DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 18-37 of the instant application are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-17 of parent case 16/077975 (now U.S. Patent No. 11,635,202 B2). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claims 18-37 of the instant application are broader than Claims 1-17 of parent case 16/077975 (now U.S. Patent No. 11,635,202 B2). Each and every element of the apparatus of Claims 18-37 of the instant application can be found in Claims 1-17 of the parent case. For example, all elements of Independent Claim 18 of the instant application are present in Independent Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,635,202 B2 but Claim 18 of the instant application is broader than Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,635,202 B2 since Claim 18 of the instant application does not establish (at least) a “direct steam generator” and a “pressure reducing device” which is required by Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,635,202 B2. The same applies to each of Claims 18-37 of the instant application relative to Claims 1-17 of parent case 16/077975 (now U.S. Patent No. 11,635,202 B2). Note that since Claims 18-37 of the instant application and Claim 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,635,202 B2 are not identical, this is a nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
The differences between Claims 18-37 of the instant application and Claims 1-17 of the issued application is that Claims 1-17 of the issued application include further limitations (i.e., Claims 18-37 of the instant application are broader than Claims 1-17 of the issued application). Therefore, Claims 1-17 of the issued application are in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of Claims 18-37 of the instant application and it has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since Claims 18-37 of the instant application are anticipated by Claims 1-17 of the issued application, Claims 18-37 of the instant application are not patentably distinct from Claims 1-17 of the issued application. Claims 18-37 of the instant application are therefore rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because reference numeral (27) in Fig. 1 has no corresponding line to match it to an element in the figure.
Claim Objections
The claims listed below are objected to because of the following informalities:
In each of Claims 21 and 22, change “the feedwater” to -- a feedwater --
In Claim 27, change “the second fluid” to -- a second fluid --
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a pressure reducing device” (Claim 23)
“water return system” (Claim 23)
“a pressure reducing device” (from Claim 23) is being interpreted as: a throttling valve, and equivalents thereof
“water return system” (from Claim 23) is being interpreted as: a system comprising a return pump disposed in a return conduit, and equivalents thereof
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pronske et al. (US 2014/0137779 A1) (hereinafter “Pronske”) in view of Soukup et al. (US 4,330,038) (hereinafter "Soukup") and Goto (JP 2004156825 A) (see attached original document and translation for reference).
Regarding Claim 18, Pronske teaches of a heat exchanger (heat exchanger comprising “Condenser” as shown in Fig. 3), comprising:
a condenser portion (portion of the “Condenser” inside of the enclosure of the condenser that feeds conduit (54) as shown in Fig. 3) configured to route saturated steam through the condenser portion via a condenser side steam conduit (53) and configured to condense the saturated steam to form a condensate (see at least [0053]-[0056], [0061] and Fig. 3), wherein the condenser portion is surrounded by an enclosure (the outer enclosure of the “Condenser” as shown in Fig. 3) (see at least [0060]-[0062] and Fig. 3); and
an evaporator portion of the close coupled heat exchanger (portion that feeds conduit (58)) that comprises a corrugated heat exchange element (the corrugated conduit that extends through the “Condenser” as shown in Fig. 3) (see at least [0061]-[0062] and Fig. 3).
Pronske fails to explicitly teach that the evaporator portion is configured to evaporate the condensate. However, doing so is well known in the art.
Soukup discloses a relatable system for generating steam (Fig. 2) that comprises a direct steam generator (1) that feeds saturated steam and combustion exhaust constituents to a close coupled heat exchanger (7). The close coupled heat exchanger comprises a condenser portion that feeds a separation tank (8) in addition to an evaporator portion that receives condensate from the evaporator portion and evaporates the condensate to form steam (“steam from heat exchanger 7” - see at least Col. 5 lines 7-22 and Fig. 2). It is advantageous for the evaporator section to be able to form steam itself because the steam, as opposed to heated water, can be put to use immediately upon exit of the evaporator section (see at least Col. 5 lines 7-22 and Fig. 2).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the apparatus taught by Pronske by configuring the existing evaporator portion of the close coupled heat exchanger to directly evaporate the condensate to form steam based on the teachings of Soukup. Doing so would have enabled the evaporator section taught by Pronske to output useable steam directly from the evaporator section itself that could then (at least) be more easily superheated in the existing superheater taught by Pronske (since the fluid temperature at the superheater inlet would become higher as a result). Note that such modification would have necessarily resulted in the evaporator portion being configured to evaporate the condensate as claimed.
Furthermore, Pronske fails to explicitly teach that the condenser portion of the close coupled heat exchanger also includes a corrugated heat exchange element that is arranged such that the corrugated heat exchange element of the evaporator is disposed on an opposite side of the enclosure from the corrugated heat exchange element of the condenser portion.
Goto discloses a relatable heat exchanger (1) that comprises a first portion (first portion comprising passage (19)) through which a first fluid passes (as is shown via the flow arrows in Fig. 6) (see at least [0015]-[0018] and Figs. 6-7) and a second portion (second portion comprising passage (17)) through which a second fluid passes (as is shown via the flow arrows in Fig. 6) (see at least [0015]-[0018] and Figs. 6-7). Goto teaches that each portion comprises its own corrugated heat exchange element (elements 15 and 13 respectively) and that a corrugated heat exchange element (15) of the first portion is disposed on an opposite side of an enclosure (at least the enclosure formed by the plates that sandwich element (15) between them as shown in Fig. 6) from a corrugated heat exchange element (17) of the second portion (as is shown in Figs. 6-7) (see at least [0015]-[0018] and Figs. 6-7). Goto teaches that configuring the first and second heat exchange portions to each have their own corrugated heat exchange element and arranging the same in the fashion demonstrated is advantageous because, inter alia, “heat exchange efficiency can be increased” (see at least [0018], [0065] and Fig. 6).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have further modified the apparatus taught by Pronske by configuring the existing first condenser portion of the close coupled heat exchanger to also include a corrugated heat exchange element that is arranged such that the corrugated heat exchange element of the existing second evaporator portion would be disposed on an opposite side of an enclosure from the corrugated heat exchange element of the first condenser portion based on the teachings of Goto. Doing so would have, inter alia, led to increased heat exchange efficiency. Note that such modification would have necessarily resulted in the condenser portion comprising a first corrugated heat exchange element and the evaporator portion comprising a second corrugated heat exchange element that are arranged as claimed. Therefore, such modification would have necessarily resulted in the invention as claimed.
Regarding Claim 19, Pronske also teaches of a direct steam generator (“Oxy-Fuel Combustor”) (see at least [0043] and Fig. 3) fluidly coupled with the close coupled heat exchanger via the condenser side steam conduit (53) (as is shown in Fig. 3 - see at least [0043]-[0045] and Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 20, Pronske also teaches that a feedwater provided to the direct steam generator includes produced water (“Produced Water”) (see at least [0041]-[0042] and Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 21, Pronske also teaches that a feedwater includes produced water (“produced water”) and dirty makeup water (“water which is less than substantially pure” such as “effluent”) (see at least [0014], [0041]-[0042] and Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 22, Pronske also teaches that a feedwater includes produced water (“produced water”), dirty makeup water (“water which is less than substantially pure” such as “effluent”), and bitumen process pond water (“waste water coming from a discharge of some processing facility” that may contain “bitumen”) (see at least [0012], [0014], [0041]-[0042] and Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 23, Pronske also teaches of a pressure reducing device (the throttling valve disposed in conduit (54) as shown in Fig. 3) disposed after the condenser portion of the close coupled heat exchanger (as is shown in Fig. 3) and fluidly coupled to the condenser portion of the close coupled heat exchanger via a condenser side condensate conduit (portion of conduit (54) that is upstream from the valve disposed in line (54) as shown in Fig. 3) (see at least [0062] and Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 24, Pronske also teaches of a separation tank (“H2O Storage”) and water return system (system comprising conduit (55) and the pumps within conduit (55) as shown in Fig. 3) fluidly coupled to the pressure reducing device via an expansion conduit (portion of conduit (54) that is downstream from the valve disposed in line (54) as shown in Fig. 3), wherein the separation tank and water return system is configured to separate the combustion exhaust constituents from the condensate (via the “vent” - see at least [0017], [0055] and Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 25, Pronske also teaches that the evaporator portion of the close coupled heat exchanger is fluidly coupled with the separation tank and water return system via an evaporator side condensate conduit (conduit (55) that feeds the evaporator portion as shown in Fig. 3), wherein the evaporator portion of the combined apparatus would be configured to evaporate the condensate from the separation tank and water return system via heat transfer between the condenser portion and evaporator portion to form super-heated steam as taught by Soukup (see at least Fig. 2 of Soukup and the rejection for Claim 18 above and note that depending on the fluid temperatures used, the combined apparatus would be capable of, and thus configured to, form super-heated steam as claimed). Therefore, the combined apparatus would have necessarily resulted in the invention as claimed.
Claims 26-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pronske in view of Goto.
Regarding Claim 26, Pronske teaches of a close coupled heat exchanger (heat exchanger comprising “Condenser” a shown in Fig. 3) that comprises a condenser portion (portion of the “Condenser” inside of the enclosure of the condenser that feeds conduit (54) as shown in Fig. 3) configured to route a first fluid (“saturated steam”) through the condenser portion (see at least [0053]-[0056], [0061] and Fig. 3), wherein the condenser portion is surrounded by an enclosure (the outer enclosure of the “Condenser” as shown in Fig. 3) (see at least [0060]-[0062] and Fig. 3); and
an evaporator portion of the close coupled heat exchanger (portion that feeds conduit (58)) that comprises a corrugated heat exchange element (the corrugated conduit that extends through the “Condenser” as shown in Fig. 3) (see at least [0061]-[0062] and Fig. 3).
Pronske fails to explicitly teach of the condenser portion of the close coupled heat exchanger also including a corrugated heat exchange element that is arranged such that the corrugated heat exchange element of the existing evaporator portion is disposed on an opposite side of the enclosure from the corrugated heat exchange element of the condenser portion and a first and second corrugated heat exchange element are formed.
Goto discloses a relatable heat exchanger (1) that comprises a first portion (first portion comprising passage (19)) through which a first fluid passes (as is shown via the flow arrows in Fig. 6) (see at least [0015]-[0018] and Figs. 6-7) and a second portion (second portion comprising passage (17)) through which a second fluid passes (as is shown via the flow arrows in Fig. 6) (see at least [0015]-[0018] and Figs. 6-7). Goto teaches that each portion comprises its own corrugated heat exchange element (elements 15 and 13 respectively) and that a corrugated heat exchange element (15) of the first portion is disposed on an opposite side of an enclosure (at least the enclosure formed by the plates that sandwich element (15) between them as shown in Fig. 6) from a corrugated heat exchange element (17) of the second portion (as is shown in Figs. 6-7) (see at least [0015]-[0018] and Figs. 6-7). Goto teaches that configuring the first and second heat exchange portions to each have their own corrugated heat exchange element and arranging the same in the fashion demonstrated is advantageous because, inter alia, “heat exchange efficiency can be increased” (see at least [0018], [0065] and Fig. 6).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have further modified the apparatus taught by Pronske by configuring the existing first condenser portion of the close coupled heat exchanger to also include a corrugated heat exchange element that is arranged such that the corrugated heat exchange element of the existing second evaporator portion would be disposed on an opposite side of an enclosure from the corrugated heat exchange element of the first condenser portion based on the teachings of Goto. Doing so would have, inter alia, led to increased heat exchange efficiency. Note that such modification would have necessarily resulted in the condenser portion comprising a first corrugated heat exchange element and the evaporator portion comprising a second corrugated heat exchange element that are arranged as claimed. Therefore, such modification would have necessarily resulted in the invention as claimed.
Regarding Claim 27, Pronske also teaches that the first fluid is saturated steam (“saturated steam”) (see at least [0053]-[0056], [0061] and Fig. 3) and that a second fluid (fluid that is fed to the “Condenser” from “H2O Storage”) is a condensate (condensate that is supplied into “H2O Storage” - see at least [0062] and Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 28: In the combined apparatus, the condenser portion taught by Pronske already condenses saturated steam into condensate (see at least [0062], Fig. 3 and the rejection for Claim 26 above) wherein that function would necessarily remain intact with the condenser portion comprising the extra efficient first corrugated heat exchanger element as is taught by Goto in the combined apparatus (see at least Fig. 3 of Pronske, Fig. 6 of Goto and the rejection for Claim 1 above). Thus, the combination of Pronske and Goto would have necessarily resulted in the invention as claimed.
Regarding Claim 29: Goto also teaches that the second corrugated heat exchange element of the combined apparatus that cooperates with the first corrugated heat exchanger element is configured to evaporate condensate (see at least [0042] of Goto and the rejection for Claim 26 above). Thus, the combination of Pronske and Goto would have necessarily resulted in the invention as claimed.
Regarding Claim 30: Goto also teaches that heat is transferred between the first corrugated heat exchange element and the second corrugated heat exchange element that would be used in the combined apparatus (see at least [0042] and Fig. 6 of Goto and the rejection for Claim 26 above). Thus, the combination of Pronske and Goto would have necessarily resulted in the invention as claimed.
Regarding Claim 31, Goto also teaches that the first corrugated heat exchange element (15) that would be used in the combined apparatus defines first lumens (as shown in Fig. 6) between the first corrugated heat exchange element (15) and the enclosure (the enclosure formed by the plates that sandwich element (15) between them as shown in Fig. 6) through which the first fluid flows (as is shown in Fig. 6 - see at least [0015]-[0018] and Figs. 6-7). Thus, the combination of Pronske and Goto would have necessarily resulted in the invention as claimed.
Regarding Claim 32, Goto also teaches that the second corrugated heat exchange element (17) that would be used in the combined apparatus defines second lumens (as is shown in Fig. 6) between the second corrugated heat exchange element (17) and the enclosure (the enclosure formed by the plates that sandwich element (15) between them as shown in Fig. 6) through which the second fluid flows (as is shown in Fig. 6 - see at least [0015]-[0018] and Figs. 6-7). Thus, the combination of Pronske and Goto would have necessarily resulted in the invention as claimed.
Regarding Claim 33, Goto also teaches that the enclosure that would be used in the combined apparatus (the enclosure formed by the plates that sandwich element (15) between them as shown in Fig. 6) separates the first fluid from the second fluid (as is shown in Fig. 6 - see at least [0015]-[0018] and Figs. 6-7). Thus, the combination of Pronske and Goto would have necessarily resulted in the invention as claimed.
Regarding Claim 34, Pronske teaches of a close coupled heat exchanger (heat exchanger comprising “Condenser” a shown in Fig. 3) that comprises a condenser portion (portion of the “Condenser” inside of the enclosure of the condenser that feeds conduit (54) as shown in Fig. 3) configured to route a first fluid (“saturated steam”) through the condenser portion (see at least [0053]-[0056], [0061] and Fig. 3), wherein the condenser portion is surrounded by an enclosure (the outer enclosure of the “Condenser” as shown in Fig. 3) (see at least [0060]-[0062] and Fig. 3); and
an evaporator portion of the close coupled heat exchanger (portion of the condenser that feeds conduit (58)) that comprises a corrugated heat exchange element (the corrugated conduit that extends through the “Condenser” as shown in Fig. 3) (see at least [0061]-[0062] and Fig. 3).
Pronske fails to explicitly teach of the condenser portion of the close coupled heat exchanger also including a corrugated heat exchange element that is arranged such that the corrugated heat exchange element of the existing evaporator portion is disposed on an opposite side of the enclosure from the corrugated heat exchange element of the condenser portion and first and second corrugated heat exchange elements are formed and such that the first corrugated heat exchange element and the enclosure define lumens through which the first fluid flows while the second corrugated heat exchange element and the enclosure define lumens through which the second fluid flows.
Goto discloses a relatable heat exchanger (1) that comprises a first portion (first portion comprising passage (19)) through which a first fluid passes (as is shown via the flow arrows in Fig. 6) (see at least [0015]-[0018] and Figs. 6-7) and a second portion (second portion comprising passage (17)) through which a second fluid passes (as is shown via the flow arrows in Fig. 6) (see at least [0015]-[0018] and Figs. 6-7). Goto teaches that each portion comprises its own corrugated heat exchange element (elements 15 and 13 respectively) and that a corrugated heat exchange element (15) of the first portion is disposed on an opposite side of an enclosure (at least the enclosure formed by the plates that sandwich element (15) between them as shown in Fig. 6) from a corrugated heat exchange element (17) of the second portion (as is shown in Figs. 6-7) (see at least [0015]-[0018] and Figs. 6-7). Goto also teaches that the first corrugated heat exchange element (15) and the enclosure define lumens through which the first fluid flows (as is shown in Fig. 6) while the second corrugated heat exchange element (17) and the enclosure define lumens through which the second fluid flows (as is shown in Fig. 6 - see at least [0015]-[0018] and Figs. 6-7). Goto teaches that configuring the first and second heat exchange portions to each have their own corrugated heat exchange element and corresponding lumens and arranging the same in the fashion demonstrated is advantageous because, inter alia, “heat exchange efficiency can be increased” (see at least [0018], [0065] and Fig. 6).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have further modified the apparatus taught by Pronske by configuring the existing first condenser portion of the close coupled heat exchanger to also include a corrugated heat exchange element that is arranged such that the corrugated heat exchange element of the existing second evaporator portion would be disposed on an opposite side of an enclosure from the corrugated heat exchange element of the first condenser portion based on the teachings of Goto and to have configured the first corrugated heat exchange element and the enclosure to define lumens through which the first fluid flows while the second corrugated heat exchange element and the enclosure define lumens through which the second fluid flows as is also taught by Goto. Doing so would have, inter alia, led to increased heat exchange efficiency. Note that such modification would have necessarily resulted in the condenser portion comprising a first corrugated heat exchange element and the evaporator portion comprising a second corrugated heat exchange element that are arranged as claimed. Therefore, such modification would have necessarily resulted in the invention as claimed.
Regarding Claim 35, Goto also teaches that heat is transferred between the first fluid and the second fluid across the enclosure that would be used in the combined apparatus (the enclosure formed by the plates that sandwich element (15) between them as shown in Fig. 6) (see at least [0015]-[0018], Figs. 6-7 and the rejection for Claim 34 above).
Regarding Claim 36, Goto also teaches that heat is transferred between the first corrugated heat exchange element (15) and the second corrugated heat exchange element (17) that would be used in the combined apparatus (see at least [0018], Figs. 6-7 and the rejection for Claim 34 above).
Regarding Claim 37, Pronske and Goto also teach that the first fluid is a hot fluid and the second fluid is a cold fluid (Note that the limitations “hot fluid” and “cold fluid” in the context claimed are being interpreted as fluids with relative temperatures to one another wherein a first fluid with a higher temperature than a second fluid can be considered a “hot fluid” relative to the second fluid while the second fluid can be considered a “cold fluid” relative to the first fluid. In the instant case, this exact relationship is taught by both Pronske and Goto (see at least [0061]-[0062] of Pronske, [0018] and Figs. 6-7 of Goto (“high-temperature fluid”/“low-temperature fluid) and the rejection for Claim 34 above). Thus, the combination of Pronske and Goto would have necessarily resulted in the invention as claimed.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure in terms of structure and use:
Maeda et al. (US 8,651,170 B2)
Yin et al. (US 8,550,153 B2)
Ogawa (US 5,560,424)
/BENJAMIN W JOHNSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3762 4/30/2026
/HELENA KOSANOVIC/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762