DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7 – 12, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kando et al.
Kando et al discloses, regarding,
Claim 1, An acoustic wave device comprising: a support substrate 2; an inorganic film 3 located over the support substrate 2; a piezoelectric layer 4 located over the inorganic film 3; and an electrode 5 located over the piezoelectric layer 4; wherein a portion of the support substrate 2 includes a hollow portion 2a; the hollow portion overlaps at least a portion of the electrode 5 in a thickness direction of the support substrate 2 (see Fig. 3A); and an inner wall of the inorganic film 3 is located farther from the hollow portion than a location on an inner wall of the support substrate (see Fig. 3A), the location being closest to the piezoelectric layer 4, the inner wall of the support substrate defining the hollow portion (see Fig. 3A).
Claim 7, the inorganic film is made of silicon oxide [0013].
Claim 8, the hollow portion in the support substrate extends through the support substrate (see Fig. 1A).
Claim 9, the electrode includes a plurality of first electrodes, a first busbar electrode, a plurality of second electrodes, and a second busbar electrode, the plurality of first electrodes being connected to the first busbar electrode, the plurality of second electrodes being connected to the second busbar electrode (see Fig. 1B, 71).
Claim 10, the piezoelectric layer has a thickness of less than or equal to 2p, where p is a center-to-center distance between a first electrode and a second electrode that are adjacent to each other among the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes (see Fig. 2).
Claim 11, the piezoelectric layer includes lithium niobate or lithium tantalate [0019].
Claim 12, the acoustic wave device is structured to generate a plate wave (see Fig. 46).
Claim 18, lithium niobate or lithium tantalate included in the piezoelectric layer has Euler angles (p, 0,r) within a range represented by Expression (1), Expression (2), or Expression (3):
1800) ... (2); and
$)... (3) (see Figs. 4 – 8, 43 – 45).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 9, 13 – 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kando et al in view of Shimizu (JP 2020-150415).
Kando discloses all of the elements above. However, Kando does not disclose the elements below.
On the other hand, Shimizu discloses, regarding,
Claim 5, a surface of the support substrate over which the inorganic film is located has a surface roughness greater than a surface roughness of the piezoelectric layer (see Figs. 1b, 3b, 3c, 6).
Claim 9, the electrode includes a plurality of first electrodes, a first busbar electrode, a plurality of second electrodes, and a second busbar electrode, the plurality of first electrodes being connected to the first busbar electrode, the plurality of second electrodes being connected to the second busbar electrode (see Fig. 1).
Claim 13, the acoustic wave device is structured to generate a bulk wave in thickness shear mode (see Fig. 6 and specification related to such figure).
Claim 14, the electrode includes at least one pair of electrodes that face each other; and a value of d/p < about 0.5, where d is a thickness of the piezoelectric layer, and p is a center-to-center distance between the electrodes that are adjacent to each other, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim 15, the value of d/p is less than or equal to about 0.24, since it has been held that discovering the optimum value of result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F. 2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim 16, a metallization ratio MR satisfies MR about 1.75(d/p) + 0.075, (since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233), the metallization ratio MR being a ratio of an area of the first electrode and the second electrode within an excitation region to the excitation region (see Fig. 1), the excitation region being a region where the first electrode and the second electrode overlap each other as seen in a direction in which the first electrode and the second electrode face each other (see Fig. 1).
Claim 17, a single second electrode is located between adjacent ones of the first electrodes (see Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design the wave device as disclosed by Kando et al and to modify the invention per the limitations disclosed by Shimuzu for the purpose of improving the acoustic impedance of an elastic wave device.
Claim(s) 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kando et al and Shimizu as applied to claims 1, 5, 13 – 17 above, and further in view of Birkmeyer et al.
The combined Prior Art discloses, regarding,
Claim 19, A method for manufacturing an acoustic wave device, the method comprising: roughening a first surface of a support substrate (Shimizu, Fig. 1b), the support substrate including the first surface and a second surface; forming an inorganic film over the first surface (Kando et al, Fig. 3A); forming a piezoelectric layer over the inorganic film (Kando, Fig. 3A); forming an electrode over the piezoelectric layer (Kando, Fig. 3A; Shimizu, Fig. 1a); forming a hollow portion in a portion of the support substrate (Kando, Fig. 3A).
However, the combined Prior Art does not disclose the elements below.It is noted that such procedure is well-known in the art. For example, Birkmeyer et al, teaches roughing a substrate (Fig. 14, paragraph 0128) and thinning the piezoelectric layer (Fig. 22, paragraph 0098) and etching the inorganic film exposed in the hollow portion (paragraph 0086).
Birkmeyer et al further discloses, regarding,
Claim 20, the first surface has a surface roughness in terms of Ra of greater than or equal to about 0.5 nm and less than or equal to about 10 nm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design the combined wave device as disclosed above and to modify the invention per the limitations disclosed by Birkmeyer et al for the purpose of improving the uniformity of microelectromechanical systems.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 – 4, 6, 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Examiner Notes
The Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers and/or figures in the references applied to the claims for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. SEE MPEP 2141.02 [R – 07.2015] VI. PRIOR MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS: A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984). See also MPEP ₴ 2123.
Conclusion
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Julio C. Gonzalez/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2831
February 4, 2026