DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is a Final Rejection office action in response to application Serial No. 18/124,150. Claim(s) 1-14 and 16-17 have been examined and fully considered.
Claim(s) 1, and 8 have been amended.
Claim(s) 1-14 and 16-17 are pending in Instant Application.
Response to Arguments/Rejections
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 05/25/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, and 8 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Williamson (Pub . No .: US 2022/0397420).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (Pub. No.: US 2022/0099838; previously recorded) in view of Xu et al. (Pub. No.: US 2019/0096086; previously recorded), hereinafter, referred to as “Xu”), and in view of Williamson (Pub . No .: US 2022/0397420).
Regarding [claim 1], Kim discloses a Light Detection And Ranging (LiDAR)-based object detection apparatus (see at least Abstract; Figure 2 “500” and “640” and [0054]: “The LiDAR sensor 500 may include a transmitter (not shown), which transmits a laser pulse, and a receiver (not shown), which receives the laser reflected from the surface of an object present within a detection range”) comprising:
a LiDAR sensor (“LiDAR sensor 500”) configured to obtain a point cloud (see at least Paragraphs [0056]: “The LiDAR sensor 500 outputs point cloud data (hereinafter referred to as “LiDAR data” ) composed of a plurality of points for a single object”; and [0062]: “the clustering unit 620 groups the point cloud data, which is the LiDAR data consisting of a plurality of points for the object obtained through the LiDAR sensor 500”); and
a processor (see at least Paragraph [0052]: “the object-tracking device 600 may further include a preprocessing unit 610.”) configured to detect at least one object of interest from the point cloud see at least Paragraph [0059]: “The preprocessing unit 610 may preprocess LiDAR data (step 100). To this end, the preprocessing unit 610 may perform calibration to match the coordinates between the LiDAR sensor 500 and the vehicle 1000. That is, the preprocessing unit 610 may convert LiDAR data into data suitable for the reference coordinate system according to the positional angle at which the LiDAR sensor 500 is mounted to the vehicle 1000. In addition , the preprocessing unit 610 may perform filtering to remove points having low intensity or reflectance using intensity or confidence information of the LiDAR data.” and [0060]: “In addition, the preprocessing unit 610 may remove data reflected by the body of the host vehicle 1000. That is, since there is a region that is shielded by the body of the host vehicle 1000 according to the mounting position and the field of view of the LiDAR sensor 500, the preprocessing unit 610 may remove data reflected by the body of the host vehicle 1000 using the reference coordinate system.”, wherein the processor is configured to perform:
determining representative points from LiDAR points corresponding to the object among the point cloud (see at least Paragraphs [0062]; [0077]: “FIGS. 6A and 6B are diagrams for explaining the concepts of the current representative point, the tracking representative point, and the previous representative point” and [0078]: “FIG. 6A shows each B' of a plurality of segment boxes at the current time t, and FIG. 6B shows an associated segment box B4-1 selected at a time t - 1 prior to the current time t . In addition, FIG. 6B shows a tracking box TB of the target object estimated using history information at the current time t. For example, a tracking box TB may be generated by estimating tracking information, such as the current position, shape, and speed of the target object that is being tracked, using history information” and [0083]: “The tracking representative point is a representative point of the tracking box TB at the current time t. For example, the tracking representative point may include a representative point located at the periphery (or the edge) of the tracking box TB (hereinafter referred to as a "second peripheral representative point ") and a representative point located at the center of the tracking box TB (hereinafter referred to as a “second central representative point”). As shown in FIG . 6B, reference numerals P0, P1, P2 and P3 are assigned to the second peripheral representative points of the tracking box TB at the current time t , in the clockwise direction from the lower left-hand corner thereof, and reference numeral P. is assigned to the second central representative point located at the center thereof”);
determining outer points among the representative points, the outer points defining an outline of the object (see at least Paragraph [0063]: “As examples of the clustering unit 620, there are a 2D clustering unit and a 3D clustering unit. The 2D clustering unit is a unit that performs clustering in units of points or a specific structure by projecting data onto the X-Y plane without considering height information. The 3D clustering unit is a unit that performs clustering in the X-Y-Z plane in consideration of height information Z.” and [0064]: “After step 200, the shape analysis unit 630 generates information on a plurality of segment boxes for each channel using the result of clustering from the clustering unit 620 (step 300). Here, the segment box may be the result of converting the result of clustering into a geometric box shape. In addition , the information on the segment box may be at least one of the width, length, position , or direction ( or heading ) of the segment box” and [0065]: “the presence or absence of the preprocessing unit 610 or to any specific type of operation performed by the preprocessing unit 610 , the clustering unit 620 , or the shape analysis unit 630. That is , step 400 and the object tracking unit 640 according to the embodiments may also be applied when the preprocessing unit 610 is omitted ( i.e. when step 100 is omitted ) , when the preprocessing unit 610 performing step 100 processes LiDAR data in a manner different from that described above, when the clustering unit 620 performing step 200 clusters LiDAR data in a manner different from that described above , or when the shape analysis unit 630 performing step 300 generates segment box information in a manner different from that described above” and [0066]-[0068]); and
determining a…score for each of segments connecting at least two of the outer points (see at least Paragraph [0128]: “With regard to the correlation according to an embodiment, the correlation may be determined using the ratio of the area of each candidate segment box that overlaps the associated segment box selected previously to the entire area of each candidate segment box. Specifically, the third score may be assigned to the correlation in proportion to the ratio of the area of each candidate segment box that overlaps the previously selected associated segment box to the entire area of each candidate segment box. That is, the higher the ratio, the higher the third score that may be assigned.” and [0129]: “ The score calculation unit 920 may sum the first to third scores SCORE1, SCORE2 and SCORE3 assigned to each candidate segment box to calculate a final score TSCORE.” [0130]: “The score comparison unit 930 may select, among the candidate segment boxes, the candidate segment box having the highest final score TSCORE as an associated segment box at the current time t, and may output the selected associated segment box through the output terminal OUT1.” ***It is noted that Kim discloses a “final score TSCORE as an associated segment box” within the reference, however, it is being interpreted that the points of the segment box of as each of the segments connecting have least two of the outer points***).
However, in addition and/or in the alternative, Xu teaches
determining a confidence score for each of segments connecting at least two of the outer points (see at least Abstract; Figure 5; and Paragraphs [0049]: “At 514, the feature vectors are passed through a machine learning algorithm, which may be an artificial neural network , such as a convoluted neural network. Because of the inclusion of the per point feature vectors , the convoluted neural network will, for each point, output at 516 the prediction of displacements or offsets associated with corners of a three-dimensional bounding box and at 518, a confidence score. Thus, in this example implementation, for each point in the point cloud, the convoluted neural network will produce eight offset parameters for each point, with each of the eight offset parameters corresponding to a different corner of the three-dimensional bounding box. The confidence scores may be numbers between 0 and 1, and as described above in connection with FIG. 3, the neural network may be trained in either a supervised manner or an unsupervised manner to determine the confidence scores.” [0050]: “Method 500 also includes, at 520, outputting a three-dimensional bounding box based on the confidence scores . In implementations of this disclosure , the three dimensional bounding box may correspond to the offset parameters associated with the point in the point cloud having the highest confidence score”), and…
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to further modify Xu teaching determining a confidence value associated with the offsets for each point defining the three-dimensional bounding box, and by combining LiDAR-based object detection apparatus as disclosed by Kim with a reasonable expectation of success. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to convey that three-dimensional objects present in an environment. For example, various autonomous systems, such as autonomous vehicles and autonomous drones, utilize three -dimensional data of objects for collision and obstacle avoidance. In order to effectively navigate a three-dimensional environment, such autonomous systems need information about the obstacle, including information about the size and location of the obstacle , for example (see, Xu).
…
Additionally, Williamson teaches
…
determining a confidence score for each of segments connecting at least two of the outer points, wherein the confidence score is determined based on a plurality of geometric conditions of each segment (see, Paragraph [0097]: “After generating a modified internal model, as generated in block 403 of FIG. 4, it may be beneficial to increase a confidence score for one or more associated attributes of the modified internal model. In order for a computing device, such as map data service provider 201 to provide accurate representations of road geometries, a confidence score may be assigned to each attribute of the modified internal model. The confidence score of an attribute may be indicative of the level of certainty that the attribute pertains to a road segment. For example, an attribute that is frequently detected by one or more vehicles may be associated with a high confidence score, as the attribute's frequent detection serves as a confirmation that the attribute still pertains to the road segment.”);
excluding segments having the confidence score lower than a predetermined threshold, wherein the excluding is performed before a map-matching process (see, Paragraph [0104]: “As discussed above, a confidence score of an attribute may be indicative of the level of certainty that the attribute pertains to a road segment. While the confidence score of attributes may be increased, as described in FIG. 5, similarly, the confidence score of attributes may be
decreased. Decreasing the confidence score of attributes may be useful in instances when the attribute is no longer relevant and/or pertinent to a road segment. For example, an attribute that is no longer detected by one or more vehicles, for instance because the attribute has been removed from the road segment, may have its associated confidence score decreased. This may allow outdated historical internal models to be unpublished such that they are no longer accessible to vehicles and/or operators. This may also cut down on the number of internal model choices with which a vehicle is presented, thereby saving processing resources and allowing
the selection of an internal model to occur more quickly.”; and [0110]: “the map data service provider 201 may provide an indication to processing server 203 to remove the historical internal model from use in the map database 202 in an instance in which the historical internal model is to be unpublished. As such, the map database 202 may be updated such that it no longer
includes the historical internal model at the location and may therefore prevent the provision of the historical internal model to vehicles and/or operators of vehicles. This may be beneficial as the historical internal model may be outdated, as indicated by the one or more attributes of the historical internal model no longer satisfying a confidence score threshold.”);
performing the map-matching process that matches non-excluded segments with High Definition (HD) map data to determine a location of a vehicle (see, Paragraphs [0055]; [0069]: “While some degree of autonomy can be provided through visual identification of objects along a road by a vehicle traveling along the road, vehicle sensors may not provide completely accurate identifications of road segment attributes or may not sense all attributes pertaining to the road segment, which may result in inaccurate operation of the vehicle. Therefore, the provision of one or more internal maps pertaining to a location may be beneficial. For example, to assist in the localization process of a vehicle, an accurate representation of the road segment and/or object pertaining to the road segment may be necessary. The one or more internal models assist with said localization process and each internal model may be stored in the map database,
such as in a High Definition (HD) map database. In some embodiments, only published internal models which satisfy a confidence score threshold are accessible and/or provided
to vehicles and/or operators of vehicles.”; and [0070]: “Embodiments described herein may facilitate the building and updating of maps, including HD maps, through the creation and updating of a map environment based on sensors or an apparatus producing sensed data. Embodiments may create a visual map of an environment and/or a three dimensional model of an environment for inclusion in an HD map. In some embodiments, a portion of an HD map
may have one or more associated internal models pertaining to a location, which may provide for differing road geometry, lane geometry, road segment restrictions (e.g., speed limits), lane restrictions ( e.g., turn-only lanes), and any other information as compared to other internal models pertaining to the same location.”); and
controlling autonomous driving operation of the vehicle based on the location of the vehicle (see, Paragraph [0080]: “HD maps may have a high precision at resolutions that may be down to several centimeters and may identify objects proximate a road segment, features of a road segment including lane widths, lane markings, traffic direction, road signs, speed limits, lane restrictions, etc. Autonomous and semi-autonomous vehicles may use these HD maps to facilitate the autonomous control features, such as traveling within a lane of a road segment at a prescribed speed limit, or following instructions of a road sign identified along a road segment. Autonomous vehicles may also be equipped with a plurality of sensors to facilitate autonomous vehicle control. Sensors may include image sensors/cameras, Light Distancing and Ranging (LiDAR), Global Positioning Systems (GPS), Inertial Measurement Units (IMUs), or the like which may measure the surroundings of a vehicle and communicate information regarding the surroundings to a vehicle control module to process and adapt vehicle control accordingly.”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to further modify determining a confidence value associated with the offsets for each point in view of Kim and Xu and combining excluding segments having the confidence score lower than a predetermined threshold as taught by Williamson.
One would be motivated to make this modification in order to convey one skilled
in the art to which these inventions pertain having the benefit of the teachings presented in the foregoing descriptions and the associated drawings. Therefore, it is to be understood that the inventions are not to be limited to the specific embodiments disclosed and that modifications and other embodiments are intended to be included within the scope of the appended claims and modified internal model and/or one or more historical internal models may then be
utilized or referenced by a computing device onboard or otherwise associated with the vehicle to provide for improved navigation (see, Paragraph [0103]).
As to [claim 2], the combination of Kim, Xu and Williamson teaches the LiDAR-based object detection apparatus of claim 1. Kim teaches wherein the determining of outer points includes: determining a number of the outer points as N; determining both end points among the representative points; determining one of the both end points as a 1st outer point and the other one of the both end points as an Nt outer point; and determining 2nd to N-1thouter points by selecting among the representative points in a sequential order starting from the 1st outer point toward the Nh outer point (see at least Paragraphs [0038]: “FIG. 9 is a diagram showing an example in which a segment box overlaps a tracking box at the current time”; and [0039]: “FIGS. l0A to l0I are diagrams showing various examples in which the segment box and the tracking box overlap each other” and [0069]-[0072]; [0076]; [0080]-[0081]; and [0083]-[0084]***It is notes these figures and paragraphs indicates determining of outer points of the segment box***).
As to [claim 3], the combination of Kim, Xu and Williamson teaches the LiDAR-based object detection apparatus of claim 2. Kim discloses wherein the confidence score of a segment is determined to be lower than others, in response to one or more of a first determination that the segment is a segment connecting the N-lth and Nth outer points which is longer than a first predetermined length, a second determination that the segment is a segment other than the last segment which is longer than a second predetermined length, a third determination that an angle between the segment and an adjacent segment sharing one outer point with the segment is less than or equal to a first predetermined angle, a fourth determination that the segment has a predetermined middle region which does not have a representative point and a fifth determination that the segment includes at least one representative point which is not vertically overlapped in a region of the segment in a coordinate system representing the point cloud (see at least Paragraphs (see at least Paragraph [0110]: “Step 424 and step 428 may be performed by the box selection unit 840 and the overlap determination unit 710.” [0111]: “The box selection unit 840 may generate a control signal CS in response to the results of the comparison by the first to third comparison units 810, 820 and 830. When it is determined that there is a segment box that is not selected as the candidate segment box as a result of detecting the plurality of segment boxes using the correlation indices in response to the control signal CS, the overlap determination unit 710 may determine whether this segment box B' overlaps the tracking box TB, and may output the result of the determination to the box selection unit 840 (step 424). For example, as shown in FIG. 9, the segment box B' and the tracking box TB may overlap each other.”; and [0112]-[0113])
However, it would have obvious in one ordinary skill in the art at the effective date of the application to , a fourth determination that the segment has a predetermined middle region which does not have a representative point and a fifth determination that the segment includes at least one representative point which is not vertically overlapped in a region of the segment in a coordinate system representing the point cloud. As s design choice “Making Continuous” [[see MPEP 21044. 04], In re Dilnot, 319 F.2d 188, 138 USPQ 248 (CCPA 1963)]. Motivation to continue the steps comes from the knowledge well known in the art that doing so would achieve the same end result which is to use teaches the LiDAR-based object detection apparatus fourth determination that the segment has a predetermined middle region which does not have a representative point and a fifth determination that the segment includes at least one representative point which is not vertically overlapped in a region of the segment.
As to [claim 4], the combination of Kim, Xu and Williamson teaches the LiDAR-based object detection apparatus of claim 3. Kim discloses wherein the confidence score of the segment is determined to be 0 and the others are determined to be 1 (see at least Paragraphs [0121]: “The final selection unit 648A shown in FIG. 11 may include a score assignment unit 910, a score calculation unit 920, and a score comparison unit 930” and [0122]-[0124]).
As to [claim 5], the combination of Kim, Xu and Williamson teaches the LiDAR-based object detection apparatus of claim 3. Kim discloses wherein in response to the representative points located below or equal to a predetermined height from ground see at least Paragraphs [0053]: “The 3D LiDAR sensor is capable of obtaining a plurality of 3D points and thus of predicting the height information of an obstacle, thus helping in accurate and precise detection and tracking of an object. The 3D LiDAR sensor may be composed of multiple 2D LiDAR sensor layers, and may generate LiDAR data including 3D information” and [0063]: “As examples of the clustering unit 620, there are a 2D clustering unit and a 3D clustering unit. The 2D clustering unit is a unit that performs clustering in units of points or a specific structure by projecting data onto the X-Y plane without considering height information. The 3D clustering unit is a unit that performs clustering in the X-Y-Z plane in consideration of height information Z”), the processor performs one or more of: the fourth determination and the fifth determination (see at least Paragraph [0110]: “Step 424 and step 428 may be performed by the box selection unit 840 and the overlap determination unit 710.” [0111]: “The box selection unit 840 may generate a control signal CS in response to the results of the comparison by the first to third comparison units 810, 820 and 830. When it is determined that there is a segment box that is not selected as the candidate segment box as a result of detecting the plurality of segment boxes using the correlation indices in response to the control signal CS, the overlap determination unit 710 may determine whether this segment box B' overlaps the tracking box TB, and may output the result of the determination to the box selection unit 840 (step 424). For example, as shown in FIG. 9, the segment box B' and the tracking box TB may overlap each other.”).
However, it would have obvious in one ordinary skill in the art at the effective date of the application to the processor performs one or more of: the fourth determination and the fifth determination. As s design choice “Making Continuous” [[see MPEP 21044. 04], In re Dilnot, 319 F.2d 188, 138 USPQ 248 (CCPA 1963)]. Motivation to continue the steps comes from the knowledge well known in the art that doing so would achieve the same end result which is to use teaches the LiDAR-based object detection apparatus the processor performing one or more of: the fourth determination and the fifth determination.
As to [claim 6], the combination of Kim, Xu and Williamson teaches the LiDAR-based object detection apparatus of claim 5. Kim teaches wherein only when a longitudinal length of the object is shorter than or equal to a first predetermined value (see at least Paragraph [0148]: “In the case of the second comparative example, the center of the rear side of the segment box is used as a representative point. For example, according to the second comparative example, the centers of the rear sides of the candidate segment boxes CB1and CB2 for association are used as representative points RP1 and RP2. Since the density of the point cloud is high at the center of the rear side of the segment box with respect to the mounting position of the LiDAR sensor 500, the second comparative example is robust to a change in the size of the segment box according to the shape of a target object, thereby stably providing the position of the measured value in the longitudinal direction. However, since the second comparative example is incapable of accurately recognizing the heading when generating information on the segment box, there is a problem in that the reference of the rear side is changed (e.g. a problem in that the width of the segment box and the length thereof are switched to each other), thus incurring a large error in the position of the measured value. In this way, according to the second comparative example, in which "association" is performed on the basis of the rear side of the segment box, when the correlation is determined using the distance, tracking loss may occur due to incorrect association”), the processor performs one or more of the fourth determination and the fifth determination (see at least Paragraph [0110]: “Step 424 and step 428 may be performed by the box selection unit 840 and the overlap determination unit 710.” [0111]: “The box selection unit 840 may generate a control signal CS in response to the results of the comparison by the first to third comparison units 810, 820 and 830. When it is determined that there is a segment box that is not selected as the candidate segment box as a result of detecting the plurality of segment boxes using the correlation indices in response to the control signal CS, the overlap determination unit 710 may determine whether this segment box B' overlaps the tracking box TB, and may output the result of the determination to the box selection unit 840 (step 424). For example, as shown in FIG. 9, the segment box B' and the tracking box TB may overlap each other.”).
As to [claim 7], the combination of Kim, Xu and Williamson teaches the LiDAR-based object detection apparatus of claim 1. Kim discloses wherein the processor is configured to determine the confidence score only when a longitudinal length of the object is longer than or equal to a second predetermined value (see at least Paragraph [0151]: “a candidate segment box is primarily selected using a factor related to distance. At this time, whether a segment box that has not been primarily selected as a candidate segment box overlaps the tracking box TB, i.e. is in surface contact with the tracking box TB, is determined in order to secondarily select a candidate segment box. Thus, it is possible to prevent an associated segment box from being incorrectly selected due to selection of a candidate segment box using only the distance factor”).
As to [claim 8, recites analogous limitations that are present in claims 1 and 4, therefore claim 8 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 9], the combination of Kim, Xu and Williamson teaches the autonomous driving control apparatus of claim 8. Xu discloses wherein the determining of outer points includes: determining a number of the outer points as N; determining both end points among the representative points; determining one of the both end points as a 1st outer point and the other one of the both end points as an Nt outer point; and determining 2nd to N-1thouter points by selecting among the representative points in a sequential order starting from the 1st outer point toward the Nt outer point (see at least Paragraphs [0038]: “FIG. 9 is a diagram showing an example in which a segment box overlaps a tracking box at the current time”; and [0039]: “FIGS. l0A to l0I are diagrams showing various examples in which the segment box and the tracking box overlap each other” and [0069]-[0072]; [0076]; [0080]-[0081]; and [0083]-[0084]***It is notes these figures and paragraphs indicates determining of outer points of the segment box***).
As to [claim 10], the combination of Kim , Xu and Williamson teaches the autonomous driving control apparatus of claim 9. Kim discloses wherein the confidence score of a segment is determined to be lower than others, in response to one or more of a first determination that the segment is a segment connecting the N-ith and Nth outer points which is longer than a first predetermined length, a second determination that the segment is a segment other than the last segment which is longer than a second predetermined length, a third determination that an angle between the segment and an adjacent segment sharing one outer point with the segment is less than or equal to a first predetermined angle, a fourth determination that the segment has a predetermined middle region which does not have a representative point and a fifth determination that the segment includes at least one representative point which is not vertically overlapped in a region of the segment in a coordinate system representing the point cloud (see at least Paragraphs (see at least Paragraph [0110]: “Step 424 and step 428 may be performed by the box selection unit 840 and the overlap determination unit 710.” [0111]: “The box selection unit 840 may generate a control signal CS in response to the results of the comparison by the first to third comparison units 810, 820 and 830. When it is determined that there is a segment box that is not selected as the candidate segment box as a result of detecting the plurality of segment boxes using the correlation indices in response to the control signal CS, the overlap determination unit 710 may determine whether this segment box B' overlaps the tracking box TB, and may output the result of the determination to the box selection unit 840 (step 424). For example, as shown in FIG. 9, the segment box B' and the tracking box TB may overlap each other.” [0112]-[0113]).
As to [claim 11], the combination of Kim, Xu and Williamson teaches the autonomous driving control apparatus of claim 10. Kim discloses wherein the confidence score of the segment is determined to be 0 and the others are determined to be 1 (see at least Paragraphs [0121]: “The final selection unit 648A shown in FIG. 11 may include a score assignment unit 910, a score calculation unit 920, and a score comparison unit 930” and [0122]-[0124]).
As to [claim 12], the combination of Kim, Xu and Williamson teaches the autonomous driving control apparatus of claim 10. Kim discloses wherein in response to the representative points located below or equal to a predetermined height from ground (see at least Paragraphs [0053]: “The 3D LiDAR sensor is capable of obtaining a plurality of 3D points and thus of predicting the height information of an obstacle, thus helping in accurate and precise detection and tracking of an object. The 3D LiDAR sensor may be composed of multiple 2D LiDAR sensor layers, and may generate LiDAR data including 3D information” and [0063]: “As examples of the clustering unit 620, there are a 2D clustering unit and a 3D clustering unit. The 2D clustering unit is a unit that performs clustering in units of points or a specific structure by projecting data onto the X-Y plane without considering height information. The 3D clustering unit is a unit that performs clustering in the X-Y-Z plane in consideration of height information Z”),, the first processor performs one or more of the fourth determination and the fifth determination (see at least Paragraph [0110]: “Step 424 and step 428 may be performed by the box selection unit 840 and the overlap determination unit 710.” [0111]: “The box selection unit 840 may generate a control signal CS in response to the results of the comparison by the first to third comparison units 810, 820 and 830. When it is determined that there is a segment box that is not selected as the candidate segment box as a result of detecting the plurality of segment boxes using the correlation indices in response to the control signal CS, the overlap determination unit 710 may determine whether this segment box B' overlaps the tracking box TB, and may output the result of the determination to the box selection unit 840 (step 424). For example, as shown in FIG. 9, the segment box B' and the tracking box TB may overlap each other.”).
As to [claim 13], the combination of Kim, Xu and Williamson teaches the autonomous driving control apparatus of claim 12. Kim discloses wherein only when a longitudinal length of the object is shorter than or equal to a first predetermined value (see at least Paragraph [0148]: “In the case of the second comparative example, the center of the rear side of the segment box is used as a representative point. For example, according to the second comparative example, the centers of the rear sides of the candidate segment boxes CB1and CB2 for association are used as representative points RP1and RP2. Since the density of the point cloud is high at the center of the rear side of the segment box with respect to the mounting position of the LiDAR sensor 500, the second comparative example is robust to a change in the size of the segment box according to the shape of a target object, thereby stably providing the position of the measured value in the longitudinal direction. However, since the second comparative example is incapable of accurately recognizing the heading when generating information on the segment box, there is a problem in that the reference of the rear side is changed (e.g. a problem in that the width of the segment box and the length thereof are switched to each other), thus incurring a large error in the position of the measured value. In this way, according to the second comparative example, in which "association" is performed on the basis of the rear side of the segment box, when the correlation is determined using the distance, tracking loss may occur due to incorrect association”), the first processor performs one or more of the fourth determination and the fifth determination (see at least Paragraph [0110]: “Step 424 and step 428 may be performed by the box selection unit 840 and the overlap determination unit 710.” [0111]: “The box selection unit 840 may generate a control signal CS in response to the results of the comparison by the first to third comparison units 810, 820 and 830. When it is determined that there is a segment box that is not selected as the candidate segment box as a result of detecting the plurality of segment boxes using the correlation indices in response to the control signal CS, the overlap determination unit 710 may determine whether this segment box B' overlaps the tracking box TB, and may output the result of the determination to the box selection unit 840 (step 424). For example, as shown in FIG. 9, the segment box B' and the tracking box TB may overlap each other.”).
As to [claim 14], the combination of Kim, Xu and Williamson teaches the autonomous driving control apparatus of claim 8. Kim disclose wherein the first processor is configured to determine the confidence score only when a longitudinal length of the object is greater than or equal to a second predetermined value (see at least Paragraph [0151]: “a candidate segment box is primarily selected using a factor related to distance. At this time, whether a segment box that has not been primarily selected as a candidate segment box overlaps the tracking box TB, i.e. is in surface contact with the tracking box TB, is determined in order to secondarily select a candidate segment box. Thus, it is possible to prevent an associated segment box from being incorrectly selected due to selection of a candidate segment box using only the distance factor”).
As to [claim 16], the combination of Kim, Xu and Williamson teaches the autonomous driving control apparatus of claim 8. Williamson teaches wherein the second processor is configured to perform a localization using a result of the map-matching (see, Paragraph [0067]: “For example, one or more portions of the POI, event data, or recorded route information can be matched with respective map or geographic records via position or GPS data associations (such as using known or future map matching or geo-coding techniques), for example. In an example embodiment of an apparatus for use in a vision-based mapping system, the map stored in memory 106 may include a databased of geo-referenced images used to identify the location of a vehicle through vision-based mapping techniques. In an example in which the apparatus 100 is embodied by a vehicle, the memory 106 may store a portion of a vision-based map database including only portions of the database that are within a predetermined geographic region relative to the vehicle such that latency may be minimized when establishing a location through analysis of the georeferenced images.”; and [0069]: “While some degree of autonomy can be provided through visual identification of objects along a road by a vehicle traveling along the road, vehicle sensors may not provide completely accurate identifications of road segment attributes or may not sense all attributes pertaining to the road segment, which may result in inaccurate operation of the vehicle. Therefore, the provision of one or more internal maps pertaining to a location may be beneficial. For example, to assist in the localization process of a vehicle, an accurate representation of the road segment and/or object pertaining to the road segment may be necessary. The one or more internal models assist with said localization process and each internal model may be stored in the map database, such as in a High Definition (HD) map database. In some embodiments, only published internal models which satisfy a confidence score threshold are accessible and/or provided to vehicles and/or operators of vehicles.”).
One would be motivated to make this modification in order to convey one skilled
in the art to which these inventions pertain having the benefit of the teachings presented in the foregoing descriptions and the associated drawings. Therefore, it is to be understood that the inventions are not to be limited to the specific embodiments disclosed and that modifications and other embodiments are intended to be included within the scope of the appended claims and modified internal model and/or one or more historical internal models may then be utilized or referenced by a computing device onboard or otherwise associated with the vehicle to provide for improved navigation (see, Paragraph [0103]).
As to [claim 17], the combination of Kim, Xu and Williamson teaches the LiDAR-based object detection apparatus. Kim discloses wherein the processor is configured to transmit shape information (see at least Paragraph [0064]: “the shape analysis unit 630 generates information on a plurality of segment boxes for each channel using the result of clustering from the clustering unit 620 (step 300). Here, the segment box may be the result of converting the result of clustering into a geometric box shape. In addition, the information on the segment box may be at least one of the width, length, position, or direction (or heading) of the segment box”…, Kim does not expressly disclose nor does Xu discloses …the confidence score of each segment to a second processor for a localization of a vehicle based on the shape information and the confidence score of each segment and controlling the vehicle based on the localization.
However, Williamson discloses
…the confidence score of each segment to a second processor for a localization of a vehicle based on the shape information and the confidence score of each segment (see, Paragraphs [0069]: “For example, to assist in the localization process of a vehicle, an accurate representation of the road segment and/or object pertaining to the road segment may be necessary. The one or more internal models assist with said localization process and each internal model may be stored in the map database, such as in a High Definition (HD) map database. In some embodiments, only published internal models which satisfy a confidence score threshold are accessible and/or provided to vehicles and/or operators of vehicles.”; [0084]: “Additionally, or alternatively, the information received by the map model engine 301 may include cellular, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth or other radio signals received by a radio frequency (RF) receiver onboard the vehicle. Still further, the information received by the map model engine 301 may additionally or alternatively include one or more images captured by one or more image capture devices, such as one or more cameras, onboard the vehicle and/or information regarding a road segment, such as road segment geometry and/or one or more object pertaining to the road segment, so as to assist in vehicle localization.” and [0081]: “HD maps may be generated and updated based on sensor data from vehicles traveling along road segments of a road network. These vehicles may have various degrees of autonomy and may be equipped with a variety of different levels of sensors. Sensors from fully autonomous vehicles, for example, may be used to update map data or generate new map data in a form of crowd-sourced data from vehicles traveling along road segments. Sensor data received can be compared against other sensor data relating to the images captured by sensors to establish the accuracy of sensor data and to confirm the position, size, shape, etc. of features and objects along the road segment.”) and controlling the vehicle based on the localization (see, Paragraph [0080]: “HD maps may have a high precision at resolutions that may be down to several centimeters and may identify objects proximate a road segment, features of a road segment including lane widths, lane markings, traffic direction, road signs, speed limits, lane restrictions, etc. Autonomous and semi-autonomous vehicles may use these HD maps to facilitate the autonomous control features, such as traveling within a lane of a road segment at a prescribed speed limit, or following instructions of a road sign identified along a road segment. Autonomous vehicles may also be equipped with a plurality of sensors to facilitate autonomous vehicle control. Sensors may include image sensors/cameras, Light Distancing and Ranging (LiDAR), Global Positioning Systems (GPS), Inertial Measurement Units (IMUs), or the like which may measure the surroundings of a vehicle and communicate information regarding the surroundings to a vehicle control module to process and adapt vehicle control accordingly.”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to further modify determining a confidence value associated with the offsets for each point in view of Kim and Xu and combining excluding segments having the confidence score lower than a predetermined threshold as taught by Williamson.
One would be motivated to make this modification in order to convey one skilled
in the art to which these inventions pertain having the benefit of the teachings presented in the foregoing descriptions and the associated drawings. Therefore, it is to be understood that the inventions are not to be limited to the specific embodiments disclosed and that modifications and other embodiments are intended to be included within the scope of the appended claims and modified internal model and/or one or more historical internal models may then be utilized or referenced by a computing device onboard or otherwise associated with the vehicle to provide for improved navigation (see, Paragraph [0103]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.U./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/JAMES M MCPHERSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3663