DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12, lines 4 recites “the presence; the absence”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 13-15 are also rejected to as being dependent upon claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lomp (US 2016/0150600).
With respect to the limitations of claim 12, Lomp teaches a control method of an induction heating apparatus (title, abstract) comprising a plurality of working coils (Figs 1, 2, induction heating coils 15a~15h, 0032) and a cookware (Fig 2, pans 29a-c, 0039) sensor (Figs 1, 2, sensor coils 25, 0033) arranged between the plurality of working coils, the control method comprising: detecting the presence or the absence of the cookware (pans 29a-c) on a plate (0006, the induction hob has a hob plate and a plurality of induction heating coils which are arranged under the hob plate) based on a resonance signal (0023, claim 19, resonant frequency) generated by at least one of the plurality of working coils or the cookware sensor; and selecting a heating coil to be used for heating the cookware among the plurality of working coils, in response to the detection of the cookware (0039-0043).
Claims 13-15 are also rejected because they are dependent upon claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Lomp (US 2016/0150600) in view of Fournier (EP1575336). An English machine translation of Fournier (EP1575336) is include with the Notice of Reference Cited (PTO-892).
With respect to the limitations of claim 1, Lomp teaches an induction heating apparatus (title, abstract) comprising: a plate (0006, the induction hob has a hob plate and a plurality of induction heating coils which are arranged under the hob plate) on which a cookware (Fig 2, pan 29a, 0039) is placed; a plurality of working coils (induction heating coils 15a~15h, 0032) disposed below the plate; a coil base (carrier plate 13, 0030) on which the plurality of working coils (15a~15h) is disposed; a cookware sensor disposed between (Figs 1, 2, sensor coils 25, 0033) the plurality of working coils; and a controller (all the sensor coils 25 are connected to a controller of the induction hob 11, 0036) configured to detect a presence or an absence of the cookware (pans 29a-c, 0039) on the plate based on a resonance signal generated by at least one of the plurality of working coils or the cookware sensor (0023, claim 19, resonant frequency), and configured to select a heating coil to be used for heating the cookware among the plurality of working coils (0039-0043).
Lomp discloses the claimed invention except for a plurality of coil bases on which the plurality of working coils is disposed, the plurality of coil bases coupled to each other.
However, Fournier discloses a plurality of coil bases (Figs 11, 13, support plates 12, 0016, 0017) on which the plurality of working coils (induction coils 2, 0016) is disposed, the plurality of coil bases coupled (U-shaped piece 16, 0017) to each other is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the induction heating apparatus of Lomp having a coil base silent to the coil base made of a plurality of coil bases coupled together with the plurality of coil bases on which the plurality of working coils is disposed, the plurality of coil bases coupled to each other of Fournier for the purpose of providing a known coil base configuration that allows for varied cooking zones (0018), thereby improving the overall versatility of the device.
With respect to the limitations of claims 10 and 11, Lomp teaches the controller is configured to select two working coils, which are adjacent to the cookware sensor among the plurality of working coils, as the heating coil in response to the detection of the cookware by the cookware sensor (Figs 1, 2, pan 29a, sensor coils 25ab, 25ab′, 25ef, 25ae and 25bf as well as 25a and 25b, 0039, pan 29a is therefore heated only by means of the two upper induction heating coils 15a and 15b);
the controller is configured to detect the presence or the absence of the cookware on the plate by using the plurality of working coils, based on the detection failure of the cookware by the cookware sensor (0039, since none of the sensor coils 25e or 25ef′ which is otherwise also associated with the induction heating coil 15e detects the presence of a pan above it), the controller is configured to select a working coil, which detects the cookware among the plurality of working coils, as the heating coil (0039-0041).
Claims 2-9 are also rejected because they are dependent upon claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-9 and 13-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/THIEN S TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761 1/12/2026