DETAILED ACTION The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections Claim s 14 , 19, and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities: Regarding claim 14, the limitation “ cleaning of said apparatus : ” should be “ cleaning of said apparatus [[:]] . ” Regarding claim 19, the limitation “ waterproof mate with the carafe. ” Should be “ waterproof mate with the carafe [[.]] ; ” Regarding claim 21, t he limitation “ feromagnetic mass” should be “ feromagnetic ferromagnetic mass” . Regarding claim 21, the limitation “facilitate cleaning.” should be “facilitate cleaning [ [. ]] ; ” Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. Claim s 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 8 contains the trademark/trade name “ Tuohy-Borst valve ”. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson , 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe the valve and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite. A rejection is provided below simply for the broad interpretation of an “active valve”. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 7-8, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martija (US 20170000285 A1) in view of Richardson (US 20150059592 A1). Regarding claim 1, Martija (US 20170000285 A1) teaches a French press apparatus (Figure 1 Paragraph 8, French press coffee maker having a removal bottom portion) comprising: a carafe having an open top and an open bottom (Figure 1 Paragraph 38, carafe 12 is essentially a cylinder having an open bottom; Figure 8 Paragraph 5 , carafe also has an open top from which the liquid can be poured from) , said top and said bottom being coaxial (Figure 3 Paragraph 38, carafe is essential a cylinder with a coaxial top and bottom ) , said carafe being axially elongated and having the same internal cross-section at a plurality of axially spaced intervals (Figure 3 Paragraph 38, carafe is essential a cylinder which is axially elongated and which has the same internal cross-section at a plurality of axially spaced intervals) ; a top disc having a peripheral edge that is dimensioned and configured for sealing engagement with respective internal cross-sections of said carafe (Paragraph 37, silicone ring is secured such as to maintain a seal with the side walls of the carafe 12) , said top disc being perforate and allowing liquid passage through at least a part of the surface thereof (Figure 3 Paragraph 37, silicone ring 4 include openings that are aligned with the protrusions in the lower half) ; a bottom disc having a peripheral edge that is dimensioned and configured for sealing engagement with respective internal cross sections of said carafe (Figure 10 Paragraph 38, bottom seal or O-ring 14 is disposed at the bottom of the of the screw bottom 13 such that when the screw bottom is screwed onto to bottom of the carafe the seal 14 contacts and liquid tight seals the entire circumference of the bottom of carafe 12) , all of or a portion forming a reversible, waterproof mate with the carafe ( Paragraph 38-39, O-ring seals the entire circumference of the bottom of the carafe ) ; an elongated driving rod disposed in a perpendicular relationship to said top disc (Figures 1-3, p ress rod 11 positioned perpendicularly to the top disc ) , an axial part of said elongated driving rod being selectively engaged with said top disc ( Paragraph 35 , the press rod is connected to a press formed by an upper and top half ) whereby an axial force on said elongated driving rod will plunge said top disc through any liquid disposed above said bottom disc (Paragraph 39, use of the French press coffee maker is identical to that of known French press coffee makers; pushing the press rod 11 would plunge the top disc through liquid disposed above the bottom disc ) , and an axial part of said elongated driving rod also being disposed in perpendicular relationship to said bottom disc (Figure 1 Paragraph 38, press rod 11 is positioned perpendicular to the O-ring positioned at the bottom of the screw bottom 13) to facilitate removal of said bottom disc and cleaning of said apparatus (Paragraph 39, screw bottom 13 is unscrewed and all the coffee grounds can be removed wherein all the other parts can be easily be cleaned) . Martija fails to explicitly teach: said bottom disc being imperforate, all of or a portion forming a reversible, waterproof mate with the carafe an axial part of said elongated driving rod selectively engaged with said bottom disc Richardson (US 20150059592 A1) teaches a coffee press apparatus, wherein: said bottom disc (removable bottom) being imperforate, all of or a portion forming a reversible, waterproof mate with the carafe (Paragraph 32, removable bottom 106 creates a seal to prevent liquid from leaking from the brewing vessel wherein said bottom of the brewing vessel is formed by a plunger) an axial force on said elongated driving rod will plunge said top disc through any liquid disposed above said bottom disc (Paragraph 31, plunger rod 103 is used to push the filter disk through the brewing vessel and through the liquid positioned above the removable bottom) It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Martija with Richardson and have the bottom disc which seals the French press style coffee press be an imperforate plunger . This would have been done to provide a method of sealing the French press style coffee press which aids in easy cleaning up and removal of spent material (Richardson Paragraph 30). The Office further notes that the MEPE teaches that mere changes in shape are not patentably distinguishable over prior art unless there exists persuasive evidence that the particular shape was significant. MPEP § 2144.04.IV.B. In this case, having the bottom component being the shape of a disc is not patentably distinguishable over the prior art unless there exists persuasive evidence that the particular shape was significant. While Martija modified with Richardson fails to explicitly teach “ an axial part of said elongated driving rod selectively engaged with said bottom disc ” , Paragraph 35 of Martija teaches that the press rod is connected to a press formed by an upper and top half. This indicates that the elongated driving rod known in the art to be connectable with plungers, such as that taught to be sealing the bottom of the container of Richardson. It would thus have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified Martija with Richardson and have the rod be removably connected with the bottom disc plunger such as to facilitate positioning and removing said plunger in the bottom half of coffee press while reducing the number of parts needed. The Office further notes that having a plunger rod be removably connected in the art of French presses is well known in the art as evidenced by KAUFMAN (US 20190082880 A1) . Regarding claim 3, Martija as modified teaches the apparatus as described in claim 1 , wherein: the bottom opening is smaller than the top opening (Figures 1-3, bottom of carafe is indented and thus the bottom opening is smaller than the top opening; Figures 1-3, the top opening has a spout which results in the top opening being bigger than the bottom opening) . Regarding claim 4, Martija as modified teaches the apparatus as described in claim 1 . Richardson further teaches: a valve disposed in said bottom opening ( Figure 5 Paragraph 39 , piston bottom used along with an engine or other device such as to selectively seal the bottom opening ) . It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 1. Regarding claim 7 , Martija as modified teaches the apparatus as described in claim 4. Richardson further teaches: said valve is an active valve (Figure 5 Paragraph 39, piston bottom used along with an engine or other device such as to selectively seal the bottom opening) . It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 1. Regarding claim 8, Martija as modified teaches the apparatus as described in claim 7. Richardson further teaches: said valve is a Tuohy-Borst valve (active valve; Figure 5 Paragraph 39, piston bottom used along with an engine or other device such as to selectively seal the bottom opening; see 112b rejection above) . It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 1. Regarding claim 19, Martija (US 20170000285 A1) teaches a method for manufacturing French press apparatus comprising: providing a carafe having an open top and an open bottom (Figure 1 Paragraph 38, carafe 12 is essentially a cylinder having an open bottom; Figure 8 Paragraph 5, carafe also has an open top from which the liquid can be poured from) , said top and said bottom being coaxial (Figure 3 Paragraph 38, carafe is essential a cylinder which is coaxial ) , said carafe being axially elongated and having the same internal cross-section at a plurality of axially spaced intervals (Figure 3 Paragraph 38, carafe is essential a cylinder which is axially elongated and which has the same internal cross-section at a plurality of axially spaced intervals) ; providing a top disc having a peripheral edge that is dimensioned and configured for sealing engagement with respective internal cross-sections of said carafe (Paragraph 37, silicone ring is secured such as to maintain a seal with the side walls of the carafe 12) , said top disc being perforate and allowing liquid passage through at least a part of the surface thereof (Figure 3 Paragraph 37, silicone ring 4 include openings that are aligned with the protrusions in the lower half) ; providing a bottom disc having a peripheral edge that is dimensioned and configured for sealing engagement with respective internal cross sections of said carafe (Figure 10 Paragraph 38, bottom seal or O-ring 14 is disposed at the bottom of the of the screw bottom 13 such that when the screw bottom is screwed onto to bottom of the carafe the seal 14 contacts and liquid tight seals the entire circumference of the bottom of carafe 12) , all of or a portion forming a reversible, waterproof mate with the carafe (Paragraph 38-39, O-ring seals the entire circumference of the bottom of the carafe) . providing an elongated driving rod disposed in a perpendicular relationship to said top disc (Figures 1-3, press rod 11 positioned perpendicularly to the top disc ) , with an axial part of said elongated driving rod being selectively engaged with said top disc ( Figures 1-3, press rod 11 is connected to a press formed by an upper or top half and a lower or bottom half ) whereby an axial force on said elongated driving rod will plunge said top disc through any liquid disposed above said bottom disc (Paragraph 39, use of the French press coffee maker is identical to that of known French press coffee makers; pushing the press rod 11 would plunge the top disc through liquid disposed above the bottom disc) , and providing an axial part of said elongated driving rod disposed in perpendicular relation to said bottom disc ( Figures 1-3, press rod 11 positioned perpendicularly to the bottom) removal of said bottom disc and cleaning of said apparatus ( Paragraph 39, screw bottom 13 is unscrewed and all the coffee grounds can be removed wherein all the other parts can be easily be cleaned ) Martija as modified fails to teach: said bottom disc being imperforate and all of or a portion forming a reversible, waterproof mate with the carafe. selectively engaged with said bottom disc to facilitate removal of said bottom disc and cleaning of said apparatus Richardson (US 20150059592 A1) teaches a coffee press apparatus, wherein: said bottom disc (removable bottom) being imperforate and all of or a portion forming a reversible, waterproof mate with the carafe (Paragraph 32, removable bottom 106 creates a seal to generally prevent liquid from leaking from the brewing vessel wherein said bottom of the brewing vessel is formed by a plunger) an axial force on said elongated driving rod will plunge said top disc through any liquid disposed above said bottom disc (Paragraph 31, plunger rod 103 is used to push the filter disk through the brewing vessel and through the liquid positioned above the removable bottom) providing an axial part of said elongated driving rod disposed in perpendicular relation to said bottom disc ( Figures 1-3, plunger rod 303 positioned perpendicularly to the bottom) removal of said bottom disc and cleaning of said apparatus ( Paragraph 34, the bottom is removed such as to facilitate cleaning of the waste container ) It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Martija with Richardson and have the bottom disc which seals the French press style coffee press be an imperforate plunger. This would have been done to provide a method of sealing the French press style coffee press which aids in easy cleaning up and removal of spent material (Richardson Paragraph 30). The Office further notes that the MEPE teaches that mere changes in shape are not patentably distinguishable over prior art unless there exists persuasive evidence that the particular shape was significant. MPEP § 2144.04.IV.B. In this case, having the bottom component being the shape of a disc is not patentably distinguishable over the prior art unless there exists persuasive evidence that the particular shape was significant. W hile Martija modified with Richardson fails to explicitly teach “ selectively engaged with said bottom disc ” , Paragraph 35 of Martija teaches that the press rod is connected to a press formed by an upper and top half. This indicates that the elongated driving rod known in the art to be connectable with plungers, such as that taught to be sealing the bottom of the container of Richardson. It would thus have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified Martija with Richardson and have the rod be removably connected with the bottom disc plunger such as to facilitate positioning and removing said plunger in the bottom half of coffee press while reducing the number of parts needed. The Office further notes that having a plunger rod be removably connected in the art of French presses is well known in the art as evidenced by KAUFMAN (US 20190082880 A1) . Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martija (US 20170000285 A1) in view of Richardson (US 20150059592 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ross (US 5932098 A). Regarding claim 2, Martija as modified teaches the apparatus as described in claim 1 . Martija as modified fails to explicitly teach: the selective engagement between said driving rod and either disc is achieved by structure selected from the group consisting of helical threads, a snap fit, a compression fit, and a detent mechanism. Ross (US 5932098 A) teaches a filtration apparatus for brewing and drinking coffee, wherein: the selective engagement between said driving rod and either disc is achieved by structure selected from the group consisting of helical threads ( Column 6 Lines 50-57, lower end of the vertical rod is inserted into the central protruding hub of the support plate of the lower filter such that the outer screw threads are further threadedly engaged with the inner screw threads of the producing hub of the lower support plate) , a snap fit, a compression fit, and a detent mechanism. It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Martija with Richardson and have the discs be facilitated by screw threads which connect the rod with the discs. This would have been done to provide a rod which can be removably to either disc. Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martija (US 20170000285 A1) in view of Richardson (US 20150059592 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of GAGNE (US 20140041526 A1). Regarding claim 10, Martija as modified teaches the apparatus as described in claim 1. Martija as modified fails to teach: said bottom disc is manufactured of a material having a low friction surface. GAGNE (US 20140041526 A1) teaches a piston head for French press coffee maker, wherein: said bottom disc is manufactured of a material having a low friction surface (Figure 6 Paragraphs 53-55, piston 34 include a piston head which moves the piston head 34 vertically inside the cylindrical wall 31 of the mixing chamber 30 such as to be positioned below a discharge opening and allow the coffee to be discharged; Paragraph 60, piston cover is made of PTFE or another low friction coefficient material) . It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Martija with GAGNE and have the bottom disc be manufactured of PTFE or another lower friction coefficient material. This would have been done to provide a material with a low friction coefficient which is resistant to wear as the bottom disc is moved in contact with the walls of the container (GAGNE Paragraph 60). Claim(s) 1 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martija (US 20170000285 A1) in view of Richardson (US 20150059592 A1) and GAGNE (US 20140041526 A1) as applied to claim 1 0 above, and further in view of Morse (US 20170360240 A1) . Regarding claim 11, Martija as modified teaches the apparatus as described in claim 10. GAGNE further teaches: said bottom disc is manufactured of a material selected from the group consisting of acetal, nylon, PET, PEEK, UHMW, HDPE, and PTFE polymers, and PTFE coated metal (Paragraph 60, piston cover is made of PTFE or another low friction coefficient material) . While Martija modified with GAGNE fails to explicitly teach that the material is PTFE coated metal, Morse (US 20170360240 A1) teaches a French Press type coffee maker wherein the plunger and container insert is made of any suitable material such as one or more of polymer and metal. This it is well known in the art that plungers are known in the art to be made of metal and polymer. Thus one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have had the bottom disc be made of a PTFE coated metal such as to gain the benefits of the structure of metal along with the low friction coefficient of PTFE (GAGNE Paragraph 60). Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martija (US 20170000285 A1) in view of Richardson (US 20150059592 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dayton (US 8870003 B2). Regarding claim 12, Martija as modified teaches the apparatus as described in claim 1. Martija as modified fails to explicitly teach: said bottom disc is disposable. Dayton (US 8870003 B2) teaches a biodegradable container for liquid products, wherein: said bottom disc is disposable (Paragraph 8, recyclable container; Paragraph 10, threaded spout and threaded cap is molded from one or more of a biodegradable plastic resin and a corn-based PLA plastic) . It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Martija with Dayton and have the bottom disc be disposable. This would have been done to provide a disposable and compostable cover while avoid ing leaching toxic substances into the product and also avoiding having weak points that may rupture (Dayton Paragraphs 6-8). Regarding claim 13, Martija as modified teaches the apparatus as described in claim 12. Dayton further teaches: said bottom disc is both disposable and compostable (Paragraph 10, threaded spout and threaded cap is molded from one or more of a biodegradable plastic resin and a corn-based PLA plastic) . It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 12. Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martija (US 20170000285 A1) in view of Richardson (US 20150059592 A1) and DOMINGUEZ (WO 0036956 A1). Regarding claim 14, Martija (US 20170000285 A1) teaches a French press apparatus (Figure 1 Paragraph 8, French press coffee maker having a removal bottom portion) comprising: a carafe having an open top and an open bottom (Figure 1 Paragraph 38, carafe 12 is essentially a cylinder having an open bottom; Figure 8 Paragraph 5, carafe also has an open top from which the liquid can be poured from) , said carafe being axially elongated and having the same internal cross- section at axially spaced intervals (Figure 3 Paragraph 38, carafe is essential a cylinder which is axially elongated and which has the same internal cross-section at a plurality of axially spaced intervals) ; a top lid dimensioned and configured to engage the open top of said carafe (Paragraph 9, coffee press has a lid which covers the top of the carafe ) ; a top disc having a peripheral edge that is dimensioned and configured for sealing engagement with respective internal cross-sections of said carafe (Paragraph 37, silicone ring is secured such as to maintain a seal with the side walls of the carafe 12) , said top disc being perforate and allowing liquid passage through at least a part of the surface thereof (Figure 3 Paragraph 37, silicone ring 4 include openings that are aligned with the protrusions in the lower half) ; a bottom disc having a peripheral edge that is dimensioned and configured for sealing engagement with respective internal cross sections of said carafe (Figure 10 Paragraph 38, bottom seal or O-ring 14 is disposed at the bottom of the of the screw bottom 13 such that when the screw bottom is screwed onto to bottom of the carafe the seal 14 contacts and liquid tight seals the entire circumference of the bottom of carafe 12) , all of or a portion forming a reversible, waterproof mate with the carafe (Paragraph 38-39, O-ring seals the entire circumference of the bottom of the carafe) ; an elongated driving rod disposed in telescopic relationship to said top disc and tube ( Figures 1-3, press rod 11 positioned perpendicularly to the top disc ) , an axial part of said elongated driving rod being selectively engaged with said top disc ( Paragraph 35 , the press rod is connected to a press formed by an upper and top half ) and tube (connecting with top disc would connect with tube since tube is connected to top disc) whereby an axial force on said elongated driving rod will plunge said top disc and tube through any liquid disposed above said bottom disc (Paragraph 39, use of the French press coffee maker is identical to that of known French press coffee makers; pushing the press rod 11 would plunge the top disc through liquid disposed above the bottom disc) , and an axial part of said elongated driving rod also being disposed in perpendicular relationship to said bottom disc (Figure 1 Paragraph 38, press rod 11 is positioned perpendicular to the O-ring positioned at the bottom of the screw bottom 13) to facilitate removal of said bottom disc and cleaning of said apparatus (Paragraph 39, screw bottom 13 is unscrewed and all the coffee grounds can be removed wherein all the other parts can be easily be cleaned) : Martija fails to teach: a tube permanently or selectively connected to said top disc and extending through said top lid; said tube being disposed in substantially perpendicular relationship to said top disc; said bottom disc being imperforate and all of or a portion forming a reversible, waterproof mate with the carafe; axial part of the elongated driving rod is s electively engaged with said bottom disc Richardson (US 20150059592 A1) teaches a coffee press apparatus, wherein: said bottom disc (removable bottom) being imperforate and all of or a portion forming a reversible, waterproof mate with the carafe (Paragraph 32, removable bottom 106 creates a seal to generally prevent liquid from leaking from the brewing vessel wherein said bottom of the brewing vessel is formed by a plunger) ; an axial force on said elongated driving rod will plunge said top disc and tube through any liquid disposed above said bottom disc (Paragraph 31, plunger rod 103 is used to push the filter disk through the brewing vessel and through the liquid positioned above the removable bottom) It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Martija with Richardson and have the bottom disc which seals the French press style coffee press be an imperforate plunger. This would have been done to provide a method of sealing the French press style coffee press which aids in easy cleaning up and removal of spent material (Richardson Paragraph 30). The Office further notes that the MEPE teaches that mere changes in shape are not patentably distinguishable over prior art unless there exists persuasive evidence that the particular shape was significant. MPEP § 2144.04.IV.B. In this case, having the bottom component being the shape of a disc is not patentably distinguishable over the prior art unless there exists persuasive evidence that the particular shape was significant. W hile Martija modified with Richardson fails to explicitly teach “ a xial part of the elongated driving rod is s electively engaged with said bottom disc ” , Paragraph 35 of Martija teaches that the press rod is connected to a press formed by an upper and top half. This indicates that the elongated driving rod known in the art to be connectable with plungers, such as that taught to be sealing the bottom of the container of Richardson. It would thus have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified Martija with Richardson and have the rod be removably connected with the bottom disc plunger such as to facilitate positioning and removing said plunger in the bottom half of coffee press while reducing the number of parts needed. The Office further notes that having a plunger rod be removably connected in the art of French presses is well known in the art as evidenced by KAUFMAN (US 20190082880 A1) . Martija modified with Richardson fails to teach: a tube permanently or selectively connected to said top disc and extending through said top lid; said tube being disposed in substantially perpendicular relationship to said top disc; DOMINGUEZ ( WO 0036956 A1 ) teaches a heating base for electric household appliance for heating liquids, wherein: an elongated driving rod in telescopic relationship to said top disc (Figure 1, rod 58 extends through the piston 52) and lid (Figure 1 P ages 6-7, rod 58 is arranged in the tube 56 and is free to rotate within the tube ) a tube permanently or selectively connected to said top disc (Pages 6-7, hub 61 of the piston 52 is fixed to the tube 56) and extending through said top lid (P ages 6-7, rod 58 is arranged in the tube 56 and is free to rotate within the tube ; Figure 1 Pages 6-7, cover 50 has an axial chimney 66 provided for the passage of a tube 56; connecting with top disc would connect with tube since tube is connected to top disc ) ; said tube being disposed in substantially perpendicular relationship to said top disc (Figure 1, tube 56 is arranged perpendicularly to the piston 52 and filtering part 54) ; It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Martija with DOMINGUEZ and have the rod be inserted through a tube which is connected to the top disc . This would have been done to provide support for a filtering part for retaining ground coffee while also providing a mixing device to facilitate stirring the ground coffee (DOMINGUEZ Page 10). Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martija (US 20170000285 A1) in view of Richardson (US 20150059592 A1) and DOMINGUEZ (WO 0036956 A1) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of KAUFMAN (US 20190082880 A1). Regarding claim 15, Martija as modified teaches the apparatus as described in claim 14 . Martija as modified fails to explicitly teach: the connection between said top disc and said tube is achieved with structure selected from the group consisting of a detent , mechanical press fit, and magnetic fit. KAUFMAN (US 20190082880 A1) teaches a removal device for brewing material, wherein: the connection between said top disc and said tube is achieved with structure selected from the group consisting of a detent , mechanical press fit, and magnetic fit (Paragraph 36, two magnets may be used wherein one is in the removal device and one is attached to the plunger such that the magnets are attracted to each other and the removal device and plunger can be removed together such as to remove the spend brewing material from the infused liquid) . It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Martija with KAUFMAN and have magnetics be integrated into the tube and the top disc. This would have been done as it is providing a removable connection which simplifies the clean-up process of a coffee press device ( KAUFMAN Paragraph 5). Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martija (US 20170000285 A1) in view of Richardson (US 20150059592 A1) and DOMINGUEZ (WO 0036956 A1) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of BARBER (US 20220378245 A1). Regarding claim 16, Martija as modified teaches the apparatus as described in claim 14 . Martija as modified fails to explicitly teach: a handle on said carafe and said handle includes aligned holes dimensioned and configured for receiving a driving rod for access. BARBER (US 20220378245 A1) teaches a French press for brewing coffee, wherein: a handle on said carafe (Figure 1, Paragraph 29, handle 140 encircles and is attached to flask 110) and said handle includes aligned holes dimensioned and configured for receiving a driving rod for access (Figures 1-2 Paragraph 26-28, the holes created by ring portion 142 and base portion 144 of the handle 140 is configured for receiving handle 140 as well as filter system 130) . It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Martija with BARBER and the handle be removable from the carafe and contain aligned holes for receiving a driving rod. This would have been done to allow for easy removal of the flask from the handle (BARBER Paragraph 37). Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martija (US 20170000285 A1) in view of Richardson (US 20150059592 A1) and KAUFMAN (US 20190082880 A1). Regarding claim 21, Martija (US 20170000285 A1) teaches a method of producing and utilizing a French press apparatus ( Figure 1 Paragraph 8, French press coffee maker having a removal bottom portion ) which comprises: providing a carafe having an open top and an open bottom (Figure 1 Paragraph 38, carafe 12 is essentially a cylinder having an open bottom; Figure 8 Paragraph 5, carafe also has an open top from which the liquid can be poured from) disposed in coaxial relation and, being axially elongated and having the same internal cross-section at axially spaced intervals thereof (Figure 3 Paragraph 38, carafe is essential a cylinder which is axially elongated and which has the same internal cross-section at a plurality of axially spaced intervals) ; providing a bottom disc dimensioned for sealing engagement with the internal construction and all of or a portion forming a reversible waterproof mate with the carafe ( Paragraph 38-39, O-ring seals the entire circumference of the bottom of the carafe ) and has a peripheral edge dimensioned and configured for sealing engagement with respective internal cross sections of said carafe (Figure 10 Paragraph 38, bottom seal or O-ring 14 is disposed at the bottom of the of the screw bottom 13 such that when the screw bottom is screwed onto to bottom of the carafe the seal 14 contacts and liquid tight seals the entire circumference of the bottom of carafe 12) ; positioning said bottom disc within the carafe to allow depositing coffee grounds and hot water on the bottom the disc (Paragraph 39, use of the French press coffee maker is identical to that of known French press coffee makers; placing coffee grounds and hot water would result in coffee grounds and hot water would be placed into the screw bottom 13 and thus the French press coffee maker) ; providing a top disc dimensioned for sealing engagement (Paragraph 37, silicone ring is secured such as to maintain a seal with the side walls of the carafe 12) with the internal construction that is perforate and allows liquid passage through at least a part of the surface thereof (Figure 3 Paragraph 37, silicone ring 4 include openings that are aligned with the protrusions in the lower half) and having a peripheral edge is dimensioned and configured for sealing engagement with respective internal cross sections of said carafe (Paragraph 37, silicone ring is secured such as to maintain a seal with the side walls of the carafe 12) ; axially moving said top disc downward to the force liquid to penetrate said top disc (Paragraph 39, use of the French press coffee maker is identical to that of known French press coffee makers; pushing the press rod 11 would plunge the top disc through liquid disposed above the bottom disc) ; Martija fails to teach: providing a bottom disc dimensioned for sealing engagement with the internal construction that is imperforate and all of or a portion forming a reversible waterproof mate with the carafe discharging coffee from the carafe; removing said top disc from the carafe; connecting a driving rod to the bottom disc; and withdrawing said bottom disc from the carafe to facilitate cleaning . providing a ferromagnetic mass under the bottom disc; placing a magnet proximate to the feromagnetic mass to withdraw the bottom disc from the open top of the carafe. Richardson (US 20150059592 A1) teaches a coffee press apparatus, wherein: providing a bottom disc (removable bottom) dimensioned for sealing engagement with the internal construction that is imperforate and all of or a portion forming a reversible waterproof mate with the carafe (Paragraph 32, removable bottom 106 creates a seal to generally prevent liquid from leaking from the brewing vessel wherein said bottom of the brewing vessel is formed by a plunger) positioning said bottom disc within the carafe to allow depositing coffee grounds and hot water on the bottom the disc (Paragraphs 33-34, user adds brewing material such as ground coffee and hot water wherein the brewing material is presses against the bottom of the brewing vessel 104) ; axially moving said top disc downward to the force liquid to penetrate said top disc (Paragraph 31, plunger rod 103 is used to push the filter disk through the brewing vessel and through the liquid positioned above the removable bottom) ; discharging coffee from the carafe (Paragraph 33, user may pour out the beverage) ; removing said top disc from the carafe ( Paragraph 34, filter disk 105, plunger rod 103, and cap 102 is removed from brewing vessel 104 to be washed using any appropriate method ) ; withdrawing said bottom disc from the carafe to facilitate cleaning (Paragraph 34, removing the bottom of the container is done as part of the process to perform cleaning and to allow the brewing material out of the bottom of the brewing vessel ) It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Martija with Richardson and have the bottom disc which seals the French press style coffee press be an imperforate plunger. This would have been done to provide a method of sealing the French press style coffee press which aids in easy cleaning up and removal of spent material (Richardson Paragraph 30). The Office further notes that the MEPE teaches that mere changes in shape are not patentably distinguishable over prior art unless there exists persuasive evidence that the particular shape was significant. MPEP § 2144.04.IV.B. In this case, having the bottom component being the shape of a disc is not patentably distinguishable over the prior art unless there exists persuasive evidence that the particular shape was significant. W hile Martija modified with Richardson fails to explicitly teach “ connecting a driving rod to the bottom disc ” , Paragraph 35 of Martija teaches that the press rod is connected to a press formed by an upper and top half. This indicates that the elongated driving rod known in the art to be connectable with plungers, such as that taught to be sealing the bottom of the container of Richardson. It would thus have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified Martija with Richardson and have the rod be removably connected with the bottom disc plunger such as to facilitate positioning and removing said plunger in the bottom half of coffee press while reducing the number of parts needed. The Office further notes that having a plunger rod be removably connected in the art of French presses is well known in the art as evidenced by KAUFMAN (US 20190082880 A1) . Martija modified with Richardson fails to teach: providing a ferromagnetic mass under the bottom disc; placing a magnet proximate to the feromagnetic mass to withdraw the bottom disc from the open top of the carafe. KAUFMAN (US 20190082880 A1) teaches a removal device for brewing material, comprising: positioning said bottom disc within the carafe to allow depositing coffee grounds and hot water on the bottom the disc (Paragraph 29, brewing material such as coffee grounds and hot water is added on top of the removal device) providing a ferromagnetic mass under the bottom disc (Paragraph 26, one or more magnets is disposed in the protrusion of the removal device 300 which is connectable to the bottom retaining nub of a plunger rod ; Paragraph 32, magnets can be fully encased in the material of the removal device ) ; placing a magnet proximate to the feromagnetic mass to withdraw the bottom disc from the open top of the carafe (Paragraph 36, two magnets may be used wherein one is in the removal device and one is attached to the plunger such that the magnets are attracted to each other and the removal device and plunger can be removed together such as to remove the spend brewing material from the infused liquid) . It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Martija with KAUFMAN and have a magnet attached to the bottom disc be connected to a magnet attached to the pushing rod such as to extract the bottom disc. This would have been done to remove the spent brewing material from the infused liquid to prevent further infusion and maintaining the taste profile at a certain point without needing to pour out the beverage (KAUFMAN Paragraph 29). Allowable Subject Matter Claim 20 is allowed. Claims 5-6 , 9 , and 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT FRANKLIN JEFFERSON WANG whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-7782 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-F 10AM-6PM (E.S.T) . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Ibrahime Abraham can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 270-5569 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /F.J.W./ Examiner, Art Unit 3761 /IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761