DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ito et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0236835). Regarding Claim 1, Ito discloses a display device (DSP1) comprising: a display area (DA) including a display element (Fig. 1); a peripheral area (SA) surrounding the display area; and a plurality of detection electrodes (RX1-RX8) arranged in the peripheral area, wherein the plurality of detection electrodes are each electrically connected to at least one other detection electrode that is not adjacent thereto (Paragraph 0043).
Regarding Claim 2, Ito discloses a first detection electrode (any of RX1-RX8), which is one of the plurality of detection electrodes, and a second detection electrode (any non-adjacent of RX1-RX8), which is not adjacent to the first detection electrode and electrically connected to the first detection electrode, are connected to a same terminal of an IC chip (Paragraph 0051).
Regarding Claim 3, Ito discloses a first detection electrode (any of RX1-RX8), which is one of the plurality of detection electrodes, and a second detection electrode (any non-adjacent of RX1-RX8), which is not adjacent to the first detection electrode and electrically connected to the first detection electrode, are connected to a same detection circuit.
Regarding Claim 4, Ito discloses a first detection electrode (any of RX1-RX8), which is one of the plurality of detection electrodes, and a second detection electrode (any non-adjacent of RX1-RX8), which is not adjacent to the first detection electrode and electrically connected to the first detection electrode, are arranged at least 9 mm apart.
Regarding Claim 5, Ito discloses the plurality of detection electrodes being each adjacent to a detection electrode connected to a different detection circuit (PCB), and a combination of detection circuits to which two adjacent detection electrodes are each connected is different for all of the two adjacent detection electrodes.
Regarding Claim 6, Ito discloses the number of detection electrodes being twice or more than the number of detection circuits (PCB).
Regarding Claim 7, Ito discloses the display device identifying a position of an external proximity object based on a detection signal (Paragraph 0043) indicating a largest detection value and a detection signal (Paragraph 0043) indicating a second largest detection value among detection signals output from the plurality of detection electrodes respectively.
Regarding Claim 8, Ito discloses the display device driving the first detection electrode and the second detection electrode connected to the same detection circuit by a self-capacitance method (Fig. 20).
Regarding Claim 9, Ito discloses a first substrate (10); a second substrate (20) facing the first substrate; a liquid crystal layer (LC) arranged between the first substrate and the second substrate; and a sealant (30) that adheres the first substrate and the second substrate and seals the liquid crystal layer, wherein the display element includes a pixel electrode (PX) and a common electrode (CE).
Regarding Claim 10, Ito discloses the pixel electrode being arranged on the first substrate, and the common electrode is arranged on the second substrate (Fig. 13).
Regarding Claim 11, Ito discloses the plurality of detection electrodes being arranged on a same layer as the common electrode (Fig. 13).
Regarding Claim 12, Ito discloses the display device driving a plurality of detection electrodes each connected to a plurality of detection circuits by a self-capacitance method (Fig. 20).
Regarding Claim 13, Ito discloses the display device driving all detection electrodes each connected to all detection circuits by a self-capacitance method (Fig. 20).
Regarding Claim 14, Ito discloses a watch (100) comprising the display device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art discloses display devices, similar to Applicant’s claimed invention, having detection electrodes not adjacent but electrically connected.
/EDWIN A. LEON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831