DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the independent claims filed on 12/29/2025 have been considered but are moot because the arguments on the amended features that were unexamined alternatives in the previous office action dated 10/01/2025 raising a new scope do not apply to any of the references being used in the instant office action, thus rendering applicant’s arguments moot.
The applicant also presented other arguments drawn to the various dependent claims. However, said other arguments are all dependency based, depending from the arguments drawn to the independent claims’ limitations discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, 9, 11-12, 14-15 and 18-19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kashiwase (US 2016/0234740) in view of Li et al. (US 2022/0417900, “Li”), Zhang et al. (US 2025/0126675, “Zhang”), and Zou et al. (US 2020/0305037, “Zou”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Kashiwase unless otherwise mentioned.
Kashiwase comprises the following features:
With respect to independent claims:
Regarding claim 1, a method for changing a working area, performed by a terminal, comprising:
acquiring configuration information of at least one working area ([0079 and Fig. 8] “in step S101, the eNB 200-1 that manages the macro cell MC broadcasts common control information (system information) applied commonly to all the UEs 100 within the macro cell MC.”, and [0081 and Fig. 8] “In step S102, the UE 100 that receives the serving cell information out of the common control information establishes an RRC connection with the macro cell MC on the basis of the serving cell information, and establishes a bearer with the EPC 20 (MME/S-GW 300).”);
working in a first working area according to the configuration information ([0081] “As a result, the UE 100 transitions from the idle state to the connected state.”), the first working area being among the at least one working area ([0080] “The common control information includes serving cell information (the SIB1 and the SIB2, for example) on its own cell (macro cell MC) and the neighboring cell information (the SIB4 to the SIB8, for example).”) each identified by a working area identifier comprised in the configuration information (This will be discussed in view of Li.); and
performing an operation of changing the first working area when a trigger event is satisfied ([0085 and Fig. 8] “In step S106, the UE 100 detects a small cell SC by a cell search based on the small cell information to perform the cell reselection. Thus, the UE 100 changes the serving cell from the macro cell MC to the small cell SC.”),
wherein each working area identifier corresponding to transmission location information for at least one paging message (This will be discussed in view of Li.),
wherein the trigger event comprises at least one of the following:
a mismatch between information content of an identifier of a working area comprised in a detected target reference signal and information content of an identifier of the first working area (This will be discussed in view of Zhang, and an ID in a detected reference signal will be discussed in view of Zou.); or
a mismatch between information content of an identifier of a working area comprised in a detected target reference signal and information content of identifiers of all working areas in the configuration information (This alternative is not examined.).
It is noted that while disclosing configuration information, Kashiwase does not specifically teach about a cell identifier and a paging message. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Li as follows;
each identified by a working area identifier comprised in the configuration information ([Li, 0088] “Different Radio Network Temporary Identity (RNTI)—For each paging configuration, different RNTI values can be configured and such configuration information can be transmitted by e.g., RAN node to the UE.”),
wherein each working area identifier corresponds to transmission location information for at least one paging message ([Li, 0085] “Different locations on the frequency domain—For each paging configuration, different frequency ranges can be configured and such configuration information can be transmitted by e.g., RAN node to the UE. For example, paging configuration) can be located from frequency 1 to frequency 2, and paging configuration2 can be located from frequency 3 to frequency 4.”, and see aforesaid [Li, 0088] for RNTI and paging configuration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Kashiwase by using the features of Li in order to be robust for more complex and sophisticated range of access requirements such that “each set of paging configuration information includes a service type information that describes a type of network service” [Li, 0006].
It is noted that while disclosing configuration information, Kashiwase does not specifically teach about different ID to trigger an event to change a working area. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Zhang as follows;
a mismatch between information content of an identifier of a working area comprised in a detected target reference signal and information content of an identifier of the first working area ([Zhang, 0107] “when the remote UE determines that the cell ID has changed or determines that the received cell ID is different from the previously received cell ID, the remote UE triggers or performs a relay selection or relay reselection operation.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Kashiwase by using the features of Zhang in order keep consistent network states such that “a processing method for remote user equipment, and user equipment, which can avoid inconsistent network states when a serving cell ID received by remote UE from relay UE that serves the remote UE changes.” [Zhang, 0007].
It is noted that while disclosing configuration information, Kashiwase does not specifically teach about an ID in a detected reference signal. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Zou as follows;
an identifier of a working area comprised in a detected target reference signal ([Zou, 0109] “the UE will start to search/detect the cell ID associated SSB (SS-Block is the reference signal associated with the cell ID in NR)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Kashiwase by using the features of Zou in order keep consistent network states such that “a method in a network component for handover of a user equipment (UE) includes configuring, by the network component, at least one target secondary serving transmission reception point (TRP) determined according to UE mobility information.” [Zou, 0004].
Regarding claim 14, it is a terminal claim corresponding to the method claim 1, except the limitations, “a memory storing a computer program; and a processor coupled to the memory and configured to execute the computer program” (See Fig. 2 for 160 “Processor” and 150 “Memory”, and [0038] “The memory 150 stores a program to be executed by the processor 160”), and is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 18, it is a terminal claim corresponding to the method claim 1, except the limitations, “non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer program, when the computer program is executed by a processor of a terminal” ([0038 and Fig. 2] “The memory 150 stores a program to be executed by the processor 160 and information to be used for a process by the processor 160.”), and is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding claims 2, 15 and 19, the method according to claim 1, the terminal according to claim 14 and the CRM of claim 18, respectively, wherein the configuration information further comprises at least one of the following: at least one frequency identifier ([Li, 0085] “For each paging configuration, different frequency ranges can be configured and such configuration information can be transmitted by e.g., RAN node to the UE. For example, paging configuration) can be located from frequency 1 to frequency 2, and paging configuration2 can be located from frequency 3 to frequency 4.”); resource location information for a reference signal corresponding to a frequency; a subcarrier spacing corresponding to a frequency; transmission location information for a paging message (These alternatives are not examined.).
Regarding claim 5, the method according to claim 1,
wherein working in the first working area comprises at least one of the following:
receiving a paging message in the first working area (This alternative is not examined.);
performing cell selection or reselection in the first working area ([0068] “The UE 100 according to the embodiment performs the cell reselection on the basis of the neighboring cell information broadcast from the macro cell MC.”);
performing camping in the first working area; performing cell measurement in the first working area; performing initial access in the first working area; or reading system information in the first working area (These alternatives are not examined.).
Regarding claim 6, the method according to claim 1, wherein the trigger event further comprises at least one of the following:
a failure to detect a target reference signal of the first working area; a failure to detect target reference signals of all working areas configured for the terminal (These alternatives are not examined.); or
a success in receiving a paging message transmitted by a network-side device ([0063] “the UE 100 in an idle state performs the cell reselection on the basis of neighboring cell information periodically broadcast from the serving cell.”, and [0064] “The neighboring cell information includes a neighboring cell list that is a list of a cell identifier (PCI) of a neighboring cell and a parameter of the cell reselection. The UE 100 detects a neighboring cell by a cell search based on the neighboring cell information to perform the cell reselection.”).
Regarding claim 9, the method according to claim 1, wherein performing the operation of changing the first working area comprises at least one of the following:
transmitting change information to notify a network-side device that the first working area of the terminal is changed (This alternative is not examined.);
searching for a second working area different from the first working area ([0085] “In step S106, the UE 100 detects a small cell SC by a cell search based on the small cell information to perform the cell reselection.”);
searching for a first cell capable of initiating connection establishment; or searching for a second cell capable of being camped on (These alternatives are not examined.).
Regarding claim 11, the method according to claim 9, further comprising at least one of the following operations:
reselecting the second working area or a target cell ([0085] “In step S106, the UE 100 detects a small cell SC by a cell search based on the small cell information to perform the cell reselection. Thus, the UE 100 changes the serving cell from the macro cell MC to the small cell SC.”);
camping on the second working area or the target cell; or initiating a connection establishment process in the second working area or the target cell, wherein the target cell is the first cell or the second cell (These alternatives are not examined.).
Regarding claim 12, the method according to claim 1, further comprising: changing a connection status of the terminal ([0086] “In step S107, the UE 100 establishes the RRC connection with the small cell SC, and establishes the bearer with the EPC 20 (MME/S-GW 300).”).
Claim(s) 3-4, 7, 16-17 and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kashiwase (US 2016/0234740) in view of Li et al. (US 2022/0417900, “Li”), Zhang et al. (US 2025/0126675, “Zhang”), and Zou et al. (US 2020/0305037, “Zou”), and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 2023/0189103, “Zhang103”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Kashiwase unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claims 3, 16 and 20, it is noted that while disclosing cell changing, Kashiwase does not specifically teach about a resource location for a reference signal. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Zhang103 as follows;
the method according to claim 2, the terminal according to claim 15 and the CRM of claim 19, respectively, wherein the at least one working area identifier satisfies at least one of the following:
one of the at least one working area identifier being corresponding to at least one frequency identifier (This alternative is not examined.); or
one of the at least one working area identifier being corresponding to resource location information for at least one reference signal (See [Zhang103, 0139 and Fig. 7] for configuration, [Zhang103, 0148] “Second group of parameters:”, and [Zhang103, 0152] “A time-frequency resource location of the reference signal.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Kashiwase by using the features of Zhang103 in order to effectively utilize carrier resources such that “a communication method and an apparatus, to indicate a terminal device to perform BWP switching.” [Zhang103, 0003].
Regarding claims 4 and 17, the method according to claim 2 and the terminal according to claim 15, respectively, wherein the reference signal comprises information content of an identifier of a working area ([Zhang103, Table 1] “Characteristic of measured reference signal Cell ID or simplified ID (cell ID or simplified ID)+SSB index Time-frequency location of measured reference signal SSB index/CSI-RS period/location”).
The rational and motivation for adding this teaching of Zhang103 are the same as for claim 3.
Regarding claim 7, the method according to claim 6, wherein a first measurement result of the target reference signal is greater than or equal to a first threshold ([Zhang103, 0149] “in response to reference signal received power (reference signal received power, RSRP) measured by the terminal device at two consecutive times being greater than a threshold,”); or a second measurement result of the target reference signal is less than or equal to a second threshold (This alternative is not examined.).
The rational and motivation for adding this teaching of Zhang103 are the same as for claim 3.
Claim(s) 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kashiwase (US 2016/0234740) in view of Li et al. (US 2022/0417900, “Li”), Zhang et al. (US 2025/0126675, “Zhang”), and Zou et al. (US 2020/0305037, “Zou”) and further in view of Berggren et al. (US 2023/0379823, “Berggren”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Kashiwase unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claim 8, it is noted that while disclosing cell changing, Kashiwase does not specifically teach about paging triggered by a network. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Berggren as follows;
the method according to claim 6, wherein the paging message is a paging message that triggers change of a working area ([Berggren, 0054] “the wireless device can determine that the cell ID has been changed and then can infer that there may be paging escalation triggered by the network.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Kashiwase by using the features of Berggren in order to increase energy efficiency at wireless devices such that “which mitigate, alleviate or address the shortcomings existing and provide a further reduction of false wake-ups caused by wireless devices” [Berggren, 0007].
Claim(s) 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kashiwase (US 2016/0234740) in view of Li et al. (US 2022/0417900, “Li”), Zhang et al. (US 2025/0126675, “Zhang”), and Zou et al. (US 2020/0305037, “Zou”) and further in view of Fuse et al. (US 2015/0195837, “Fuse”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Kashiwase unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claim 10, it is noted that while disclosing cell changing, Kashiwase does not specifically teach about UE transmitting an identifier. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Fuse as follows;
the method according to claim 9, wherein the change information comprises at least one of the following:
an identifier of the first working area before change ([Fuse, 0353] “Based on information regarding the CA communication (e.g., an ID of a disconnection-target base station device, a frequency band, a bandwidth, and the like), the mobile station device 1b transmits an SCC disconnection request to the macrocell base station device 2e (step STA103).”);
an identifier of the second working area after change; or geographical location information of the terminal (This alternative is not examined.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Kashiwase by using the features of Fuse in order to provide sufficient communication rates such that “The first base station device includes a disconnection preparation requesting unit configured to transmit to the second base station device, a disconnection preparation request that requests the second base station device to prepare to disconnect the second component carrier.” [Fuse, 0017].
Claim(s) 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kashiwase (US 2016/0234740) in view of Li et al. (US 2022/0417900, “Li”), Zhang et al. (US 2025/0126675, “Zhang”), and Zou et al. (US 2020/0305037, “Zou”) and further in view of Jain et al. (US 2022/0030479, “Jain”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Kashiwase unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claim 13, it is noted that while disclosing cell changing, Kashiwase does not specifically teach about changing a mode. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Jain as follows;
the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
controlling a working mode of the terminal to change from a first working mode to a second working mode ([Jain, 0132] “the determination of whether to switch the secondary carrier from the first antenna port to the second antenna port is triggered based on a detection of an event. For example, the UE may detect an event and, upon detection of the event, may determine whether to switch the secondary carrier from the first antenna port to the second antenna port.”),
wherein the first working mode is a working mode supported by the first working area, the second working mode is a working mode supported by a second working area, and the second working area is a working area after change ([Jain, 0132] “the primary carrier is associated with a first RAT (e.g., LTE) to a cell in which the primary carrier is associated with a second RAT (e.g., NR), a change in a mode of operation of the UE (e.g., from ENDC to a standalone mode on NR)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Kashiwase by using the features of Jain in order to be adaptive for multiple wireless technologies such that “to provide a common protocol that enables different user equipment to communicate on a municipal, national, regional, and even global level.” [Jain, 0005].
Conclusion
/HARRY H KIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411