DETAILED ACTION
The Amendment filed 07/15/2026 amended claims 1, 3, and 19-23 and 19-24 and cancelled claims 2 and 24.
Claims 1, 3, 7-16, and 19-23 are pending.
Priority
This application claims the following priority:
Election/Restrictions
Applicant elected Group I and
as the THAD Derivative (FIII) species, in the reply filed on 01/08/2024.
In the course of the search, the entire scope of THAD derivatives recited in instant claim 1 was searched. As such, the election of species requirement over these compounds is hereby withdrawn.
In view of the withdrawal of the restriction requirement as to the rejoined inventions, applicant(s) are advised that if any claim presented in a divisional application is anticipated by, or includes all the limitations of, a claim that is allowable in the present application, such claim may be subject to provisional statutory and/or nonstatutory double patenting rejections over the claims of the instant application.
Once the restriction requirement is withdrawn, the provisions of 35 U.S.C. 121 are no longer applicable. See In re Ziegler, 443 F.2d 1211, 1215, 170 USPQ 129, 131-32 (CCPA 1971). See also MPEP § 804.01.
Claims 7-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1, 3 and 19-23 are examined on the merits herein.
WITHDRAWN REJECTIONS
The status for each rejection and/or objection in the previous Office Action is set out below.
Claim Objections
Applicant’s amendments to claim 19 are sufficient to overcome this objection.
REJECTIONS-MAINTAINED/MODIFIED
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have resulted in the below modified prior art rejection. While claims 19-20 were indicated as free of the prior art in the previous Office Action, Applicant has amended claim 19 to recite compounds of Formula III, wherein claims directed toward Formula III were rejected in the previous Office Action and were not indicated as free of the prior art. As such, claim 19 is no longer free of the prior art. It is further noted that claims 2 and 24, which were also indicated as free of the prior art, have been cancelled.
The same prior art references continue to be relied upon.
Claim Interpretation
-In claim 19, DHA is interpreted as artemisinin or dihydroarteminisinin as defined by paragraph [0001] of the Specification. HMCD is interpreted as heptamethine carbocyanine dye ([0001], Specification). DZ1a and DZ1c are interpreted as
([0051], Specification).
-In claim 19, in “a),” “DZ1a-DHA-ether” and “DZ1a, bis-DHA-ether” limits the structures of FI and FII, when n is 6 and R3 of FI is C6 alkyl. “DZ1a, bis-DHA-ether” has the following structure:
(pg. 11, Specification).
-In claim 19, in “c),” “DZ1c-bis-DHA-carbamate, DZ1c-bis-DHA-thiocarbamate” limits the structure of FIV, when n is 6 and Y is O or S. “DZ1c-bis-DHA-carbamate” and “DZ1c-bis-DHA-thiocarbamate” have the following structures:
.
-In claim 20, the F identifiers and DZ identifiers are interpreted as alternative identifiers for the individual species. See for example, pgs. 13-14 of the instant specification. FVIII (DZ3d) is a compound of FII, as recited in claim 1. FVX (DZ3f) and FXII (DZ3h) are compounds of FIV, as recited in claim 1.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 19-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
-Claim 1 recites “A tumor-homing dihydroartemisinin derivative (THAD) selected from the group consisting of FI, FII, FIII, and FIV” and further recites “wherein the THAD is a compound of Formula III or Formula FIV.” Since compounds of formula FI and FII are excluded from Claim 1, the structural depictions of these compounds and variables, such as R3, should be deleted.
-In claim 1, structures FIII and FIV are illegible and should be replaced with clear structural depictions of these compounds.
-In claim 1, in the definitions of “X” and “R3” the term “residue” should be deleted.
-In claim 19, “the HMCD is a heptamethine carbocyanine dye, and wherein” should be deleted. Since claim 1 structurally depicts the HMCD in FIII and FIV as
, this is superfluous language.
-Claim 19 recites “for compounds of Formula FIV, the THAD is selected from DZ1c-bis-DHA-carbamate and DZ1c-bis-DHA-thiocarbamate,” wherein the instant specification defines DZ1c-bis-DHA-carbamate and DZ1c-bis-DHA-thiocarbamate as:
. As such, the recitation “wherein n is 6 and Y is O or S,” is superfluous language and should be deleted.
-In claim 20, remnants of a previously claimed compound are depicted between FX and FXII. These remnants should be deleted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
-In claim 19, part “a)” the recitation “for compounds of Formula FIII. . .wherein R3 of FI is C1 alkyl” renders the claim indefinite. FI is excluded as a THAD in claim 1. As such, it is not clear why it is referenced here. Moreover, it is not clear how “FI is C6 alkyl” is related to compound FIII.
-In claim 19, part “a)” the recitation “for compounds of Formula FIII, the THAD is selected from DZ1a-DHA-ether and DZ1a-bis-DHA ether,” renders the claim indefinite.
DZ1a-bis-DHA-ether has the following structure:
(pg. 11, Specification).
Thus, an “ether” linked to the DHA does not refer back to instant FIII since FIII requires a -C(=O)O (carboxyl) link:
. Thus, the recitation “DZ1a-DHA-ether and DZ1a-bis-DHA ether” lacks antecedent basis since claim 1 does not recite compounds with “ether” linkages and since claim 1 is limited to FIII and FIV.
In view of compact prosecution, for the purpose of applying prior art, claim 19 is interpreted as “The THAD of claim 1 wherein the THAD is selected from a compound of FIII or
, or
.
The rejections of claim 19 can be overcome by structurally depicting the subgenuses or species of the compounds of FIII and FIV.
All other claims not specifically recited are rejected for depending from an indefinite claim and failing to cure the deficiency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
In claim 20, which depends ultimately from claim 1, FVIII is neither a compound of FIII or FIV. As such, the recitation of FVIII is outside the scope of the compounds recited in claim 1, therefore broadening the scope of claim 1.
Note: The last two lines of claim 1 recite “and wherein the THAD is a compound of Formula FIII or Formula FIV.”
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(Modified) Claims 1, 3, and 19, 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2018/075996 to Chung (published 04/26/2018, IDS of 06/15/2023) in view of WO 2016/106324 to Chung (published 2016, PTO-892 of 04/01/2024).
Chung ’996 (Chung 1) teaches a method of treating cancer by administering dye-therapeutic conjugates [00153]-[00156], [00159], [00164], [00166], [00179]-[00181; pg. 89, claim 10).
The dyes are compounds of formula I:,
(pgs. 19-20; pg. 85, claim 1).
In some embodiments R3 and R4 are the same ([0093]).
Chung 1 specifically teaches that:
(paragraph 97).
Chung 1 exemplifies the following dye-therapeutic moiety conjugate:
(pg. 86, claim 2; pg. 88, claim 6; pg. 89, claim 13)
Regarding instant claim 1, while Chung 1 teaches
, it differs from that of the instantly claimed compound of FIII in that it does not depict
at
.
Chung 1 additionally teaches dye-artemisinin conjugates as greatly enhancing the tumor growth inhibitory effects and cytotoxic effects of artemisinin in tumors, such as tumor spheroids, B-cell lymphoma, castration-resistant prostate cancer, and renal cancer, as represented by their IC50s ([0037]-[0038]; Figs. 28). Chung 1 teaches artemisinin as having superior effects in comparison to puromycin and doxorubicin (Fig. 30).
Chung ‘324 (Chung 2) teaches a method of treating cancer by administering dye-drug conjugates (abstract; pg. 8, 1st paragraph; pgs. 30-31, claims 8-11).
Chung 2 specifically teaches the dye-drug conjugate as:
(pg. 7), wherein the drug-dye conjugate is represented by:
(pg. 9).
Chung 2 teaches the following symmetrical species:
(pgs. 12-13; pgs. 27-29, claim 8).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to modify
of Chung 1 by substituting
at the circled position, to arrive at
. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-both Chung 1 and Chung 2 are directed toward cyanine dye-drug conjugates for the treatment of cancer,
-Chung 1 teaches that its R3 and R4 moieties,
, can be the same,
-Chung 2 teaches heptamethine cyanine dye molecules of
, wherein the molecules can be symmetrical and R3 and R4 are therapeutic agents,
-Chung 2 exemplifies three symmetrical species,
-Chung 2 teaches that embodiments of its heptamethine cyanine dye-drug conjugates have several advantages, including “a single cyanine dye can be conjugated with multiple equivalent of drugs to further amplify the effectiveness of chemotherapy” (pg. 8, 1st paragraph), and
-Chung 1 teaches
as greatly enhancing the tumor growth inhibitory effects and cytotoxic effects of artemisinin in tumors, and as having superior effects in comparison to puromycin and doxorubicin, as measured by IC50 values.
As such, an artisan having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification to predictably arrive at a therapeutically effective conjugate that more potently treats cancer and amplifies the effectiveness of chemotherapy
Regarding claim 3, Chung 1 teaches pharmaceutical compositions comprising dye-therapeutic conjugates and at least one pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (pg. 88, claim 8).
Regarding claims 19 and 21, the combination of Chung 1 and 2 teaches compound FIII,
.
Regarding claims 22 and 23, the combination of Chung 1 and 2 teaches compound FIII, wherein X is Cl and R1 and R2 are H.
Thus, claims 1, 3, 19, and 21-23 are rendered obvious.
Response to Arguments
On pg. 3, Remarks, Applicant states that the amendments narrow the claims toward the subject matter the examiner has indicated to be allowable.
This statement is acknowledged. However, it is respectfully pointed out that in the previous Office Action, claim limitations directed to FIII were rejected as obvious, as detailed in the 35 USC 103 rejection. As such, the amendments do not narrow the claims toward the subject matter that was indicated to be free of the prior art.
On pgs. 3-4, Remarks Applicant argues that Chung 1’s compound 9 is not a proper lead compound because a) the sulfonate at R1 in Compound 9 of Chung 1 provides aqueous stability to the heptamethine cyanine dye scaffold and that a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that removing or replacing the sulfonate with a bulky, hydrophobic DHA-bearing side chain would fundamentally alter the physicochemical properties of the conjugate and b) the examiner’s analysis improperly conflates a generic disclosure of variable substituent groups in Chung 1’s broad formula with a specific teaching or motivation to make the claim compounds and the references Eli Lilly & Co. v. Zenith Goldline Pharms, Inc. to emphasize that a genus disclosure does not necessarily render obvious every species within it.
These arguments have been fully considered, but are not found persuasive.
Regarding lead compounds, MPEP 2143, Example 9, references Eisai Co. Ltd. V. Dr. Reddy’s Labs. This example teaches that a) any known compound might serve as a lead compound; b) “In the field of pharmaceutical chemistry, the term ‘lead compound’ has been defined variously as a ‘chemical compound that has pharmacological or biological activity and whose chemical structure is used as a starting point for chemical modifications in order to improved potency, selectivity, or pharmacokinetic parameters; and c) “any known compound might possible serve as a lead compound: ‘Obviousness based on structural similarity thus can be proved by identification of some motivation that would have led one of ordinary skill in the art to select and then modify a known compound (i.e. a lead compound) in a particular way to achieve the claimed compound.” And in the case of Eisai Co. Ltd. v. Dr. Reddy’s Labs, the proposed modification to the compound of the prior art (lansoprazole) to arrive at the claimed compound (rabeprazole) reduced the lipophilicity of the compound. “Thus the prior art created the expectation that the rabeprazole would be less useful than the lansoprazole as a drug for treating stomach ulcers and related disorders because the proposed modification would have destroyed an advantageous property of the prior art compound.”
Eisai v. Dr. Reddy is in contrast to the above rejection which properly identifies the lead compound,
, and provides motivation to modify the lead compound to arrive at the instantly claimed compound, a compound with superior properties.
Regarding the sulfonate group, it is respectfully pointed out that Chung 1 does not teach the sulfonate group as essential and Applicant has not provided any evidence that the –(CH2)4SO3 group of Chung 1 is essential and thus inoperable without it. Moreover, Chung 1 teaches that its R3 and R4 positions of
can be:
, and further teaches that R3 and R4 can be the same ([0093]). Additionally, Chung 2 specifically teaches and exemplifies compounds with bulky hydrophobic side chains at the R3 and R4 positions of Chung 1:
(pgs. 12-13; pgs. 27-29, claim 8). Thus, the prior art teaches that similar compounds do not require a sulfonate group that is “essential for maintaining water solubility.”
Regarding the statement “the Examiner’s analysis improperly conflates a generic disclosure of variable substituent groups (R1-R4) in Chung 1’s broad formula with a specific teaching or motivation to make the claimed compounds, on pg. 4, Remarks, it appears that Applicant has misconstrued the rejection, as a whole, and the motivation to modify the compound
of Chung 1. It is respectfully pointed out that the instant rejection is made over a combination of references, Chung 1 and Chung 2; one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). It is the combined teaching of Chung 1 and Chung 2 which arrives at the instantly claimed compound FIII for the reasons stated in the above rejection.
On pgs. 4-5, Remarks, Applicant argues that there is no motivation to create a symmetrical bis-DHA conjugate and that the proposed modification as a single modification is an oversimplification because it would require the removal the sulfonate group and the addition of the new linker and second DHA.
This argument has been fully considered, but is not found persuasive. For the reasons discussed in the above rejection, there is motivation in the art to make such a modification and such a modification is within the skill of an ordinary skilled artisan in the chemical pharmaceutical arts.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to modify
of Chung 1 by substituting
at the circled position, to arrive at
. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-both Chung 1 and Chung 2 are directed toward cyanine dye-drug conjugates for the treatment of cancer,
-Chung 1 teaches that its R3 and R4 moieties,
, can be the same,
-Chung 2 teaches heptamethine cyanine dye molecules of
, wherein the molecules can be symmetrical and R3 and R4 are therapeutic agents,
-Chung 2 exemplifies three symmetrical species,
-Chung 2 teaches that embodiments of its heptamethine cyanine dye-drug conjugates have several advantages, including “a single cyanine dye can be conjugated with multiple equivalent of drugs to further amplify the effectiveness of chemotherapy” (pg. 8, 1st paragraph), and
-Chung 1 teaches
as greatly enhancing the tumor growth inhibitory effects and cytotoxic effects of artemisinin in tumors, and as having superior effects in comparison to puromycin and doxorubicin, as measured by IC50 values.
As such, an artisan having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification to predictably arrive at a therapeutically effective conjugate that more potently treats cancer and amplifies the effectiveness of chemotherapy.
On pgs. 5-6, Remarks, Applicant argues that there is no reasonable expectation of success because a) the cited art provide no reason to expect that the specific HMCD-bis-DHA architectures would preserve the balance of stability, uptake, and activity necessary for useful anticancer performance; b) doubling the molecular weight contribution introduces significant uncertainties regarding the conjugate’s activity; and c) replacing the hydrophilic sulfonate group with a hydrophobic DHA-linker arm would drastically alter the molecule’s log P and aqueous solubility.
These arguments have been fully considered, but are not found persuasive. Applicant is respectfully reminded that obviousness does not require absolute predictability, but a reasonable expectation of success, MPEP 2143.02. For the reasons stated above, there is a reasonable expectation of success. Moreover, Applicant has provided no evidence to substantiate these assertions. Applicant is respectfully reminded that the arguments of counsel cannot take the place of evidence in the record. In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965).
On pgs. 6-7, Remarks, Applicant argues that unexpected results have been achieved.
These arguments have been fully considered, but are not found persuasive. While the examiner agrees that the IC50 values for cancer cell lines Caki-1 and MDVR of DZ3b are unexpectedly lower than those of DZ3a, this result is not commensurate in scope with instant claim 1 which recites THAD compounds of FIII and FIV. While DZ3a is a species of instant generic compound FIII, the unexpected results of DZ3a are also not commensurate in scope with generic compound FIII since R1 and R2 are defined as
, “A” is any pharmaceutically acceptable negatively charged anion, and n is 2-20.
Applicant is reminded that unexpected results a) are greater than expected results, b) show superiority of a property shared with the prior art, c) exhibit the presence of an unexpected property, and/or d) exhibit the absence of an expected property. MPEP 716.02 additionally states that unexpected results must be commensurate in scope with the claimed invention and provide a comparison with the closest prior art.
Free of the Prior Art
Claim 20 is free of the prior art.
The closest prior art is WO 2018/075996 to Chung (published 04/26/2018, IDS of 06/15/2023).
Chung ’996 teaches a method of treating cancer by administering dye-therapeutic conjugates [00153]-[00156], [00159], [00164], [00166], [00179]-[00181; pg. 89, claim 10).
The dyes are compounds of formula I:,
(pgs. 19-20; pg. 85, claim 1).
In some embodiments R3 and R4 are the same (paragraph 93).
Specifically exemplified is:
(paragraph 97).
The following dye-therapeutic moiety conjugate is exemplified:
(pg. 86, claim 2; pg. 88, claim 6; pg. 89, claim 13).
However, the reference does not teach or render obvious the linkers as having identical alkyl-NH-C(O)O- groups or alkyl-NH-C(S)O- groups or alkyl-O- groups attached to dihydroartemisinin, which are distinct features of the instantly claimed THAD derivatives.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/LAUREN WELLS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1622