Detailed Action
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 5/20/2025 has been entered. All previous objections have been withdrawn. Examiner will hold the Double Patenting Rejection in Abeyance until the claims are in condition for allowance.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: SYSTEMS AND METHODS FOR GENERATING WATER FROM AIR USING A SOLAR COLLECTION AND REFRIGERANT CIRCUIT ARRANGMENT
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 10, 13, 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reiter (WO2021195704A1) in view of Weekley (US 10,804,841) as evidenced by McCullough (US 4,334,524).
Claim 1: Reiter (Figs. 1-3, 5, 9-10) discloses a system for generating water from ambient air (Abstract) comprising a solar layer/unit (note “unit” components 65, 101, 91, 66, 31; especially Fig. 5 components of 65/66/31, Examiner viewing them collectively) configured to convert solar radiation into heat and electrical energy (paragraphs 28, 90, 176, 232; especially paragraphs 172 and 237); a hygroscopic capture unit (12, 60/70) comprising a hygroscopic material (paragraphs 157-159) configured to capture water vapor from ambient air during a loading mode (paragraphs 38, 49-50 146); a flow path configured to flow a working gas through the system to collect heat from the solar layer and to accumulate water vapor from the hygroscopic unit during an unloading mode (paragraphs 52-54, 146, 167, 169; Examiner noting that the airflow path through the inlets will collect heat from the heating means surrounding the reaction chamber as well as dehumidify the hygroscopic unit); a modular heat exchange assembly (20, Examiner noting a modular notation of the condenser in Figs. 1-3) including a refrigeration circuit configured to circulate a refrigerant (paragraph 185) between a refrigerant compressor, a refrigerant condenser, a refrigerant expansion device, and a refrigerant evaporator (see paragraphs 5-6 for listed refrigeration elements); wherein the refrigerant evaporator is configured to transfer heat from condensation of water vapor in the working gas to the refrigerant, thereby condensing water vapor from the working gas during the unloading mode (see paragraphs 8-10, 55-58; claim 1); and a microprocessor-based control module (paragraphs 194-195, Examiner noting computer and communication means which computer can be broadly be viewed as a microprocessor-based control module as it utilizes a CPU) in communication with the refrigeration circuit, wherein the control module is configured to adjust a system operational setpoint (e.g., paragraph 195, “correction of operating parameters”) based on a system operational state, an environmental condition or a combination thereof (paragraphs 192-194).
Reiter is silent about using a multi-layer solar collection structure. However, Weekley discusses using a multi-layer solar collection structure to maximize the heat collection by situating a solar photovoltaic layer sitting atop a regular collection structure; the photovoltaic layer becomes very hot while generating electricity and can boost thermal energy passing onto a circulating fluid (see col. 3, lines 59-67 through col. 4, lines 1-3). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize a multi-layer solar collection structure as taught by Weekley into the apparatus of Reiter in order to maximize overall thermal energy collection. As incorporated into Reiter, this multi-layer arrangement would allow for Reiter’s gas flow path to collect heat from a more effective multi-layer solar collection structure. Examiner notes that while Weekley details heating a liquid medium, solar collectors of this style can handle gaseous mediums such as air equally well, as evidenced by McCullough (see Figs. 1-2, note col. 1, lines 10-20).
Claim 2: Reiter and Weekley teach the previous limitations. Reiter further discloses that the hygroscopic capture unit comprises a plurality of porous hygroscopic bodies comprising hygroscopic material (the plurality of bodies could be the plural sets of hygroscopic material in multiple reaction chambers, 12, 41-43, containing a molecular sieve, mentioned in paragraph 157, which substance is porous) wherein the working gas flows through each of the plurality of porous hygroscopic bodies (Figs. 1-3, 5, 9-10).
Claim 10: Reiter and Weekley teach the previous limitations. Reiter further discloses that the solar layer comprises a plurality of photovoltaic cells (see, e.g., paragraph 28, 176); and, wherein the hygroscopic unit is configured to receive heat form the plurality of photovoltaic cells (Fig. 5).
Claim 13: Reiter and Weekley teach the previous limitations. Reiter further discloses that the electrical energy generated by the solar layer powers the refrigeration circuit (Fig. 10; paragraph 239).
Claim 20: Reiter and Weekley teach the previous limitations. Reiter discloses a method for producing water from air (Abstract) comprising converting, by a solar layer (note “unit” components 65, 101, 91, 66, 31; especially Fig. 5 components of 65/66/31, Examiner viewing them collectively), solar radiation into heat and electrical energy (paragraphs 28, 90, 176, 232; especially paragraphs 172 and 237); flowing a process gas (Figs. 1-3, 5, 9-10, note 14) through a hygroscopic unit (12, 60/70) comprising a hygroscopic material (paragraphs 157-159) to capture water vapor from ambient air during a loading cycle (paragraphs 38, 49-50 146); transitioning from the loading cycle to an unloading cycle (see claim 1); flowing a working gas in a flow path to collect heat from the solar layer and to accumulate water vapor from the hygroscopic unit during the unloading cycle (paragraphs 52-54, 146, 167, 169; Examiner noting that the airflow path through the inlets will collect heat from the heating means surrounding the reaction chamber as well as dehumidify the hygroscopic unit); circulating, during the unloading cycle, a refrigerant (paragraph 185) between a refrigerant compressor, a refrigerant condenser, a refrigerant expansion device, and a refrigerant evaporator; and, condensing, by the refrigerant evaporator, water vapor from the working gas in the flow path to produce liquid water during the unloading cycle, wherein the refrigerant evaporator is configured to transfer heat from condensation of water vapor in the working gas to the refrigerant (see paragraphs 5-6 for listed refrigeration system elements; see also paragraphs 8-10, 55-58; claim 1).
Claim 21: Reiter and Weekley teach the previous limitations. Reiter further discloses adjusting, by a control module (paragraphs 194-195, Examiner noting computer and communication means), a system operational setpoint (e.g., paragraph 195, “correction of operating parameters”) based on a system operational state, an environmental condition or a combination thereof (paragraphs 192-194).
Claim(s) 3 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reiter (WO2021195704A1) in view of Weekley (US 10,804,841) and in view of Bar (US20090151368A1).
Claim 3: Reiter and Weekley teach the previous limitations. Reiter is not explicit about the plurality of porous hygroscopic bodies being separated by tapering flow channels through which working gas flows in the flow path. However, Bar teaches a system for extracting water from the atmosphere whose hygroscopic material is separated by tapering flow channels through which working gas flows in the flow path (Figs. 4-5, note tapering flow channels in between cassettes 608). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to utilize the flow channel design of Bar into the apparatus of Reiter as the tapering will force the flow of air into the hygroscopic material to deposit its moisture as opposed to it flowing in a parallel path.
Claim 11: Reiter and Weekley teach the previous limitations. Reiter is not explicit about the working gas flowing along at least one surface of the plurality of photovoltaic cells to capture heat in advance of flowing through the hygroscopic unit. However, Bar teaches a system for extracting water from the atmosphere in which the working gas flowing along at least one surface of solar collector to capture heat in advance of flowing through the hygroscopic unit (Fig. 1, noting paragraph 81, in which the solar heat collector 12 is provided and positioned at the inlet to heat exchanger 10 which is in advance to the hygroscopic unit at 4/5). As incorporated into Reiter’s system, whose solar layer can be plurality of photovoltaic cells, the working gas would thereby flow along at least one surface of the photovoltaic cells to capture heat in advance of flowing through the hygroscopic unit. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to arrange Reiter’s solar layer in a manner as taught by Bar to make the overall apparatus more compact and efficiently saving space and reducing connective elements between various subcomponents.
Claim 12: Reiter and Weekley teach the previous limitations. Reiter is not explicit about the hygroscopic unit is coupled to a rear surface of the photovoltaic cells and the working gas flows along a top surface of the photovoltaic cells, and through the hygroscopic unit coupled to the rear surface of the photovoltaic cells. However, Bar teaches a system for extracting water from the atmosphere in which the hygroscopic unit is coupled to a rear surface of the photovoltaic cells and the working gas flows along a top surface of the photovoltaic cells and through the hygroscopic unit coupled to the rear surface of the photovoltaic cells (Fig. 1, noting paragraph 81, in which the solar heat collector 12 is provided and positioned at the inlet to heat exchanger 10 which could be viewed broadly as being a part of the hygroscopic unit and would thereby have a connection with a rear surface of the solar layer, which, as provided by Reiter, can be a plurality of photovoltaic cells; the opposite, unattached top side of the solar layer would therefore be in free contact with working gas). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to arrange Reiter’s solar layer in a manner as taught by Bar to make the overall apparatus more compact and efficiently saving space and reducing connective elements between various subcomponents.
Claim(s) 4-9 and 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reiter (WO2021195704A1) in view of Weekley (US 10,804,841) and in further view of Ball (US20210121821A1).
Claim 4: Reiter and Weekley teach the previous limitations. Reiter is not explicit about the heat exchange assembly comprises an ambient air heat exchanger configured to transfer heat from ambient air flowing in a cooling fluid path to the working gas upon flow therethrough, thereby driving condensation of water vapor from the working gas during the unloading mode. However, Ball teaches a water recovery system in which the heat exchange assembly comprises an ambient air heat exchanger configured to transfer heat from ambient air flowing in a cooling fluid path to the working gas upon flow therethrough, thereby driving condensation of water vapor from the working gas during the unloading mode (Fig. 3C, paragraph 52, Examiner noting that with one damper closed, ambient air may mix with the circulating working gas, providing an assist to the condensation of water vapor). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to utilize ambient air in a heat exchange as taught by Ball into the apparatus of Reiter as it would make the unloading mode more efficient.
Claim 5: Reiter, Weekley and Ball teach the previous limitations. Ball further teaches that the ambient air flowing in the cooling fluid path is directed to the refrigerant condenser to collect heat therefrom (Fig. 3C).
Claim 6: Reiter, Weekley and Ball teach the previous limitations. Ball further teaches a cooling fan (38) configured to cool the working gas flowing in the ambient air heat exchanger, and, wherein its control module is configured to adjust a power distribution setpoint between the cooling fan and the refrigerant compressor of the refrigeration circuit (paragraphs 67-71). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to operate the control module of Reiter like that taught in Ball to gain optimal system performance.
Claim 7: Reiter and Weekley teach the previous limitations. Reiter is not explicit about a recuperative heat exchanger including a plurality of hot-side flow layers alternating between a plurality of cold-side flow layers, wherein: the working gas flows in a first segment of the flow path including the plurality of hot-side flow layers in a direction at least partially counter to a flow direction of a cooling fluid flow in a cooling fluid flow path including at least one of the plurality of cold-side flow layers; a flow direction of the working gas flowing in a second segment of the flow path including at least one of the plurality of cold-side flow layers; or, a combination thereof. However, Ball teaches a water recovery system using a recuperative heat exchanger (Fig. 3C) including a plurality of hot-side flow layers alternating between a plurality of cold-side flow layers (paragraph 51, Examiner noting that one or more dampers 26 and 135 may be selectively activated, allowing for a setup in which alternating air flow layers in 28 are open to cooler ambient air which would thereby provide alternating hot-side working air and cold-side incoming ambient air layers), wherein the working gas flows in a first segment of the flow path including the plurality of hot-side flow layers in a direction at least partially counter to a flow direction of a cooling fluid flow in a cooling fluid flow path including at least one of the plurality of cold-side flow layers; a flow direction of the working gas flowing in a second segment of the flow path including at least one of the plurality of cold-side flow layers; or, a combination thereof (Fig. 3C, owing to the bidirectionality of the airflows throughout the layers as depicted at 140, Examiner notes that a working gas in one particular hot-side layer could flow counter to incoming ambient air on another layer). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to utilize ambient air in a heat exchange as taught by Ball into the apparatus of Reiter as it would make the unloading mode more efficient.
Claim 8: Reiter and Weekley teach the previous limitations. Reiter is not explicit about a flow path configured to flow working gas in a closed loop such that at least a portion of the working gas is returned to the hygroscopic unit from the refrigerant evaporator. However, Ball teaches a water recovery system in which a flow path is configured to flow working gas in a closed loop such that at least a portion of the working gas is returned to the hygroscopic unit from the refrigerant evaporator (see Fig. 3B, note 130). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to utilize the condenser for heat as taught by Ball into the apparatus of Reiter as it would make the unloading mode more efficient.
Claim 9: Reiter and Weekley teach the previous limitations. Reiter is not explicit about the refrigerant condenser is configured to transfer heat from condensation of refrigerant vapor to the hygroscopic unit by conductive heat transfer via direct thermal contact, convective heat transfer via fluid flow, or a combination thereof. However, Ball teaches a water recovery system in which the refrigerant condenser is configured to transfer heat from condensation of refrigerant vapor to the hygroscopic unit by conductive heat transfer via direct thermal contact, convective heat transfer via fluid flow, or a combination thereof (see paragraph 53-54). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to utilize the condenser for heat as taught by Ball into the apparatus of Reiter as it would make the unloading mode more efficient.
Claim 14: Reiter and Weekley teach the previous limitations. Reiter is not explicit about the refrigerant comprising chlorofluorocarbon (CFC), hydrochlorfluorocarbon (HCFC), hydrofluorocarbon (HFC), hydrocarbon (HC),ammonia, carbon dioxide, water or combinations thereof. However, Ball teaches a water recovery system using a refrigeration system whose refrigerant comprises chlorofluorocarbon (CFC), hydrochlorfluorocarbon (HCFC), hydrofluorocarbon (HFC), hydrocarbon (HC),ammonia, carbon dioxide, water or combinations thereof (note Freon refrigerant in paragraph 49). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to utilize the refrigerant of Ball into the apparatus of Reiter as Freon is well-known to be a stable, nonflammable, low toxicity refrigerant.
Claim 15: Reiter and Weekley teach the previous limitations. Reiter is not explicit about the control module configured to adjust the operational setpoint based on the system operational state including a system power state, an amount of power produced by a power generation unit, an amount of power available of a battery, a battery state-of-charge, a system temperature, a temperature of the working gas, a humidity of the working gas, a pressure of the working gas, a humidity of ambient air during a prior loading cycle, a system water content, a water content of the hygroscopic unit, a water production rate, a water production volume, a water usage rate, an amount of water usage, or combinations thereof. However, Ball teaches a water recovery system (Fig. 3) and using a control module (180) configured to adjust the operational setpoint based on the system operational state including a system power state, an amount of power produced by a power generation unit, an amount of power available of a battery, a battery state-of-charge, a system temperature, a temperature of the working gas, a humidity of the working gas, a pressure of the working gas, a humidity of ambient air during a prior loading cycle, a system water content, a water content of the hygroscopic unit, a water production rate, a water production volume, a water usage rate, an amount of water usage, or combinations thereof (Fig. 6; see paragraph 59-60, 63; in particular 67-71). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to operate the control module of Reiter like that taught in Ball to gain optimal system performance.
Claim 16: Reiter and Weekley teach the previous limitations. Reiter is not explicit about the control module configured to adjust the operational setpoint based on the environmental condition including an ambient relative humidity, an ambient temperature, a solar irradiance, a time of day, a weather event, a weather forecast, or combinations thereof. However, Ball teaches a water recovery system (Fig. 3) and using a control module (180) configured to adjust the operational setpoint based on the environmental condition including an ambient relative humidity, an ambient temperature, a solar irradiance, a time of day, a weather event, a weather forecast, or combinations thereof (Fig. 6; see paragraph 59-60, 63; in particular 67-71). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to operate the control module of Reiter like that taught in Ball to gain optimal system performance.
Claim 17: Reiter and Weekley teach the previous limitations. Reiter is not explicit about the control module configured to adjust an electrical input to the refrigerant compressor based on an amount of power produced by the solar layer, an amount of energy available of an onboard battery, a system water content, a water content of the hygroscopic unit, an ambient temperature, an ambient relative humidity, a solar irradiance, or a combination thereof. However, Ball teaches a water recovery system (Fig. 3) and using a control module (180) configured to adjust an electrical input to the refrigerant compressor based on an amount of power produced by the solar layer, an amount of energy available of an onboard battery, a system water content, a water content of the hygroscopic unit, an ambient temperature, an ambient relative humidity, a solar irradiance, or a combination thereof (paragraph 70). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to operate the control module of Reiter like that taught in Ball to gain optimal system performance.
Claim 18: Reiter and Weekley teach the previous limitations. Reiter is not explicit about the control module configured to adjust the operational setpoint including an amount of power to the refrigerant compressor, an amount of power to a system fan, a power distribution setpoint between the refrigerant compressor and a system fan, setting system operation to transition between the loading mode and the unloading mode, or a combination thereof. However, Ball teaches a water recovery system (Fig. 3) and using a control module (180) configured to adjust the operational setpoint including an amount of power to the refrigerant compressor, an amount of power to a system fan, a power distribution setpoint between the refrigerant compressor and a system fan, setting system operation to transition between the loading mode and the unloading mode, or a combination thereof (Fig. 6; see paragraph 59-60, 63; in particular 67-71). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to operate the control module of Reiter like that taught in Ball to gain optimal system performance.
Claim 19: Reiter and Weekley teach the previous limitations. Reiter is not explicit about the control module configured to adjust the system operational setpoint including an amount of electrical energy or power to the refrigerant compressor based on: a system operational state, an environmental condition or a combination thereof. However, Ball teaches a water recovery system (Fig. 3) and using a control module (180) configured to adjust the system operational setpoint including an amount of electrical energy or power to the refrigerant compressor based on: a system operational state, an environmental condition or a combination thereof (paragraph 70). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to operate the control module of Reiter like that taught in Ball to gain optimal system performance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With respect to the “multi-layer solar collection unit”, Examiner has utilized the Weekley reference, which teaches a multi-layer solution to maximizing thermal energy capture while also providing electricity. Examiner also notes that Reiter teaches using a hygroscopic capture unit which can be proximate or surrounded by a heating means and a microprocessor-based control module as Reiter’s computer control will possess an internal CPU. Reiter further generically details a modular heat exchange assembly in depicting the various modules in Figures 1-3.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATHAN C ZOLLINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746