DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 21 March 2023 has/have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. “turn on or off coupling between the inner flow path and a cabin air-conditioning circuit in which the heat medium contributing to air conditioning in a cabin of the vehicle circulates”, wherein the underlined portions are unclear. Figures 9-14 indicate that the shutter component 54 is attached to the heater loop 150 of the vehicle HVAC system 100. This would indicate that this is not attached to the air conditioning portion of the HVAC system, appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wechsler et al (US 20210339641 A1) modified by Suzuki et al. (JP 2012156083 A)
Regarding claim 1, Wechsler teaches a contactless charger comprising: a power receiving coil mounted in a vehicle and configured to contactlessly receive power from a power supply coil outside the vehicle via an electromagnetic field and to supply the received power to a battery (¶0074 “FIG. 3, an arrangement 11 is shown comprising a power transfer pad 10 comprising a primary conductor arrangement (not visible) and a device 13 comprising a secondary conductor arrangement (not visible). The device 13 is a vehicle, such as a car, of which only a section 15 of its underfloor is shown”);
a shutter disposed in the vehicle to be positioned between the power receiving coil and the power supply coil when the power receiving coil is positioned to face the power supply coil (¶0086 “inductive power transfer pad 10 comprises a number of air inlet portions 44. A first type of air inlet portion 44 is provided by at least one opening 46 at an underside of the stationary member 12”);
and switching valves, wherein the shutter comprises: an inner flow path through which a heat medium flows; (¶0086 “Due to the gap created by the spaces 42 between the floor and the base member 26 of the stationary part 12, air indicated by arrows in FIG. 1 can stream through the opening 46 into the interior space 48 or, more specifically, be sucked into said space 48 by means of the fan 42”; wherein air is the heat medium)
a movable member configured to open and close so as to change a projected area of the movable member with respect to the power receiving coil, to generate heat due to electromagnetic induction induced with the power supply coil (¶0092 “the flap 62 comprises non-specifically illustrated pins acting as connecting members which are received in the movable part 18 in a rotatable manner (e.g. in receiving sections within the base plate 32 or the cover member 41). The flap 62 can thus rotate about a horizontal spatial axis extending orthogonally to the plane of FIG. 2, thereby changing between its opened and closed state”, ¶0081 “A moving mechanism 30 which comprises a scissor lift as well as an actuator (not shown) assumes an extended state in FIG. 1, thus lifting the movable part 18 away from the stationary part 12 and out of the recess 16. The moving mechanism 30 is connected to an aluminium base plate 32 of the movable part 18. Said base plate 32 functions as a shield against the electromagnetic field generated and/or received by a primary conductor arrangement 36 of the movable part 18. Also, said base plate 32 may carry a non-illustrated ferrite arrangement for guiding the magnetic flux in a desired manner”; moving mechanism 30 can be adjusted to increase or decrease the amount of magnetic flux received by primary conductor arrangement 36),
and to transfer the generated heat to the heat medium flowing through the inner flow path (¶0077 “FIG. 3, a coordinate system is shown in which the x-y plane marks a horizontal spatial plane which is parallel to and/or contains e.g. a footprint of the stationary and movable parts 12, 18… FIG. 3, the movable part is shown in an extended state in which it inductively charges the device 13 and further provides an airflow 22 which is depicted by a plurality of thin lines”),
and the switching valves are configured to turn on or off coupling between the inner flow path and a battery temperature control circuit in which the heat medium for adjusting a temperature of the battery circulates (¶0090 “the airflow 22 then continues by streaming along the upper side 20 towards an opposite edge region of the movable part 18, thus covering a large portion of the upper side 20. This way, heat can be removed from the interior space 48 of the inductive power transfer pad 10 as well as from the free space 40, thereby cooling the components of the inductive power transfer pad 10”),
Wechsler does not teach a contactless charger comprising switching valves are configured to turn on or off coupling between the inner flow path and a cabin air-conditioning circuit in which the heat medium contributing to air conditioning in a cabin of the vehicle circulates.
Suzuki teaches a contactless charger comprising switching valves are configured to turn on or off coupling between the inner flow path and a cabin air-conditioning circuit in which the heat medium contributing to air conditioning in a cabin of the vehicle circulates (¶0024 “The bidirectional fan 54 is an electric fan capable of switching a rotation direction between forward rotation and reverse rotation in order to perform air conditioning related to heat generation of the power receiving coil 52”, ¶0028 “control unit 40 has a function of controlling the operation of the bidirectional fan 54 for performing air conditioning related to heat generation of the power receiving coil 52”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify contactless charger as taught by Wechsler to further comprise switching valves are configured to turn on or off coupling between the inner flow path and a cabin air-conditioning circuit in which the heat medium contributing to air conditioning in a cabin of the vehicle circulates as taught by Suzuki for the purpose of warming the battery to optimize power supplied to the power receiving coil and prolong the battery’s lifespan.
Regarding claim 2, Wechsler as modified by Suzuki teaches the contactless charger according to Claim 1. The device 13, as taught by Wechsler, is described in ¶0074 wherein “The device 13 is a vehicle, such as a car, of which only a section 15 of its underfloor is shown”. Vehicles necessarily have processors with non-transitory memory to store instructions for various on-board operations. Wechsler as modified by Suzuki does not teach a contactless charger further comprising a control device, wherein the control device comprises: one or multiple processors; and one or multiple memories coupled to the one or multiple processors, the one or multiple processors are configured to execute processing, the processing comprising: controlling an opening degree of the movable member based on a state of charge of the battery, the temperature of the battery, and presence of a request for the air conditioning in the cabin when the power receiving coil is at a position where the power receiving coil can contactlessly receive the power from the power supply coil.
Suzuki further teaches a contactless charger further comprising a control device, wherein the control device comprises: one or multiple processors (¶0023 “The vehicle cabin thermometer 32 is a temperature sensor provided mainly for air-conditioning control of the seat space. A detection value of the casing thermometer 32 is transmitted to a control unit 40”);
and one or multiple memories coupled to the one or multiple processors (control unit 40 necessarily has a non-transitory medium for storing and executing instructions),
the one or multiple processors are configured to execute the processing comprising: controlling an opening degree of the movable member based on a state of charge of the battery, the temperature of the battery (¶0027 “The detection value of the electricity storage device thermometer 30 is transmitted to the control unit 40 through an appropriate signal line”),
and presence of a request for the air conditioning in the cabin (¶0023 “The vehicle cabin thermometer 32 is a temperature sensor provided mainly for air-conditioning control of the seat space. A detection value of the casing thermometer 32 is transmitted to a control unit 40”)
when the power receiving coil is at a position where the power receiving coil can contactlessly receive the power from the power supply coil (¶0028 “control unit 40 has a function of controlling the operation of the bidirectional fan 54 for performing air conditioning related to heat generation of the power receiving coil 52.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify contactless charger as taught by Wechsler as modified by Suzuki, to further comprise a control device, wherein the control device comprises: one or multiple processors the processing comprising: controlling an opening degree of the movable member based on a state of charge of the battery, the temperature of the battery and presence of a request for the air conditioning in the cabin, as taught by Suzuki, for the purpose of warming the battery to optimize power supplied to the power receiving coil and prolong the battery’s lifespan.
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wechsler as modified by Suzuki and further in view of Ichikawa et al (US 20160114687 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Wechsler as modified by Suzuki teaches the contactless charger according to Claim 2, Wechsler as modified by Suzuki does not teach a contactless charger wherein the one or multiple processors are configured to execute processing, the processing further comprising: controlling the temperature of the battery (Suzuki ¶0027 “The detection value of the electricity storage device thermometer 30 is transmitted to the control unit 40 through an appropriate signal line”),
and the presence of the request for the air conditioning in the cabin (Suzuki ¶0023 “The vehicle cabin thermometer 32 is a temperature sensor provided mainly for air-conditioning control of the seat space. A detection value of the casing thermometer 32 is transmitted to a control unit 40”)
when the power receiving coil is at the position where the power receiving coil can contactlessly receive the power from the power supply coil (Suzuki ¶0028 “control unit 40 has a function of controlling the operation of the bidirectional fan 54 for performing air conditioning related to heat generation of the power receiving coil 52.”).
Wechsler as modified by Suzuki does not teach a contactless charger wherein the one or multiple processors are configured to execute processing, the processing further comprising: controlling switching of the switching valves based on the state of charge of the battery.
Ichikawa teaches a contactless charger (¶0138 “power receiving device 11 power receiving unit 200 has power receiving coil 22 and capacitor 23. For the sake on convenience, FIG. 7 does not show coil unit 24 (or ferrite core 21)”)
wherein the one or multiple processors (¶0136 “Control device 180 transmits a control signal AG to adjuster 9 to control movement mechanism 30 via adjuster 9 drivably”)
are configured to execute processing, the processing further comprising: controlling switching of the switching valves based on the state of charge of the battery (¶0148 “ control device 180 calculates a state of charge (SOC) of battery 150”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify the contactless charger as taught by Wechsler as modified by Suzuki wherein the one or multiple processors are configured to execute processing, the processing further comprising: controlling switching of the switching valves based on the state of charge of the battery, as taught by Ichikawa, for the purpose of preventing the battery from over-heating thereby improving battery safety and state of health.
Regarding claim 4, Wechsler as modified by Suzuki teaches the contactless charger according to Claim 1. Wechsler as modified by Suzuki does not teach a contactless charger further comprising a control device, the control device comprising: one or multiple processors; and one or multiple memories coupled to the one or multiple processors, wherein the one or multiple processors are configured to execute processing, the processing comprising: controlling switching of the switching valves based on a state of charge of the battery, the temperature of the battery, and presence of a request for the air conditioning in the cabin when the power receiving coil is at a position where the power receiving coil can contactlessly receive the power from the power supply coil.
Suzuki further teaches a contactless charger further comprising a control device, the control device comprising: one or multiple processors (control unit 40);
and one or multiple memories coupled to the one or multiple processors (control unit 40 necessarily has a non-transitory medium for storing and executing instructions),
wherein the one or multiple processors are configured to execute processing, the processing comprising: controlling switching of the switching valves based on a state of charge of the battery,
the temperature of the battery (¶0027 “The detection value of the electricity storage device thermometer 30 is transmitted to the control unit 40 through an appropriate signal line”),
and presence of a request for the air conditioning in the cabin (¶0023 “The vehicle cabin thermometer 32 is a temperature sensor provided mainly for air-conditioning control of the seat space. A detection value of the casing thermometer 32 is transmitted to a control unit 40”)
when the power receiving coil is at a position where the power receiving coil can contactlessly receive the power from the power supply coil (¶0028 “control unit 40 has a function of controlling the operation of the bidirectional fan 54 for performing air conditioning related to heat generation of the power receiving coil 52.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify contactless charger as taught by Wechsler as modified by Suzuki, to further comprise a control device, wherein the control device comprises: one or multiple processors the processing comprising: controlling an opening degree of the movable member based on a state of charge of the battery, the temperature of the battery and presence of a request for the air conditioning in the cabin, as taught by Suzuki, for the purpose of warming the battery to optimize power supplied to the power receiving coil and prolong the battery’s lifespan. Wechsler as modified by Suzuki does not teach a contactless charger further comprising a control device, wherein the one or multiple processors are configured to execute processing, the processing comprising: controlling switching of the switching valves based on a state of charge of the battery.
Ishikawa a contactless charger (¶0138 “power receiving device 11 power receiving unit 200 has power receiving coil 22 and capacitor 23. For the sake on convenience, FIG. 7 does not show coil unit 24 (or ferrite core 21)”)
further comprising a control device (¶0136 “Control device 180 transmits a control signal AG to adjuster 9 to control movement mechanism 30 via adjuster 9 drivably”),
wherein the one or multiple processors are configured to execute processing, the processing comprising: controlling switching of the switching valves based on a state of charge of the battery (¶0148 “ control device 180 calculates a state of charge (SOC) of battery 150”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify the contactless charger as taught by Wechsler as modified by Suzuki wherein the one or multiple processors are configured to execute processing, the processing further comprising: controlling switching of the switching valves based on the state of charge of the battery, as taught by Ichikawa, for the purpose of preventing the battery from over-heating thereby improving battery safety and state of health.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-4 are objected to because of the following informalities: “execute processing” and “the processing comprising”; which both refer to a set of instructions executed by a processor. Claim 2-4 is/are further objected to due to the informality “presence of a request”, which refers to a processor receiving a request. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 3 and 4 are objected to because of the following informalities: “controlling switching of the switching valves”, which is a redundant statement. Examiner suggests “controlling the switching valves to” instead.
Claim limitation “one or multiple memories coupled to the one or multiple processors”, as found in claims 2 and 4, invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Pg 20 “The inner flow path 60 of the shutter 54 can also be coupled to the cabin air-conditioning circuit 102 through the one or multiple switching valves 104”, wherein the entire cabin heating and cooling circuit is referred to as “air conditioning”. Typically “air-conditioning” refers only to the cooling portion of the circuit, FIG 9 depicts this portion as Chiller 120. This terminology is consistent throughout the documentation, please amend as necessary.
Appropriate correction is required.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited by Examiner attached to this correspondence.
Kuki et al. (JP H10304583 A) which teaches a wireless charging device for an electric vehicle which utilizes a shutter device to couple the transmitter and receiver coils to one another.
Taguchi et al (US 20100306262 A1) which teaches a movable shielding device on the vehicle side of a contactless charging system.
/LISA KOTOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/TAELOR KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859