DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 03/20/2023 and 11/28/2025 have been considered.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 8 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if any of claims 6, 8 and 9 are rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claims and any intervening claims.
Claim 6 recites, inter alia, “…wherein the plurality of radiator plates include a first flat radiator plate covering the first surface, a second flat radiator plate covering the second surface, and a third flat radiator plate covering the third surface. (Emphasis added).
Claim 8 recites, inter alia, “…wherein the plurality of radiator plates include a first bent radiator plate covering the first and second surfaces, a second bent radiator plate covering the second and third surfaces, a third bent radiator plate covering the third and fourth surfaces, and a fourth bent radiator plate covering the fourth and first surfaces, and the first, second, third, and fourth bent radiator plates do not overlap one another. (Emphasis added).
Claim 9 recites, inter alia, “…wherein the plurality of radiator plates include a first bent radiator plate covering the first and second surfaces and a second bent radiator plate covering the third and fourth surfaces. (Emphasis added).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sasaki et al. (hereinafter Sasaki), Japanese Patent JP2019047105A.
Regarding Claim 1, Sasaki teaches, a transformer (Fig. 2) comprising:
a coil (37, 38);
a core (40) enclosing the coil, the core including a first surface (side), a second surface (top) adjoining the first surface, and a third surface (other side) opposite to the first surface and adjoining the second surface; and
a plurality of radiator plates (70, 80) each of which covers a part of the core, wherein
the first and third surfaces are covered by different radiator plates (70, 80) of the plurality of radiator plates. (Sasaki: Figs. 1-4, machine translation, para. [0023]-[0025]).
Regarding Claim 2, Sasaki further teaches, wherein
the plurality of radiator plates include a first bent radiator plate (70, left rear, Fig. 2) covering the first and second surfaces and a second bent radiator plate (70, right front, Fig. 2) covering the second and third surfaces, and
the first and second bent radiator plates cover the second surface without overlapping each other. (Sasaki: Fig. 2, machine translation, para. [0024]).
Regarding Claim 3 and similarly claim 4, Sasaki further teaches, wherein in a front view of the second surface (top), a side of the first bent radiator plate that faces the second bent radiator plate and a side of the second bent radiator plate that faces the first bent radiator plate include inclined portions (incline portions of 70) that are inclined with respect to a side of the second surface that is adjacent to the first surface. (Sasaki: Fig. 2, machine translation, para. [0024]).
Regarding Claim 5, Sasaki further teaches, wherein the plurality of radiator plates (70) include a first bent radiator plate covering the first (top) and second (left rear side) surfaces and a flat radiator plate (80) covering the third surface (bottom). (Sasaki: Fig. 2, machine translation, para. [0024], [0063]).
Regarding Claim 7, Sasaki further teaches, wherein the core further includes a fourth surface (bottom) opposite to the second surface and adjoining the third surface, and the second and fourth surfaces (top and bottom, respectively) are covered by different radiator plates (70 and 80, respectively) of the plurality of radiator plates. (Sasaki: Fig. 2, machine translation, para. [0024], [0063]).
Regarding Claim 10, Sasaki further teaches, wherein the plurality of radiator plates include a first bent radiator plate (rear left 70, Fig. 2) covering the first and second surfaces, a second bent radiator plate (front right 70) covering the second and third surfaces, and a flat radiator plate (80) covering the fourth surface. (Sasaki: Fig. 2, machine translation, para. [0024], [0063]).
Regarding Claim 11 and similarly claim 12, Sasaki further teaches, further comprising a signal line (37a, 38a) electrically connected to the coil, wherein
the core (40) includes a first half (40a) and a second half (40b) on which the first half is placed,
the first half includes a top surface and a side surface extending from the top surface,
the second half includes a bottom surface and a side surface extending from the bottom surface,
the side surfaces of the first and second halves constitute one surface of the core,
the first half includes a cut (incline surfaces of 40a, 40b comprise cuts), also (45a, 45b, 245a, 245b, 345a, 345b) in the side surface of the first half, the cut extending from an end adjacent to the second half to an end adjacent to the top surface,
one of the plurality of radiator plates (70) includes an outlet at a location corresponding to a location of the end of the cut that is adjacent to the top surface, and
the signal line (37a, 38a) extends out of the transformer through the cut and the outlet. (Sasaki: Fig. 2, machine translation, para. [0024], [0025], [0028], [0030], [0089], [0095]).
Regarding Claim 13, Sasaki further teaches, wherein a thermally-conductive adhesive, grease, or sheet is located between the radiator plates and the core (“adhesive may be used to adhere the heat dissipation cover 70 to the core” [0061]. (Sasaki: Fig. 2, machine translation, para. [0024], [0061]).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sasaki et al. (US 2019047105), Lee et al. (US 20150155088) and Iwakura et al. (JP 2016139699 A).
Conclusion
/MALCOLM BARNES/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837
12/23/2025