DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-13, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Echigo et al PG PUB 2025/0158790 in view of Farag et al PG PUB 2022/0210781.
Re Claims 1, 9 and 17, Echigo et all teaches in figure 6, a UE (a wireless device; a processor and a memory; non-transitory CRM;) for receiving a DCI indicating common beam TCI state based on a unified TCI scheme [0083]; transmitting a PUCCH HARQ- ACK indicating a success or failure of the DCI [0139]; after K symbols or BAT (a time offset value) starting at the last symbol of the HARQ-ACK (after transmitting the acknowledgement) applying the one or more unified TCI states as indicated with the TCI codepoint in the DCI [0153]. Echigo et al fails to explicitly teach "the time offset value is determined based on a quantity of the one or more unified TCI states". However, Farag et al teaches the figure 13 Beam indication of a single TCI with activation time and Beam indication of N TCI states with activation time for each [0173-0174]. By combining the teachings, the one or more unified TCI states in Echigo et al can be adaptive to single activation time and multiple activation times based on N TCI states (quantity of one or more unified TCI states). One skilled in the art would have been motivated to adaptive to different BAT values. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled to have combined the teachings.
Re Claims 2, 10, 18, Echigo et al teaches in figure 8, a mapping table associating the TCI codepoints (one or more unified TCI states) to BAT values (the time offsets) [0259] whereby a MAC CE (command) can indicate the mapping [0269]. Re Claims 3, 11, 19, Echigo et al figure 8 teaches one to one mapping between the TCI codepoints and BAT values.
Re Claims 4, 12, 20, Echigo et al teaches common TCI states can be joint or - separate TCI states [0085]. Re Claims 5, 13, Echigo et al teachdes applying the one or more unified TCI to the downlink or uplink from a first slot after the BAT (the time offset value) from an end of transmitting the HARQ-ACK of the DCI [0139]. Re Claims 8, 16, Echigo et al teaches a TRP for downlink and uplink [0067].
Claims 6, 7, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Echigo et al PG PUB 2025/0158790 in view of Farag et al PG PUB 2022/0210781 as applied to Claims 1 and 9 above and further in view of Zhu et al PG PUB 2023/0199764.
Re Claims 6, 14, Echigo et al teaches fails to explicitly teach determining one or more spatial domain filter based on the one or more unified TCI states. However, Zhu et al teaches a UE determining the spatial domain filter based on the unified TCI states as defined in Rel. 17 [0684]. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to have determined the spatial domain filter to be consistent with the known Rel. 17 standard. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled to have determined the spatial domain filter as defined in the known standard.
Re Claims 7, 15, Zhu et al teaches the determined spatial domain filter is based on the downlink or uplink.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Re Claims 1, 9 and 17, Applicant argues Farag fails to disclose or suggest “…. wherein the time offset is determined based on a quantity of the one or more unified TCI states.”.
Examiner disagrees.
Farag teaches in figure 13, 1300 a beam indication of a single TCI state with activation time. A single TCI state is “a quantity of one unified TCI state” which is associated with an activation time T or the determined time offset [0171]. This alone reads on “the determining the offset value based on the quantity of the one unified TCI state” as claimed.
Farag also teaches in figure 13, a beam indication of N TCI states with activation time for each. For example, if the beam indication indicates two TCI states, a quantity of 2 unified TCI states, then each TCI states are activated corresponding to the respective activation times such as T0 and T1.
When the beam indication DCI indicates 2 TCI states or 2 unified TCI states, the determines offset for the unified TCI states are T0 and T1 which is different when a single unified TCI state is activated.
Hence, “the time offset value is determined based on a quantity of the one or more unified TCI states.”.
In light of Applicant spec., the time offset value is determined based on the application time of unified TCI state as indicated by DCI in (PARA 0258) and in fig. 20, the wireless device determines a time offset from a plurality of time offset values based on a quantity of unified TCI states(s) indicated by DCI.
This is consistent with Farag whereby in figure 13, the beam indication DCI indicates N TCI state with activation time for each. When the DCI indicates N=1, a single unified TCI state is indicated in the DCI whereby the UE in Farag determines the time offset based on the activation time associated with the single TCI state.
When the DCI indicates N=2, one or more unified TCI states, the time offset is based on T0 and T1 which is different from the time offset from the single unified TCI state.
Applicant is requested to argue this point in the next response.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2475