DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 16-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05 February, 2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 15 is objected to due to grammatical issues, Claim 15 recites “in the intermediate position” and “in the raised position” that should be “the cleaning plate in the intermediate position” and “the cleaning plate in the raised position”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-10, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sun (CN109081070B).
Regarding Claim 1, Sun teaches a die cleaning device (Fig. 1) comprising:
a device body (Ref. 1, Fig. 1) comprising a chassis (Ref. 4, 11, &12, Fig. 2);
a plate assembly (Ref. 3&13, Fig. 1&3) movably mounted to the device body and comprising a cleaning plate (Ref. 3, Fig. 1), the cleaning plate configured to engage a die slot of a die and dislodge excess material trapped within the die slot (examiner interprets the limitation as intended use, [Abstract&0022] describe the scraper (contact plate) to engage with a surface to dislodge and remove excess materials);
a lift mechanism (Fig. 2-3, [0017]) configured to move the cleaning plate relative to the chassis between at least a lowered position (Fig. 3) and a raised position (Fig. 2), wherein, in the lowered position, the cleaning plate is disengaged from the die slot (examiner interprets the limitation as intended use, [Abstract&0022] describes using scrapers lift mechanism to fine tune contact with the surface to be scraped and would be capable of being lower out of contact with the die slot), and in the raised position, the cleaning plate engages the die slot (examiner interprets the limitation as intended use, [Abstract&0022] describes using scrapers lift mechanism to fine tune contact with the surface to be scraped and would be capable of being raised into contact with the die slot); and
a drive mechanism (Ref. 12, Fig. 5, [0040]) configured to laterally move the cleaning plate relative to the chassis within the die slot ([0019 & 0022]).
Regarding Claim 2, Sun teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further teaches wherein:
the device body both further comprises a lift module (Ref. 1101-1107, Fig. 3) movably mounted to the chassis (Fig. 2-3);
the plate assembly (2,3, 13) is mounted to the lift module (Fig. 2); and
the lift mechanism (fig. 2-3) is configured to lower and raise the lift module relative to the chassis to move the cleaning plate between the lowered position (Fig. 3) and the raised position (Fig. 2, [0017]).
Regarding Claim 3, Sun teaches the limitations of claim 2, as described above, and further teaches wherein the drive mechanism (12) is mounted to the lift module (13) and is configured to laterally move the plate assembly relative to the lift module (Fig. 2, [0022]).
Regarding Claim 4, Sun teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further teaches wherein:
the drive mechanism (12) is a screw drive mechanism (Fig. 5 shows a screw drive mechanism) comprising an elongate threaded screw (Ref. 1204, Fig. 5, [0040]);
the elongate threaded screw (1204) is rotationally engaged with a threaded bore of the plate assembly (Ref. 1503, Fig. 5, [0042]); and
the plate assembly is configured to translate laterally along the elongate threaded screw ([Fig. 5, [0022&0040] describes a lateral left and right adjustment mechanism to move the plate assembly).
Regarding Claim 5, Sun teaches the limitations of claim 4, as described above, and further teaches wherein:
the plate assembly (13) further comprises a plate carriage (Ref. 15, Fig. 6-7, [0041]);
the plate carriage defines the threaded bore (Ref. 1503, Fig. 7);
the cleaning plate extends substantially upward from the plate carriage (Fig. 1-2); and
the cleaning plate (3) defines a free upper plate end (Fig. 1 top end of scraper) distal to the plate carriage and configured to engage the die slot ([Abstract&0022] describe the scraper to engage with a surface to dislodge and remove excess materials).
Regarding Claim 6, Sun teaches the limitations of claim 5, as described above, and further teaches wherein the drive mechanism (12) further comprises a first end block (Ref. 1202, Fig. 4) and a second end block (Ref. 1205, Fig. 4), the elongate threaded screw extends between the first end block and the second end block (Fig. 4-5), and the plate carriage is configured to translate laterally along the elongate threaded screw between the first end block and the second end block ([0040], Fig. 4-5).
Regarding Claim 8, Sun teaches the limitations of claim 5, as described above, and further teaches wherein:
the plate assembly further comprises a plate mount (Fig. 1 annotated below) coupling the cleaning plate (3) to the plate carriage (Ref. 15, Fig. );
the plate mount comprises an inner mounting plate (Fig. 1 below front wall) and an outer mounting plate (Fig. 1 below back wall); and
a lower end of the cleaning plate (Ref. 3, Fig. 1 lower end) is clamped between the inner mounting plate and the outer mounting plate (Fig. 1 shows the lower end of the cleaning plate is between the inner and outer mounting plates).
Regarding Claim 9, Sun teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further teaches wherein the die cleaning device comprises a plurality of wheels (Ref. 5, Fig. 1) coupled to the chassis (Fig. 1), the plurality of wheels configured to roll across a support surface to transport the die cleaning device and to align the cleaning plate with the die slot of the die ([0036] describes the wheels to make the frame movable, Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 10, Sun teaches the limitations of claim 9, as described above, and further teaches wherein the die cleaning device further comprises a locking mechanism (Ref. 5, [0036] describes the wheels being full brake casters) configured to arrest movement of the die cleaning across the support surface ([0036] examiner notes full brake casters have locking mechanisms brakes to stop movement), and wherein the locking mechanism comprises a locking member (See annotated Fig. 1 below) configurable in an unlocked position and a locked position ([0036] describes the wheels having brakes, examiner notes full brake casters have a locking member that moves from a locked and unlocked position).
Regarding Claim 13, Sun teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further teaches wherein the cleaning plate (3) is formed as a substantially planar paddle (Fig. 1&2 shows a planar paddle).
Regarding Claim 14, Sun teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further teaches a scraping tool (Ref. 2, Fig. 1) configured to scrape away the excess material pushed out of the die slot by the cleaning plate ([0036]).
Regarding Claim 15, Sun teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further teaches wherein:
the cleaning plate (3) is further positionable in at least one intermediate position between the raised position and the lowered position ([0013], Fig. 2-3 shows that the cleaning plate is raised and lowered along the screw (1103) including an intermediate position);
in the intermediate position, a first segment of the cleaning plate (Ref. 3, Fig. 1 top half) is configured to engage the die slot ([0013] describes raising and lowering the cleaning plate to engage a scraping surface); and
in the raised position, both of the first segment and an additional second segment of the cleaning plate are configured to engage the die slot ([0013] describes raising and lowering the cleaning plate to engage a scraping surface).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Ulcej (2004/0056373).
Regarding Claim 7, Sun teaches the limitations of claim 6, as described above, and further teaches wherein the elongate threaded screw (1204) rotationally engages each of the first end block and the second end block (Fig. 1-4, [0040]) and is driven to rotate the elongate threaded screw at one of the first end block and the second end block ([0049]). Sun fails to explicitly teach the drive mechanism further comprises a motor; and the motor drives rotation of the elongate threaded screw at one of the first end block and the second end block. Ulcej teaches a die cleaning device with a scraper and can be considered analogous art because it is within the same field of endeavor. Ulcej teaches a drive mechanism with an elongated threaded screw (Ref. 108, fig. 1) rotationally engages each of the first end block (Ref. 155, Fig. 1) and the second end block (Ref. 157, Fig. 1); wherein the drive mechanism further comprises a motor ([0037&0042] describes a bidirectional motor connected to a drive shaft); and
the motor drives rotation of the elongate threaded screw at one of the first end block and the second end block ([0042] describes the drive shaft that is attached to the motor to rotate the elongated thread screw).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Ito (JP2554102Y2).
Regarding Claim 11, Sun teaches the limitations of claim 10, as described above, and further teaches a locking member to stop movement across a support surface. Sun fails to explicitly teach wherein the locking member is a locking pin defining a lower pin end; in the unlocked position, the locking pin is disengaged from the support surface; and in the locked position, the lower pin end of the locking pin is configured to engage a locking hole formed in the support surface. Ito teaches a locking mechanism to stop a body from moving across a surface and can be considered analogous art because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor to halt movement of the chassis. Ito teaches a chassis (Ref. D, Fig. 1) wherein:
a locking member (Ref. 1, Fig. 1) is a locking pin (Ref. 4, Fig. 1) defining a lower pin end (Ref. 4, bottom end, Fig. 1);
in the unlocked position, the locking pin is disengaged from a support surface (Fig. 1, [0002&0012]); and
in the locked position (Fig. 1), the lower pin end of the locking pin is configured to engage a locking hole (Ref. 2, Fig. 1) formed in the support surface (Fig. 1, [0002&0012]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute the locking mechanism, as taught by Sun, to have a pin locking mechanism, as taught by Ito, since such a modification is merely an alternate equivalent structure to prevent movement of a chassis along a supporting surface and since such a modification would yield the predictable result of locking the chassis in place.
Regarding Claim 12, Sun teaches the limitations of claim 11, as described above, and given the teaching of the locking mechanism of Ito, Ito further teaches wherein the device comprises a pin retainer (Ref. 3&6, fig. 1) secured to the chassis (Fig. 1), and wherein a handle portion of the locking pin (Ref. 12, fig. 1) is supported on the pin retainer in the unlocked position (Fig. 1, [0019]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. De Smedt (2007/0125402) and Fang (8,894,405) teach scrapers and can be considered analogous art because they are within the same field of endeavor.
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner' s supervisor, David Posigian can be reached on (313) 446-6546. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see https://ppairmy.uspto.gov/pair/PrivatePair. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/DANA LEE POON/Examiner, Art Unit 3723