Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 3/30/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 11-12, 15-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHEN (US 11503566 B2, hereinafter, "SHEN") in view of SI et al. (US 20190159128 A1, hereinafter, "SI") and TANG et al. (US 20200059911 A1, hereinafter, "TANG").
Regarding claim 15, SHEN teaches a communication device (column 18, lines 54-67; column 19,
lines 1-3; figure 10, computer device: 100), comprising:
a memory storing a computer program (column 19, lines 4-21; figure 10, memory: 1004);
and a processor coupled to the memory and configured to execute the computer program
(column 19, lines 4-21; figure 10, processor: 1002) to perform operations comprising:
receiving first configuration information transmitted by a network side device,
SHEN writes, “...a terminal receives first configuration information and/or second configuration
information sent by a network device…” (column 1, lines 66-67).
SHEN fails to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the first configuration information is used for configuring signal transmission of an uplink signal or a downlink signal transmitted by the terminal in a working area identified by a cell identifier, and the working area is used for performing functions of a cell;” and “and performing signal transmission when the terminal is located in the working area according to the first configuration information.”
However, in analogous art, SI teaches wherein the first configuration information is used for configuring signal transmission of an uplink signal or a downlink signal transmitted by the terminal in a working area identified by a cell identifier, and the working area is used for performing functions of a cell;
SI writes, “...a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the UE comprises a processor configured to identify a set of resources configured for the UE on a physical cell identifier (PCID), wherein the identified set of resources is one of a first set of resources configured for a first type of UE...” (paragraph 0014). SI continues, “The BS comprises a processor configured to identify a first configuration including a first set of resources for a first type of user equipment (UE)...” (paragraph 0015). SI adds, “As illustrated in FIG. 12, the method 1200 begins at step 1205. In step 1205, 1, a UE identifies a set of resources configured for the UE based on a physical cell identifier (PCID)” (paragraph 0509). SI notes, “In step 1210, the UE receives a signal over a downlink channel” (paragraph 0516).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of SHEN to include aspects described by SI that “relates generally to sequence design. More specifically, this disclosure relates to sequence design of wake up signals and the resynchronization sequence for MTC.” SI provides the motivation for modification by providing a method of configuring a terminal with a first configuration of first set of resources on a physical cell identifier, so that the resources may be used for signal transmission.
SHEN and SI fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “and performing signal transmission when the terminal is located in the working area according to the first configuration information.”
However, in analogous art, TANG teaches and performing signal transmission when the terminal is located in the working area according to the first configuration information.
TANG writes, “In a first aspect, a signal transmission method is provided, characterized by including:
determining, by a network device, first configuration information, wherein the first configuration
information is used for indicating a first time domain resource and a first time domain granularity
corresponding to the first time domain resource, and the first time domain resource and the first time
domain granularity are used for a terminal device to search for a downlink control channel on the first
time domain resource by taking the first time domain granularity as a cycle; and transmitting, by the
network device, the first configuration information to the terminal device” (paragraph 0007).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of SHEN and SI to include aspects described by TANG that “relates to the communication field, and more particularly, to a method for signal transmission, a network device and a terminal device.” TANG provides the motivation for modification stating, “in order to improve the flexibility of network resource allocation or reduce the receiving delay of PDCCH, the flexibility of the time domain location of PDCCH is greatly improved, and a terminal device can be configured by a network device to search for PDCCH symbol by symbol” (paragraph 0004). TANG notes, “...the network device may set a PDCCH search granularity greater than the first time domain granularity indicated by the first configuration information, so that the terminal device needn't search for PDCCH too frequently, thereby reducing the complexity and power consumption of searching for PDCCH by the terminal device...” (paragraph 0008).
Regarding claim 16, SHEN, SI, and TANG teach the communication device according to claim 15,
wherein the first configuration information comprises at least one of the following:
Additionally, SHEN teaches second configuration information, wherein the second configuration information is used for configuring the uplink signal of the working area; third configuration information, wherein the third configuration information is used for configuring the downlink signal of the working area; the cell identifier of the working area; or frequency point information of the working area.
SHEN writes, “...the second configuration information being configured to indicate a second time period
corresponding to first UL/DL configuration information…” (column 2, lines 3-5).
Regarding claim 17, SHEN, SI, and TANG teach the communication device according to claim 16, wherein the second configuration information comprises at least one of the following:
Additionally, SHEN teaches a type of the uplink signal; frequency point information of the
uplink signal; time domain position information for the uplink signal; a subcarrier spacing of the uplink
signal; a target downlink signal associated with the uplink signal; or indication information of the
uplink signal, wherein the indication information is used for indicating an information item carried by
the uplink signal.
SHEN writes, “...the second configuration information being configured to indicate a second time period
corresponding to first UL/DL configuration information…” (column 2, lines 3-5).
Regarding claim 18, SHEN, SI, and TANG teach the communication device according to claim 16, wherein the third configuration information comprises at least one of the following:
Additionally, SHEN teaches a type of the downlink signal; an identifier of the downlink signal;
frequency point information of the downlink signal; time domain position information for the
downlink signal; a subcarrier spacing of the downlink signal; a target uplink signal associated with the
downlink signal; or indication information of the downlink signal, wherein the indication information
is used for indicating an information item carried by the downlink signal.
SHEN writes, “...the third configuration information being configured for determining a time-domain
starting location of the first UL/DL configuration information in the time period corresponding to the
target configuration information…” (column 2, lines 43-47).
Claims 1 and 20 are method and memory claims corresponding to the apparatus claim 15 that has already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 15. Claims 1 and 20 are rejected under the same rational as claim 15.
Claims 2 – 4 are method claims corresponding to the apparatus claims 16 – 18 that have already
been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claims 16 – 18. Claims 2 – 4
are rejected under the same rational as claims 16 – 18.
Regarding claim 6, SHEN, SI, and TANG teach the communication method according to claim 3, wherein performing the signal transmission in the working area according to the first configuration information comprises:
Additionally, SHEN teaches transmitting the uplink signal in the working area according to the
second configuration information.
SHEN writes, “...the second configuration information being configured to indicate a second time period
corresponding to first UL/DL configuration information…” (column 2, lines 3-5).
Regarding claim 11, SHEN, SI, and TANG teach the communication method according to claim 4, wherein performing the signal transmission in the working area according to the first configuration information comprises:
Additionally, SHEN teaches receiving the downlink signal in the working area according to the
third configuration information.
SHEN writes, “...the terminal starts receiving the first UL/DL configuration information from the time-
domain starting location in the target time period” (column 3, lines 30-32).
Regarding claim 12, SHEN, SI, and TANG teach the communication method according
to claim 11, wherein the receiving the downlink signal in the working area according to the third
configuration information comprises at least one of the following:
Additionally, TANG teaches receiving the downlink signal in a working area in which the target
uplink signal is transmitted when the third configuration information comprises the target uplink
signal associated with the downlink signal; or receiving the downlink signal on a target resource
according to the third configuration information, wherein the target resource is a transmission
resource of the downlink signal.
TANG writes, “...in some implementations of the first aspect, the method further includes: determining,
by the network device, a third time domain resource and a third time domain granularity corresponding
to the third time domain resource according to predefined third configuration information; and
transmitting, by the network device, a downlink control channel according to the third time domain
resource and the third time domain granularity” (paragraph 0023).
Claim(s) 5, 13, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHEN, SI, and TANG as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of RYU et al. (US 20180184246 A1, hereinafter, "RYU").
Regarding claim 13, SHEN, SI, and TANG teach the communication method according to claim 12,
SHEN, SI, and TANG fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the downlink signal comprises at least a paging message.”
However, in analogous art, RYU teaches wherein the downlink signal comprises at least a
paging message.
RYU writes, “The [Paging Control Channel (PCCH)] is a downlink channel that delivers paging information, and is used when network does not know the cell where a UE belongs” (paragraph 0126).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of SHEN, SI, and TANG to include aspects described by RYU that “relates to a wireless communication system, and more particularly, to a method for managing a paging area/location area of a terminal and an apparatus for supporting the same.” RYU provides the motivation for modification stating, “According to an embodiment of the present invention, paging can be efficiently transmitted to a terminal, particularly, a terminal (e.g., a CIoT terminal) having a no mobility/low mobility feature” (paragraph 0020). RYU notes, “According to the embodiment of the present invention, when the paging is transmitted to the terminal, particularly, the terminal having the no mobility/low mobility feature, in the case where paging resources are sufficient, a paging error can be reduced by setting a paging area to a large range” (paragraph 0021).
Regarding claim 19, SHEN, SI, and TANG teach the communication device according to claim 15,
wherein the functions of the cell comprise at least one of the following:
SHEN, SI, and TANG fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “receiving a paging message; performing selection or re-selection between working areas; camping on the working area; or measuring the working area.”
However, in analogous art, RYU teaches receiving a paging message; performing selection or
re-selection between working areas; camping on the working area; or measuring the working area.
RYU writes, “Preferably, after the first accept message is received, a paging area of the terminal may be
comprised of the serving cell of the terminal and the additional cell list” (paragraph 0011).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of SHEN, SI, and TANG to include aspects described by RYU that “relates to a wireless communication system, and more particularly, to a method for managing a paging area/location area of a terminal and an apparatus for supporting the same.” RYU provides the motivation for modification stating, “According to an embodiment of the present invention, paging can be efficiently transmitted to a terminal, particularly, a terminal (e.g., a CIoT terminal) having a no mobility/low mobility feature” (paragraph 0020). RYU notes, “According to the embodiment of the present invention, when the paging is transmitted to the terminal, particularly, the terminal having the no mobility/low mobility feature, in the case where paging resources are sufficient, a paging error can be reduced by setting a paging area to a large range” (paragraph 0021).
Claim 5 is a method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 19 that has already been
rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 19. Claim 5 is rejected
under the same rational as claim 19.
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHEN, SI, and TANG as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of LI (US 20200177336 A1, hereinafter, "LI").
Regarding claim 7, SHEN, SI, and TANG teach the communication method according to
claim 6, wherein transmitting the uplink signal in the working area according to the second
configuration information comprises:
SHEN, SI, and TANG fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “transmitting the uplink signal in the working area according to the second configuration information when it is detected that a target event occurs, wherein the target event comprises at least one of the following:” and “the second configuration information having been received; the terminal working in the working area; transmitted indication information having been received; a measurement result of a target signal meeting a preset condition; the working area changing; or a working mode changing.”
However, in analogous art, LI teaches transmitting the uplink signal in the working area according to the second configuration information when it is detected that a target event occurs,
wherein the target event comprises at least one of the following:
LI writes, “When the requirement meets a specific threshold, the terminal device sends the feedback
information to the access network device. The feedback information may be an activation request”
(paragraph 0127).
the second configuration information having been received; the terminal working in the
working area; transmitted indication information having been received; a measurement result of a
target signal meeting a preset condition; the working area changing; or a working mode changing.
LI writes, “When the requirement meets a specific threshold, the terminal device sends the feedback
information to the access network device. The feedback information may be an activation request”
(paragraph 0127).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of SHEN, SI, and TANG to include aspects described by LI that “relates to the communications field, and in particular, to a secondary cell activation method, an access network device, and a communications apparatus and system.” LI provides the motivation for modification stating, “According to the method, the access network device may send the first reference signal and the first configuration information of the first reference signal to the terminal device, so that the terminal device performs channel measurement on the first reference signal according to the first configuration information. This solution avoids a scenario in which a secondary cell can be measured and activated based only on a fixedly configured CRS, so as to improve secondary cell activation flexibility, and improve secondary cell activation efficiency” (paragraph 0012).
Regarding claim 8, SHEN, SI, TANG, and LI teach the communication method according to claim 7, wherein a type of the measurement result comprises at least one of the following:
Additionally, LI teaches reference signal received power; reference signal received quality; a
signal to interference and noise ratio; a received signal strength indicator; a channel occupancy rate;
or a channel occupancy time.
LI writes, “When the requirement meets a specific threshold, the terminal device sends the feedback
information to the access network device. The feedback information may be an activation request”
(paragraph 0127).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHEN, SI, and TANG as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of SEO et al. (US 20190245655 A1, hereinafter, "SEO").
Regarding claim 9, SHEN, SI, and TANG teach the communication method according to
claim 6, wherein transmitting the uplink signal in the working area according to the second
configuration information comprises at least one of the following:
SHEN, SI, and TANG fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “transmitting the
uplink signal carrying a terminal identifier or a working area identifier when the second configuration
information comprises the indication information of the uplink signal; transmitting the uplink signal
according to the detected target downlink signal and based on uplink signal transmission configuration corresponding to the target downlink signal when the second configuration information
comprises the target downlink signal associated with the uplink signal; transmitting the uplink signal
based on a target uplink timing advance, wherein the target uplink timing advance is configured, pre -
configured, or pre-defined by a network side, or is determined according to a path loss obtained
through downlink measurement; or transmitting the uplink signal through a source working area in a
case that the working area changes.”
However, in analogous art, SEO teaches transmitting the uplink signal carrying a terminal
identifier or a working area identifier when the second configuration information comprises the
indication information of the uplink signal; transmitting the uplink signal according to the detected
target downlink signal and based on uplink signal transmission configuration corresponding to the
target downlink signal when the second configuration information comprises the target downlink
signal associated with the uplink signal; transmitting the uplink signal based on a target uplink timing
advance, wherein the target uplink timing advance is configured, pre-configured, or pre-defined by a
network side, or is determined according to a path loss obtained through downlink measurement; or
transmitting the uplink signal through a source working area in a case that the working area changes.
SEO writes, “...according to one embodiment of the present invention, comprise the steps
of: transmitting an uplink signal including a terminal identifier of the terminal through one of a plurality
of resources belonging to a first resource pool...” (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of SHEN, SI, and TANG to include aspects described by SEO that “relates to a wireless communication system, and more particularly, to a method for transmitting or receiving an ACK/NACK signal on an uplink signal transmitted in a contention based multiple access scheme and an apparatus for the same.” SEO provides the motivation for modification stating, “According to one embodiment of the present invention, ACK signal on an uplink signal transmitted in a contention based scheme may be transmitted through UE-specific signaling, whereby complexity of ACK detection may be reduced, and NACK signal may be broadcasted and its bit value may be used to indicate a failure cause of transmission, whereby ACK/NACK signaling and retransmission may be performed more exactly and efficiently” (paragraph 0018).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHEN, SI, TANG, and SEO as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of WANG et al. (US 20220061065 A1, hereinafter, "WANG").
Regarding claim 10, SHEN, SI, TANG, and SEO teach the communication method according to claim 9,
SHEN, SI, TANG, and SEO fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein a time domain position of the target downlink signal is a time domain position corresponding to the target uplink timing advance.”
However, in analogous art, WANG teaches wherein a time domain position of the target downlink signal is a time domain position corresponding to the target uplink timing advance.
WANG writes, “The timing alignment may be implemented by applying a timing advance (TA) on each
UE transmitted uplink sub-frame, relative to the received downlink sub-frame at that UE” (paragraph
0003).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of SHEN, SI, TANG, and SEO to include aspects described by WANG that “relate to methods and apparatus for uplink transmission using an unlicensed frequency spectrum.” WANG provides the motivation for modification stating, “One or more of the various embodiments improve the performance of OTT services provided to UE 1030 using OTT connection 1050, in which wireless connection 1070 forms the last segment. More precisely, the teachings of these embodiments may improve a LBT blocking issues and thereby provide benefits such as better responsiveness” (paragraph 0188). WANG notes, “A measurement procedure may be provided for the purpose of monitoring data rate, latency and other factors on which the one or more embodiments improve” (paragraph 0189).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHEN, SI, and TANG as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of LIN et al. (US 20200059847 A1, hereinafter, "LIN").
Regarding claim 14, SHEN, SI, and TANG teach the communication method according to claim 1,
further comprising:
SHEN, SI, and TANG fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “stopping downlink measurement in the working area according to the first configuration information.”
However, in analogous art, LIN teaches stopping downlink measurement in the working area
according to the first configuration information.
LIN writes, “...the terminal device may stop performing downlink measurement, that is, cancel the
process of measuring the downlink reference signal sent by the base station” (paragraph 0143).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of SHEN, SI, and TANG to include aspects described by LIN that “relate to the field of communications technologies, and in particular, to a cell handover method, a method for determining an uplink transmit power, and an apparatus.” LIN provides the motivation for modification stating, “The terminal device has determined the uplink transmit power after the handover. After handing over to the target network device, the terminal device may send a message to the target network device at the determined uplink transmit power, thereby improving a success rate of message sending” (paragraph 0045). LIN notes, “It may be understood that in this embodiment, a process in which the network device determines whether the terminal device performs cell handover and a process in which the terminal device determines whether the terminal device performs cell handover are both in progress. If either party of the network device and the terminal device determines that the terminal device performs handover, the terminal device executes the determining of the party to perform cell handover. Efficiency of performing cell handover by the terminal device is improved in this manner” (paragraph 0012).
Conclusion
/Christopher A. Reyes/Examiner, Art Unit 2475 9/13/2026
/ABDULLAHI AHMED/Examiner, Art Unit 2475