DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment and Arguments
Applicant’s amendment overcomes the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) of claims 1, 4 and 6-11 over Senga, and of claims 1, 4, 6-8 and 11 over Sato. The rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments in light of the amendment have been fully considered but are moot as they do not apply to the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6-8 and 11 are rejected are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato in view of Senga.
Regarding claims 1, 6-8 and 11, Sato teaches a method of producing a sulfide-based solid electrolyte comprises mixing and reacting raw source materials under heating in a reaction vessel to synthesize a sulfide solid electrolyte and pulverizing the product in a mixed solvent of a hydrocarbon solvent and a polar aprotic solvent ([0015], [0019] and [0062]- [0067]), which meets the limitation of atomizing in light of the instant disclosure wherein “atomization” means to reduce the average particle size including using pulverization (instant disclosure, [0022] and [0065]-[0067]).
Sato teaches that the raw source material comprises lithium sulfide, phosphorous sulfide and a halogen compound ([0041], [0052] and [0056]), which meets the claimed raw material source.
Sato teaches the polar aprotic solvent includes methyl ethyl ketone ([0032] and [0038]), which has a boiling point of about 79.6°C and molecular weight of 72, which meets the claimed ketone of formula (I) wherein R1 is methyl and R2 is ethyl, boiling point, total number of carbon and molecular weight, respectively.
Sato does not teaches the claimed particle size of the product sulfide solid electrolyte.
Senga teaches that as a battery material, the volume average particle size of sulfide solid electrolyte is preferably 0.1 μm or more and 20 μm or less, exemplified as 9 μm ([0061] and [0108]), which meets the claimed particle size.
At the time the invention was made it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to pulverizing the sulfide solid electrolyte of Sato to a size range of 0.1 μm or more and 20 μm such as 9 μm of Senga. The rationale to do so would have been the motivation provided by the teachings of Senga that such size range of the solid electrolyte is suitable as battery material ([0061]).
Regarding claim 4, Sato teaches drying the product and removing the solvent thus the ketone compound([0077]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato in view of Senga as applied to claims 1, 4, 6-8 and 11 above , and further in view of US2020/0358132A1(Yamada)
The combined teachings of Sato and Senga are set forth above.
Sato exemplified a sulfide solid electrolyte prepared from 33.2 g of lithium sulfide (i.e., 0.72 mol), 53.2 g of phosphorous pentasulfide (i.e., 0.12 mol), and 14.1 g of LiBr,( i.e., 0.16 mol) ([0117], Example 8), thus the molar ratio of Li/P is 6, S/P is 5.5, and Br/P is 0.66 estimated by the examiner.
Sato further teaches the ionic conductivity can increase by subjecting the resultant sulfide-based solid electrolyte to a heat treatment to make the sulfide-based solid electrolyte from a glass substance to a sulfide crystalized glass ([0078]), wherein the heat treatment is normally at a temperature of 200° C. or higher and 320° C. or lower ([0078]).
Sato is silent on the claimed argyrodite type crystal structure.
Yamada teaches amorphous sulfide solid electrolyte can be changed to an crystalline sulfide solid electrolyte by heating at a temperature of 190° C. or higher and 300° C. or lower ([0100]-[0102]), and a halogen element-containing argyrodite-type crystal structure can be obtained by reacting starting materials in a predetermined blending ratio, wherein the molar amount of lithium element/phosphorus element is 2.5 or more and 6.0 or less, sulfur element/phosphorus element is 4.0 or more and 6.0 or less, halogen element/phosphorus element is 0.5 or more and 2.0 or less ([0041], [0070]-[0072] and [0100]-[0102]).
At the time the invention was made it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to expect that the Sato’s crystal glass has argyrodite-type crystal structure since Sato teaches the same blending ratios of Li/P, S/P and Br/P and similar heating treatment as that of Yamada ([0041], [0070]-[0072] and [0100]-[0102]), therefore same product as that of Yamada.
Conclusion
/AIQUN LI/ Ph.D., Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766