DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 and 4-11 are pending as amended on 15 April 2026, claims 12 and 15-23 are withdrawn from consideration.
Applicant’s amendments to the specification and claims and the remarks/arguments have been entered and fully considered.
Response to Amendment and Arguments
Applicant’s amendment overcomes the objection to the specification. The objection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment overcomes the objection to claims 1 and 4-11. The objection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment overcomes the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph t of claims 6, 7 and 9. The rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment does not distinguish from US2019/0074544A1 (Senga) or US2016/0104917A1 (Sato).
Applicant’s arguments in light of the amendment have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Senga fails to teach reaction to form a solid electrolyte prior to atomization. The examiner disagrees. Although Senga teaches embodiment wherein reaction and milling take place at the same time, Senga expressly discloses embodiment wherein the raw material are mixed and heated to form a solid electrolyte prior to atomization ([0094]).
Applicant argues that Sato fails to teach reaction to form a solid electrolyte prior to atomization. The examiner disagrees. Although Sato teaches embodiment wherein reaction and milling take place at the same time, Sato expressly discloses that embodiment of separately heating reacting in a reaction vessel raw materials to synthesize a sulfide-based solid electrolyte prior to pulverization ([0019] and [0062]-[0067]).
As such the rejections over Senga and over Sato stand.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4 and 6-11 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Senga.
Regarding claims 1 and 6-10, Senga teaches a method for producing a solid electrolyte comprises feeding a solid electrolyte raw material-containing liquid comprising a solid electrolyte raw material and a solvent to a high-temperature medium, thereby evaporating the solvent and forming a microparticulate solid electrolyte having an argyrodite-type crystal structure([0022], [0056] and [0057]), wherein solid electrolyte obtained has a volume average particle size of 0.1 μm or more and 20 μm or less, exemplified as 9 μm ([0061] and [0108]), which meets the claimed particle size and the limitation of “atomizing” in light of the instant disclosure wherein “atomization” means to reduce the average particle size (instant disclosure, [0022]) .
Senga teaches the solid electrolyte raw material can be prepared by mixing and heating Li2S, LiCl and P2S5 under nitrogen atmosphere ([0022], [0023] and [0094]), which meets the claimed raw material; the solvent comprises ketones such as methyl ethyl ketone ([0047]), which has a boiling point of about 79.6°C and molecular weight of 72, which meets the claimed ketone of formula (I) R1 is methyl and R2 is ethyl, boiling point, total number of carbon and molecular weight, respectively.
Regarding claim 4, Senga teaches evaporating the solvent ([0022] and [0054]), which anticipates the limitation of removing the ketone compound.
Regarding claim 11, Senga teaches that the high temperature medium can be a liquid medium such as hydrocarbons ([0049] and [0050]), which anticipates the limitation of “using a solvent together with a ketone”.
Claims 1, 4-8 and 11 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Sato.
Regarding claims 1, 5-8 and 11, Sato teaches a method of producing a sulfide-based solid electrolyte comprises mixing and reacting raw source materials under heating in a reaction vessel to synthesize a sulfide solid electrolyte and pulverizing the product in a mixed solvent of a hydrocarbon solvent and a polar aprotic solvent ([0015], [0019] and [0062]- [0067]), which meets the limitation of atomizing in light of the instant disclosure wherein “atomization” means to reduce the average particle size including using pulverization (instant disclosure, [0022] and [0065]-[0067]).
Sato teaches that the raw source material comprises lithium sulfide, phosphorous sulfide and a halogen compound ([0041], [0052] and [0056]), which meets the claimed raw material source.
Sato teaches the polar aprotic solvent includes methyl ethyl ketone ([0032] and [0038]), which has a boiling point of about 79.6°C and molecular weight of 72, which meets the claimed ketone of formula (I) wherein R1 is methyl and R2 is ethyl, boiling point, total number of carbon and molecular weight, respectively.
Regarding claim 4, Sato teaches drying the product and removing the solvent thus the ketone compound([0077]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AIQUN LI/Ph.D., Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766