DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/13/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot due to a new basis for rejection necessitated by amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 13, 15, 17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik et al. (US 2020/0100154 A1; “Cirik”) in view of Koskela et al. (US 2024/0015759 A1; “Koskela (‘759)”).
a user equipment (UE), comprising:
a receiver [Cirik ¶¶ 0068 & 0073, Fig. 3: wireless device 110 may comprise at least one communication interface 310, e.g., transceiver] configured to receive radio resource control (RRC) signaling that indicates a first reference signal group for beam failure detection [Cirik ¶ 0325-0326, Fig. 25: wireless device may receive, from a base station in higher layer parameters such as RRC (see ¶ 0330: higher layer signaling is e.g. RRC), one or more messages comprising configuration parameters for one or more secondary cells, e.g., the first cell 2502, the second cell 2504, and/or the third cell 2506, which may share serving beams, e.g., serving beams RS-1, RS-2, RS-3; ¶ 0326: configuration parameters may comprise one or more cell-specific CORESETs for the one or more secondary cells (here, configuration parameters for cell-specific CORESETs of a group of cells, e.g., cells 2502, 2504, and 2506, is analogous to indication of a first information group)], wherein the UE is configured to:
perform a measurement on the first reference signal group [Cirik ¶ 0341: base station may send the one or more first cell-specific CORESETs for the configured downlink BWP of the first cell 2604, for example, based on the configuration parameters; ¶ 0330: wireless device may assess a first radio link quality of the one or more downlink RSs associated with the one or more first cell-specific CORESETs of the first cell 2502 (i.e. a first reference signal group)], and
determine, based on the measurement, that a first counter is greater than or equal to a first threshold [Cirik ¶ 0345: wireless device (e.g., the physical layer of the wireless device) may provide a BFI indication to a higher layer; ¶ 034: if the higher layer of the wireless device receives a BFI indication a first beam failure counter (e.g., BFI_COUNTER) is incremented; ¶ 0348: wherein the wireless device may initiate a random access procedure for a beam failure recovery of the BFR a cell group based on the first beam failure counter being equal to or greater than the first quantity]; and
a transmitter [Cirik ¶¶ 0068 & 0073, Fig. 3: wireless device 110 may comprise at least one communication interface 310, e.g., transceiver] configured to, on a condition that the first counter is greater than or equal to the first threshold, transmit a first signal for determining a second reference signal of a plurality of second reference signals [Cirik ¶ 0350: wireless device may transmit (to a cell group), in a first slot, the at least one preamble (i.e. signal) via the at least one PRACH resource (i.e. first resource group) of the configured uplink BWP for the random access procedure, for example, based on indicating (e.g., identifying) the first RS (here, the random access, and therefore preamble transmission, is triggered by the BFR counter satisfying a condition, e.g., first beam failure counter being equal to or greater than the first quantity)],
a first reference signal is used to determine a spatial-domain relation of the first radio resource group [Cirik ¶ 0355: first RS identified (i.e. a first reference signal) in the candidate beam identification procedure may be associated, e.g., quasi-co-located, with at least one DM-RS of the at least one second PDCCH in the BFR CORESETs monitored by the wireless device for BFR of the SCell Group]; and
wherein the UE is configured to clear the first counter on a condition that a random access procedure successfully ends [Cirik ¶ 0231: wireless device may reset the BFI_COUNTER to zero, for example, based on the random access procedure (e.g., contention-free random access) is successfully completed].
However, Cirik does not explicitly disclose the plurality of second reference signals include a first reference signal subset and a second reference signal subset, on a condition that the second reference signal belongs to the first reference signal subset, the first reference signal and the second reference signal are QCL, and on a condition that the second reference signal belongs to the second reference signal subset, the first reference signal and the second reference signal are not QCL.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Koskela teaches the plurality of second reference signals include a first reference signal subset and a second reference signal subset [Koskela (‘759) ¶ 0063: control resource set 218 uses a QCL and TCI framework for defining a transmit beam for different downlink physical signals and channels, e.g., the control resource set 218 includes a TCI table 251 in which each row/state is associated with one or two reference signals (RSs) that act as a source RS(s) (i.e. first reference signal subset) in terms of different QCL parameters for a respective downlink reference signal such as a PDCCH demodulation reference signal (DMRS) (i.e. second reference signal subset)],
on a condition that the second reference signal belongs to the first reference signal subset, the first reference signal and the second reference signal are QCL [Koskela (‘759) ¶ 0063, Table 1: Source RS set #A (i.e. first reference signal subset) in QCL state with SS/PBCH block #n (i.e. second reference signal subset) of RS set #A (i.e. second reference signal), wherein SS/PBCH block #n belongs to RS set #A], and
on a condition that the second reference signal belongs to the second reference signal subset, the first reference signal and the second reference signal are not QCL [Koskela (‘759) ¶ 0063, Table 1: Source RS set #A (i.e. first reference signal subset) NOT in QCL state with SS/PBCH block #n (i.e. second reference signal subset) of RS set #B (i.e. second reference signal), wherein SS/PBCH block #n does not belong to RS set #A; furthermore, a set A of RS corresponds to a set of M resources and SS/PBCH may be a subset of A, therefore, both first RS subset and second RS subset are subsets of M reference signals].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of initiating a beam forming recovery procedure based on channel measurements and a BFI counter, wherein the recovery is initiated through a random access procedure utilizing quasi co-located reference signals as taught by Cirik, with the method of determining quasi co-located reference signals for monitoring of a group-PDCCH CORESET as taught by Koskela (‘759). The motivation to combine these references would be to reduce signaling overhead and adaptation latency [Koskela (‘759) ¶ 0026].
Regarding claim 3, Cirik in view of Koskela (‘759) teaches the UE according to claim 1, however, Cirik does not explicitly disclose wherein on a condition that the second reference signal belongs to the second reference signal subset, the first reference signal belongs to the first reference signal subset, or the first reference signal and a reference signal in the first reference signal subset are QCL.
However, Koskela (‘759) teaches wherein on a condition that the second reference signal belongs to the second reference signal subset, the first reference signal belongs to the first reference signal subset, or the first reference signal and a reference signal in the first reference signal subset are QCL [Koskela (‘759) ¶ 0063, Table 1: Source RS set #A (i.e. first reference signal of a first subset) and SS/PBCH block #n (i.e. second reference signal or a second subset) of RS set #A (i.e. second reference signal subset), are QCL with each other and correspond to a same TCI index].
The motivation to combine these references is illustrated in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 5, Cirik in view of Koskela (‘759) teaches the UE according to claim 1, however, does not explicitly disclose wherein the first reference signal subset corresponds to a first index, the second reference signal subset corresponds to a second index, and the first index and the second index are two different non-negative integers.
However, Koskela (‘759) teaches wherein the first reference signal subset corresponds to a first index, the second reference signal subset corresponds to a second index, and the first index and the second index are two different non-negative integers [Koskela (‘759) ¶ 0063, Table 1: Source RS set #A (i.e. first reference signal of a first subset) and SS/PBCH block #n (i.e. second reference signal or a second subset) of RS set #A (i.e. second reference signal subset), are QCL with each other and correspond to a same TCI index].
The motivation to combine these references is illustrated in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 7, Cirik teaches a base station for wireless communications, comprising:
a transmitter [Cirik ¶¶ 0072-0073, Fig. 3: communication interface 320A of the base station 1, 120A, e.g., transceiver] configured to transmit radio resource control (RRC) signaling that indicates a first reference signal group for beam failure detection [Cirik ¶ 0325-0326, Fig. 25: wireless device may receive, from a base station in higher layer parameters such as RRC (see ¶ 0330: higher layer signaling is e.g. RRC), one or more messages comprising configuration parameters for one or more secondary cells, e.g., the first cell 2502, the second cell 2504, and/or the third cell 2506, which may share serving beams, e.g., serving beams RS-1, RS-2, RS-3; ¶ 0326: configuration parameters may comprise one or more cell-specific CORESETs for the one or more secondary cells (here, configuration parameters for cell-specific CORESETs of a group of cells, e.g., cells 2502, 2504, and 2506, is analogous to indication of a first information group)], wherein:
a measurement on the first reference signal group is performed [Cirik ¶ 0330: wireless device may assess a first radio link quality of the one or more downlink RSs associated with the one or more first cell-specific CORESETs of the first cell 2502 (i.e. a first reference signal group) against a first threshold], and
a first counter is determined to be greater than or equal to a first threshold based on the measurement [Cirik ¶ 0345 and may provide a BFI indication to a higher layer when a condition, e.g., radio link quality greater than the hypothetical BLER, less than the hypothetical SINR, or less than the hypothetical L1-RSRP, is met; ¶ 034: if the higher layer of the wireless device receives a BFI indication a first beam failure counter (e.g., BFI_COUNTER) is incremented; ¶ 0348: wherein the wireless device may initiate a random access procedure for a beam failure recovery of the BFR a cell group based on the first beam failure counter being equal to or greater than the first quantity (here, a measurement performed on the reference signal group, e.g., RSs associated with the one or more first cell-specific CORESETs of the first cell, are used to increment a BRI counter until a condition is met)]; and
a receiver [Cirik ¶¶ 0072-0073, Fig. 3: communication interface 320A of the base station 1, 120A, e.g., transceiver], on a condition that the first counter is greater than or equal to the first threshold, receive a first signal for determining a second reference signal of a plurality of second reference signals [Cirik ¶ 0350: wireless device may transmit (to a cell group), in a first slot, the at least one preamble (i.e. signal) via the at least one PRACH resource (i.e. first resource group) of the configured uplink BWP for the random access procedure, for example, based on indicating (e.g., identifying) the first RS (here, the random access, and therefore preamble transmission, is triggered by the BFR counter satisfying a condition, e.g., first beam failure counter being equal to or greater than the first quantity)]; and
a first reference signal is used to determine the spatial-domain relation of the first radio resource group [Cirik ¶ 0355: first RS identified (i.e. a first reference signal) in the candidate beam identification procedure may be associated, e.g., quasi-co-located, with at least one DM-RS of the at least one second PDCCH in the BFR CORESETs monitored by the wireless device for BFR of the SCell Group],
wherein the first counter is cleared on a condition that a random access procedure successfully ends [Cirik ¶ 0231: wireless device may reset the BFI_COUNTER to zero, for example, based on the random access procedure (e.g., contention-free random access) is successfully completed].
However, Cirik does not explicitly disclose the plurality of second reference signals include a first reference signal subset and a second reference signal subset; on a condition that the second reference signal belongs to the first reference signal subset, the first reference signal and the second reference signal are QCL, and on a condition that the second reference signal belongs to the second reference signal subset, the first reference signal and the second reference signal are not QCL.
However, Koskela teaches the plurality of second reference signals include a first reference signal subset and a second reference signal subset [Koskela (‘759) ¶ 0063: control resource set 218 uses a QCL and TCI framework for defining a transmit beam for different downlink physical signals and channels, e.g., the control resource set 218 includes a TCI table 251 in which each row/state is associated with one or two reference signals (RSs) that act as a source RS(s) (i.e. first reference signal subset) in terms of different QCL parameters for a respective downlink reference signal such as a PDCCH demodulation reference signal (DMRS) (i.e. second reference signal subset)],
on a condition that the second reference signal belongs to the first reference signal subset, the first reference signal and the second reference signal are QCL [Koskela (‘759) ¶ 0063, Table 1: Source RS set #A (i.e. first reference signal subset) in QCL state with SS/PBCH block #n (i.e. second reference signal subset) of RS set #A (i.e. second reference signal), wherein SS/PBCH block #n belongs to RS set #A], and
on a condition that the second reference signal belongs to the second reference signal subset, the first reference signal and the second reference signal are not QCL [Koskela (‘759) ¶ 0063, Table 1: Source RS set #A (i.e. first reference signal subset) NOT in QCL state with SS/PBCH block #n (i.e. second reference signal subset) of RS set #B (i.e. second reference signal), wherein SS/PBCH block #n does not belong to RS set #A; furthermore, a set A of RS corresponds to a set of M resources and SS/PBCH may be a subset of A, therefore, both first RS subset and second RS subset are subsets of M reference signals].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of initiating a beam forming recovery procedure based on channel measurements and a BFI counter, wherein the recovery is initiated through a random access procedure utilizing quasi co-located reference signals as taught by Cirik, with the method of determining quasi co-located reference signals for monitoring of a group-PDCCH CORESET as taught by Koskela (‘759). The motivation to combine these references would be to reduce signaling overhead and adaptation latency [Koskela (‘759) ¶ 0026].
Regarding claim 9, Cirik in view of Koskela (‘759) teaches the base station according to claim 7, however, Cirik does not explicitly disclose wherein one a condition that the second reference signal belongs to the second reference signal subset, the first reference signal belongs to the first reference signal subset, or the first reference signal and a reference signal in the first reference signal subset are QCL.
However, Koskela (‘759) teaches wherein on a condition that the second reference signal belongs to the second reference signal subset, the first reference signal belongs to the first reference signal subset, or the first reference signal and a reference signal in the first reference signal subset are QCL [Koskela (‘759) ¶ 0063, Table 1: Source RS set #A (i.e. first reference signal of a first subset) and SS/PBCH block #n (i.e. second reference signal or a second subset) of RS set #A (i.e. second reference signal subset), are QCL with each other and correspond to a same TCI index].
The motivation to combine these references is illustrated in the rejection of claim 7 above.
Regarding claim 11, Cirik teaches a method, comprising:
receiving radio resource control (RRC) signaling that indicates a first reference signal group for beam failure detection [Cirik ¶ 0325-0326, Fig. 25: wireless device may receive, from a base station in higher layer parameters such as RRC (see ¶ 0330: higher layer signaling is e.g. RRC), one or more messages comprising configuration parameters for one or more secondary cells, e.g., the first cell 2502, the second cell 2504, and/or the third cell 2506, which may share serving beams, e.g., serving beams RS-1, RS-2, RS-3; ¶ 0326: configuration parameters may comprise one or more cell-specific CORESETs for the one or more secondary cells (here, configuration parameters for cell-specific CORESETs of a group of cells, e.g., cells 2502, 2504, and 2506, is analogous to indication of a first information group)], wherein the UE is configured to:
performing a measurement on the first reference signal group [Cirik ¶ 0341: base station may send the one or more first cell-specific CORESETs for the configured downlink BWP of the first cell 2604, for example, based on the configuration parameters; ¶ 0330: wireless device may assess a first radio link quality of the one or more downlink RSs associated with the one or more first cell-specific CORESETs of the first cell 2502 (i.e. a first reference signal group)], and
determining, based on the measurement, that a first counter is greater than or equal to a first threshold [Cirik ¶ 0345: wireless device (e.g., the physical layer of the wireless device) may provide a BFI indication to a higher layer; ¶ 034: if the higher layer of the wireless device receives a BFI indication a first beam failure counter (e.g., BFI_COUNTER) is incremented; ¶ 0348: wherein the wireless device may initiate a random access procedure for a beam failure recovery of the BFR a cell group based on the first beam failure counter being equal to or greater than the first quantity]; and
on a condition that the first counter is greater than or equal to the first threshold, transmitting a first signal for determining a second reference signal of a plurality of second reference signals [Cirik ¶ 0350: wireless device may transmit (to a cell group), in a first slot, the at least one preamble (i.e. signal) via the at least one PRACH resource (i.e. first resource group) of the configured uplink BWP for the random access procedure, for example, based on indicating (e.g., identifying) the first RS (here, the random access, and therefore preamble transmission, is triggered by the BFR counter satisfying a condition, e.g., first beam failure counter being equal to or greater than the first quantity)],
a first reference signal is used to determine a spatial-domain relation of the first radio resource group [Cirik ¶ 0355: first RS identified (i.e. a first reference signal) in the candidate beam identification procedure may be associated, e.g., quasi-co-located, with at least one DM-RS of the at least one second PDCCH in the BFR CORESETs monitored by the wireless device for BFR of the SCell Group]; and
clearing the first counter on a condition that a random access procedure successfully ends [Cirik ¶ 0231: wireless device may reset the BFI_COUNTER to zero, for example, based on the random access procedure (e.g., contention-free random access) is successfully completed].
However, Cirik does not explicitly disclose the plurality of second reference signals include a first reference signal subset and a second reference signal subset, on a condition that the second reference signal belongs to the first reference signal subset, the first reference signal and the second reference signal are QCL, and on a condition that the second reference signal belongs to the second reference signal subset, the first reference signal and the second reference signal are not QCL.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Koskela teaches the plurality of second reference signals include a first reference signal subset and a second reference signal subset [Koskela (‘759) ¶ 0063: control resource set 218 uses a QCL and TCI framework for defining a transmit beam for different downlink physical signals and channels, e.g., the control resource set 218 includes a TCI table 251 in which each row/state is associated with one or two reference signals (RSs) that act as a source RS(s) (i.e. first reference signal subset) in terms of different QCL parameters for a respective downlink reference signal such as a PDCCH demodulation reference signal (DMRS) (i.e. second reference signal subset)],
on a condition that the second reference signal belongs to the first reference signal subset, the first reference signal and the second reference signal are QCL [Koskela (‘759) ¶ 0063, Table 1: Source RS set #A (i.e. first reference signal subset) in QCL state with SS/PBCH block #n (i.e. second reference signal subset) of RS set #A (i.e. second reference signal), wherein SS/PBCH block #n belongs to RS set #A], and
on a condition that the second reference signal belongs to the second reference signal subset, the first reference signal and the second reference signal are not QCL [Koskela (‘759) ¶ 0063, Table 1: Source RS set #A (i.e. first reference signal subset) NOT in QCL state with SS/PBCH block #n (i.e. second reference signal subset) of RS set #B (i.e. second reference signal), wherein SS/PBCH block #n does not belong to RS set #A; furthermore, a set A of RS corresponds to a set of M resources and SS/PBCH may be a subset of A, therefore, both first RS subset and second RS subset are subsets of M reference signals].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of initiating a beam forming recovery procedure based on channel measurements and a BFI counter, wherein the recovery is initiated through a random access procedure utilizing quasi co-located reference signals as taught by Cirik, with the method of determining quasi co-located reference signals for monitoring of a group-PDCCH CORESET as taught by Koskela (‘759). The motivation to combine these references would be to reduce signaling overhead and adaptation latency [Koskela (‘759) ¶ 0026].
Regarding claim 13, Cirik in view of Koskela (‘759) teaches the according to claim 11, however, Cirik does not explicitly disclose wherein on a condition that the second reference signal belongs to the second reference signal subset, the first reference signal belongs to the first reference signal subset, or the first reference signal and a reference signal in the first reference signal subset are QCL.
However, Koskela (‘759) teaches wherein when the second reference signal belongs to the second reference signal subset, the first reference signal belongs to the first reference signal subset, or the first reference signal and a reference signal in the first reference signal subset are QCL [Koskela (‘759) ¶ 0063, Table 1: Source RS set #A (i.e. first reference signal of a first subset) and SS/PBCH block #n (i.e. second reference signal or a second subset) of RS set #A (i.e. second reference signal subset), are QCL with each other and correspond to a same TCI index].
The motivation to combine these references is illustrated in the rejection of claim 11 above.
Regarding claim 15, Cirik in view of Koskela (‘759) teaches the method according to claim 11, however, does not explicitly disclose wherein the first reference signal subset corresponds to a first index, the second reference signal subset corresponds to a second index, and the first index and the second index are two different non-negative integers.
However, Koskela (‘759) teaches wherein the first reference signal subset corresponds to a first index, the second reference signal subset corresponds to a second index, and the first index and the second index are two different non-negative integers [Koskela (‘759) ¶ 0063, Table 1: Source RS set #A (i.e. first reference signal of a first subset) and SS/PBCH block #n (i.e. second reference signal or a second subset) of RS set #A (i.e. second reference signal subset), are QCL with each other and correspond to a same TCI index].
The motivation to combine these references is illustrated in the rejection of claim 11 above.
Regarding claim 17, Cirik teaches a method, comprising:
transmitting a radio resource control (RRC) signaling that indicates a first reference signal group for beam failure detection [Cirik ¶ 0325-0326, Fig. 25: wireless device may receive, from a base station in higher layer parameters such as RRC (see ¶ 0330: higher layer signaling is e.g. RRC), one or more messages comprising configuration parameters for one or more secondary cells, e.g., the first cell 2502, the second cell 2504, and/or the third cell 2506, which may share serving beams, e.g., serving beams RS-1, RS-2, RS-3; ¶ 0326: configuration parameters may comprise one or more cell-specific CORESETs for the one or more secondary cells (here, configuration parameters for cell-specific CORESETs of a group of cells, e.g., cells 2502, 2504, and 2506, is analogous to indication of a first information group)], wherein:
a measurement on the first reference signal group is performed [Cirik ¶ 0330: wireless device may assess a first radio link quality of the one or more downlink RSs associated with the one or more first cell-specific CORESETs of the first cell 2502 (i.e. a first reference signal group) against a first threshold], and
a first counter is determined to be greater than or equal to a first threshold based on the measurement [Cirik ¶ 0345 and may provide a BFI indication to a higher layer when a condition, e.g., radio link quality greater than the hypothetical BLER, less than the hypothetical SINR, or less than the hypothetical L1-RSRP, is met; ¶ 034: if the higher layer of the wireless device receives a BFI indication a first beam failure counter (e.g., BFI_COUNTER) is incremented; ¶ 0348: wherein the wireless device may initiate a random access procedure for a beam failure recovery of the BFR a cell group based on the first beam failure counter being equal to or greater than the first quantity (here, a measurement performed on the reference signal group, e.g., RSs associated with the one or more first cell-specific CORESETs of the first cell, are used to increment a BRI counter until a condition is met)]; and
on a condition that the first counter is greater than or equal to the first threshold, receive a first signal for determining a second reference signal of a plurality of second reference signals [Cirik ¶ 0350: wireless device may transmit (to a cell group), in a first slot, the at least one preamble (i.e. signal) via the at least one PRACH resource (i.e. first resource group) of the configured uplink BWP for the random access procedure, for example, based on indicating (e.g., identifying) the first RS (here, the random access, and therefore preamble transmission, is triggered by the BFR counter satisfying a condition, e.g., first beam failure counter being equal to or greater than the first quantity)]; and
a first reference signal is used to determine the spatial-domain relation of the first radio resource group [Cirik ¶ 0355: first RS identified (i.e. a first reference signal) in the candidate beam identification procedure may be associated, e.g., quasi-co-located, with at least one DM-RS of the at least one second PDCCH in the BFR CORESETs monitored by the wireless device for BFR of the SCell Group],
wherein the first counter is cleared on a condition that a random access procedure successfully ends [Cirik ¶ 0231: wireless device may reset the BFI_COUNTER to zero, for example, based on the random access procedure (e.g., contention-free random access) is successfully completed].
However, Cirik does not explicitly disclose the plurality of second reference signals include a first reference signal subset and a second reference signal subset; on a condition that the second reference signal belongs to the first reference signal subset, the first reference signal and the second reference signal are QCL, and on a condition that the second reference signal belongs to the second reference signal subset, the first reference signal and the second reference signal are not QCL.
However, Koskela teaches the plurality of second reference signals include a first reference signal subset and a second reference signal subset [Koskela (‘759) ¶ 0063: control resource set 218 uses a QCL and TCI framework for defining a transmit beam for different downlink physical signals and channels, e.g., the control resource set 218 includes a TCI table 251 in which each row/state is associated with one or two reference signals (RSs) that act as a source RS(s) (i.e. first reference signal subset) in terms of different QCL parameters for a respective downlink reference signal such as a PDCCH demodulation reference signal (DMRS) (i.e. second reference signal subset)],
on a condition that the second reference signal belongs to the first reference signal subset, the first reference signal and the second reference signal are QCL [Koskela (‘759) ¶ 0063, Table 1: Source RS set #A (i.e. first reference signal subset) in QCL state with SS/PBCH block #n (i.e. second reference signal subset) of RS set #A (i.e. second reference signal), wherein SS/PBCH block #n belongs to RS set #A], and
on a condition that the second reference signal belongs to the second reference signal subset, the first reference signal and the second reference signal are not QCL [Koskela (‘759) ¶ 0063, Table 1: Source RS set #A (i.e. first reference signal subset) NOT in QCL state with SS/PBCH block #n (i.e. second reference signal subset) of RS set #B (i.e. second reference signal), wherein SS/PBCH block #n does not belong to RS set #A; furthermore, a set A of RS corresponds to a set of M resources and SS/PBCH may be a subset of A, therefore, both first RS subset and second RS subset are subsets of M reference signals].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of initiating a beam forming recovery procedure based on channel measurements and a BFI counter, wherein the recovery is initiated through a random access procedure utilizing quasi co-located reference signals as taught by Cirik, with the method of determining quasi co-located reference signals for monitoring of a group-PDCCH CORESET as taught by Koskela (‘759). The motivation to combine these references would be to reduce signaling overhead and adaptation latency [Koskela (‘759) ¶ 0026].
Regarding claim 19, Cirik in view of Koskela (‘759) teaches the method according to claim 17, however, Cirik does not explicitly disclose wherein on a condition that the second reference signal belongs to the second reference signal subset, the first reference signal belongs to the first reference signal subset, or the first reference signal and a reference signal in the first reference signal subset are QCL.
However, Koskela (‘759) teaches wherein on a condition that the second reference signal belongs to the second reference signal subset, the first reference signal belongs to the first reference signal subset, or the first reference signal and a reference signal in the first reference signal subset are QCL [Koskela (‘759) ¶ 0063, Table 1: Source RS set #A (i.e. first reference signal of a first subset) and SS/PBCH block #n (i.e. second reference signal or a second subset) of RS set #A (i.e. second reference signal subset), are QCL with each other and correspond to a same TCI index].
The motivation to combine these references is illustrated in the rejection of claim 17 above.
Claim(s) 2, 6, 8, 10, 12, 16, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik in view of Koskela (‘759) in view of Koskela et al. (US 2021/0320710 A1; “Koskela (‘710)”).
Regarding claim 2, Cirik in view of Koskela (‘759) teaches the UE according to claim 1, wherein the first radio resource group includes a first radio resource block and a second radio resource block, the first signal includes a first sub-signal and a second sub-signal, the first sub- signal is transmitted in the first radio resource block, the second sub-signal is transmitted in the second radio resource block [Cirik ¶ 0350: resource may comprise at least one preamble (i.e. a first sub-signal) and/or at least one PRACH (i.e. second sub-signal), e.g., time and/or frequency, resource on the configured uplink BWP (i.e. in respective first and second radio resource block)].
However, Cirik in view of Koskela (‘759) does not explicitly disclose the second sub-signal carries a first information block, and the first information block is used to indicate the second reference signal.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Koskela (‘710) teaches the second sub-signal carries a first information block, and the first information block is used to indicate the second reference signal [Koskela (‘710) ¶ 0043: UE initiates BFR by sending msg1, which is a CFRA preamble dedicated for UL failure recovery; ¶ 0012: CFRA signal may be a PRACH (i.e. second sub-signal), wherein the PDCCH specific CFRA signal indicates a TCI state for DL RS (i.e. second reference signal)].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of initiating a beam forming recovery procedure based on channel measurements and a BFI counter, wherein the recovery is initiated through a random access procedure utilizing quasi co-located reference signals as taught by Cirik, with the method of indicating a QCL DL RS to use in a BFR operation performed through random access as taught by Koskela (‘710). The motivation to combine these references would be to achieve fast beam-pair re-establishment while maintaining improved link budget in a NR system [Koskela (‘710) ¶ 0003].
Regarding claim 6, Cirik in view of Koskela (‘759) teaches the UE according to claim 5, however, does not explicitly disclose wherein the first index is used to indicate a first cell, the second index is used to indicate a second cell, and the first cell is different from the second cell; or, a name of the first index comprises coreset, and a name of the second index comprises coreset.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Koskela teaches wherein the first index is used to indicate a first cell, the second index is used to indicate a second cell, and the first cell is different from the second cell, a name of the first index comprises coreset, and a name of the second index comprises coreset [Koskela (‘710) ¶ 0015: TCI state (i.e., index) provide information about the TX beams to be used, and correspondingly assist the UE to set its receive beam properly when receiving the downlink transmission ¶ 0016: transmission points 112, 114, 116 may alternatively belong to different cells; see Fig. 2 showing each TRP associated with DL RS set, i.e. each TCI state associated with respective cell].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of initiating a beam forming recovery procedure based on channel measurements and a BFI counter, wherein the recovery is initiated through a random access procedure utilizing quasi co-located reference signals as taught by Cirik, with the method of indicating a QCL DL RS to use in a BFR operation associate with a cell, and performed through random access as taught by Koskela (‘710). The motivation to combine these references would be to achieve fast beam-pair re-establishment while maintaining improved link budget in a NR system [Koskela (‘710) ¶ 0003].
Regarding claim 8, Cirik in view of Koskela (‘759) teaches the base station according to claim 7, wherein the first radio resource group includes a first radio resource block and a second radio resource block, the first signal includes a first sub-signal and a second sub-signal, the first sub- signal is transmitted in the first radio resource block, the second sub-signal is transmitted in the second radio resource block [Cirik ¶ 0350: resource may comprise at least one preamble (i.e. a first sub-signal) and/or at least one PRACH (i.e. second sub-signal), e.g., time and/or frequency, resource on the configured uplink BWP (i.e. in respective first and second radio resource block)].
However, Cirik in view of Koskela (‘759) does not explicitly disclose the second sub-signal carries a first information block, and the first information block is used to indicate the second reference signal.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Koskela (‘710) teaches the second sub-signal carries a first information block, and the first information block is used to indicate the second reference signal [Koskela (‘710) ¶ 0043: UE initiates BFR by sending msg1, which is a CFRA preamble dedicated for UL failure recovery; ¶ 0012: CFRA signal may be a PRACH (i.e. second sub-signal), wherein the PDCCH specific CFRA signal indicates a TCI state for DL RS (i.e. second reference signal)].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of initiating a beam forming recovery procedure based on channel measurements and a BFI counter, wherein the recovery is initiated through a random access procedure utilizing quasi co-located reference signals as taught by Cirik, with the method of indicating a QCL DL RS to use in a BFR operation performed through random access as taught by Koskela (‘710). The motivation to combine these references would be to achieve fast beam-pair re-establishment while maintaining improved link budget in a NR system [Koskela (‘710) ¶ 0003].
Regarding claim 10, Cirik in view of Koskela (‘759) teaches the base station according to claim 7, however, does not explicitly disclose wherein the first reference signal subset corresponds to a first index, the second reference signal subset corresponds to a second index, and the first index and the second index are two different non-negative integers.
However, Koskela (‘759) teaches wherein the first reference signal subset corresponds to a first index, the second reference signal subset corresponds to a second index, and the first index and the second index are two different non-negative integers [Koskela (‘759) ¶ 0063, Table 1: Source RS set #A (i.e. first reference signal of a first subset) and SS/PBCH block #n (i.e. second reference signal or a second subset) of RS set #A (i.e. second reference signal subset), are QCL with each other and correspond to a same TCI index].
However, Cirik in view of Koskela (‘759) does not explicitly the first index is used to indicate a first cell, the second index is used to indicate a second cell, the first cell is different from the second cell, or a name of the first index comprises coreset, and a name of the second index comprises coreset.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Koskela (‘710) teaches the first index is used to indicate a first cell, the second index is used to indicate a second cell, the first cell is different from the second cell, or a name of the first index comprises coreset, and a name of the second index comprises coreset [Koskela (‘710) ¶ 0015: TCI state (i.e., index) provide information about the TX beams to be used, and correspondingly assist the UE to set its receive beam properly when receiving the downlink transmission ¶ 0016: transmission points 112, 114, 116 may alternatively belong to different cells; see Fig. 2 showing each TRP associated with DL RS set, i.e. each TCI state associated with respective cell; Examiner’s Note: the limitations are written in the alternative, therefore, it is only necessary that one of the alternative limitations be taught by the applied references].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of initiating a beam forming recovery procedure based on channel measurements and a BFI counter, wherein the recovery is initiated through a random access procedure utilizing quasi co-located reference signals as taught by Cirik, with the method of indicating a QCL DL RS to use in a BFR operation associate with a cell, and performed through random access as taught by Koskela (‘710). The motivation to combine these references would be to achieve fast beam-pair re-establishment while maintaining improved link budget in a NR system [Koskela (‘710) ¶ 0003].
Regarding claim 12, Cirik in view of Koskela (‘759) teaches the method according to claim 11, wherein the first radio resource group includes a first radio resource block and a second radio resource block, the first signal includes a first sub-signal and a second sub-signal, the first sub- signal is transmitted in the first radio resource block, the second sub-signal is transmitted in the second radio resource block [Cirik ¶ 0350: resource may comprise at least one preamble (i.e. a first sub-signal) and/or at least one PRACH (i.e. second sub-signal), e.g., time and/or frequency, resource on the configured uplink BWP (i.e. in respective first and second radio resource block)].
However, Cirik in view of Koskela (‘759) does not explicitly disclose the second sub-signal carries a first information block, and the first information block is used to indicate the second reference signal.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Koskela (‘710) teaches the second sub-signal carries a first information block, and the first information block is used to indicate the second reference signal [Koskela (‘710) ¶ 0043: UE initiates BFR by sending msg1, which is a CFRA preamble dedicated for UL failure recovery; ¶ 0012: CFRA signal may be a PRACH (i.e. second sub-signal), wherein the PDCCH specific CFRA signal indicates a TCI state for DL RS (i.e. second reference signal)].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of initiating a beam forming recovery procedure based on channel measurements and a BFI counter, wherein the recovery is initiated through a random access procedure utilizing quasi co-located reference signals as taught by Cirik, with the method of indicating a QCL DL RS to use in a BFR operation performed through random access as taught by Koskela (‘710). The motivation to combine these references would be to achieve fast beam-pair re-establishment while maintaining improved link budget in a NR system [Koskela (‘710) ¶ 0003].
Regarding claim 16, Cirik in view of Koskela (‘759) teaches the method according to claim 15, however, does not explicitly disclose wherein the first index is used to indicate a first cell, the second index is used to indicate a second cell, and the first cell is different from the second cell, a name of the first index comprises coreset, and a name of the second index comprises coreset.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Koskela teaches wherein the first index is used to indicate a first cell, the second index is used to indicate a second cell, and the first cell is different from the second cell; or, a name of the first index comprises coreset, and a name of the second index comprises coreset [Koskela (‘710) ¶ 0015: TCI state (i.e., index) provide information about the TX beams to be used, and correspondingly assist the UE to set its receive beam properly when receiving the downlink transmission ¶ 0016: transmission points 112, 114, 116 may alternatively belong to different cells; see Fig. 2 showing each TRP associated with DL RS set, i.e. each TCI state associated with respective cell].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of initiating a beam forming recovery procedure based on channel measurements and a BFI counter, wherein the recovery is initiated through a random access procedure utilizing quasi co-located reference signals as taught by Cirik, with the method of indicating a QCL DL RS to use in a BFR operation associate with a cell, and performed through random access as taught by Koskela (‘710). The motivation to combine these references would be to achieve fast beam-pair re-establishment while maintaining improved link budget in a NR system [Koskela (‘710) ¶ 0003].
Regarding claim 18, Cirik in view of Koskela (‘759) teaches the method according to claim 17, wherein the first radio resource group includes a first radio resource block and a second radio resource block, the first signal includes a first sub-signal and a second sub-signal, the first sub- signal is transmitted in the first radio resource block, the second sub-signal is transmitted in the second radio resource block [Cirik ¶ 0350: resource may comprise at least one preamble (i.e. a first sub-signal) and/or at least one PRACH (i.e. second sub-signal), e.g., time and/or frequency, resource on the configured uplink BWP (i.e. in respective first and second radio resource block)].
However, Cirik in view of Koskela (‘759) does not explicitly disclose the second sub-signal carries a first information block, and the first information block is used to indicate the second reference signal.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Koskela (‘710) teaches the second sub-signal carries a first information block, and the first information block is used to indicate the second reference signal [Koskela (‘710) ¶ 0043: UE initiates BFR by sending msg1, which is a CFRA preamble dedicated for UL failure recovery; ¶ 0012: CFRA signal may be a PRACH (i.e. second sub-signal), wherein the PDCCH specific CFRA signal indicates a TCI state for DL RS (i.e. second reference signal)].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of initiating a beam forming recovery procedure based on channel measurements and a BFI counter, wherein the recovery is initiated through a random access procedure utilizing quasi co-located reference signals as taught by Cirik, with the method of indicating a QCL DL RS to use in a BFR operation performed through random access as taught by Koskela (‘710). The motivation to combine these references would be to achieve fast beam-pair re-establishment while maintaining improved link budget in a NR system [Koskela (‘710) ¶ 0003].
Regarding claim 20, Cirik in view of Koskela (‘759) teaches the method according to claim 17, however, does not explicitly disclose wherein the first reference signal subset corresponds to a first index, the second reference signal subset corresponds to a second index, and the first index and the second index are two different non-negative integers.
However, Koskela (‘759) teaches wherein the first reference signal subset corresponds to a first index, the second reference signal subset corresponds to a second index, and the first index and the second index are two different non-negative integers [Koskela (‘759) ¶ 0063, Table 1: Source RS set #A (i.e. first reference signal of a first subset) and SS/PBCH block #n (i.e. second reference signal or a second subset) of RS set #A (i.e. second reference signal subset), are QCL with each other and correspond to a same TCI index].
However, Cirik in view of Koskela (‘759) does not explicitly the first index is used to indicate a first cell, the second index is used to indicate a second cell, the first cell is different from the second cell, or a name of the first index comprises coreset, and a name of the second index comprises coreset.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Koskela (‘710) teaches the first index is used to indicate a first cell, the second index is used to indicate a second cell, the first cell is different from the second cell, or a name of the first index comprises coreset, and a name of the second index comprises coreset [Koskela (‘710) ¶ 0015: TCI state (i.e., index) provide information about the TX beams to be used, and correspondingly assist the UE to set its receive beam properly when receiving the downlink transmission ¶ 0016: transmission points 112, 114, 116 may alternatively belong to different cells; see Fig. 2 showing each TRP associated with DL RS set, i.e. each TCI state associated with respective cell; Examiner’s Note: the limitations are written in the alternative, therefore, it is only necessary that one of the alternative limitations be taught by the applied references].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of initiating a beam forming recovery procedure based on channel measurements and a BFI counter, wherein the recovery is initiated through a random access procedure utilizing quasi co-located reference signals as taught by Cirik, with the method of indicating a QCL DL RS to use in a BFR operation associate with a cell, and performed through random access as taught by Koskela (‘710). The motivation to combine these references would be to achieve fast beam-pair re-establishment while maintaining improved link budget in a NR system [Koskela (‘710) ¶ 0003].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN P COX/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474