Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 8, 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cuif (US Patent no. 6,455,018).
Regarding claim 1, Cuif teaches a method for a clean recovery of palladium (abstract; col. 1, lines 11-12), comprising:
mixing a palladium-containing material, a cerium-containing acidic solution (abstract; col. 2, lines 29-33 and 58-63 – the composition comprising palladium and cerium are admixed with sulfuric acid; col. 4, lines 26-42), and an additive, i.e. chlorine, to obtain a mixed solution (col. 6, lines 8-15); and
conducting a leaching reaction on the mixed solution to obtain a Pd-containing solution (col. 5, lines 13-33 and 52-58).
Regarding claim 2, the additive of Cuif comprises chlorine (col. 6, lines 8-18).
Regarding claim 4, Cuif further teaches wherein the concentration of the acidic solution is adjusted as desired (col. 6, lines 30-38). It has been held by courts that generally, differences in concentration not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05.II.A
Regarding claim 5, it has been held by courts that generally, differences in concentration not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05.II.A.
Regarding claim 8, Cuif discloses wherein the concentration of the acidic solution is adjusted as desired (col. 6, lines 30-38).
Regarding claim 10, it has been held by courts that generally, differences in concentration not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05.II.A.
Regarding claim 12, it has been held by courts that generally, differences in concentration not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05.II.A.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 6, 7, 9, 11 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cuif as applied to claims 1, 2, 4 and 5 above, and further in view of Fogel et al. (US Patent no. 5,783,062).
Regarding claim 3, Cuif teaches all the method steps discussed above, but fails to disclose further subjecting the Pd2+-containing solution to an electrolysis, such that palladium from the electrolysis is produced at a cathode and a Ce4+-containing acidic solution from the electrolysis reusable for the leaching reaction is produced at an anode.
Fogel discloses an electrolytic method for the recovery of precious metals, such as palladium, from a spent or worn catalyst comprising cerium. The method further comprises recycling the electrolyte comprising cerium in an acidic solution, to a paste formation stage or to a leaching stage (col. 5, lines 42-50; col. 7, line 53 to col. 8, line 15). This provides the advantage of making it possible to dissolve the precious metals and cerium simultaneously in a single stage and with very high yield (col. 8, lines 26-30).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a further electrolytic step to recover palladium while reusing the electrolyte for the leaching reaction in the method of Cuif because as taught by Fogel, this provides the advantage of making it possible to recover the precious metals and cerium simultaneously in a single stage and with very high yield.
Regarding claim 6, Cuif teaches the steps of mixing a palladium-containing material, a Ce4+-containing acidic solution (abstract; col. 2, lines 29-33 and 58-63 – the composition comprising palladium and cerium are admixed with sulfuric acid; col. 4, lines 26-42), and an additive, i.e. chlorine, to obtain a mixed solution (col. 6, lines 8-15), and subjecting the mixed solution to the leaching reaction at a temperature of at least 50°C to obtain the Pd2-containing solution (col. 5, lines 13-33 and 52-58), wherein the concentration of the acidic solution is adjusted as desired (col. 6, lines 30-38). It has been held by courts that generally, differences in concentration not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05.II.A.
Cuif fails to teach a second step of subjecting the Pd2+-containing solution obtained in step (1) to an electrolysis, such that palladium from the electrolysis is produced at a cathode and a Ce4+-containing acidic solution from the electrolysis reusable for the leaching reaction is produced at an anode.
Fogel discloses an electrolytic method for the recovery of precious metals, such as palladium, from a spent or worn catalyst comprising cerium. The method further comprises recycling the electrolyte comprising cerium in an acidic solution, to a paste formation stage or to a leaching stage (col. 5, lines 42-50; col. 7, line 53 to col. 8, line 15). This provides the advantage of making it possible to dissolve the precious metals and cerium simultaneously in a single stage and with very high yield (col. 8, lines 26-30).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a further electrolytic step to recover palladium while reusing the electrolyte for the leaching reaction in the method of Cuif because as taught by Fogel, this provides the advantage of making it possible to recover the precious metals and cerium simultaneously in a single stage and with very high yield.
Regarding claim 7, Cuif teaches all the method steps discussed above, but fails to disclose further subjecting the Pd2+-containing solution to an electrolysis, such that palladium from the electrolysis is produced at a cathode and a Ce4+-containing acidic solution from the electrolysis reusable for the leaching reaction is produced at an anode.
Fogel discloses an electrolytic method for the recovery of precious metals, such as palladium, from a spent or worn catalyst comprising cerium. The method further comprises recycling the electrolyte comprising cerium in an acidic solution, to a paste formation stage or to a leaching stage (col. 5, lines 42-50; col. 7, line 53 to col. 8, line 15). This provides the advantage of making it possible to dissolve the precious metals and cerium simultaneously in a single stage and with very high yield (col. 8, lines 26-30).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a further electrolytic step to recover palladium while reusing the electrolyte for the leaching reaction in the method of Cuif because as taught by Fogel, this provides the advantage of making it possible to recover the precious metals and cerium simultaneously in a single stage and with very high yield.
Regarding claim 9, Cuif further teaches wherein the concentration of the acidic solution is adjusted as desired (col. 6, lines 30-38). It has been held by courts that generally, differences in concentration not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05.II.A
Regarding claim 11, it has been held by courts that generally, differences in concentration not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05.II.A.
Regarding claim 13, Cuif teaches the steps of mixing a palladium-containing material, a Ce4+-containing acidic solution (abstract; col. 2, lines 29-33 and 58-63 – the composition comprising palladium and cerium are admixed with sulfuric acid; col. 4, lines 26-42), and an additive, i.e. chlorine, to obtain a mixed solution (col. 6, lines 8-15), and subjecting the mixed solution to the leaching reaction at a temperature of at least 50°C to obtain the Pd2-containing solution (col. 5, lines 13-33 and 52-58), wherein the concentration of the acidic solution is adjusted as desired (col. 6, lines 30-38). It has been held by courts that generally, differences in concentration not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05.II.A.
Cuif fails to teach a second step of subjecting the Pd2+-containing solution obtained in step (1) to an electrolysis, such that palladium from the electrolysis is produced at a cathode and a Ce4+-containing acidic solution from the electrolysis reusable for the leaching reaction is produced at an anode.
Fogel discloses an electrolytic method for the recovery of precious metals, such as palladium, from a spent or worn catalyst comprising cerium. The method further comprises recycling the electrolyte comprising cerium in an acidic solution, to a paste formation stage or to a leaching stage (col. 5, lines 42-50; col. 7, line 53 to col. 8, line 15). This provides the advantage of making it possible to dissolve the precious metals and cerium simultaneously in a single stage and with very high yield (col. 8, lines 26-30).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a further electrolytic step to recover palladium while reusing the electrolyte for the leaching reaction in the method of Cuif because as taught by Fogel, this provides the advantage of making it possible to recover the precious metals and cerium simultaneously in a single stage and with very high yield.
Regarding claim 14, Cuif teaches the steps of mixing a palladium-containing material, a Ce4+-containing acidic solution (abstract; col. 2, lines 29-33 and 58-63 – the composition comprising palladium and cerium are admixed with sulfuric acid; col. 4, lines 26-42), and an additive, i.e. chlorine, to obtain a mixed solution (col. 6, lines 8-15), and subjecting the mixed solution to the leaching reaction at a temperature of at least 50°C to obtain the Pd2-containing solution (col. 5, lines 13-33 and 52-58), wherein the concentration of the acidic solution is adjusted as desired (col. 6, lines 30-38). It has been held by courts that generally, differences in concentration not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05.II.A
Cuif fails to teach a second step of subjecting the Pd2+-containing solution obtained in step (1) to an electrolysis, such that palladium from the electrolysis is produced at a cathode and a Ce4+-containing acidic solution from the electrolysis reusable for the leaching reaction is produced at an anode.
Fogel discloses an electrolytic method for the recovery of precious metals, such as palladium, from a spent or worn catalyst comprising cerium. The method further comprises recycling the electrolyte comprising cerium in an acidic solution, to a paste formation stage or to a leaching stage (col. 5, lines 42-50; col. 7, line 53 to col. 8, line 15). This provides the advantage of making it possible to dissolve the precious metals and cerium simultaneously in a single stage and with very high yield (col. 8, lines 26-30).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a further electrolytic step to recover palladium while reusing the electrolyte for the leaching reaction in the method of Cuif because as taught by Fogel, this provides the advantage of making it possible to recover the precious metals and cerium simultaneously in a single stage and with very high yield.
Regarding claim 15, Cuif teaches the steps of mixing a palladium-containing material, a Ce4+-containing acidic solution (abstract; col. 2, lines 29-33 and 58-63 – the composition comprising palladium and cerium are admixed with sulfuric acid; col. 4, lines 26-42), and an additive, i.e. chlorine, to obtain a mixed solution (col. 6, lines 8-15), and subjecting the mixed solution to the leaching reaction at a temperature of at least 50°C to obtain the Pd2-containing solution (col. 5, lines 13-33 and 52-58), wherein the concentration of the acidic solution is adjusted as desired (col. 6, lines 30-38). It has been held by courts that generally, differences in concentration not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05.II.A
Cuif fails to teach a second step of subjecting the Pd2+-containing solution obtained in step (1) to an electrolysis, such that palladium from the electrolysis is produced at a cathode and a Ce4+-containing acidic solution from the electrolysis reusable for the leaching reaction is produced at an anode.
Fogel discloses an electrolytic method for the recovery of precious metals, such as palladium, from a spent or worn catalyst comprising cerium. The method further comprises recycling the electrolyte comprising cerium in an acidic solution, to a paste formation stage or to a leaching stage (col. 5, lines 42-50; col. 7, line 53 to col. 8, line 15). This provides the advantage of making it possible to dissolve the precious metals and cerium simultaneously in a single stage and with very high yield (col. 8, lines 26-30).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a further electrolytic step to recover palladium while reusing the electrolyte for the leaching reaction in the method of Cuif because as taught by Fogel, this provides the advantage of making it possible to recover the precious metals and cerium simultaneously in a single stage and with very high yield.
Regarding claim 16, Cuif teaches the steps of mixing a palladium-containing material, a Ce4+-containing acidic solution (abstract; col. 2, lines 29-33 and 58-63 – the composition comprising palladium and cerium are admixed with sulfuric acid; col. 4, lines 26-42), and an additive, i.e. chlorine, to obtain a mixed solution (col. 6, lines 8-15), and subjecting the mixed solution to the leaching reaction at a temperature of at least 50°C to obtain the Pd2-containing solution (col. 5, lines 13-33 and 52-58), wherein the concentration of the acidic solution is adjusted as desired (col. 6, lines 30-38). It has been held by courts that generally, differences in concentration not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05.II.A
Cuif fails to teach a second step of subjecting the Pd2+-containing solution obtained in step (1) to an electrolysis, such that palladium from the electrolysis is produced at a cathode and a Ce4+-containing acidic solution from the electrolysis reusable for the leaching reaction is produced at an anode.
Fogel discloses an electrolytic method for the recovery of precious metals, such as palladium, from a spent or worn catalyst comprising cerium. The method further comprises recycling the electrolyte comprising cerium in an acidic solution, to a paste formation stage or to a leaching stage (col. 5, lines 42-50; col. 7, line 53 to col. 8, line 15). This provides the advantage of making it possible to dissolve the precious metals and cerium simultaneously in a single stage and with very high yield (col. 8, lines 26-30).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a further electrolytic step to recover palladium while reusing the electrolyte for the leaching reaction in the method of Cuif because as taught by Fogel, this provides the advantage of making it possible to recover the precious metals and cerium simultaneously in a single stage and with very high yield.
Conclusion
/ZULMARIAM MENDEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794