pg. 67, Ln. 23: cpLength (cyclic prefix length) field: 16 bits).
O-RAN fails to disclose the method comprising: transmitting, to a radio unit (RU), information on mixed-numerology, wherein the extType indicates that the section extension of the control message is for the mixed-numerology.
However, Lee discloses the method comprising: transmitting, to a radio unit (RU), information on mixed-numerology ([0124] In order to solve the above-described problem, the existing section type 5 message and section type 6 message may be newly defined by being extended to include information on a mixed numerology channel. The message type newly defined by extending the section type 5 message and the section type 6 message may be used to support beamforming using the channel information transmission scheme (i.e., referred to as ‘Scheme 1’).),
wherein the extType indicates that the section extension of the control message is for the mixed-numerology ([0122] In order to solve the above-described problem, the section type 5 message and the section type 6 message may be extended to include numerology information.).
O-RAN and Lee are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of performing communication by using a fronthaul interface supporting mixed numerologies.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of O-RAN with Lee to create the method comprising: transmitting, to a radio unit (RU), information on mixed-numerology, wherein the extType indicates that the section extension of the control message is for the mixed-numerology.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to support mixed numerologies without increasing signaling overhead between the O-DU and the O-RU.
Regarding claim 7, O-RAN discloses a method performed by a radio unit (RU) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising (Pg. 20, Ln. 18-19: ln case of lower layer fronthaul based on split option 7-2x for DL and UL, the required external data (excluding M-plane) to exchange information between O-DU and O-RU can be categorized as follows. Pg. 20-21, Ln. 1-2: C-Plane Data Flow 2a: Scheduling commands (DL and UL) & Beamforming commands):
receiving, from a distributed unit (DU), a control message (Pg. 21, Fig. 2-8: 2a: Scheduling commands (DL and UL) & Beamforming commands) for user equipment (UE) identifier (ID) based beamforming (Pg. 65, Ln. 31: 5.4.2 Scheduling and Beamforming Commands Pg. 68, Ln. 22: ueld (UE identifier) field 15 bits),
wherein a type of the control message includes a section type 5 for scheduling information or a section type 6 for channel information (Pg. 67, Ln. 37: Section Type "5" Fields (used for UE scheduling information) Pg. 68, Ln. 23: Section Type "6" Fields (used for sending channel information for a specific UE ID)),
wherein a section extension of the section type 5 or the section type 6 includes fields, and the fields include an extension flag (ef) (Pg. 68, Ln. 21: ef (extension flag) field: 1 bit), an extension type (extType) (Pg. 99: Table 5-26: SectionFormat for SectionExtension 5(one scaler value, modulation compression parameters) extType = 0x05), an extension length (extLen) (Pg. 99: Table 5-26: SectionFormat for SectionExtension 5(one scaler value, modulation compression parameters) extLen = 0x2 (2 words)), a frame structure (Pg. 67, Ln. 22: frameStructure (frame structure) field: 8 bits), a frequency offset (Pg. 67, Ln. 35: freqOffset (frequency offset) field: 24 bits), and a cyclic prefix (CP) length (Pg. 67, Ln. 23: cpLength (cyclic prefix length) field: 16 bits).
O-RAN fails to disclose the method comprising: receiving, from a distributed unit (DU), information on mixed-numerology, wherein the extType indicates that the section extension of the control message is for the mixed-numerology.
However, Lee discloses the method comprising: receiving, from a distributed unit (DU), information on mixed-numerology ([0124] In order to solve the above-described problem, the existing section type 5 message and section type 6 message may be newly defined by being extended to include information on a mixed numerology channel. The message type newly defined by extending the section type 5 message and the section type 6 message may be used to support beamforming using the channel information transmission scheme (i.e., referred to as ‘Scheme 1’).),
wherein the extType indicates that the section extension of the control message is for the mixed-numerology ([0122] In order to solve the above-described problem, the section type 5 message and the section type 6 message may be extended to include numerology information.).
O-RAN and Lee are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of performing communication by using a fronthaul interface supporting mixed numerologies.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of O-RAN with Lee to create the method comprising: receiving, from a distributed unit (DU), information on mixed-numerology, wherein the extType indicates that the section extension of the control message is for the mixed-numerology.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to support mixed numerologies without increasing signaling overhead between the O-DU and the O-RU.
Regarding claim 13, O-RAN discloses a distributed unit (DU) in a wireless communication system, the DU comprising: (Pg. 20, Ln. 18-19: ln case of lower layer fronthaul based on split option 7-2x for DL and UL, the required external data (excluding M-plane) to exchange information between O-DU and O-RU can be categorized as follows. Pg. 20-21, Ln. 1-2: C-Plane Data Flow 2a: Scheduling commands (DL and UL) & Beamforming commands):
transmit, to a radio unit (RU), a control message (Pg. 21, Fig. 2-8: 2a: Scheduling commands (DL and UL) & Beamforming commands) for user equipment (UE) identifier (ID) based beamforming (Pg. 65, Ln. 31: 5.4.2 Scheduling and Beamforming Commands Pg. 68, Ln. 22: ueld (UE identifier) field 15 bits),
wherein a type of the control message includes a section type 5 for scheduling information or a section type 6 for channel information (Pg. 67, Ln. 37: Section Type "5" Fields (used for UE scheduling information) Pg. 68, Ln. 23: Section Type "6" Fields (used for sending channel information for a specific UE ID)),
wherein a section extension of the section type 5 or the section type 6 includes fields, and the fields include an extension flag (ef) (Pg. 68, Ln. 21: ef (extension flag) field: 1 bit), an extension type (extType) (Pg. 99: Table 5-26: SectionFormat for SectionExtension 5(one scaler value, modulation compression parameters) extType = 0x05), an extension length (extLen) (Pg. 99: Table 5-26: SectionFormat for SectionExtension 5(one scaler value, modulation compression parameters) extLen = 0x2 (2 words)), a frame structure (Pg. 67, Ln. 22: frameStructure (frame structure) field: 8 bits), a frequency offset (Pg. 67, Ln. 35: freqOffset (frequency offset) field: 24 bits), and a cyclic prefix (CP) length (Pg. 67, Ln. 23: cpLength (cyclic prefix length) field: 16 bits).
O-RAN fails to disclose a distributed unit (DU) in a wireless communication system, the DU comprising: a transceiver; at least one processor; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the DU to: transmit, to a radio unit (RU), information on mixed-numerology, wherein the extType indicates that the section extension of the control message is for the mixed-numerology.
However, Lee discloses a distributed unit (DU) in a wireless communication system, the DU comprising:
a transceiver ([0051] Referring to FIG. 2, a communication node 200 may comprise at least one processor 210, a memory 220, and a transceiver 230 connected to the network for performing communications.);
at least one processor; and ([0051] Referring to FIG. 2, a communication node 200 may comprise at least one processor 210, a memory 220, and a transceiver 230 connected to the network for performing communications.)
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor , cause the DU to ([0051] Referring to FIG. 2, a communication node 200 may comprise at least one processor 210, a memory 220, and a transceiver 230 connected to the network for performing communications.):
transmit, to a radio unit (RU), information on mixed-numerology ([0124] In order to solve the above-described problem, the existing section type 5 message and section type 6 message may be newly defined by being extended to include information on a mixed numerology channel. The message type newly defined by extending the section type 5 message and the section type 6 message may be used to support beamforming using the channel information transmission scheme (i.e., referred to as ‘Scheme 1’).),
wherein the extType indicates that the section extension of the control message is for the mixed-numerology ([0122] In order to solve the above-described problem, the section type 5 message and the section type 6 message may be extended to include numerology information.).
O-RAN and Lee are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of performing communication by using a fronthaul interface supporting mixed numerologies.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of O-RAN with Lee to create a distributed unit (DU) in a wireless communication system, the DU comprising: a transceiver; at least one processor; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the DU to: transmit, to a radio unit (RU), information on mixed-numerology, wherein the extType indicates that the section extension of the control message is for the mixed-numerology.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to support mixed numerologies without increasing signaling overhead between the O-DU and the O-RU.
Regarding claim 17, O-RAN discloses a radio unit (RU) in a wireless communication system, the RU comprising: (Pg. 20, Ln. 18-19: ln case of lower layer fronthaul based on split option 7-2x for DL and UL, the required external data (excluding M-plane) to exchange information between O-DU and O-RU can be categorized as follows. Pg. 20-21, Ln. 1-2: C-Plane Data Flow 2a: Scheduling commands (DL and UL) & Beamforming commands)
receive, from a distributed unit (DU), a control message (Pg. 21, Fig. 2-8: 2a: Scheduling commands (DL and UL) & Beamforming commands) for user equipment (UE) identifier (ID) based beamforming (Pg. 65, Ln. 31: 5.4.2 Scheduling and Beamforming Commands Pg. 68, Ln. 22: ueld (UE identifier) field 15 bits),
wherein a type of the control message includes a section type 5 for scheduling information or a section type 6 for channel information (Pg. 67, Ln. 37: Section Type "5" Fields (used for UE scheduling information) Pg. 68, Ln. 23: Section Type "6" Fields (used for sending channel information for a specific UE ID)),
wherein a section extension of the section type 5 or the section type 6 includes fields, and the fields include an extension flag (ef) (Pg. 68, Ln. 21: ef (extension flag) field: 1 bit), an extension type (extType) (Pg. 99: Table 5-26: SectionFormat for SectionExtension 5(one scaler value, modulation compression parameters) extType = 0x05), an extension length (extLen) (Pg. 99: Table 5-26: SectionFormat for SectionExtension 5(one scaler value, modulation compression parameters) extLen = 0x2 (2 words)), a frame structure (Pg. 67, Ln. 22: frameStructure (frame structure) field: 8 bits), a frequency offset (Pg. 67, Ln. 35: freqOffset (frequency offset) field: 24 bits), and a cyclic prefix (CP) length (Pg. 67, Ln. 23: cpLength (cyclic prefix length) field: 16 bits).
O-RAN fails to disclose a radio unit (RU) in a wireless communication system, the RU comprising: a transceiver; at least one processor; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the RU to: receive, from a distributed unit (DU), information on mixed-numerology, wherein the extType indicates that the section extension of the control message is for the mixed-numerology.
However, Lee discloses a radio unit (RU) in a wireless communication system, the RU comprising:
a transceiver ([0051] Referring to FIG. 2, a communication node 200 may comprise at least one processor 210, a memory 220, and a transceiver 230 connected to the network for performing communications.);
at least one processor; and ([0051] Referring to FIG. 2, a communication node 200 may comprise at least one processor 210, a memory 220, and a transceiver 230 connected to the network for performing communications.)
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the RU to ([0051] Referring to FIG. 2, a communication node 200 may comprise at least one processor 210, a memory 220, and a transceiver 230 connected to the network for performing communications.):
receive, from a distributed unit (DU), information on mixed-numerology ([0124] In order to solve the above-described problem, the existing section type 5 message and section type 6 message may be newly defined by being extended to include information on a mixed numerology channel. The message type newly defined by extending the section type 5 message and the section type 6 message may be used to support beamforming using the channel information transmission scheme (i.e., referred to as ‘Scheme 1’).),
wherein the extType indicates that the section extension of the control message is for the mixed-numerology ([0122] In order to solve the above-described problem, the section type 5 message and the section type 6 message may be extended to include numerology information.).
O-RAN and Lee are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of performing communication by using a fronthaul interface supporting mixed numerologies.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of O-RAN with Lee to create a radio unit (RU) in a wireless communication system, the RU comprising: a transceiver; at least one processor; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the RU to: receive, from a distributed unit (DU), information on mixed-numerology, wherein the extType indicates that the section extension of the control message is for the mixed-numerology.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to support mixed numerologies without increasing signaling overhead between the O-DU and the O-RU.
Claims 3, 9, 15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O-RAN in view of Lee as applied to claims 1, 7, 13, or 17 above, and further in view of Kwon et al (US20160150514A1) (hereinafter "Kwon").
Regarding claim 3, O-RAN, as modified by Lee, discloses the method, wherein a field length of the information on the frame structure is 8 bits (Pg. 67, Ln. 22: frameStructure (frame structure) field: 8 bits).
O-RAN, as modified by Lee, fails to discloses the method, wherein first 4 bits among the 8 bits indicate a size of fast Fourier transform (FFT)/inverse fast Fourier transform (IFFT), and second 4 bits among the 8 bits indicate a sub-carrier spacing.
However, Kwon discloses the method wherein a field length of the information on the frame structure is 8 bits, and wherein first 4 bits among the 8 bits indicate a size of fast Fourier transform (FFT)/inverse fast Fourier transform (IFFT), and second 4 bits among the 8 bits indicate a sub- carrier spacing ([0105] the subcarrier spacing indicator may indicate the subcarrier spacing by using 2 bits information. For example, the subcarrier spacing indicator configured as ‘00,’ ‘01,’ or ‘10’ may respectively indicate the subcarrier spacing of 312.5 kHz, 156.25 kHz, or 78.125 kHz. [0106] the FFT/IFFT structure indicator may indicate the size of FFT/IFFT by using 2 bits information. For example, the FFT/IFFT structure indicator configured as ‘00,’ ‘01.’ ‘10,’ or ‘11’ may respectively indicate the FFT/IFFT having the size of 32-points, 62-points, 128-points, or 256-points).
O-RAN, as modified by Lee, and Kwon are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for signal coordination between a transmitter and receiver.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to manipulate the bits to represent the size and subcarrier spacing, each with 4 bits of the 8 bits size. Where the claimed differences involved substitution of interchangeable or replaceable equivalents, and the reason for the selection of one equivalent for another was not to solve an existing problem, such substitution has been judicially determined to have been obvious. See In re Ruff, 118, USPQ, 343 (CCPA 1958). This supporting is based on a recognition that the claimed difference exists not a result of an attempt by applicant to solve a problem, but merely amounts to selection of expedients known to the artisan of ordinary skill as design choices.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to provide a means for denoting the size/configuration of FFT/IFFT and SCS.
Regarding claim 9, O-RAN, as modified by Lee, discloses the method wherein a field length of the information on the frame structure is 8 bits, and (Pg. 67, Ln. 22: frameStructure (frame structure) field: 8 bits).
O-RAN, as modified by Lee, fails to discloses the method wherein first 4 bits among the 8 bits indicate a size of fast Fourier transform (FFT)/inverse fast Fourier transform (IFFT), and second 4 bits among the 8 bits indicate a sub-carrier spacing.
However, Kwon discloses the method wherein first 4 bits among the 8 bits indicate a size of fast Fourier transform (FFT)/inverse fast Fourier transform (IFFT), and second 4 bits among the 8 bits indicate a sub- carrier spacing ([0105] the subcarrier spacing indicator may indicate the subcarrier spacing by using 2 bits information. For example, the subcarrier spacing indicator configured as ‘00,’ ‘01,’ or ‘10’ may respectively indicate the subcarrier spacing of 312.5 kHz, 156.25 kHz, or 78.125 kHz. [0106] the FFT/IFFT structure indicator may indicate the size of FFT/IFFT by using 2 bits information. For example, the FFT/IFFT structure indicator configured as ‘00,’ ‘01.’ ‘10,’ or ‘11’ may respectively indicate the FFT/IFFT having the size of 32-points, 62-points, 128-points, or 256-points).
O-RAN, as modified by Lee, and Kwon are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for signal coordination between a transmitter and receiver.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to manipulate the bits to represent the size and subcarrier spacing, each with 4 bits of the 8 bits size. Where the claimed differences involved substitution of interchangeable or replaceable equivalents, and the reason for the selection of one equivalent for another was not to solve an existing problem, such substitution has been judicially determined to have been obvious. See In re Ruff, 118, USPQ, 343 (CCPA 1958). This supporting is based on a recognition that the claimed difference exists not a result of an attempt by applicant to solve a problem, but merely amounts to selection of expedients known to the artisan of ordinary skill as design choices.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to provide a means for denoting the size/configuration of FFT/IFFT and SCS.
Regarding claim 15, O-RAN, as modified by Lee, discloses the DU wherein a field length of the information on the frame structure is 8 bits, and (Pg. 67, Ln. 22: frameStructure (frame structure) field: 8 bits).
O-RAN, as modified by Lee, fails to disclose the DU wherein first 4 bits among the 8 bits indicate a size of fast Fourier transform (FFT)/inverse fast Fourier transform (IFFT), and second 4 bits among the 8 bits indicate a sub-carrier spacing.
However, Kwon discloses the DU wherein first 4 bits among the 8 bits indicate a size of fast Fourier transform (FFT)/inverse fast Fourier transform (IFFT), and second 4 bits among the 8 bits indicate a sub- carrier spacing ([0105] the subcarrier spacing indicator may indicate the subcarrier spacing by using 2 bits information. For example, the subcarrier spacing indicator configured as ‘00,’ ‘01,’ or ‘10’ may respectively indicate the subcarrier spacing of 312.5 kHz, 156.25 kHz, or 78.125 kHz. [0106] the FFT/IFFT structure indicator may indicate the size of FFT/IFFT by using 2 bits information. For example, the FFT/IFFT structure indicator configured as ‘00,’ ‘01.’ ‘10,’ or ‘11’ may respectively indicate the FFT/IFFT having the size of 32-points, 62-points, 128-points, or 256-points).
O-RAN, as modified by Lee, and Kwon are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for signal coordination between a transmitter and receiver.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to manipulate the bits to represent the size and subcarrier spacing, each with 4 bits of the 8 bits size. Where the claimed differences involved substitution of interchangeable or replaceable equivalents, and the reason for the selection of one equivalent for another was not to solve an existing problem, such substitution has been judicially determined to have been obvious. See In re Ruff, 118, USPQ, 343 (CCPA 1958). This supporting is based on a recognition that the claimed difference exists not a result of an attempt by applicant to solve a problem, but merely amounts to selection of expedients known to the artisan of ordinary skill as design choices.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to provide a means for denoting the size/configuration of FFT/IFFT and SCS.
Regarding claim 19, O-RAN, as modified by Lee, discloses the RU wherein a field length of the information on the frame structure is 8 bits, and (Pg. 67, Ln. 22: frameStructure (frame structure) field: 8 bits).
O-RAN, as modified by Lee, fails to disclose the RU wherein first 4 bits among the 8 bits indicate a size of fast Fourier transform (FFT)/inverse fast Fourier transform (IFFT), and second 4 bits among the 8 bits indicate a sub-carrier spacing.
However, Kwon discloses the RU wherein first 4 bits among the 8 bits indicate a size of fast Fourier transform (FFT)/inverse fast Fourier transform (IFFT), and second 4 bits among the 8 bits indicate a sub- carrier spacing ([0105] the subcarrier spacing indicator may indicate the subcarrier spacing by using 2 bits information. For example, the subcarrier spacing indicator configured as ‘00,’ ‘01,’ or ‘10’ may respectively indicate the subcarrier spacing of 312.5 kHz, 156.25 kHz, or 78.125 kHz. [0106] the FFT/IFFT structure indicator may indicate the size of FFT/IFFT by using 2 bits information. For example, the FFT/IFFT structure indicator configured as ‘00,’ ‘01.’ ‘10,’ or ‘11’ may respectively indicate the FFT/IFFT having the size of 32-points, 62-points, 128-points, or 256-points).
O-RAN, as modified by Lee, and Kwon are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for signal coordination between a transmitter and receiver.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to manipulate the bits to represent the size and subcarrier spacing, each with 4 bits of the 8 bits size. Where the claimed differences involved substitution of interchangeable or replaceable equivalents, and the reason for the selection of one equivalent for another was not to solve an existing problem, such substitution has been judicially determined to have been obvious. See In re Ruff, 118, USPQ, 343 (CCPA 1958). This supporting is based on a recognition that the claimed difference exists not a result of an attempt by applicant to solve a problem, but merely amounts to selection of expedients known to the artisan of ordinary skill as design choices.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to provide a means for denoting the size/configuration of FFT/IFFT and SCS.
Claims 4, 10, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O-RAN in view of Lee as applied to claims 1, 7, 13, or 17 above, and further in view of Ahmed et al (US20210135722A1) (hereinafter "Ahmed").
Regarding claim 4, O-RAN, as modified by Lee, fails to discloses the method, wherein the information on the CP length indicates a length of a CP per symbol.
However, Ahmed discloses the method, wherein the information on the CP length indicates a length of a CP per symbol ([0053] The fields of section type 9 can be explained as follows: … startSymbolid (start symbol identifier) field: 6 bits … cpLength ( cyclic prefix length) field: 16 bits … symlnc (symbol number increment command) field: 1 bit … numSymbol (number of symbols) field: 4 bits).
O-RAN, as modified by Lee, and Ahmed are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for communication within an open-radio access network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of O-RAN, as modified by Lee, with Ahmed to create the method, wherein the information on the CP length indicates a length of a CP per symbol.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce interference due to multipath propagation.
Regarding claim 10, O-RAN, as modified by Lee, fails to discloses the method, wherein the information on the CP length indicates a length of a CP per symbol.
However, Ahmed discloses the method, wherein the information on the CP length indicates a length of a CP per symbol ([0053] The fields of section type 9 can be explained as follows: … startSymbolid (start symbol identifier) field: 6 bits … cpLength ( cyclic prefix length) field: 16 bits … symlnc (symbol number increment command) field: 1 bit … numSymbol (number of symbols) field: 4 bits).
O-RAN, as modified by Lee, and Ahmed are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for communication within an open-radio access network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of O-RAN, as modified by Lee, with Ahmed to create the method, wherein the information on the CP length indicates a length of a CP per symbol.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce interference due to multipath propagation.
Regarding claim 16, O-RAN, as modified by Lee, fails to discloses the DU, wherein the information on the CP length indicates a duration of a CP per symbol.
However, Ahmed discloses the DU, wherein the information on the CP length indicates a duration of a CP per symbol ([0053] The fields of section type 9 can be explained as follows: … startSymbolid (start symbol identifier) field: 6 bits … cpLength ( cyclic prefix length) field: 16 bits … symlnc (symbol number increment command) field: 1 bit … numSymbol (number of symbols) field: 4 bits).
O-RAN, as modified by Lee, and Ahmed are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for communication within an open-radio access network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of O-RAN, as modified by Lee, with Ahmed to create the DU, wherein the information on the CP length indicates a duration of a CP per symbol.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce interference due to multipath propagation.
Regarding claim 20, O-RAN, as modified by Lee, fails to discloses the RU, wherein the information on the CP length indicates a duration of a CP per symbol.
However, Ahmed discloses the RU, wherein the information on the CP length indicates a duration of a CP per symbol ([0053] The fields of section type 9 can be explained as follows: … startSymbolid (start symbol identifier) field: 6 bits … cpLength ( cyclic prefix length) field: 16 bits … symlnc (symbol number increment command) field: 1 bit … numSymbol (number of symbols) field: 4 bits).
O-RAN, as modified by Lee, and Ahmed are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for communication within an open-radio access network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of O-RAN, as modified by Lee, with Ahmed to create the RU, wherein the information on the CP length indicates a duration of a CP per symbol.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce interference due to multipath propagation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 7, 13 and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D LITTLE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419