DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiebenthal (US 20170203662) in view of Bianco (US 20110074351).
Regarding claim 1, Hiebenthal teaches a charging station for electric vehicles (figure 5 item 100 defined in paragraph [0016] as an electric vehicle charging station)
comprising a containment body within which a plurality of electric charging systems for said electric vehicles are housed (figure 5 shows a containment body, a housing with frame 114, with a plurality of electric charging systems charging cables 116),
computerized control means and an electric power supply able to be electrically coupled to the electrical network (paragraph [0017] discloses wherein the system is operated by computerized control means, interpreted as the receives communications signals, fiber optic signals and receives electric power via an AC mains)
wherein each of said electric charging systems is independent (figure 5 shows wherein the charging systems item 116 are independent as they are separated by their own pulley systems 104) and comprises:
- a battery charger operatively connected to said electric power supply (figure 6 item 152 a connector to provide charge to a battery);
- a charging cable operatively connected to said battery charger (figures 5 and 6 items 116 and 118 (a free end) which are connected to battery charger 152) ;
- a management device of said charging cable ([0015] and figures 2 – 5 show a cable management system);
wherein said management device of said charging cable ([0015] and figures 2 – 5 show a cable management system)comprises:
- a pulley able to unwind and to wind said charging cable ([0015] and figures 2 – 5 show a cable management system with pulleys 104 and 110);
- moving means of said pulley (figure 4 item 108 defined I paragraph [0016] as a trolley which allows movement of a pulley on a track 106);
wherein said containment body comprises a plurality of inner carters able to define separate housing portions for said charging cables (figure 6 shows a plurality of inner carters, interpreted as guides 102 to define separate housing portions for charging cables 116).
Hiebenthal does not explicitly teach wherein each of said electric charging systems comprises an activation button and an initialization button of said charging station, wherein said computerized control means are operatively connected to said moving means and to said battery charger, wherein said computerized control means are able to allow the activation of said battery charger for the electric connection of said charging cable following an activation command from a user when the user defines said activation command by simultaneously pressing said initialization button and said activation button, and wherein said computerized control means are able to allow the movement of said pulley for the winding of said charging cable following a winding command from said user or after a predetermined deactivation time of said battery charger, wherein said predetermined deactivation time is calculated from the extraction of said charging cable.
Bianco teaches wherein each of said electric charging systems comprises an activation button and an initialization button of said charging station (paragraph [0078] discloses wherein a button on a point of sale (POS) module is used to activate and initialize or set parameters of charging),
wherein said computerized control means are operatively connected to said moving means and to said battery charger (paragraphs [0013] and [0120] wherein a computerized control means, a microprocessor 950, is connected to a moving means, interpreted as retractor 900 which controls the movement of the battery charger),
wherein said computerized control means are able to allow the activation of said battery charger for the electric connection of said charging cable following an activation command from a user when the user defines said activation command by simultaneously pressing said initialization button and said activation button (paragraphs [0077]-[0078] discloses wherein a computerized means, including a microprocessor 120 with a point of sale (POS) module receives commands from a user or operator to start charging by pressing a button), and
wherein said computerized control means are able to allow the movement of said pulley for the winding of said charging cable following a winding command from said user or after a predetermined deactivation time of said battery charger (paragraph [0013] wherein a movement of the pulley is controlled by a retractor system controlled by a microprocessor. Paragraph [0127] and figures 40A-D discloses wherein the movement of the pulley 910, included in the retractor system figures 35 and 37 item 900, is controlled by computerized means (a microprocessor) and a timer to determine a predetermined deactivation time),
wherein said predetermined deactivation time is calculated from the extraction of said charging cable (paragraph [0127] and figure 40A-D shows wherein the time is calculated with a timer as a start vehicle timer is started).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Hiebenthal reference with the charging system of the Bianco reference so that proper usage of the vehicle charging system is maintained.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Bianco reference in paragraph [0005] wherein proper charging usage is maintained.
Hiebenthal Figure 5 shows an electrical vehicle charging station with a plurality of battery chargers and pulleys
Regarding claim 2, Hibenthal teaches the charging station for electric vehicles according to claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein each of said management devices of said charging cable comprises a retraction button, and wherein said computerized control means are able to allow the actuation of said pulley for the winding of said charging cable when the user defines said winding command by pressing the said retraction button.
Bianco teaches wherein each of said management devices of said charging cable comprises a retraction button, and wherein said computerized control means are able to allow the actuation of said pulley for the winding of said charging cable when the user defines said winding command by pressing the said retraction button (paragraphs [0011]-[0012] teaches wherein the cable is automatically retracted by a control module which controls access to the power cable. Paragraphs [0116], [0120] and [0125] teaches wherein a retractor is controlled by a microprocessor 950, which receives inputs from pressing buttons on a display to retract or extend).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Hiebenthal reference with the charging system of the Bianco reference so that proper usage of the vehicle charging system is maintained.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Bianco reference in paragraph [0005] wherein proper charging usage is maintained.
Regarding claim 3, Hibenthal teaches the charging station for electric vehicles according to claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein said predetermined deactivation time is calculated from the disconnection of said charging cable from said electric vehicle to recharge.
Bianco teaches wherein said predetermined deactivation time is calculated from the disconnection of said charging cable from said electric vehicle to recharge (defined in paragraph [0130] wherein a timer is started upon disconnection or disengagement of the charger).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Hiebenthal reference with the charging system of the Bianco reference so that proper usage of the vehicle charging system is maintained.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Bianco reference in paragraph [0005] wherein proper charging usage is maintained.
Regarding claim 4, Hibenthal teaches the charging station for electric vehicles according to claim 1, wherein said moving means of said pulley comprise an actuation mechanism by means of an elastic element, wherein said elastic element is able to be pre-tensioned during the movement of said pulley in the unwinding of said charging cable, and wherein said pre-tensioned elastic element is able to allow the autonomous movement of said pulley for the winding of said charging cable by releasing said pre-tensioning (defined in paragraphs [0003] and [0019] wherein an elastic element, an elastic cord 122, is pretensioned to allow autonomous movement of the pulley. Paragraph [0019] disclose wherein the pulley may be moved by various methods such as a spring to allow autonomous movement).
Regarding claim 5, Hibenthal teaches the charging station for electric vehicles according to claim 1, wherein said moving means of said pulley comprise an actuation mechanism by means of an electric motor, and wherein said computerized control means are able to operating said electric motor to allow the movement of said pulley for the winding of said charging cable (defined in paragraph [0019] wherein movement of the pulley is operated by a motor).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Us 20120048983 A1 Cable Management System Bianco; James S. Et Al.
Us 20220388808 A1 Cable Management Diemer; Wijnand Eduard Et Al.
Us 20220258632 A1 Robotic Charging System And Method Ehrenhalt; Caradoc
Us 20170129355 A1 Electric Vehicle Charging System Fournier; Paul W. Et Al.
Us 20200324661 A1 Retractable Charging Station Freeling-Wilkinson; Olivier
Us 20140048638 A1 Arrangement And Method For Locking An Automatic Reeling Mechanism Of A Charging Cable For An Electric Vehicle Falk; Rainer Et Al.
Us 20130076902 A1 Robotic Vehicle Charging Station Gao; Dalong Et Al.
Us 20120013300 A1 Overhead Mobile Charger Prosser; Ronald Et Al.
Us 20100315040 A1 Charging Device And Charging Structure Sakurai; Masato
Us 20160089996 A1 Charging Stand Sugiura; Akehito
Us 20240128734 A1 Electric Vehicle Charging System Therrien; Karl-Olivier
Us 20230035958 A1 Bollard Cord Retractor Whitney; Christopher S.
Us 20170193716 A1 Self Service Vehicle Diagnostics Wittliff, Iii; William W.
Us 20240383359 A1 Mobile Charging Device Yang; Feng Et Al.
ALEXIS BOATENG PACHECO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/ALEXIS B PACHECO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859