DETAILED ACTION
1. Applicant's amendment and arguments filed 8/17/26 have been fully considered but they are not deemed to be persuasive. The reasons are discussed following the rejection(s).
2. Any objection or rejection of record which is not expressly repeated in this Office Action has been overcome by Applicant’s response and withdrawn.
3. Claims 6-25 (unamended) filed 8/17/26 are present and under consideration.
4. Claim Rejections: 35 USC § 112(a)
Written Description
Claims 6-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as containing subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 6-25 are drawn to the following genus claims:
6. (New) A genetically modified Pseudomonas comprising a heterologous D-xylose isomerase pathway wherein the Pseudomonas metabolizes glucose and xylose to produce muconic acid.
7. (New) The genetically modified Pseudomonas of claim 6 wherein the heterologous D- xylose isomerase pathway comprises xylA encoding for D-xylose isomerase, xylB encoding for xylulokinase and xylE encoding for a D-xylose:H+symporter.
8. (New) The genetically modified Pseudomonas of claim 7 wherein the Pseudomonas comprises mutations of the xylE gene.
9. (New) The genetically modified Pseudomonas of claim 8 wherein the xylE gene is from E. coli and comprises mutations resulting in A62V and A455V mutations in the expressed D- xylose:H+symporter.
10. (New) The genetically modified Pseudomonas of claim 8 wherein the expression of a major facilitator superfamily transporter is increased over that of a native Pseudomonas.
11. (New) The genetically modified Pseudomonas of claim 10 wherein the major facilitator superfamily transporter is PP_2569.
12. (New) The genetically modified Pseudomonas of claim 10 wherein aroB encoding for 3- dehydroquinate synthase is overexpressed.
13. (New) The genetically modified Pseudomonas of claim 6 that produces greater than 33 g/L of muconic acid.
14. (New) The genetically modified Pseudomonas of claim 6 that produces muconic acid at a rate of greater than 0.17 g/L/h.
15. (New) The genetically modified Pseudomonas of claim 6 that produces muconic acid at a molar yield of greater than 45 percent from xylose and glucose.
16. (New) The genetically modified Pseudomonas of claim 6 that produces muconic acid at a molar yield of greater than 45 percent from a mixture of xylose and glucose wherein 33 to 40 mol percent of the mixture is xylose.
17. (New) The genetically modified Pseudomonas of claim 16 wherein the yield of muconic acid produced from xylose and glucose is greater than 90% of the maximum theoretical yield.
18. (New) The genetically modified Pseudomonas of claim 6 wherein the xylose and glucose metabolized to muconic acid are derived from lignocellulose.
19. (New) The genetically modified Pseudomonas of claim 6 wherein the Pseudomonas is Pseudomonas putida KT2440.
20. (New) The genetically modified Pseudomonas of claim 6 wherein the Pseudomonas is LC224.
21. (New) A method for making muconic acid comprising the step of contacting a mixture of xylose and glucose with a genetically modified Pseudomonas wherein the Pseudomonas comprises a heterologous D-xylose isomerase pathway comprising xylA encoding for D-xylose isomerase, xylB encoding for xylulokinase and xylE encoding for a D-xylose:H+symporter.
22. (New) The method of claim 21 wherein the xylA, xylB and xylE are from E. coli and wherein the xylE gene comprises mutations resulting in A62V and A455V mutations in the expressed D-xylose:H+symporter.
23. (New) The method of claim 22 wherein the genetically modified Pseudomonas further comprises overexpression of a gene encoding for a major facilitator superfamily transporter and overexpression of an aroB gene encoding for 3-dehydroquinate synthase.
24. (New) The method of claim 23 wherein the genetically modified Pseudomonas produces greater than 33 g/L of muconic acid.
25. (New) The method of claim 23 wherein the genetically modified Pseudomonas produces muconic acid at a rate of greater than 0.17 g/L/h and at a molar yield of greater than 45% from xylose and glucose.
The purpose of the written description requirement is to ensure that the inventor had possession, at the time the invention was made, of the specific subject matter claimed. For a broad generic claim, the specification must provide adequate written description to identify the genus of the claim.
“A written description of an invention involving a chemical genus, like a description of a chemical species, 'requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula, [or] chemical name,' of the claimed subject matter sufficient to distinguish it from other materials." Fiers, 984 F.2d at 1171, 25 USPQ2d 1601; In re Smythe, 480 F.2d 1376, 1383, 178 USPQ 279, 284985 (CCPA 1973) (“In other cases, particularly but not necessarily, chemical cases, where there is unpredictability in performance of certain species or subcombinations other than those specifically enumerated, one skilled in the art may be found not to have been placed in possession of a genus.”). Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 119, F.3d 1559, 1568, 43 USPQ2d 1398, 1405 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
MPEP § 2163 further states that if a biomolecule is described only by a functional characteristic, without any disclosed correlation between function and structure of the biomolecule, it is "not sufficient characteristic for written description purposes, even when accompanied by a method of obtaining the claimed biomolecule.”
“The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice …, reduction to drawings …, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus.” MPEP 2163.
Furthermore, a “‘representative number of species’ means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. The disclosure of only one species encompassed within a genus adequately describes a claim directed to that genus only if the disclosure ‘indicates that the patentee has invented species sufficient to constitute the gen[us].’ See Enzo Biochem, 323 F.3d at 966, 63 USPQ2d at 1615; Noelle v. Lederman, 355 F.3d 1343, 1350, 69 USPQ2d 1508, 1514 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (Fed. Cir. 2004) (‘[A] patentee of a biotechnological invention cannot necessarily claim a genus after only describing a limited number of species because there may be unpredictability in the results obtained from species other than those specifically enumerated.’). ‘A patentee will not be deemed to have invented species sufficient to constitute the genus by virtue of having disclosed a single species when … the evidence indicates ordinary artisans could not predict the operability in the invention of any species other than the one disclosed.’ In re Curtis, 354 F.3d 1347, 1358, 69 USPQ2d 1274, 1282 (Fed. Cir. 2004).” MPEP 2163.
In University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 43 USPQ2d 1938, the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit has held that “A written description of an invention involving a chemical genus, like a description of a chemical species, ‘requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula, [or] chemical name,’ of the claimed subject matter sufficient to distinguish it from other materials”. As indicated in MPEP § 2163, the written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, reduction to drawings, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show that Applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. In addition, MPEP § 2163 states that a representative number of species means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus.
The factors considered in the Written Description requirement are (1) level of skill and knowledge in the art, (2) partial structure, (3) physical and/or chemical properties, (4) functional characteristics alone or coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between structure and function, and the (5) method of making the claimed invention. Disclosure of any combination of such identifying characteristics that distinguish the claimed invention from other materials and would lead one of skill in the art to the conclusion that the applicant was in possession of the claimed species is sufficient." MPEP § 2163.
The instant specification teaches: A genetically modified Pseudomonas comprising a heterologous D-xylose isomerase pathway wherein the Pseudomonas metabolizes glucose and xylose to produce muconic acid, wherein the heterologous D- xylose isomerase pathway comprises xylA encoding for D-xylose isomerase, xylB encoding for xylulokinase and xylE encoding for a D-xylose:H+symporter, wherein the xylE gene is from E. coli and comprises mutations resulting in A62V and A455V mutations of SEQ ID NO: ? in the expressed D- xylose:H+symporter.
No information, beyond the characterization of a single species: as not above, has been provided by the applicants’, which would indicate that they had possession of the claimed genus of any genetically modified Pseudomonas comprising a heterologous D-xylose isomerase pathway wherein the Pseudomonas metabolizes glucose and xylose to produce muconic acid or the method thereof.
The genus of genetically modified Pseudomonas required in the claimed invention is an extremely large structurally and functionally variable genus. While the argument can be made that the recited genus of genetically modified Pseudomonas is adequately described by the disclosure of the structures of the proposed specific genetic modifications of Pseudomonas resulting in A62V and A455V mutations of SEQ ID NO: ? in the expressed D- xylose:H+symporter, with specific polypeptide structure having the associated function/activity. However, that is not the case as no specific polypeptide sequence have been described in the instant specification to the associated with the claimed A62V and A455V mutations; nor the numerous proposed modifications encompassed by the claims.
The art clearly teaches the “Practical Limits of Function Prediction”:
(a) Devos et al., (Proteins: Structure, Function and Genetics, 2000, Vol. 41: 98-107), teach that the results obtained by analyzing a significant number of true sequence similarities, derived directly from structural alignments, point to the complexity of function prediction. Different aspects of protein function, including (i) enzymatic function classification, (ii) functional annotations in the form of key words, (iii) classes of cellular function, and (iv) conservation of binding sites can only be reliably transferred between similar sequences to a modest degree. The reason for this difficulty is a combination of the unavoidable database inaccuracies and plasticity of proteins (Abstract, page 98) and the analysis poses interesting questions about the reliability of current function prediction exercises and the intrinsic limitation of protein function prediction (Column 1, paragraph 3, page 99) and conclude that “Despite widespread use of database searching techniques followed by function inference as standard procedures in Bioinformatics, the results presented here illustrate that transfer of function between similar sequences involves more difficulties than commonly believed. Our data show that even true pair-wise sequence relations, identified by their structural similarity, correspond in many cases to different functions (column 2, paragraph 2, page 105). Our data show that even true pair-wise sequence relations, identified by their structural similarity, correspond in many cases to different functions (column 2, paragraph 2, page 105). Applicants’ are respectfully directed to the problems associated EC Classification in the section “Transferring the EC Classification enzyme to Non-Enzyme Comparisons”; pages 101-102 and Fig. 2a)-b), highlighting the structural and functional heterogeneity based on EC Classification numbers; as the stereo-specificity, substrate-specificity and catalytic properties vary widely.
(b) Whisstock et al., (Quarterly Reviews of Biophysics 2003, Vol. 36 (3): 307-340) also highlight the difficulties associated with “Prediction of protein function from protein sequence and structure”; “To reason from sequence and structure to function is to step onto much shakier ground”, closely related proteins can change function, either through divergence to a related function or by recruitment for a very different function, in such cases, assignment of function on the basis of homology, in the absence of direct experimental evidence, will give the wrong answer (page 309, paragraph 4), it is difficult to state criteria for successful prediction of function, since function is in principle a fuzzy concept. Given three sequences, it is possible to decide which of the three possible pairs is most closely related. Given three structures, methods are also available to measure and compare similarity of the pairs. However, in many cases, given three protein functions, it would be more difficult to choose the pair with most similar function, although it is possible to define metrics for quantitative comparisons of different protein sequences and structures, this is more difficult for proteins of different functions (page 312, paragraph 5), in families of closely related proteins, mutations usually conserve function but modulate specificity i.e., mutations tend to leave the backbone conformation of the pocket unchanged but to affect the shape and charge of its lining, altering specificity (page 313, paragraph 4), although the hope is that highly similar proteins will share similar functions, substitutions of a single, critically placed amino acid in an active-site residue may be sufficient to alter a protein’s role fundamentally (page 323, paragraph 1).
(c) This finding is reinforced in the following scientific teachings for specific proteins in the art that suggest, even highly structurally homologous polynucleotides and encoded polypeptides do not necessarily share the same function. For example, Witkowski et al., (Biochemistry 38:11643-11650, 1999), teaches that one conservative amino acid substitution transforms a b-ketoacyl synthase into a malonyl decarboxylase and completely eliminates b-ketoacyl synthase activity.
As the claimed genera of genetically modified Pseudomonas comprising a heterologous D-xylose isomerase pathway wherein the Pseudomonas metabolizes glucose and xylose to produce muconic acid (and the method thereof) having widely variable structures and associated function, since minor changes in structure may result in changes affecting function and no additional information (species/variant/mutant) correlating structure with function has been provided. Furthermore, “Possession may not be shown by merely describing how to obtain possession of members of the claimed genus or how to identify their common structural features” (See University of Rochester, 358 F.3d at 927, 69 USPQ2d at 1895).
Therefore, one skilled in the art cannot reasonably conclude that applicant had possession of the claimed invention at the time the instant application was filed. Applicants are referred to the revised guidelines concerning compliance with the written description requirement of U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, published in the Official Gazette and also available at www.uspto.gov.
Applicants’ arguments:
Applicants present no arguments – hence the written description rejection is maintained.
5. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 (second paragraph)
Claims 9 & 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 9 & 22 recite (see below) – specific mutations with no corresponding sequence identification number. The claims are indefinite without a relatable sequence. Addition of a specific sequence along with A62V and A455V mutations will remedy the indefiniteness.
9. (New) The genetically modified Pseudomonas of claim 8 wherein the xylE gene is from E. coli and comprises mutations resulting in A62V and A455V mutations in the expressed D- xylose:H+symporter.
22. (New) The method of claim 21 wherein the xylA, xylB and xylE are from E. coli and wherein the xylE gene comprises mutations resulting in A62V and A455V mutations in the expressed D-xylose:H+symporter.
Claims 23-25 are included in the rejection for failing to correct the defect present in the base claim(s).
Applicants argue and respectfully submit that an ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of filing (20Mar2023) would have a definitive understanding of what the nucleotide sequence of xylA, xylB, xylE, and PP_2569 from P. putida KT 2440 is in the form of a specific sequence.
The annotated genome of P. putida KT2440 was published in 2002 (see "Complete
genome sequence and comparative analysis of the metabolically versatile Pseudomonas putida KT2440. Journal Environ Microbiol 4:799-808 (2002); DOI: 10.1046/j.1462- 2920.2002.00366.x). Accordingly, all of the referenced wild type genes from which the claimed genes of Applicants' Application derive are publicly available.
Applicants respectfully request that this rejection be withdrawn.
Response: Examiner appreciates catching the typographical error of claim numbering which has been corrected here.
Applicants’ arguments are considered but not found to be persuasive because:
(1) the reference to nucleotide sequence(s) of xylA, xylB, xylE – and the annotated genome of P. putida KT2440 was published in 2002 (see "Complete genome sequence and comparative analysis of the metabolically versatile Pseudomonas putida KT2440, was published in Journal Environ Microbiol 4:799-808 (2002); DOI: 10.1046/j.1462- 2920.2002.00366.x); and
(2) the reference to xylE gene comprises mutations resulting in A62V and A455V mutations in the expressed D-xylose:H+symporter, are amino acid positional mutations and a reference to nucleotide sequence does not correctly reflect the mutational modifications.
Note: From our search we found that D-xylose transporter (xylE) of 491 amino acids in Length and Mass (Da) of 53,608; and has A62 and A455 at the original positions.
Table 7 of the instant application shows that cultivations of strain QP328 shows the mutations xylE-A62V, A455V.
However, the D-xylose transporter (xylE) of 491 amino acids sequence is not part of the “sequence listing” of the present application.
The rejection is therefore maintained.
6. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 6-7, 19 & 21 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Sarkar et al. [Process Biochemistry Volume 102, March 2021, Pages 190-198], Isabel Bator et al. [Front Bioeng. Biotechnol. 2020 Jan 17;7:480], and Bentley at el. Metabolic Engineering Volume 59, May 2020, Pages 64-75.
Sarkar et al. teaches heterologous expression of xylose specific transporter improves xylose utilization by recombinant Zymomonas mobilis bacterial strain in presence of glucose
Construction & screening of xylose specific transporters in evolved Z. mobilis AD50.
Specific glucose & xylose utilization rate (g g−1 h−1): 2.49 & 2.04, respectively.
Directed metabolic engineering has also been coupled with adaptive laboratory evolution (ALE) for isolation of mutant strains that could co-utilize glucose and xylose with comparable efficiency. Although, coherent use of ALE in combination with directed metabolic engineering manifested into development of efficient xylose utilizing Z. mobilis strain, a major challenge that has persisted, is the lower rate of xylose utilization as compared to glucose present in a dual sugar mixture, leading to extended fermentation time and in turn, lower productivity. See introduction, See abstract and the entire article..
The study entails the development of an efficient Z. mobilis strain, which can metabolize glucose and xylose with equal efficacy towards production of ethanol with improved productivity. We constructed an array of xylose specific transporter genes from E. coli, under the influence of two different native Z. mobilis promoters. The xylose transporter genes included an H+ symporter (XylE), a mutant form of the H+ symporter developed through site-directed mutagenesis (XylE*) and a xylose specific ATP Binding Cassette (ABC) type transporter system (XylFGH). Interestingly, the present study is the first to engineer and report the effect of a mutant form of XylE and ABC-type xylose transporter XylFGH in Z. mobilis, under the control of different native Z. mobilis promoters of variable strengths. Previously, we reported an efficient xylose metabolizing Z. mobilis strain using adaptive laboratory evolution strategy, designated as AD50. In the present study, AD50 was used as a host for introducing the xylose specific transporter genes to accomplish co-utilization of xylose and glucose as a desired phenotypic outcome. We screened the efficacy of the xylose specific transporters based on the rate of xylose uptake and extent of xylose consumption by the recombinant Z. mobilis strains, specifically in presence of glucose in dual sugar mixture. Finally, the performance of the selected strain (exhibiting best phenotypic response), with respect to uptake rate of sugars, ethanol titer, yield and productivity, was evaluated in scale up conditions in a bioreactor. The key findings of this study demonstrate that the expression of xylose specific transporters enhances the rate and extent of xylose uptake by the engineered strains in dual sugar supplemented medium coupled with enhanced ethanol productivity.
The reference does not teach using pseudomonas to metabolizes glucose and xylose to produce muconic acid.
Isabel Bator et al. focuses on Pseudomonas putida KT2440 as a well-established chassis in industrial biotechnology. To increase the substrate spectrum, Isabel Bator et al. implemented three alternative xylose utilization pathways, namely the Isomerase, Weimberg, and Dahms pathways. The synthetic operons contain genes from Escherichia coli and Pseudomonas taiwanensis. For isolating the Dahms pathway in P. putida KT2440 two genes (PP_2836 and PP_4283), encoding an endogenous enzyme of the Weimberg pathway and a regulator for glycolaldehyde degradation, were deleted. Before and after adaptive laboratory evolution, these strains were characterized in terms of growth and synthesis of mono-rhamnolipids and pyocyanin. The engineered strain using the Weimberg pathway reached the highest maximal growth rate of 0.30 h−1. After adaptive laboratory evolution the lag phase was reduced significantly. The highest titers of 720 mg L−1 mono-rhamnolipids and 30 mg L−1 pyocyanin were reached by the evolved strain using the Weimberg or an engineered strain using the Isomerase pathway, respectively. The different stoichiometries of the three xylose utilization pathways may allow engineering of tailored chassis for valuable bioproduct synthesis. See abstract and the entire article.
While teaching the use of Pseudomonas putida KT2440 and Isomerase pathway as a means of producing valuable bioproducts, the Isabel Bator et al. do not teach specific or otherwise genetic modifications of Pseudomonas for the production of muconic acid.
Bentley et al. teach the engineering glucose metabolism for enhanced muconic acid production in Pseudomonas putida KT2440. Pseudomonas putida KT2440 has received increasing attention as an important biocatalyst for the conversion of diverse carbon sources to multiple products, including the olefinic diacid, cis,cis-muconic acid (muconate). P. putida has been previously engineered to produce muconate from glucose. Bentley et al. provide strategies enabled enhanced muconic acid production and may also improve production of other target molecules from glucose in P. putida. See abstract and the entire article.
Bentley et al. do not teach specific or otherwise genetic modifications of Pseudomonas for the production of muconic acid.
Based upon the combined teachings of Sarkar et al., Isabel Bator et al. and Bently it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art of enzymology/biotechnology to develop a genetically modified Pseudomonas instead of Zymomonas mobilis of Sarkar et al. (which is a substitution of one bacterial species for another) comprising a heterologous D-xylose isomerase pathway wherein the Pseudomonas metabolizes glucose and xylose to produce muconic acid, wherein the heterologous D- xylose isomerase pathway comprises xylA encoding for D-xylose isomerase, xylB encoding for xylulokinase and xylE encoding for a D-xylose:H+symporter; or a method for making muconic acid comprising the step of contacting a mixture of xylose and glucose (Sarkar et al.) with a genetically modified Pseudomonas wherein the Pseudomonas comprises a heterologous D-xylose isomerase pathway comprising xylA encoding for D-xylose isomerase, xylB encoding for xylulokinase and xylE encoding for a D-xylose:H+symporter, and do so with a reasonable expectation of success.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of the cited art in view of the importance of Pseudomonas putida KT2440 and Isomerase pathway as a means of producing valuable bioproducts (Isabel Bator et al.), such as muconic acid by co-utilization of xylose and glucose (Sarkar et al.), as well as by tapping the teachings Bentley et al. in using Pseudomonas putida KT2440 as an important biocatalyst for the conversion of diverse carbon sources to multiple products, including cis,cis-muconic acid (muconate).
Thus, the claimed invention was within the ordinary skill in the art to make and use at the time was made and was as a whole, prima facie obvious.
Applicants’ arguments: Citing various case laws Applicants argue - The Office's 103 rejection is conclusory and unsupported. Any rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 must be supported by the Office showing the clear articulation of the reason(s) why the claimed invention would have been obvious. The Supreme Court in KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 538, 418, (2007) noted that the analysis supporting a rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 should be made explicit." MPEP § 2143.
Here, no such analysis is provided by the Office, but the Office, instead, relies upon "common sense".
In re Lee, 277 F.3d 1338 (Fed. Cir. 2002) vacated the PTAB's obviousness rejection
based only on "common sense" rather than scientific analysis. The Office must present a full and resonated explanation of its decision. The agency must set forth its findings and the grounds thereof as supported by the agency record and explain its application of the law to the found facts." Common knowledge and common sense, even if assumed to derive from the agency's expertise, do not substitute for authority when the law requires authority. See also, In re Zurko, 258 F.3d 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2001) (deficiencies of references cannot be saved by appeals to common sense and basic knowledge without any evidentiary support.); In re Nuvasive, Inc., 842 F.3d 1376, 1383 (Fed. Cir. 2016), ("'conclusory statements' alone are insufficient and, instead, the finding must be supported by a 'reasoned explanation"').
The Office's decision to maintain or withdraw a rejection requires consideration of all the evidence of record. The totality of the evidence includes not only the facts derived from the Graham inquires but also any rebuttal evidence an applicant may have submitted. MPEP § 2141(V) and § 2145; see In re Eli Lilly & Co., 902 F.2d 943, 945 (Fed. Cir. 1990) ("Facts established by rebuttal evidence must be evaluated along with the facts on which the earlier conclusion was reached, not against the conclusion itself."). The Federal Circuit reemphasized the importance of basing obviousness determinations on the totality of the record in its review of the Board's decision in In re Chu, 66 F.3d 292 (Fed. Cir. 1995). The court held that the Board erred in requiring that the appellant's specification contain the evidence and arguments submitted in response to an obviousness rejection, particularly since "obviousness is determined by the totality of the record including, in some instances most significantly, the evidence and arguments6
proffered during the give-and-take of ex parte patent prosecution." 66 F.3d at 299.
Here, the Office, while correctly pointing to some of the deficiencies in the cited art, does not consider the totality of the evidence and has not correctly considered or applied the Graham analysis for determining obviousness. In Graham, the Court determined that the legal conclusion that a claim is obvious depends on at least the following four underlying factual issues set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co. of Kansas City, 383 U.S. 1, 17 (1966) including: the scope and content of the prior art; the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue; and the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art An evaluation of any relevant secondary considerations. The Graham factors are not alternatives; all four factors must be analyzed. As part of the first Graham inquiry (the scope and content of the prior art), the Office must make certain that any prior art reference constitutes analogous art. See In re Clay, 966 F.2d 656, 659 (Fed. Cir. 1992); see also In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 1447 (Fed. Cir. 1992); In re Deminski, 796 F.2d 436, 442 (Fed. Cir. 1986); MPEP § 2141.01(a). The Office has not provided any evidence that the cited art is applicable to the pending claims in this Application, specifically, but has instead relied upon the assertion that the cited art is (despite admissions that individual references lack elements of Applicant's pending claims) the same in the unpredictable art of using an Archaeal organism in a novel electrolyzer and system comprising an electrolyzer.
All the claim limitations must be considered when assessing patentability. MPEP §
2143.03. If a claim limitation is not met by the prior art reference or other appropriate evidence, a rejection is inappropriate. Also, "[i]t is . . . entirely proper to consider the functions of an invention in seeking to determine the meaning of particular claim language." Medrad, Inc. v. MRI Devices Corp., 401 F.3d 1313, 1319 (Fed. Cir. 2005). The Office cannot disregard the limitation in evaluating the patentability of the claimed invention as a whole. See In re Grasselli, 231 U.S.P.Q. 393, 394 (Bd. Pat. App. 1983) ("All of these limitations of the claims must be considered regardless of whether or not they were supported by the specification as filed."), aff'd mem., 738 F.2d 453 (Fed. Cir. 1984); MPEP § 2143.03.
Given the specificity of Applicants' claims, there are, in the words of the Supreme Court in KSR, "a finite number of identified, predictable solutions" may support a conclusion of obviousness. For example, in Eisai Co. Ltd. v. Dr. Reddy's Labs., Ltd., 533 F.3d 1353 (Fed. Cir. 2008), the Federal Circuit articulated the approach as requiring an examination of whether there7
are reasons for narrowing the prior art universe to a finite number of identified, predictable solutions. If so, a small and finite number of alternatives might support an inference of obviousness. 533 F.3d at 1359. Ortho-McNeil Pharm., Inc. v. Mylan Labs., Inc., 520 F.3d 1358, 1363-64 (Fed. Cir. 2008) is also instructive. The defendant argued that there was a finite number of identified, predictable solutions. However, the Federal Circuit was not persuaded and laid out all the steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have to take and how each step involved unpredictability. Cases such as Eisai and Ortho-McNeil provide guidance that, such as in Applicant's Application, there is no finite number of predictable solutions with anticipated success.
A conclusion of obviousness cannot derive from the Applicant's specification. It is improper, in determining whether a person of ordinary skill would have been led to this combination of references, simply to use "that which the inventor taught against its teacher." Inre Lee, 277 F.3d at 1343, citing W.L. Gore & Assocs v. Garlock, Inc.,
721 F.2d 1540, 1553(Fed. Cir. 1983). See In re Dow Chem. Co., 837 F.2d 469, 473 (Fed. Cir. 1988) ("[t]here must be a reason or suggestion in the art for selecting the procedure used, other than the knowledge learned from the applicant's disclosure"); Cardiac Pacemakers, Inc. v. St. Jude Medical, Inc., 381F.3d 1371 (Fed. Cir. 2004) ("the ssuggestion to combi
ne references must not be derived byhindsight from knowledge of the invention itself'). Using Applicant's disclosure as a blueprint to reconstruct the claimed invention from isolated pieces of the prior art contravenes the statutory mandate of Section 103 which requires judging obviousness at the point in time when the invention was made (or, for applications governed by the post-AIA version of Section 103, just before the filing date). See Grain Processing Corp. v. American Maize-Prods. Co., 840 F.2d 902, 907 (Fed. Cir. 1988). Calling the defendants' analysis a poster child for hindsight reasoning, the Federal Circuit affirmed the finding of nonobviousness in Otsuka Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd. v. Sandoz, Inc., 678 F.3d 1280, 1291-92 (Fed. Cir. 2012). The Federal Circuit used the following two-part inquiry applicable to any art field:
1. Determine whether a chemist of ordinary skill would have selected the asserted prior
art compounds as lead compounds, or starting points, for further development efforts.
2. If so, then determine whether the prior art would have supplied one of ordinary skill in the art with a reason or motivation to modify a lead compound to make the claimed compound with a reasonable expectation of success.
Applicant's own path itself never leads to a conclusion of obviousness because that is hindsight. What matters is the path that the person of ordinary skill in the art would have followed, as evidenced by the pertinent prior art. See Otsuka, 678 F. 3d at 1296.
Here, the conclusion of obviousness that does not explain how the problem was known in the field or how the prior art or other relevant evidence suggested the solution. Be aware that even if the prior art clearly recognized the problem, it may not have suggested the solution. Sometimes, particularly with the aid of hindsight the art appears combinable or modifiable in a manner that will yield the claimed invention. That itself will not make the resultant modification obvious, however. In Cardiac Pacemakers, Inc. v. St. Jude Medical, Inc., 381 F.3d 1371 (Fed. Cir. 2004), the district court found the claimed implantable heart stimulator would have been obvious because each of the claimed elements was previously known. Specifically, "there was a known need to treat mixtures of arrhythmias, and that it would have been obvious to combine known methods of separate treatment." 381 F.3d at 1377. The Federal Circuit disagreed: "Recognition of a need does not render obvious the achievement that meets that need. There is an important distinction between the general motivation to cure an uncured disease . . , and the motivation to create a particular cure . .. Recognition of an unsolved problem does not render the solution obvious." Id. In Cardiac, the Federal Circuit found the claims would not have been obvious.
Here, the Office has inappropriately applied an obvious to try analysis, but the KSR court articulated the following scenarios in which "obvious to try" is enough to defeat patentability under 35 U.S.C. § 103: When there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103. KSR, 550 U.S. at 420. There is a line of post-KSR obviousness cases from the Federal Circuit in which claims have been found invalid because they were obvious to try. In Pfizer, Inc. v. Apotex, Inc., 480 F.3d 1348 (Fed. Cir. 2007), for example, the Federal Circuit9
invalidated claims to the besylate salt of amlodipine as obvious because the prior art provided "ample motivation to narrow the genus of 53 pharmaceutically-acceptable anions disclosed by Berge to a few, including benzene sulphonate." Pfizer, Inc., 480 F.3d at 1367. In In re Kubin, 561 F.3d 1351(Fed. Cir. 2009), the Board held biotech claims to isolated nucleic acid molecule obvious. The Federal Circuit affirmed, repudiating its 1995 Deuel opinion in favor of its 1988 O'Farrell opinion and the Supreme Court's opinion. In its analysis, however, the Federal Circuit pointed out that "obvious to try" is erroneously equated to obviousness in the following circumstances: The inventor is faced with numerous possible choices where the prior art gave either no indication of which parameters were critical or no direction as to which of many possible choices is likely to be successful. The prior art gave only general guidance as to the particular form of the claimed invention or how to achieve it. See In re Kubin, 561 F.3d at 1359. In Eisai Co. Ltd. V. Dr. Reddy's Labs., Ltd., 533 F.3d 1353, 1359 (Fed. Cir. 2008), the Federal Circuit articulated the post-KSR application of the obvious to try approach as follows: A small and finite number of alternatives might support an inference of obviousness. As noted in In re Kubin, 561 F.3d 1351, 1360 (Fed. Cir. 2009), the court cannot, in the face of KSR, cling to formalistic rules for obviousness, customize its legal tests for specific scientific fields in ways that deem entire classes of prior art teachings irrelevant, or discount the significant abilities of artisans of ordinary skill in an advanced area of art. According to the USPTO Guidelines, when a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp, and this leads to the anticipated success, the result is likely that product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance, the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103. See MPEP § 2143(I)(E), citing KSR, 550 U.S. at 421.
Accordingly, none of Sakar, Isabel Bator and Bentley teach or suggest the limiting elements of Applicant's pending and currently amended independent claims 6 and 21 from which all claims depend on and any combination of Molter, Hinatsu, and Esteves cannot obviate Applicant's pending claims as amended.
At least for the above reasons, Applicant respectfully requests that all pending claims overcome the Office's rejections of 17Feb2026. Applicant respectfully requests allowance of all pending claims.
Response: In citing various case laws however, Applicants have not justified the relevance of the cited case laws to the key issues raised in the 103 rejection.
In following the protocol Examiner in the current obviousness rejection included, either explicitly or implicitly in view of the prior art applied, an indication of the level of ordinary skill. See MPEP § 2141.03, subsection II, regarding implicit indication of the level of ordinary skill. A finding as to the level of ordinary skill may be used as a partial basis for a resolution of the issue of obviousness.
The person of ordinary skill in the art is a hypothetical person who is presumed to have known the relevant art at the relevant time. Examiner has considered the Factors in determining the level of ordinary skill in the art may include: (1) "type of problems encountered in the art;" (2) "prior art solutions to those problems;" (3) "rapidity with which innovations are made;" (4) "sophistication of the technology; and" (5) "educational level of active workers in the field." In re GPAC, 57 F.3d 1573, 1579, 35 USPQ2d 1116, 1121 (Fed. Cir. 1995). "In a given case, every factor may not be present, and one or more factors may predominate." Id. See also Custom Accessories, Inc. v. Jeffrey-Allan Indust., Inc., 807 F.2d 955, 962, 1 USPQ2d 1196, 1201 (Fed. Cir. 1986); Environmental Designs, Ltd. v. Union Oil Co., 713 F.2d 693, 696, 218 USPQ 865, 868 (Fed. Cir. 1983).
In addition to the factors above, as indicated in MPEP Examiner may rely on their own technical expertise to describe the knowledge and skills of a person of ordinary skill in the art. The Federal Circuit has stated that examiners and administrative patent judges on the Board are "persons of scientific competence in the fields in which they work" and that their findings are "informed by their scientific knowledge, as to the meaning of prior art references to persons of ordinary skill in the art." In re Berg, 320 F.3d 1310, 1315, 65 USPQ2d 2003, 2007 (Fed. Cir. 2003). In addition, examiners "are assumed to have some expertise in interpreting the references and to be familiar from their work with the level of skill in the art ." PowerOasis, Inc. v. T-Mobile USA, Inc., 522 F.3d 1299, 86 USPQ2d 1385 (Fed. Cir. 2008) (quoting Am. Hoist & Derrick Co. v. Sowa & Sons, 725 F.2d 1350, 1360, 220 USPQ 763, 770 (Fed. Cir. 1984). See MPEP § 2141.03 for a discussion of the level of ordinary skill.
Applicants’ comment that, none of Sakar, Isabel Bator and Bentley teach or suggest the limiting elements of Applicant's pending and currently amended independent claims 6 and 21 from which all claims depend on and any combination of Molter, Hinatsu, and Esteves cannot obviate Applicant's pending claims as amended, is in error as claims 6 & 21 have not been amended.
7. Suggestion for possible consideration of allowable subject matter of claim 1 and all subsequent claims, either directly or indirectly dependent on claim 1, is as follows:
Claim 1. A genetically modified Pseudomonas comprising a heterologous D-xylose isomerase pathway wherein the Pseudomonas metabolizes glucose and xylose to produce muconic acid, wherein the heterologous D- xylose isomerase pathway comprises xylA encoding for D-xylose isomerase, xylB encoding for xylulokinase and xylE encoding for a D-xylose:H+symporter, wherein the xylE gene is from E. coli and comprises A62V and A455V mutations in the expressed D- xylose:H+symporter as per Table 7 of the instant application showing the cultivations of strain QP328.
8. No claim is allowed.
9. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
10. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TEKCHAND SAIDHA whose telephone number is (571)272-0940. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 8.00-5.30. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Robert B Mondesi can be reached on 408 918 7584. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/TEKCHAND SAIDHA/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1652
Recombinant Enzymes, Hoteling
Telephone: (571) 272-0940
Fax: (571) 273-0940