DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 11/11/2025. Please note that (as laid out in the election requirement of 9/11/25) claim 15 was amended to depend from claim 8, and as such is considered part of invention I. Also please note that where applicant states that they elect “Group I (claims 1-9),” invention I will comprise claims 1-15. Finally, please note that while applicant states that the election is made with traverse, no arguments are presented, and as such there is nothing to which the examiner can respond.
Applicant's election with traverse of Species A (figures 1-3 and 5-16) in the reply filed on 11/11/25 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that there is no serious search and/or examination burden. This is not found persuasive because any claim specific to one species or the other would need a tailored search. However, please note that as all elected claims are currently generic, the election does not impact the outcome of this action.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because many figures are not proper black and white line drawings, and contain improper shading- particularly figures 1-3, 5-18, 20 and 25. Other figures appear pixelated, likely due to a poor quality transmission. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 10-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "their inclined positions" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of this action, this will be interpreted as –their second positions--.
Claims 10-12 and 14 recite the limitation "the/respective second positions." There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claims. For the purposes of this action, this will be interpreted as the inclined positions as recited in parent claim 8.
Claim 11 recites that “at least some of the plurality of flaps rotate in opposed rotational directions…” but it is unclear what the directions are opposed from. It is also unclear if this means that flaps can rotate in two directions, or that some flaps rotate in a direction opposed to other flaps.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by De Medeiros US 7,878,137.
Regarding claim 1, De Medeiros teaches a system 100 for anchoring an offshore vessel to a seabed positioned beneath a column of water, the system comprising:
a foundation (bottom of body 1) comprising a longitudinal axis, a first end, and a second end opposite the first end along the longitudinal axis of the foundation;
a keying-flap assembly 2-6 comprising a plurality of flaps 2 coupled to the foundation whereby the plurality of flaps are configured to pivot relative to the foundation about a plurality of rotational axes associated with the plurality of flaps, the keying-flap assembly having a run-in configuration in which each of the plurality of flaps occupies a first position (figure 1A), and a set configuration in which the plurality of flaps are pivoted from their first positions in alternating rotational directions about their respective rotational axes to occupy a plurality of second positions (figure 1B) angularly spaced from their first positions; and
a follower (top of body 1) extending between a first end and a second end opposite the first end of the follower, the follower configured to apply an extraction force to the foundation to transition the keying-flap assembly from the run-in configuration to the set configuration (column 3, lines 6-14).
Figure 1- De Medeiros Figures 1A and 1B
Regarding claim 3 as best understood, De Medeiros teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. De Medeiros also teaches that the plurality of flaps 2 of the keying-flap assembly are grouped into one or more flap pairs each rotating in opposing rotational directions between their first positions and their (second) positions.
Regarding claim 5, De Medeiros teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. De Medeiros also teaches that the plurality of flaps 2 of the keying-flap assembly are grouped into one or more flap pairs spaced at an angle that is equal to or less than 180 degrees when the plurality of flaps are in their second positions.
Regarding claim 6, De Medeiros teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. De Medeiros also teaches that:
the system further comprises a plurality of support members 4 coupled to the foundation; and
the plurality of flaps 2 of the keying-flap assembly are grouped into one or more flap pairs each coupled to a separate support member of the plurality of support members.
Regarding claim 7, De Medeiros teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. De Medeiros also teaches that:
the keying-flap assembly 2-6 comprises one or more collars each defining a pair of opposed stop surfaces 5; and
the plurality of flaps 2 are angularly spaced from the pair of stop surfaces of the one or more collars when the plurality of flaps are in their first positions (figure 1A), and the plurality of flaps contact the pair of stop surfaces of the one or more collars when the plurality of flaps are in their second positions (figure 1B).
Claims 1-6 and 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Costello US 3,187,705.
Regarding claim 1, Costello teaches a system for anchoring an offshore vessel to a seabed positioned beneath a column of water, the system comprising:
a foundation (bottom of 24) comprising a longitudinal axis, a first end, and a second end opposite the first end along the longitudinal axis of the foundation;
a keying-flap assembly comprising a plurality of flaps 28 coupled to the foundation whereby the plurality of flaps are configured to pivot relative to the foundation about a plurality of rotational axes associated with the plurality of flaps, the keying-flap assembly having a run-in configuration in which each of the plurality of flaps occupies a first position (28’), and a set configuration in which the plurality of flaps are pivoted from their first positions in alternating rotational directions about their respective rotational axes to occupy a plurality of second positions (28) angularly spaced from their first positions; and
a follower (top of 24) extending between a first end and a second end opposite the first end of the follower, the follower configured to apply an extraction force to the foundation to transition the keying-flap assembly from the run-in configuration to the set configuration (column 3, lines 1-7).
Regarding claim 2, Costello teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Costello also teaches that the first positions (28’) of the plurality of flaps correspond to vertical positions of the plurality of flaps and the second positions (28) of the plurality of flaps correspond to inclined positions of the plurality of flaps.
Regarding claim 3 as best understood, Costello teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Costello also teaches that the plurality of flaps 28 of the keying-flap assembly are grouped into one or more flap pairs each rotating in opposing rotational directions between their first positions and their second/inclined positions.
Regarding claim 4 as best understood, Costello teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Costello also teaches that the plurality of flaps 28 of the keying-flap assembly are grouped into one or more flap pairs each having a Y-shaped profile when the plurality of flaps are in their second positions.
Regarding claim 5, Costello teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Costello also teaches that the plurality of flaps 28 of the keying-flap assembly are grouped into one or more flap pairs spaced at an angle that is equal to or less than 180 degrees when the plurality of flaps are in their second positions.
Regarding claim 6, Costello teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Costello also teaches that:
the system further comprises a plurality of support members 29 coupled to the foundation; and
the plurality of flaps 28 of the keying-flap assembly are grouped into one or more flap pairs each coupled to a separate support member of the plurality of support members.
Regarding claim 8, Costello teaches a system for anchoring an offshore vessel to a seabed positioned beneath a column of water, the system comprising:
a foundation (bottom of 24) comprising a longitudinal axis, a first end, and a second end opposite the first end along the longitudinal axis of the foundation;
a keying-flap assembly comprising a plurality of flaps 28 coupled to the foundation whereby the plurality of flaps are configured to pivot relative to the foundation about a plurality of rotational axes associated with the plurality of flaps, the keying-flap assembly having a run-in configuration in which each of the plurality of flaps occupies a first position (28’), and a set configuration in which the plurality of flaps are pivoted from their first positions about their respective rotational axes to occupy a plurality of inclined positions (28) angularly spaced from their first positions; and
a follower (top of 24) extending between a first end and a second end opposite the first end of the follower, the follower configured to apply an extraction force to the foundation to transition the keying-flap assembly from the run-in configuration to the set configuration (column 3, lines 1-7) whereby a first flap of the plurality of flaps applies a first torque to the foundation in a first rotational direction and a second flap of the plurality of flaps applies a second torque to the foundation in a second rotational direction that is opposite the first rotational direction.
Regarding claim 9, Costello teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 8. Costello also teaches that the first torque cancels out the second torque resulting in a zero net torque applied to the foundation in response to the application of the extraction force to the foundation by the follower.
Regarding claim 10, Costello teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 8. Costello also teaches that the first positions of the plurality of flaps 28 correspond to vertical positions of the plurality of flaps and the second positions of the plurality of flaps correspond to inclined positions of the plurality of flaps.
Regarding claim 11, Costello teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 8. Costello also teaches that at least some of the plurality of flaps rotate in opposed rotational directions between their respective first positions and their respective second positions.
Regarding claim 12, Costello teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 8. Costello also teaches that from a perspective located along the longitudinal axis of the foundation, at least some of the plurality of flaps 28 pivot in a clockwise direction between their respective first positions and their respective second positions and at least some of the plurality of flaps pivot in an opposing counterclockwise direction (see Costello figure 2).
Regarding claim 13, Costello teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 8. Costello also teaches that the plurality of flaps of the keying-flap assembly are grouped into one or more flap pairs each rotating in opposing rotational directions between their first positions and their inclined positions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 and 8-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Medeiros US 7,878,137 alone, or alternatively also in view of Costello US 3,187,705.
Regarding claim 2, De Medeiros teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. De Medeiros also teaches that the first positions of the plurality of flaps 2 correspond to vertical positions of the plurality of flaps, but does not teach that the second positions of the plurality of flaps correspond to inclined positions of the plurality of flaps. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the different portions of the flaps inclined or of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient in order to provide maximum gripping of the seabed. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Alternatively, Costello teaches a system for anchoring an offshore vessel to a seabed positioned beneath a column of water, the system comprising:
a foundation (bottom of 24) comprising a longitudinal axis, a first end, and a second end opposite the first end along the longitudinal axis of the foundation;
a keying-flap assembly comprising a plurality of flaps 28 coupled to the foundation whereby the plurality of flaps are configured to pivot relative to the foundation about a plurality of rotational axes associated with the plurality of flaps, the keying-flap assembly having a run-in configuration in which each of the [AltContent: textbox (Figure 2- Costello Figure 2)]
plurality of flaps occupies a first position (28’), and a set configuration in which the plurality of flaps are pivoted from their first positions in alternating rotational directions about their respective rotational axes to occupy a plurality of second positions (28) angularly spaced from their first positions; and
a follower (top of 24) extending between a first end and a second end opposite the first end of the follower, the follower configured to apply an extraction force to the foundation to transition the keying-flap assembly from the run-in configuration to the set configuration (column 3, lines 1-7);
wherein the first positions of the plurality of flaps correspond to vertical positions of the plurality of flaps and the second positions of the plurality of flaps correspond to inclined positions of the plurality of flaps.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the flaps of De Medeiros to be inclined when deployed as taught by Costello in order to provide maximum gripping of the seabed.
Regarding claim 3 as best understood, De Medeiros teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. De Medeiros also teaches that the plurality of flaps 2 of the keying-flap assembly are grouped into one or more flap pairs each rotating in opposing rotational directions between their first positions and their (second) positions, but does not teach that the second positions of the plurality of flaps correspond to inclined positions of the plurality of flaps. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the different portions of the flaps inclined or of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient in order to provide maximum gripping of the seabed. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Alternatively, Costello teaches a system for anchoring an offshore vessel to a seabed positioned beneath a column of water, the system comprising:
a foundation (bottom of 24) comprising a longitudinal axis, a first end, and a second end opposite the first end along the longitudinal axis of the foundation;
a keying-flap assembly comprising a plurality of flaps 28 coupled to the foundation whereby the plurality of flaps are configured to pivot relative to the foundation about a plurality of rotational axes associated with the plurality of flaps, the keying-flap assembly having a run-in configuration in which each of the plurality of flaps occupies a first position (28’), and a set configuration in which the plurality of flaps are pivoted from their first positions in alternating rotational directions about their respective rotational axes to occupy a plurality of second positions (28) angularly spaced from their first positions; and
a follower (top of 24) extending between a first end and a second end opposite the first end of the follower, the follower configured to apply an extraction force to the foundation to transition the keying-flap assembly from the run-in configuration to the set configuration (column 3, lines 1-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the flaps of De Medeiros to be inclined in the second position as taught by Costello in order to provide maximum gripping of the seabed.
Regarding claim 4, De Medeiros teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. De Medeiros also teaches that the plurality of flaps of the keying-flap assembly are grouped into one or more flap pairs, but does not teach each pair having a Y-shaped profile when the plurality of flaps are in their second positions. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the different portions of the flaps Y-shaped or of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient in order to provide maximum gripping of the seabed. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Alternatively, Costello teaches a system for anchoring an offshore vessel to a seabed positioned beneath a column of water, the system comprising:
a foundation (bottom of 24) comprising a longitudinal axis, a first end, and a second end opposite the first end along the longitudinal axis of the foundation;
a keying-flap assembly comprising a plurality of flaps 28 coupled to the foundation whereby the plurality of flaps are configured to pivot relative to the foundation about a plurality of rotational axes associated with the plurality of flaps, the keying-flap assembly having a run-in configuration in which each of the plurality of flaps occupies a first position (28’), and a set configuration in which the plurality of flaps are pivoted from their first positions in alternating rotational directions about their respective rotational axes to occupy a plurality of second positions (28) angularly spaced from their first positions; and
a follower (top of 24) extending between a first end and a second end opposite the first end of the follower, the follower configured to apply an extraction force to the foundation to transition the keying-flap assembly from the run-in configuration to the set configuration (column 3, lines 1-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the flaps of De Medeiros to be Y-shaped in the second position as taught by Costello in order to provide maximum gripping of the seabed.
Regarding claim 8, De Medeiros teaches a system for anchoring an offshore vessel to a seabed positioned beneath a column of water, the system comprising:
a foundation (bottom of body 1) comprising a longitudinal axis, a first end, and a second end opposite the first end along the longitudinal axis of the foundation;
a keying-flap assembly 2-6 comprising a plurality of flaps 2 coupled to the foundation whereby the plurality of flaps are configured to pivot relative to the foundation about a plurality of rotational axes associated with the plurality of flaps, the keying-flap assembly having a run-in configuration in which each of the plurality of flaps occupies a first position (figure 1A), and a set configuration in which the plurality of flaps are pivoted from their first positions about their respective rotational axes to occupy a plurality of second positions (figure 1B) angularly spaced from their first positions; and
a follower (top of body 1) extending between a first end and a second end opposite the first end of the follower, the follower configured to apply an extraction force to the foundation to transition the keying-flap assembly from the run-in configuration to the set configuration (column 3, lines 6-14) whereby a first flap of the plurality of flaps applies a first torque to the foundation in a first rotational direction and a second flap of the plurality of flaps applies a second torque to the foundation in a second rotational direction that is opposite the first rotational direction.
De Medeiros does not teach that the second positions are inclined. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the different portions of the flaps inclined or of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient in order to provide maximum gripping of the seabed. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Alternatively, Costello teaches a system for anchoring an offshore vessel to a seabed positioned beneath a column of water, the system comprising:
a foundation (bottom of 24) comprising a longitudinal axis, a first end, and a second end opposite the first end along the longitudinal axis of the foundation;
a keying-flap assembly comprising a plurality of flaps 28 coupled to the foundation whereby the plurality of flaps are configured to pivot relative to the foundation about a plurality of rotational axes associated with the plurality of flaps, the keying-flap assembly having a run-in configuration in which each of the plurality of flaps occupies a first position (28’), and a set configuration in which the plurality of flaps are pivoted from their first positions about their respective rotational axes to occupy a plurality of inclined positions (28) angularly spaced from their first positions; and
a follower (top of 24) extending between a first end and a second end opposite the first end of the follower, the follower configured to apply an extraction force to the foundation to transition the keying-flap assembly from the run-in configuration to the set configuration (column 3, lines 1-7) whereby a first flap of the plurality of flaps applies a first torque to the foundation in a first rotational direction and a second flap of the plurality of flaps applies a second torque to the foundation in a second rotational direction that is opposite the first rotational direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the flaps of De Medeiros to be inclined in the second position as taught by Costello in order to provide maximum gripping of the seabed.
Regarding claim 9, De Medeiros alone or in view of Costello teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 8. De Medeiros also teaches that the first torque cancels out the second torque resulting in a zero net torque applied to the foundation in response to the application of the extraction force to the foundation by the follower.
Regarding claim 10, De Medeiros alone or in view of Costello teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 8. De Medeiros alone or in view of Costello also teaches that the first positions of the plurality of flaps 2 correspond to vertical positions of the plurality of flaps and the second positions of the plurality of flaps correspond to inclined positions of the plurality of flaps.
Regarding claim 11, De Medeiros alone or in view of Costello teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 8. De Medeiros also teaches that at least some of the plurality of flaps 2 rotate in opposed rotational directions between their respective first positions and their respective second positions.
Regarding claim 12, De Medeiros alone or in view of Costello teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 8. De Medeiros also teaches that from a perspective located along the longitudinal axis of the foundation, at least some of the plurality of flaps 2 pivot in a clockwise direction between their respective first positions and their respective second positions and at least some of the plurality of flaps pivot in an opposing counterclockwise direction.
Regarding claim 13, De Medeiros alone or in view of Costello teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 8. De Medeiros also teaches that the plurality of flaps 2 of the keying-flap assembly are grouped into one or more flap pairs each rotating in opposing rotational directions between their first positions and their inclined positions.
Regarding claim 14, De Medeiros alone or in view of Costello teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 8. De Medeiros also teaches that the keying-flap assembly 2-6 comprises one or more collars 5 each defining a pair of opposed stop surfaces; and the plurality of flaps 2 are angularly spaced from the pair of stop surfaces of the one or more collars when the plurality of flaps are in their first positions, and the plurality of flaps contact the pair of stop surfaces of the one or more collars when the plurality of flaps are in their second positions.
Regarding claim 15, De Medeiros alone or in view of Costello teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 8. De Medeiros does not teach a vessel. Costello teaches an offshore vessel comprising
the anchoring system;
a deck.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the system of De Medeiros with a vessel and deck as taught by Costello in order to provide effective anchoring to an active vessel.
Neither De Medeiros nor Costello explicitly teach a winch assembly supported on the deck and connected to the system of claim 8 by one or more tension cables extending between the winch assembly and the foundation of the system of claim 8, the winch assembly comprising one or more winches and a surface controller configured to automatically confirm the transitioning of the keying-flap assembly into the set configuration in response to monitoring a magnitude of the extraction force applied to the foundation by the follower. However, the winch and controller are merely an automated means of using the anchor, and it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to automate the process of using the anchoring system in order to reduce tasks the crew must perform manually, since it has been held that broadly providing a mechanical or automatic means to replace manual activity which has accomplished the same result involves only routine skill in the art. In re Venner, 120 USPQ 192.
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Costello US 3,187,705 in view of De Medeiros US 7,878,137.
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Costello teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claims 1 and 8. Costello does not teach that the keying-flap assembly comprises one or more collars each defining a pair of opposed stop surfaces; and the plurality of flaps are angularly spaced from the pair of stop surfaces of the one or more collars when the plurality of flaps are in their first positions, and the plurality of flaps contact the pair of stop surfaces of the one or more collars when the plurality of flaps are in their second positions.
De Medeiros teaches a system 100 for anchoring an offshore vessel to a seabed positioned beneath a column of water, the system comprising:
a foundation (bottom of body 1) comprising a longitudinal axis, a first end, and a second end opposite the first end along the longitudinal axis of the foundation;
a keying-flap assembly 2-6 comprising a plurality of flaps 2 coupled to the foundation whereby the plurality of flaps are configured to pivot relative to the foundation about a plurality of rotational axes associated with the plurality of flaps, the keying-flap assembly having a run-in configuration in which each of the plurality of flaps occupies a first position (figure 1A), and a set configuration in which the plurality of flaps are pivoted from their first positions in alternating rotational directions about their respective rotational axes to occupy a plurality of second positions (figure 1B) angularly spaced from their first positions; and
a follower (top of body 1) extending between a first end and a second end opposite the first end of the follower, the follower configured to apply an extraction force to the foundation to transition the keying-flap assembly from the run-in configuration to the set configuration (column 3, lines 6-14);
the keying-flap assembly comprises one or more collars each defining a pair of opposed stop surfaces 5; and
the plurality of flaps 2 are angularly spaced from the pair of stop surfaces of the one or more collars when the plurality of flaps are in their first positions (figure 1A), and the plurality of flaps contact the pair of stop surfaces of the one or more collars when the plurality of flaps are in their second positions (figure 1B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the flaps of Costello with flap stops on the collar as taught by De Medeiros in order to ensure the flaps stay in the optimal position when deployed.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Medeiros US 7,878,137 in view of Costello US 3,187,705 and “Anchoring Your Boat” from Boat-Ed (hereafter “Boat-Ed”) and/or alternatively also Hine US 10,640,180.
Regarding claim 15, De Medeiros alone or in view of Costello teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 8. De Medeiros does not teach a vessel. Costello teaches an offshore vessel comprising
the anchoring system;
a deck.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the system of De Medeiros with a vessel and deck as taught by Costello in order to provide effective anchoring to an active vessel.
Neither De Medeiros nor Costello explicitly teach a winch assembly supported on the deck and connected to the system of claim 8 by one or more tension cables extending between the winch assembly and the foundation of the system of claim 8, the winch assembly comprising one or more winches and a surface controller configured to automatically confirm the transitioning of the keying-flap assembly into the set configuration in response to monitoring a magnitude of the extraction force applied to the foundation by the follower. However, the winch and controller are merely an automated means of using the anchor, and it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to automate the process of using the anchoring system in order to reduce tasks the crew must perform manually, since it has been held that broadly providing a mechanical or automatic means to replace manual activity which has accomplished the same result involves only routine skill in the art. In re Venner, 120 USPQ 192.
Boat-Ed teaches that to anchor a boat, one must “pull on the anchor line to make sure the anchor is set” (point 4), the point being to see if the resistance is great enough. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify a controller of the system of De Medeiros to check if the anchor is engaged by pulling as taught by Boat-Ed in order to ensure that the anchor is sufficiently engaged with the sea floor.
Alternatively, Hine teaches a marine vehicle with a winch for retrieving remote components, wherein the winch comprises a controller and force-sensing switch such that the controller confirms that the remote component is engaged via an increase in winch force magnitude (column 6 line 55- column 7 line 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the system of De Medeiros with a winch that uses force to detect engagement as taught by Hine in order to automatically confirm when the anchor is engaged.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Costello US 3,187,705 in view of “Anchoring Your Boat” from Boat-Ed (hereafter “Boat-Ed”) and/or alternatively also Hine US 10,640,180.
Regarding claim 15, Costello teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 8. Costello also teaches an offshore vessel comprising
the anchoring system; and
a deck.
Costello does not explicitly teach a winch assembly supported on the deck and connected to the system of claim 8 by one or more tension cables extending between the winch assembly and the foundation of the system of claim 8, the winch assembly comprising one or more winches and a surface controller configured to automatically confirm the transitioning of the keying-flap assembly into the set configuration in response to monitoring a magnitude of the extraction force applied to the foundation by the follower. However, the winch and controller are merely an automated means of using the anchor, and it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to automate the process of using the anchoring system in order to reduce tasks the crew must perform manually, since it has been held that broadly providing a mechanical or automatic means to replace manual activity which has accomplished the same result involves only routine skill in the art. In re Venner, 120 USPQ 192.
Boat-Ed teaches that to anchor a boat, one must “pull on the anchor line to make sure the anchor is set” (point 4), the point being to see if the resistance is great enough. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify a controller of the system of Costello to check if the anchor is engaged by pulling as taught by Boat-Ed in order to ensure that the anchor is sufficiently engaged with the sea floor.
Alternatively, Hine teaches a marine vehicle with a winch for retrieving remote components, wherein the winch comprises a controller and force-sensing switch such that the controller confirms that the remote component is engaged via an increase in winch force magnitude (column 6 line 55- column 7 line 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the system of Costello with a winch that uses force to detect engagement as taught by Hine in order to automatically confirm when the anchor is engaged.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Liu US 11,827,314 teaches a pivoting anchor that is driven into the ground by a detachable follower.
Halberg US 3,291,092 teaches an anchor that expands after being driven into the sea bed.
Roth US 10,676,162 teaches a cylindrical anchor that deploys blades after being driven into the sea bed.
/MARC BURGESS/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615