DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 3-10 and 12-13 are currently amended.
Claims 2, 11 and 14-18 are as previously presented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s new argument with respect to claim 1, 13 have been considered but are moot based on new found rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 12-15, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Misumi et al. (US 20240085209) in view of Kasazumi et al. (US 20180157037), and Kunii et al. (US 20220244066).
Regarding claim 1, Misumi discloses a vehicle drive assist apparatus to be applied to a vehicle, the vehicle drive assist apparatus comprising (driving assistance apparatus – see Fig.1, paragraph 0024):
a traveling environment information acquirer comprising at least one of a camera or a sensor, the traveling environment information acquirer configured to acquire traveling environment information on an area around the vehicle (the ambient environmental sensor group acquires information on area around the vehicle – see Fig 1, paragraphs 0025-0026);
a controller configured to (controller – Fig2. 0024): project a course image, on a road surface ahead of the vehicle, indicating a turning direction of the vehicle (display device configured to display image on the road surface ahead of the vehicle indicating turning direction of the vehicle – see Fig.4A-4D, paragraphs 0023-0024,0045, 0102;
However, Misumi does not explicitly discloses estimate a turn position of the vehicle, using the detected face orientation or a direction of the detected line of sight of the driver, the turn position being a position in a traveling lane of the vehicle and facing an entry location that the driver causes the vehicle to enter by right or left turn;
when detecting that the turn position is not an intersection, calculate a distance from the vehicle to the turn position based on the acquired traveling environment information and project on the road surface the course image indicating the calculated distance from the vehicle to the turn position and the turning direction of the vehicle
Kasazumi discloses estimate a turn position of the vehicle, using the detected face orientation or a direction of the detected line of sight of the driver, the turn position being a position in a traveling lane of the vehicle and facing an entry location that the driver causes the vehicle to enter by right or left turn (estimate turn position of the vehicle based on the eye location information obtained from the eye location detector – see include but are not limited to Fig. 3, paragraphs 0030-0031); when detecting that the turn position is not an intersection, calculate a distance from the vehicle to the turn position based on the acquired traveling environment information and project on the road surface the course image indicating the calculated distance from the vehicle to the turn position and the turning direction of the vehicle (the navigation system detects the turning positions and display distance as it approach the determined location. Project on the road surface the picture of the distance from the vehicle to the determined location and arrow pointing to the turning direction of the vehicle – see include but are not limited to Fig.3 paragraphs 0030-0031, 0033, 0047).
Misumi and Kasazumi are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor and are reasonably pertinent to the problem addressed by the claimed invention namely – a navigation device displaying virtual image using map and environment information.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Misumi with the teaching of estimate a turn position of the vehicle, using the detected face orientation or a direction of the detected line of sight of the driver, the turn position being a position in a traveling lane of the vehicle and facing an entry location that the driver causes the vehicle to enter by right or left turn; when detecting that the turn position is not an intersection, calculate a distance from the vehicle to the turn position based on the acquired traveling environment information and project on the road surface the course image indicating the calculated distance from the vehicle to the turn position and the turning direction of the vehicle as taught by Kasazumi in order to yield predicable result of improve the driver from greatly moving his/her point of view during driving [0003].
Additionally, Misumi in view of Kasazumi does not explicitly disclose project a course image, on a road surface ahead of the vehicle, indicating a turning direction of the vehicle to notify a moving target surrounding the vehicle of the turning direction of the vehicle, the moving target comprising at least one of an oncoming vehicle or a target moving along a sidewalk. Detecting a turn signal operation by the driver.
Kunii disclose project a course image, on a road surface ahead of the vehicle, indicating a turning direction of the vehicle to notify a moving target surrounding the vehicle of the turning direction of the vehicle, the moving target comprising at least one of an oncoming vehicle or a target moving along a sidewalk (Projecting image in the road surface to notify surrounding targets – see include, but are not limited to paragraphs 0103-0105). Detecting a turn signal operation by the driver (identify input of the turn signal – see include but are not limited to paragraph 0078).
Misumi, Kasazumi and Kunii are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor and are reasonably pertinent to the problem addressed by the claimed invention namely – a navigation device displaying virtual image using map and environment information. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Misumi in view of Kasazumi with the teaching of project a course image, on a road surface ahead of the vehicle, indicating a turning direction of the vehicle to notify a moving target surrounding the vehicle of the turning direction of the vehicle, the moving target comprising at least one of an oncoming vehicle or a target moving along a sidewalk. Detecting a turn signal operation by the driver as taught by Kunii in order to yield predicable result of increasing the safety of the driver and moving target [0089].
Regarding claim 2, Misumi in view of Kasazumi, and Kunii discloses the vehicle drive assist apparatus according to Claim 1, as discusses supra with respect to same.
Kasazumi teaches, the controller is further configured to: check whether the driver intends to turn the vehicle at the estimated turn position, and in response to determining that the driver intends to turn the vehicle at estimated the turn position, set the course image (eye detection device check whether the driver intends to turn the vehicle based on their eyes location at the turn position, wherein the display device display image when the eye detection device determines the driver intends to turn the vehicle – see Kasazumi paragraphs 0030-0031).
Regarding claim 3, Misumi in view of Kasazumi, and Kunii discloses the vehicle drive assist apparatus according to Claim 2, as discusses supra with respect to same.
Misumi teaches, wherein the controller is further configured to, in response to the turn signal operation for a direction in which the vehicle crosses an oncoming lane being detected intersection ahead of the turn position being detected, set a no-turn image at the intersection (the display unit set to non-advance image (image with traffic light color indicate the vehicle cannot advance) at traffic light when detect turn operation when the vehicle crosses an oncoming lane and the intersection and the determining unit detect the traffic light ahead of the turn position – see Misumi Fig. 3 paragraph 0067).
Regarding claim 4, Misumi in view of Kasazumi, and Kunii discloses the vehicle drive assist apparatus according to Claim 2, as discusses supra with respect to same.
Kunii teaches, wherein the controller is configured to: detect a succeeding vehicle following the vehicle; and in response the succeeding the vehicle being detected, set a succeeding vehicle-specific course image indicating the turn position and to be projected by a rear projector provided at a rear of the vehicle (detect approaching vehicles and objects and projecting the image at the rear of the vehicle to notify the turn direction of the vehicle -see include but are not limited to Figs. 2 A-B paragraphs 0049-0050, 0089).
Regarding claim 5, Misumi in view of Kasazumi, and Kunii discloses the vehicle drive assist apparatus according to Claim 3, as discusses supra with respect to same.
Misumi teaches, wherein the controller is further configured to, in response to an oncoming vehicle being detected in the oncoming lane based on the traveling environment information, display the no-turn image (the display unit is configured to display the nonadvanced image when an oncoming vehicle is detected in the oncoming lane based on the environment information acquired by the ambient environment sensor group – see Misumi paragraphs 0074-0079).
Regarding claim 6, Misumi in view of Kasazumi, and Kunii discloses the vehicle drive assist apparatus according to Claim 3, as discusses supra with respect to same.
Kunii disclose wherein the controller is configured to: detect a succeeding vehicle following the vehicle; and in response the succeeding the vehicle being detected, set a succeeding vehicle-specific course image indicating the turn position and to be projected by a rear projector provided at a rear of the vehicle (detect approaching vehicles and objects and projecting the image at the rear of the vehicle to notify the turn direction of the vehicle -see include but are not limited to Figs. 2 A-B paragraphs 0049-0050, 0089).
Regarding claim 7, Misumi in view of Kasazumi, and Kunii discloses the vehicle drive assist apparatus according to Claim 5, as discusses supra with respect to same.
Kunii disclose wherein the controller is configured to: detect a succeeding vehicle following the vehicle; and in response the succeeding the vehicle being detected, set a succeeding vehicle-specific course image indicating the turn position and to be projected by a rear projector provided at a rear of the vehicle (detect approaching vehicles and objects and projecting the image at the rear of the vehicle to notify the turn direction of the vehicle -see include but are not limited to Figs. 2 A-B paragraphs 0049-0050, 0089).
Regarding claim 8, Misumi in view of Kasazumi, and Kunii discloses the vehicle drive assist apparatus according to Claim 1, as discusses supra with respect to same.
Misumi teaches, wherein the controller is further configured to, in response to the turn signal operation for a direction in which the vehicle crosses an oncoming lane being detected intersection ahead of the turn position being detected, set a no-turn image at the intersection (the display unit set to non-advance image (image with traffic light color indicate the vehicle cannot advance) at traffic light when detect turn operation when the vehicle crosses an oncoming lane and the intersection and the determining unit detect the traffic light ahead of the turn position – see Misumi Fig. 3 paragraph 0067).
Regarding claim 9, Misumi in view of Kasazumi, and Kunii discloses the vehicle drive assist apparatus according to Claim 8, as discusses supra with respect to same.
Misumi teaches, wherein the controller is further configured to, in response to an oncoming vehicle being detected in the oncoming lane based on the traveling environment information, display the no-turn image (the display unit is configured to display the nonadvanced image when an oncoming vehicle is detected in the oncoming lane based on the environment information acquired by the ambient environment sensor group – see Misumi paragraphs 0074-0079).
Regarding claim 10, Misumi in view of Kasazumi, and Kunii discloses the vehicle drive assist apparatus according to Claim 8, as discusses supra with respect to same.
Kunii disclose the controller is configured to: detect a succeeding vehicle following the vehicle; and in response the succeeding the vehicle being detected, set a succeeding vehicle-specific course image indicating the turn position and to be projected by a rear projector provided at a rear of the vehicle (detect approaching vehicles and objects and projecting the image at the rear of the vehicle to notify the turn direction of the vehicle -see include but are not limited to Figs. 2 A-B paragraphs 0049-0050, 0089).
Regarding claim 12, Misumi in view of Kasazumi, and Kunii discloses the vehicle drive assist apparatus according to Claim 1, as discusses supra with respect to same.
Kunii disclose the controller is configured to: detect a succeeding vehicle following the vehicle; and in response the succeeding the vehicle being detected, set a succeeding vehicle-specific course image indicating the turn position and to be projected by a rear projector provided at a rear of the vehicle (detect approaching vehicles and objects and projecting the image at the rear of the vehicle to notify the turn direction of the vehicle -see include but are not limited to Figs. 2 A-B paragraphs 0049-0050, 0089).
Regarding claim 13, Misumi in view of Kasazumi and Kunii discloses a vehicle drive assist apparatus to be applied to a vehicle (driving assistance apparatus – see Fig.1, paragraph 0024), the vehicle drive assist apparatus comprising circuitry configured to acquire traveling environment information on an area around the vehicle (the ambient environmental sensor group acquires information on area around the vehicle – see Fig 1, paragraphs 0025-0026);
a controller configured to (controller – Fig2. 0024): project a course image, on a road surface ahead of the vehicle, indicating a turning direction of the vehicle (display device configured to display image on the road surface ahead of the vehicle indicating turning direction of the vehicle – see Fig.4A-4D, paragraphs 0023-0024,0045, 0102;
However, Misumi does not explicitly discloses estimate a turn position of the vehicle, using the detected face orientation or a direction of the detected line of sight of the driver, the turn position being a position in a traveling lane of the vehicle and facing an entry location that the driver causes the vehicle to enter by right or left turn;
when detecting that the turn position is not an intersection, calculate a distance from the vehicle to the turn position based on the acquired traveling environment information and project on the road surface the course image indicating the calculated distance from the vehicle to the turn position and the turning direction of the vehicle
Kasazumi discloses estimate a turn position of the vehicle, using the detected face orientation or a direction of the detected line of sight of the driver, the turn position being a position in a traveling lane of the vehicle and facing an entry location that the driver causes the vehicle to enter by right or left turn (estimate turn position of the vehicle based on the eye location information obtained from the eye location detector – see include but are not limited to Fig. 3, paragraphs 0030-0031); when detecting that the turn position is not an intersection, calculate a distance from the vehicle to the turn position based on the acquired traveling environment information and project on the road surface the course image indicating the calculated distance from the vehicle to the turn position and the turning direction of the vehicle (the navigation system detects the turning positions and display distance as it approach the determined location. Project on the road surface the picture of the distance from the vehicle to the determined location and arrow pointing to the turning direction of the vehicle – see include but are not limited to Fig.3 paragraphs 0030-0031, 0033, 0047).
Misumi and Kasazumi are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor and are reasonably pertinent to the problem addressed by the claimed invention namely – a navigation device displaying virtual image using map and environment information. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Misumi with the teaching of estimate a turn position of the vehicle, using the detected face orientation or a direction of the detected line of sight of the driver, the turn position being a position in a traveling lane of the vehicle and facing an entry location that the driver causes the vehicle to enter by right or left turn; when detecting that the turn position is not an intersection, calculate a distance from the vehicle to the turn position based on the acquired traveling environment information and project on the road surface the course image indicating the calculated distance from the vehicle to the turn position and the turning direction of the vehicle as taught by Kasazumi in order to yield predicable result of improve the driver from greatly moving his/her point of view during driving [0003].
Additionally, Misumi in view of Kasazumi does not explicitly disclose project a course image, on a road surface ahead of the vehicle, indicating a turning direction of the vehicle to notify a moving target surrounding the vehicle of the turning direction of the vehicle, the moving target comprising at least one of an oncoming vehicle or a target moving along a sidewalk. Detecting a turn signal operation by the driver.
Kunii disclose project a course image, on a road surface ahead of the vehicle, indicating a turning direction of the vehicle to notify a moving target surrounding the vehicle of the turning direction of the vehicle, the moving target comprising at least one of an oncoming vehicle or a target moving along a sidewalk (Projecting image in the road surface to notify surrounding targets – see include, but are not limited to paragraphs 0103-0105). Detecting a turn signal operation by the driver (identify input of the turn signal – see include but are not limited to paragraph 0078).
Misumi, Kasazumi and Kunii are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor and are reasonably pertinent to the problem addressed by the claimed invention namely – a navigation device displaying virtual image using map and environment information. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Misumi in view of Kasazumi with the teaching of project a course image, on a road surface ahead of the vehicle, indicating a turning direction of the vehicle to notify a moving target surrounding the vehicle of the turning direction of the vehicle, the moving target comprising at least one of an oncoming vehicle or a target moving along a sidewalk. Detecting a turn signal operation by the driver as taught by Kunii in order to yield predicable result of increasing the safety of the driver and moving target [0089].
Regarding claim 14, Misumi in view of Kasazumi, Seymour and Puri discloses the vehicle drive assist apparatus according to Claim 13, as discusses supra with respect to same.
Misumi teaches wherein the circuitry is configured to, in response to the turn signal operation for a direction in which the vehicle crosses an oncoming lane being detected intersection ahead of the turn position being detected, set a no-turn image at the intersection (the display unit set to non-advance image at traffic light when detect turn operation when the vehicle crosses an oncoming lane and the intersection and the determining unit detect the traffic light ahead of the turn position – see Misumi Fig. 3 paragraph 0067).
Regarding claim 15, Misumi in view of Kasazumi, and Kunii discloses the vehicle drive assist apparatus according to Claim 14, as discusses supra with respect to same.
Misumi teaches, wherein the circuitry is configured to in response to an oncoming vehicle being detected in the oncoming lane based on the traveling environment information, display the no-turn image (the display unit is configured to display the nonadvanced image when an oncoming vehicle is detected in the oncoming lane based on the environment information acquired by the ambient environment sensor group – see Misumi paragraphs 0074-0079).
Regarding claim 17, Misumi in view of Kasazumi, and Kunii discloses the vehicle drive assist apparatus according to claim 13, as discusses supra with respect to same.
Kasazumi teaches, wherein the circuitry is configured to project the calculated distance indicated in the course image gradually decrease as the vehicle travels (the display distance decrease as the vehicle move toward the target location – see include but are not limited to Kasazumi paragraph 0033).
Regarding claim 18, Misumi in view of Kasazumi, Kunii discloses the vehicle drive assist apparatus according to claim 1, as discusses supra with respect to same.
Kasazumi teaches, wherein the controller is configured to project the calculated distance indicated in the course image gradually decrease as the vehicle travels (the display distance decrease as the vehicle move toward the target location – see include but are not limited to Kasazumi paragraph 0033).
Claims 11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Misumi et al. (US 20240085209), Kasazumi et al. (US 20180157037), Kunii et al. (US 20220244066) and in further view of Yoshikawa at al. (US 20220194370).
Regarding claim 11, Misumi, Kasazumi, and Kunii discloses the vehicle drive assist apparatus according to Claim 5, the controller is configured to: a rear projector provided at a rear of the vehicle (displaying the image above and behind the vehicle – see Misumi paragraph 0045),
However, Misumi, Kasazumi, and Kunii does not discloses detect a succeeding vehicle following the vehicle; and in response to the succeeding vehicle being detected, set a succeeding vehicle-specific course image indicating the turn position and to be projected by a rear projector provided at a rear of the vehicle.
Yoshikawa discloses detect a succeeding vehicle following the vehicle (the processor detects the approaching vehicle – paragraph 0006); and in response to the succeeding vehicle, set a succeeding vehicle-specific course image indicating the turn position and to be projected by the rear projector (the turn-signal display approaching vehicle image indicating the turn direction and project it on the rear display – see paragraphs 0006-0007).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Misumi, Kasazumi, and Kunii with the teaching of discloses detect a succeeding vehicle following the vehicle; and in response to the succeeding vehicle being detected, set a succeeding vehicle-specific course image indicating the turn position and to be projected by a rear projector provided at a rear of the vehicle as taught by Yoshikawa in order to yield predicable result of increasing safety of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 16, Misumi, Kasazumi, and Kunii discloses the vehicle drive assist apparatus according to Claim 13, wherein the circuitry is configured to: a rear projector provided at a rear of the vehicle (displaying the image above and behind the vehicle – see Misumi paragraph 0045),
However, Misumi, Kasazumi, and Kunii does not discloses detect a succeeding vehicle following the vehicle, in response to the succeeding vehicle being detected, set a succeeding vehicle-specific course image indicating the turn position and to be projected by a rear projector provided at a rear at a rear of the vehicle.
Yoshikawa discloses detect a succeeding vehicle following the vehicle (the processor detects the approaching vehicle – paragraph 0006), in response to the succeeding vehicle being detected, set a succeeding vehicle-specific course image indicating the turn position and to be projected by a rear projector provided at a rear of the vehicle (the turn-signal display approaching vehicle image indicating the turn direction and project it on the rear display – see paragraphs 0006-0007).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Misumi, Kasazumi, and Kunii with the teaching of discloses detect a succeeding vehicle following the vehicle, in response to the succeeding vehicle being detected, set a succeeding vehicle-specific course image indicating the turn position and to be projected by a rear projector provided at a rear at a rear of the vehicle as taught by Yoshikawa in order to yield predicable result of increasing safety of the vehicle.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure:
Yokota et al. (US 20190147272) discloses tracking driver’s gaze for face orientation when driving.
He et al. (US 20200380257) discloses vehicle projecting image on road surface.
Roy et al. (US 11926344) discloses light projector receives the illumination signal and projects a beam of light onto a portion of a road on which the pedestrian or cyclist is currently situated to visually notify the pedestrian or cyclist that the autonomous vehicle is presently tracking the pedestrian or cyclist.
Stefani et al. (US 8260536) the information is converted into a graphic display image and the image is projected onto a portion of the road surface ahead of the road vehicle, to allow the driver of the road vehicle to view the image without distracting the driver's attention from the road
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.K.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3665 /CHRISTIAN CHACE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665