Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of species A1 and species B1 in the reply filed on 12/8/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the claims are geenric and do not depend on apparatus or mode and would not require a significantly different search. This is not found persuasive because the species are mutually exclusive from one another and based on discloses in the instant specification.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) "calculating...a ratio of a peak value of a hemoglobin F peak to a peak value of an entire hemoglobin peak; and calculating a corrected value of the hemoglobin F peak with respect to the entire hemoglobin peak by multiplying the ratio by a predetermined factor". This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application; the limitation "from a chromatogram obtained by subjecting a blood sample to liquid chromatography" is routine and conventional in the art of . The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because "from a chromatogram obtained by subjecting a blood sample to liquid chromatography" is data gathering MPEP 2106(g) and further liquid chromatography is well known, routine, and conventional. Dependent claims 2-3 are directed towards the abstract idea; dependent claim 4 is directed towards cation-exchange chromatography which is well-known, routine, and conventional.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by JP 2019060653 by Arkray et al. (Arkray).
In regard to claim 1, Arkray teaches a method of measuring hemoglobin F ([0008]). Arkray teaches calculating, from a chromatogram obtained by subjecting a blood sample to liquid chromatography ([0008], blood sample, separation analysis method; [0011], HPLC which is high pressure liquid chromatography; [0023]), a ratio of a peak value of a hemoglobin F peak to a peak value of an entire hemoglobin peak ([0008], ratio of hemoglobin F (HbF) content to total hemoglobin content in the sample). Arkray teaches calculating a corrected value of the hemoglobin F peak with respect to the entire hemoglobin peak by multiplying the ratio by a predetermined factor ([0008], ratio of hemoglobin F (HbF) content to total hemoglobin content in the sample, calibrated for the ratio, set reference value; [0020]; [0029]).
In regard to claim 4, Arkray teaches the liquid chromatography is cation-exchange chromatography ([0023], cation exchange).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2019060653 by Arkray et al. (Arkray), as noted above.
In regard to claims 2-3, Arkray teaches calibrating the device with respect to Hemoglobin F and total hemoglobin content ([0028]-[0029]). Arkray teaches it is important to maintain the accuracy of the measurement with a standard sample comprising known parameter values ([0028]-[0029]). Arkray teaches a conversion process and calibration curve for setting the correction coefficient ([0028]-[0029]). Arkray does not specifically teach the factor is 1.15 to 1.25 (claim 2), or more specifically 1.2 (claim 3).
As the measurement accuracy and calibration are variables that can be modified, among others, by adjusting said factor, the precise factor would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed factor cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the factor in the method of Arkray to obtain the desired balance between the measurement accuracy and calibration (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 and 6-8 of copending Application No. 18123477. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both directed towards method of measuring hemoglobin F with the same required peak analysis based on liquid chromatography measurements. Claims 1-3 of ‘477 each reads on instant claim 1; Claims 6-8 of ‘477 reads on instant claim 4.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/KARA M PEO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777