DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The examiner agrees the amendments overcome the prior art rejections of claim 1 however the prior art is still readable on the broader claim 15.
The 112a rejections remain. Figure 6 does not properly support the claim language.
Many of the 112b rejections remain. Consistent terminology for different elements continues to be absent from the claims. Leading to further 112b antecedent basis issues and amendments have made some claims unclear.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “door jamb” of claims 1-3, and 15-16, the “door jamb cavity” of claims 15, 17-18, and 21 the “latch and/or a deadbolt cavity” of claim 15, the “doorframe” of claims 1, 11 and 15, the “he doorframe cavity” of claim 10, the “latch-receiving cavity” of claim 18, the “the latch assembly” of claim 19, the deadbolt assembly of claim 20, and the “deadbolt-receiving cavity” of claim 20. must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3-4, 10-11, 15, 19-21, and 23 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1 “the door frame” should read “a doorframe”.
In claims 1 and 15 “inner plate gap, the middle plate gap, and the outer plate gap” should read “the central rectangular hollow gap of the inner plate, the central rectangular hollow gap of the middle plate, and the central rectangular hollow gap of the outer plate”
In claim 3 “a non-adjustable manner” should read “the non-adjustable manner”.
In claim 4 “the four corners of the middle plate” should be just “four corners of the middle plate”.
In claim 10: “the doorframe cavity” should read “a door frame cavity”.
In claim 11 “the doorframe” should read “a door frame”.
In claim 15 “a latch and/or a deadbolt cavity” should be “a latch cavity and/or a deadbolt cavity” for clarity.
In claim 19 “the latch assembly” should be “a latch assembly”.
In claim 19 “20 “the latch-receiving cavity” should be “the latch cavity”
In claim 20 “the deadbolt assembly” should be “a deadbolt assembly”.
In claim 20 “the deadbolt-receiving cavity” should be “the deadbolt cavity”.
In claim 21 “consisting ontwo #6 – 32 screws” should read consisting of two #6 – 32 screws”.
In claim 21”wherein the top holes are located at a top- middle location in a top middle of the outer and the inner plates plate and the inner plate” should read “wherein the top circular holes are located at a top-middle location in a top middle of the outer plate and the inner plate”.
In claim 21 “the screws passing through” should read “the two #6 - 32 screws passing through”.
In claim 23 “thereby providing repositioning without redrilling” should be cancelled as it appears to be repetition of a limitation in claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 7 and 12-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In regards to claims 7, “wherein the horizontal range is up to 0.24" and the vertical range is up to 0.9” is new matter.
In regards to claims 12-14, “a conventional strike plate with a central rectangular hollow gap measuring 1.1" in length and 0.7" in width” is new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 6, 15-18 and 21, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to claims 6, 15, 17 and 21, “elongated openings” is unclear. From the original disclosure it appears the elongated openings are the same as a top and bottom hollow indentation of the middle plate. However as claimed it appears a new element is introduced. It’s unclear if the applicant is intending to claim elongated opening in addition to the top and bottom hollow indentation, further defining the top and bottom hollow indentation as elongated opening, or to be referring to the top and bottom hollow indentation. For the purposes of examination “elongated openings” is assumed to read “the top and bottom hollow indentation”.
In further regards to claim 6, 17 and 21, “aligned holes of the inner plate” lacks antecedent basis in the claim. It’s unclear if the applicant is intending to a new element or refer to an element previously introduced. For the purposes of examination, the examiner is assuming this limitation is referring to the one top circular hole, and one bottom hole of the inner plate in claim 1.
In regards to claim 15, “aligned holes of the inner plate” lacks antecedent basis in the claim. It’s unclear if the applicant is intending to a new element or refer to an element previously introduced. For the purposes of examination, the examiner is assuming this limitation is referring to the one top circular hole, and one bottom hole of the inner plate previously introduced in the claim.
In regards to claim 16, it’s unclear how “the inner plate positioning to the door jamb limits the positioning of the latch receiving cavity or the deadbolt receiving cavity to the central rectangular apparatus cavity” as to the examiner’s understanding from the original disclosure, the cavities described are in a door jamb, and it’s unclear how the cavities positioning is limited, as it’s the examiners understanding the cavity in the door frame would remain the same. Further “the latch receiving cavity” and “the deadbolt receiving cavity” is unclear. From the original disclosure it’s unclear if the “latch-receiving cavity” is the same or different than the latch and/or the dead bolt cavity of claim 15. For the purposes of examination, the limitation is assumed to read “the inner plate positioning to the door jamb defines an area of the latch cavity or the deadbolt cavity with the central rectangular apparatus cavity”.
In regards to claim 17, “aligned holes of the inner plate” lacks antecedent basis in the claim. It’s unclear if the applicant is intending to a new element or refer to an element previously introduced. For the purposes of examination, the examiner is assuming this limitation is referring to the one top circular hole, and one bottom hole of the inner plate previously introduced in claim 15.
In further regards to claim 21, it’s unclear how the claim is intended to further define the scope.
“and is fixed relative to the door jamb” appears to be redundant as the middle plate was previously described as “remains stationary relative to the door jamb” for the purposes of examination the limitation is assumed to be omitted.
“four-directional positional adjustment of the outer plate relative to the fixed middle plate, including horizontal and vertical movement, for alignment adjustment the cooperation of which permits four-directional motion in up and down horizontal motion and right and left vertical motion for alignment adjustment” appears to be a redundant repetition of “the outer plate and the middle plate permits movement of the latch-receiving central rectangular apparatus cavity in at least two orthogonal directions relative to the door jamb without movement of the middle plate relative to the door jamb” of claim 1. For the purposes of examination, the limitation is assumed to be omitted.
It appears claim 22 was cancelled and improperly incorporated into claim 21, further “herein the middle plate comprises four perpendicular protuberances extending outward from its top, bottom, left, and right sides to stabilize the apparatus within a door jamb cavity” appears to be redundant a redundant repetition of amendments found in claim 1. For the purposes of examination, the limitation is assumed to be omitted.
Claim 18 is rejected due to its dependencies on the rejected claims above
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-16 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thiel US 4105235 A (hereinafter Thiel) in view of Home security upgrade.
In regards to claim 15, as best understood in light of previous 112 rejections, Thiel teaches the method of installing an adjustable striker plate apparatus comprising an inner plate (50), a middle plate (22), an outer plate (40), and two sets of screws (56 and 32) comprising a first screw set (56) and a second screw set (32), wherein the first set comprises four screws (see fig 4) and the second screw set comprises two screws (see fig 3), wherein the inner plate comprises a central rectangular hollow gap (52), a top circular hole (one of the top 54 wrt fig 4), and a bottom hole (one of bottom 54 wrt fig 4); wherein the middle plate comprises a central rectangular hollow gap (36), a top (a top 38 wrt fig 4) and bottom hollow indentation (bottom 38 wrt fig 4, note: claim 15 has been amended such that the hollow indentations are no longer required to be a part of the central rectangular hollow gap, the indentations mapped are considered as such as a slot may be considered a further indentation of a hole), a top right hole (top right 30 wrt fig 4), a top left hole (top left 30 wrt fig 4), a bottom right hole (bottom right 30 wrt fig 4), a bottom left hole (bottom left 30 wrt fig 4), and four perpendicular protuberances extending from top, bottom, left, and right locations (see fig 4; at least wrt the left of 36) namely a right rectangular perpendicular protuberance (right of 36 wrt fig 4), a top perpendicular protuberance (top above 36 wrt fig 4), a left perpendicular protuberance (24), and a bottom perpendicular protuberance (below 36 wrt fig 4), and elongated openings (as best understood, 38); wherein the outer plate comprises one central rectangular hollow gap (42), one top circular hole (a top 48 wrt fig 4), one bottom hole (a bottom 48 wrt fig 4), and one semi-circular protuberance (46), wherein the three plates are placed parallel to each other forming a central rectangular apparatus cavity by the inner plate gap, the middle plate gap, and the outer plate gap (see fig 4); and wherein the apparatus is detachably attached to a door jamb of a doorframe, and the method comprises steps of: i) positioning inner plate within door jamb cavity (see fig 2), ii) placing the middle plate over the inner plate and securing the middle plate with the first wood screws set, wherein the middle plate is secured in a non-adjustable manner to the door jamb over (30 does not allow adjustment) a latch and/or a deadbolt cavity (Col 1 lines 45-62 and Col 5 lines 13-22) and ,iii) placing the outer plate over the middle plate and coupling the outer plate relative to the middle plate, with the second screw set (see fig 2), the screws passing through elongated openings of the middle plate into aligned holes of the inner plate to permit positional alignment of the outer plate relative to the fixed middle plate (see fig 2), while the middle plate remains stationary relative to the door jamb (do to 32); and after positional alignment, securing the outer plate relative to the middle plate by screws of the second screw set (Col 1 lines 45-62).
However, Thiel does not teach the wood screws are #6 x 1.25 screws.
Home security Upgrade teaches using longer screws on a strike plate makes a home more secure and that conventionally much smaller screws are used (@1:07).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of filing of the invention, to have used longer screws in Thiel as doing so would make the strike plate more secure and #6 x 1.25” screws in particular since is it’s a screw which would be longer that would be obvious to choose (See MPEP 2141 III E).
Additionally, Thiel does not teach that the screws securing the outer plate are #6 - 32 screws.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of filing of the invention, to have used #6 – 32 screws as #6 – 32 would suitable for Thiel and using them would be choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (machine screws), with a reasonable expectation of success (securing the inner plate to the outer plate; see MPEP 2141 III. E).
In regards to claim 16, as best understood in light of previous 112 rejections, Thiel in view of Home security Upgrade teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the inner plate positioning to the door jamb limits the positioning of the latch receiving or the deadbolt receiving cavity to the central rectangular apparatus- cavity (Thiel see fig 4; also, Flora fig 3).
In regards to claim 19, Thiel in view of Home security Upgrade teaches the method of claim 15, wherein before tightening #6 - 32 screws, an installer ensures proper alignment between the latch assembly and the latch-receiving cavity (Thiel: Col 3 lines 19-32).
In regards to claim 20, Thiel in view of Home security Upgrade teaches the method of claim 15, where before tightening the #6 - 32 screws, an installer ensures proper alignment between the deadbolt assembly and the deadbolt-receiving cavity (Thiel: Col 3 lines 19-32).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thiel in view of Home security Upgrade as applied to claims 15-16 and 19-20 above, and further in view of Flora.
In regards to claim 17, as best understood in light of previous 112 rejections, Thiel in view of Home security Upgrade teaches the method of claim 15 wherein the outer plate is adjustably secured relative to the middle plate (Thiel see fig 4).
However, Thiel does not teach with the second screw set consisting of only two #6-32 screws positioned at a top-middle location and a bottom-middle location of the inner plate and the outer plate, the screws passing through elongated openings in the middle plate into aligned holes of the inner plate, such that the outer plate allows vertical or horizontal adjustments over the doorjamb cavity by loosening and tightening the second screw set of only two screws.
Flora teaches a similar device with a second screw set (31, see fig 5) consisting of only two screws positioned at a top-middle location and a bottom-middle location of the inner plate (see figs 3 and 5) and the outer plate, the screws passing through elongated openings in the middle plate into aligned holes of the inner plate (see fig 3), such that the outer plate allows vertical or horizontal adjustments over the doorjamb cavity by loosening and tightening the second screw set of only two screws (see figs 3-5 and page 1 left Col lines 4-11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of filing of the invention, to have modified Thiel the second screw set consisting of only two #6-32 screws positioned at a top-middle location and a bottom-middle location of the inner plate and the outer plate, the screws passing through elongated openings in the middle plate into aligned holes of the inner plate in order to allow adjustment longitudinally and vertically, allowing greater accommodation of a bolt (Flora page 1 left Col lines 4-11) and to save on materials.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thiel in view of Non-patent Literature “Home security upgrade” as applied to claims 15-16 and 19-20 above, and further in view of Non-patent Literature “Mortise Cut Modification & Strike Plate Installation”,
In regards to claim 18, Thiel in view of home security upgrade teaches the method of claim 15.
However, Thiel does not teach wherein the door jamb cavity is deepened by 5/16" and the inner plate is positioned into the cavity.
Mortise Cut Modification & Strike Plate Installation teaches removing a poor condition strike plate (@0:31) and in order to install a new strike plate, deepening the cutout in the frame (@4:05) so as to accommodate an extra plate flush with the door frame (@5:15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of filing of the invention, to have “installed into a doorframe pre-fabricated cavity” in order to replace a defective door jamb and to have increasing the depth of said cavity since Thiel teaches a thicker door strike and it’s describe for the strike to be flush with the frame for visual and operational purposes, and it further would have been obvious for that depth change to be 5/16” as the depth added would correlate to the extra thickness of Thiel which would depend on its size and proportion which has been found obvious to change (See MPEP 2144.04 IV A).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-4, and 8 would be allowed if drawing and/or claim objections are overcome.
Claims 6-7 10-14, 21, and 23 would be allowable if the 112 rejections are properly overcome.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art does not teach or fairly suggest the adjustable striker plate apparatus as claimed in independent claim 1 of the instant application. The examiner can find no motivation to combine or modify the references of record without the use of impermissible hindsight.
Regarding claims 1, the prior art of record, including Thiel, teaches adjustable striker plate apparatuses having much of the claimed structure, but fails to teach each and every limitation of the claims. Specifically, the prior art fails to teach wherein the four rectangular perpendicular protuberances extending outward from the middle plate at top, bottom, left, and right locations, wherein the four perpendicular protuberances cooperate with the central rectangular hollow gap of the middle plate to define an inter-plate cavity that receives, positions, and constrains the inner plate relative to the middle plate, in addition to the other claimed structure and functionality. One of ordinary skill in the art would not find it obvious to modify the structure and functionality of the perpendicular protuberances of the prior art to be configured and to function as claimed in the instant application without the use of hindsight and/or destroying the references. Therefore, the prior art does not disclose adjustable striker plate apparatus of claim 1.
Conclusion
/PETER H WATSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3675