DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 29 September 2025 have been fully considered but they are persuasive only in part.
First, the amendments to the specification and claims overcome the drawing objections, which are withdrawn.
Second, the claim objection is overcome by applicant’s amendment.
Third, the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are overcome by applicant’s amendments.
Fourth, regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103, applicant argues:
Applicant has amended Claims 1 and 5 by reciting that the charge port operates while the vehicle is being driven, as shown. While Jackson may broadly teach charging the batteries while the vehicle is being driven, it is respectfully asserted that the amendments would not have been obvious in the cited combination since there is no teaching, in Ito, of the connection in FIG. 8 relied on by the Examiner as being operable or even configured to charge the battery while the vehicle is being driven, either alone or as combined. Thus, it is respectfully asserted that the same would not have been obvious in the cited combination.
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. Jackson (‘014) charges the batteries 18 (with charge output from the DC to AC converter 20) while the vehicle is being driven at speeds above the first speed (e.g., about 5 mph, or alternately up to 15 mph), with charge being supplied via his electrical connection(s) 64 shown in FIG. 1. The examiner is merely (in the Ito et al. (‘015) modification) replacing the generic/non-descript electrical connection(s) 64 in Jackson (‘014) that he uses to interconnect the output of the DC to AC converter 20 and the batteries 18 in his FIG. 1 with the wire(s)/cable W having the connectors C and exterior member 1 shown in FIG. 8 of Ito et al. (‘015), in order to improve the watertightness/waterproofness of the connection (and to waterproof the electrical wire(s)/connection(s) and to protect the electrical wire(s)/connection(s) from external impacts, such as a stone). In such a modification in view of Ito et al. (‘015), the only change in Jackson (‘014) is the structure of the electrical connection(s) 64 being changed to the wire(s)/cable W with connectors C and surrounding exterior member 1 of Ito et al. (‘015), with AC charge output from the DC to AC converter 20 (which converts generated DC generated by the first generator 12 when the vehicle speed is above the first speed to AC) being sent to the batteries 18 along the electrical connection(s) 64 of Jackson (‘014) which would have obviously been implemented as the wire/exterior member/connectors W, 1, C of Ito et al. (‘015), for the reasons given. Accordingly, the examiner believes the claimed invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, for the reasons given.
Accordingly, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive in this respect.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 to 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jackson (2013/0332014) in view of Stikkers (4,165,466), Ro (2012/0007446), and Ito et al. (2019/0222015).
Jackson (‘014) reveals:
per claim 1, a Zero Emission Onboard Charging System for an electric vehicle [e.g., paragraph [0052], “The electric vehicle 10 may run on energy from the batteries 18 and from energy generated through rotation of one or more of the wheels 32, 34, 36 and/or 38. Such a design may eliminate the omission [sic] of carbon monoxide and pollutants that may otherwise be generated through the operation of an internal combustion engine.”], comprising:
at least one direct current (DC) belt driven generator [e.g., 12, 14, driven by the belt 44 and generating DC output (paragraphs [0035], [0036], etc.)];
at least one wheel [e.g., 32, 34, 36, 38];
at least one pulley [e.g., 42] attached to the at least one wheel [e.g., 36] and configured to be attached by belts [e.g., the belt 44] to the at least one DC belt driven generator, the at least one DC belt driven generator being configured to be driven by the belts attached to the at least one pulley while the electric vehicle is being driven [e.g., paragraph [0035] and [0036], “The first generator 12 can generate DC when the electric vehicle 10 has achieved a certain speed. The second generator 14 can generate DC when the electric vehicle 10 is at a range of speeds lower than those causing activation of the first generator 12.”];
a voltage regulator [e.g., the DC to AC converter 20 in FIG. 1] wired to the at least one DC belt driven generator [e.g., by the (DC) connections 60, 68 in FIG. 1], the voltage regulator being configured to regulate DC power received from the at least one DC belt driven generator and to output a grid-equivalent alternating current (AC) charge output [e.g., the extra AC output sent along electrical connections 64 in FIG. 1 to the batteries 18, where the AC provided by the DC to AC converter 20 may be about 60 hertz (paragraph [0040]), which is a grid frequency as is well-known and conventional];
. . .
a charge cable [e.g., the electrical connections 64 in FIG. 1] . . .
; and
a main battery [e.g., the lithium ion batteries 18 (paragraph [0043])] . . .;
Jackson (‘014) may not reveal that the DC belt driven generator is driven by (plural) “belts”.
Moreover, Jackson (‘014) may not reveal that the extra AC output of the DC to AC converter 20 is “grid-equivalent alternating current”, although he teaches at paragraph [0040] that, “The DC to AC converter 20 may be known as an inverter in some embodiments. The AC output sent along one or more electrical connections 62 may be about 60 hertz AC in some embodiments and the conversion by the DC to AC converter 20 may be accomplished by rapid switching using power electronics. It should be understood, though, that the amount of hertz of AC generated can be varied as desired or needed depending on the elements or components used within the electric vehicle.”
Additionally, Jackson (‘014) may not reveal the connection details (of the charge output) related to the charge box, charge cable, and charge port as they interact with the charge output from the voltage regulator and the charge output received by the main battery, with the examiner understanding that the charge box and charge port, as claimed, merely implement respective (e.g., conventional) connections (on the one hand) between the charge cable and the voltage regulator, and (on the other hand) between the charge cable and the main battery.
However, in the context/field of an improved drive apparatus for a vehicle-mounted wheel driven generator, Stikkers (‘466) teaches (e.g., in conjunction with FIGS. 1 and 2[1]) that “two belts” or “any desired number of belts” (column 4, lines 21ff) may be used to connect between sheaves 24 and 30 provided at the wheel axle (16) and at the generator shaft (22) of the adjustable mounted generator 20.
Moreover, in the context/field of an improved inverter which may be used e.g., for driving a motor of an electric vehicle (e.g., paragraph [0004]), Ro (‘446) teaches at paragraph [0040] that the “inverter 100 may provide AC 220V power that is commercial AC power”, in order to provide a power to drive or charge small appliances and portable electronic produces and to provide selectable output voltage (selected by means of the voltage selection part 140) desired by the user.
Additionally, in the context/field of an improved electrical connection (comprising an electrical wire W and exterior member 1 having first and second tubular bodies 10, 20 and connectors C, in FIGS. 1 and 2) between an inverter 42 and a battery 41 in an electric vehicle (FIG. 8), Ito et al. (‘015) teaches (at paragraph [0058]) that i) the connection between the electrical wire W and the inverter 42 is made by means of a (box-like) connector C surrounded by a (box-like) tubular body 20, and ii) the connection between the electrical wire W and the battery 41 is made by means of a (box-like) connector C surrounded by a (box-like) tubular body 20. The arrangement of the vent valve 30 in the tubular body 10 (rather than in the tubular body/bodies 20), in conjunction with the tubular bodies 20 and connectors C, prevents deterioration of waterproofness and/or looseness of the vent valve 30, wherein the tubular bodies waterproof the electrical wire(s)/connection(s) and protect the electrical wire(s)/connection(s) from external impacts, such as a stone (paragraph [0007]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement or modify the Jackson (‘014) vehicle with electric motor so that two belts (44) or any desired number of belts were utilized to connect the wheel attached pulley 42 to the pulley 46 of the generator 12, with the generator 12 being adjustably mounted as taught by Stikkers (‘466), in order that two belts would have been free of “excessive loads on the belts” (as taught at column 2, line 68 of Stikkers (‘466)) and provided instead with the desired uniform tension or loading, as a mere duplication of parts (belts) taught by Jackson (‘014) with no new or unexpected results (MPEP 2144.04, VI., B.), with a reasonable expectation of success, e.g., as combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, and as a use of a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way.
Moreover, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement or further modify the Jackson (‘014) vehicle with electric motor so that the AC output of the DC to AC converter 20 would have been provided at 60 hertz as suggested by Jackson (‘014) himself and so that the AC output of the DC to AC converter 20 would have been provided as “AC 220V power that is commercial AC power” as taught by Ro (‘446), in order that the appliances 22 to 26 (in the vehicle, in FIG. 1) would have benefited from commercial (quality/grade) AC power being used rather than a lesser quality or non-standard AC power being used, with a reasonable expectation of success, and e.g., and as a use of a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way.
Additionally, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement or further modify the Jackson (‘014) vehicle with electric motor so that the connection(s) 64 between the DC to AC converter 20 and the batteries 18 was implemented in the manner of the wire(s)/cable W and exterior member 1 (10, 20, 30) with connectors C on each end thereof (e.g., at the DC to AC converter 20 and at the batteries 18, respectively), as taught by Ito et al. (‘015) e.g., in FIG. 8, for carrying charge output from the DC to AC converter 20 to the batteries 18 even while the electric vehicle was being driven2 at speeds above the first speed, as particularly desired by Jackson (‘014), in order to improve the watertightness/waterproofness of the connection and to protect the electrical connection from external impacts such as from a stone e.g., by means of the tubular bodies 20 and the rectangular connectors C, etc., as taught by Ito et al. (‘015), with a reasonable expectation of success, and e.g., and as a use of a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way.
As such, the implemented or further modified Jackson (‘014) vehicle with electric motor would have rendered obvious:
per claim 1, a Zero Emission Onboard Charging System for an electric vehicle [e.g., in Jackson (‘014), paragraph [0052], “The electric vehicle 10 may run on energy from the batteries 18 and from energy generated through rotation of one or more of the wheels 32, 34, 36 and/or 38. Such a design may eliminate the omission [sic] of carbon monoxide and pollutants that may otherwise be generated through the operation of an internal combustion engine.”], comprising:
at least one direct current (DC) belt driven generator [e.g., in FIG. 1 of Jackson (‘014), 12, 14, driven by the belt 44 and generating DC output (paragraphs [0035], [0036], etc.)];
at least one wheel [e.g., in FIG. 1 of Jackson (‘014), 32, 34, 36, 38];
at least one pulley [e.g., in FIG. 1 of Jackson (‘014), 42; and in Stikkers (‘466), the sheave 24 having the grooves 50] attached to the at least one wheel [e.g., in Jackson (‘014), 36] and configured to be attached by belts [e.g., the two belts 33, etc. in Stikkers (‘466); and in FIG. 1 of Jackson (‘014), the belt 44] to the at least one DC belt driven generator, the at least one DC belt driven generator being configured to be driven by the belts attached to the at least one pulley while the electric vehicle is being driven [e.g., in Jackson (‘014), paragraph [0035] and [0036], “The first generator 12 can generate DC when the electric vehicle 10 has achieved a certain speed. The second generator 14 can generate DC when the electric vehicle 10 is at a range of speeds lower than those causing activation of the first generator 12.”];
a voltage regulator [e.g., in Jackson (‘014), the DC to AC converter 20 in FIG. 1] wired to the at least one DC belt driven generator [e.g., in Jackson (‘014), by the (DC) connections 60, 68 in FIG. 1], the voltage regulator being configured to regulate DC power received from the at least one DC belt driven generator and to output a grid-equivalent alternating current (AC) charge output [e.g., “AC 220V power that is commercial AC power”, as taught at paragraph [0030] in Ro (‘446), with commercial power meaning grid power; and in Jackson (‘014), the extra AC output sent along electrical connections 64 in FIG. 1 to the batteries 18, where the AC provided by the DC to AC converter 20 may be about 60 hertz (paragraph [0040]), which is a grid frequency as is well-known and conventional];
a charging box [e.g., the (rectangular/box-like) connector C and the (box-like) tubular body 20 surrounding/passing the wire(s) W that are used, in conjunction with the exterior member 1 as described in paragraph [0058], to connect the wire(s) W to the inverter 42 in FIG. 8 of Ito et al. (‘015) for improved waterproofness/watertightness, etc., wherein the (rectangular/box-like) connector C and the (box-like) tubular body 20 surrounding/passing the wire(s) W of Ito et al. (‘015) would have obviously been used to connect the electrical connection(s) 64 in Jackson (‘014) to the DC to AC converter 20] wired to the voltage regulator [e.g., by means of the wire(s) W, in Ito et al. (‘015) which connect to the inverter 42], the charging box being configured to receive the charge [e.g., via the right-most connector C in FIG. 8 of Ito et al. (‘015)] output from the voltage regulator [e.g., output from the DC to AC converter 20, in Jackson (‘014)];
a charge cable [e.g., the connection (W, 1) including the wire(s) W (e.g., within the exterior member 1) in Ito et al. (‘015); and in Jackson (‘014), the electrical connections 64 in FIG. 1, wherein each end of the connection (W, 1) in Ito et al. (‘015) has/cooperates with a connector C, wherein the wire(s) W etc. in Ito et al. (‘015) would have obviously implemented the connection(s) 64 between the DC to AC converter 20 and the batteries 18], wherein a first end of the charge cable is plugged into the charging box [e.g., the wire(s) W enters (and is obviously plugged into) the connector C which is disposed between the wire(s)/cable W and the inverter 42, in Ito et al. (‘015), and obviously between the electrical connection(s) 64 and the DC to AC converter 20 in Jackson (‘014), and as such the wire(s)/cables are obviously plugged in to (and e.g., obviously terminated in, as shown in FIG. 2 of Ito et al. (‘015)) the connector C], and wherein the charge cable is configured to receive the charge output from the charging box [e.g., as shown in FIG. 8 of Ito et al. (‘015), such that the electrical connection(s) 64 in Jackson (‘014) implemented as wire(s) W would have received the charge output (e.g., through and from a connector C) from the DC to AC converter 20];
a charge port [e.g., the (rectangular/box-like) connector C and the (box-like) tubular body 20 surrounding/passing the wire(s) W that are used, in conjunction with the exterior member 1 as described in paragraph [0058], to connect the wire(s) W to the battery 41 in FIG. 8 of Ito et al. (‘015) for improved waterproofness/watertightness, etc., wherein the (rectangular/box-like) connector C and the (box-like) tubular body 20 surrounding/passing the wire(s) W of Ito et al. (‘015) would have obviously been used to connect the electrical connection(s) 64 in Jackson (‘014) to the batteries 18] connected to the charge cable by a second end of the charge cable being plugged into the charge port [e.g., the wire(s)/cable W in Ito et al. (‘015) obviously being plugged in to (and e.g., obviously terminated in, as shown in FIG. 2) the connector C that connects to the battery 41], the charge port being configured to receive a charge output through the charge cable [e.g., as shown in FIG. 8 of Ito et al. (‘015), when the extra AC output in Jackson (‘014) is sent along the connections 64 (wire(s) W) to the batteries 18] while the electric vehicle is being driven [e.g., as described by Jackson (‘014), and/or as obvious from the description of Jackson (‘014), at paragraphs [0007], [0035], [0036], [0043], claims 1, 2, etc., wherein the first generator 12 generates DC when the vehicle has achieved a certain first speed (e.g., about 5 mph, about 10 mph, or up to 15 mph) obviously while the vehicle is being driven, and the generated DC is converted into alternating current by the DC to AC converter 20 and is supplied to the one or more batteries 18, obviously through the electrical connection(s) 64 in Jackson (’14) implemented as the wire(s)/cable W (with the connectors C) and exterior member 1 in Ito et al. (‘015); the second generator 14 in Jackson (‘014) similarly operates at lower vehicle speeds to generate DC which is converted to AC and supplied (via the electrical connection(s) 64 implemented as the wire(s)/cable W in Ito et al. (‘015)) to the batteries 18, while the vehicle is being driven]; and
a main battery [e.g., in Jackson (‘014), the lithium ion batteries 18 (paragraph [0043])] wired to the charge port, the main battery being configured to receive the charge output from the charge port while the electric vehicle is being driven [e.g., to charge the batteries 18 in Jackson (‘014), by means of the generators 14 or 12 in FIG. 1, when the vehicle is moving at speeds e.g., below or above the first speed];
per claim 2, depending from claim 1,
wherein the charge output received by the charging box from the voltage regulator is 220 volts - 240 volts [e.g., 220V as taught at paragraph [0030] in Ro (‘446)];
per claim 3, depending from claim 2, wherein the at least one DC belt drive generator is powered by the at least one pulley connected to the at least one wheel on the electric vehicle when the at least one wheel is rotated [e.g., as taught by both Jackson (‘014) and Stikkers (‘466)];
per claim 4, depending from claim 3, wherein no fuel is required to operate the electric vehicle and no fuel emission is discharged from the electric vehicle [e.g., in Jackson (‘014), paragraph [0052], “The electric vehicle 10 may run on energy from the batteries 18 and from energy generated through rotation of one or more of the wheels 32, 34, 36 and/or 38. Such a design may eliminate the omission [sic] of carbon monoxide and pollutants that may otherwise be generated through the operation of an internal combustion engine.”], and
wherein the main battery is a lithium ion battery [e.g., paragraph [0043] in Jackson (‘014)];
per claim 5, a Zero Emission Onboard Charging method for an electric vehicle [e.g., in Jackson (‘014), paragraph [0052], “The electric vehicle 10 may run on energy from the batteries 18 and from energy generated through rotation of one or more of the wheels 32, 34, 36 and/or 38. Such a design may eliminate the omission [sic] of carbon monoxide and pollutants that may otherwise be generated through the operation of an internal combustion engine.”], comprising:
mounting [e.g., to obviously obtain the structure shown in FIG. 1 of Jackson (‘014)] least one pulley [e.g., in Jackson (‘014), 42; and in Stikkers (‘466), the sheave 24 having the grooves 50] to at least one wheel [e.g., in Jackson (‘014), 32, 34, 36, 38];
attaching [e.g., to obviously obtain the structure shown in FIG. 1 of Jackson (‘014)] the at least one pulley by belts [e.g., the two belts 33, etc. in Stikkers (‘466); and in FIG. 1 of Jackson (‘014), the belt 44] to at least one direct current (DC) belt driven generator, the at least one DC belt driven generator being configured to be driven by the belts attached to the at least one pulley [e.g., in Jackson (‘014), paragraph [0035] and [0036], “The first generator 12 can generate DC when the electric vehicle 10 has achieved a certain speed. The second generator 14 can generate DC when the electric vehicle 10 is at a range of speeds lower than those causing activation of the first generator 12.”];
wiring [e.g., by means of the connections 60, 68 in FIG. 1 of Jackson (‘014), to obviously obtain the structure shown in FIG. 1 of Jackson (‘014)] a voltage regulator [e.g., in Jackson (‘014), the DC to AC converter 20 in FIG. 1] to the at least one DC belt driven generator [e.g., FIG. 1 in Jackson (‘014)], the voltage regulator being configured to regulate DC power received from the at least one DC belt driven generator and to output a grid-equivalent alternating current (AC) charge output [e.g., “AC 220V power that is commercial AC power”, as taught at paragraph [0030] in Ro (‘446), with commercial power meaning grid power; and in Jackson (‘014), the extra AC output sent along electrical connections 64 in FIG. 1 to the batteries 18, where the AC provided by the DC to AC converter 20 may be about 60 hertz (paragraph [0040]), which is a grid frequency as is well-known and conventional];
wiring [e.g., to obviously obtain the structure shown in FIG. 1 of Jackson (‘014) and in FIG. 8 of Ito et al. (‘015)] a charging box [e.g., the (rectangular/box-like) connector C and the (box-like) tubular body 20 surrounding/passing the wire(s) W that are used, in conjunction with the exterior member 1 as described in paragraph [0058], to connect the wire(s) W to the inverter 42 in FIG. 8 of Ito et al. (‘015) for improved waterproofness/watertightness, etc.] to the voltage regulator [e.g., as shown in FIG. 1 of Jackson (‘014) where the connections 64 meet the DC to AC converter 20], the charging box being configured to receive the charge output [e.g., via the right-most connector C in FIG. 8 of Ito et al. (‘015)] from the voltage regulator;
plugging [e.g., to obviously obtain the structure shown in FIG. 1 of Jackson (‘014) and in FIG. 8 of Ito et al. (‘015), where the wire W is obviously plugged into each connector C] a charge cable [e.g., [e.g., the connection (W, 1) including the wire(s) W (e.g., within the exterior member 1) in Ito et al. (‘015); and in Jackson (‘014), the electrical connections 64 in FIG. 1, wherein each end of the connection (W, 1) in Ito et al. (‘015) has/cooperates with a connector C, wherein the wire(s) W etc. in Ito et al. (‘015) would have obviously implemented the connection(s) 64 between the DC to AC converter 20 and the batteries 18] into a plug receptacle [e.g., the obvious portion(s) of the connector C in Ito et al. (‘015) that receives the wire(s)/cable W] in the charging box [e.g., into the (rectangular/box-like) connector C and the (box-like) tubular body 20 surrounding/passing the wire(s) W, to connect the wire(s) W to the inverter 42 in FIG. 8 of Ito et al. (‘015), wherein the (rectangular/box-like) connector C and the (box-like) tubular body 20 surrounding/passing the wire(s) W of Ito et al. (‘015) would have obviously been used to connect the electrical connection(s) 64 in Jackson (‘014) to the DC to AC converter 20];
connecting [e.g., to obviously obtain the structure shown in FIG. 1 of Jackson (‘014) and in FIG. 8 of Ito et al. (‘015)] a charge port [e.g., the (rectangular/box-like) connector C and the (box-like) tubular body 20 surrounding/passing the wire(s) W that are used, in conjunction with the exterior member 1 as described in paragraph [0058], to connect the wire(s) W to the battery 41 in FIG. 8 of Ito et al. (‘015) for improved waterproofness/watertightness, etc., wherein the (rectangular/box-like) connector C and the (box-like) tubular body 20 surrounding/passing the wire(s) W of Ito et al. (‘015) would have obviously been used to connect the electrical connection(s) 64 in Jackson (‘014) to the batteries 18] to the charge cable by the charge cable being plugged into the charge port [e.g., the wire(s)/cable W in Ito et al. (‘015) obviously being plugged in to (and e.g., obviously terminated in, as shown in FIG. 2) the connector C that connects to the battery 41], the charge port being configured to receive the charge output through the charge cable [e.g., as shown in FIG. 8 of Ito et al. (‘015), when the extra AC output in Jackson (‘014) is sent along the connections 64 (wire(s) W) to the batteries 18] while the electric vehicle is being driven [e.g., as described by Jackson (‘014), and/or as obvious from the description of Jackson (‘014), at paragraphs [0007], [0035], [0036], [0043], claims 1, 2, etc., wherein the first generator 12 generates DC when the vehicle has achieved a certain first speed (e.g., about 5 mph, about 10 mph, or up to 15 mph) obviously while the vehicle is being driven, and the generated DC is converted into alternating current by the DC to AC converter 20 and is supplied to the one or more batteries 18, obviously through the electrical connection(s) 64 in Jackson (’014) implemented as the wire(s)/cable W (with the connectors C) and exterior member 1 in Ito et al. (‘015); the second generator 14 in Jackson (‘014) similarly operates at lower vehicle speeds to generate DC which is converted to AC and supplied (via the electrical connection(s) 64 implemented as the wire(s)/cable W in Ito et al. (‘015)) to the batteries 18, while the vehicle is being driven]; and
wiring [e.g., to obviously obtain the structure shown in FIG. 1 of Jackson (‘014) and in FIG. 8 of Ito et al. (‘015)] a main battery [e.g., in Jackson (‘014), the lithium ion batteries 18 (paragraph [0043])] to the charge port, the main battery being configured to receive the charge from the charge port while the electric vehicle is being driven [e.g., to charge the batteries 18 in Jackson (‘014), by means of the generators 14 or 12 in FIG. 1, when the vehicle is moving at speeds e.g., below or above the first speed];
per claim 6, depending from claim 5,
wherein the charge output received by the charging box from the voltage regulator is 220 volts - 240 volts [e.g., 220V as taught at paragraph [0030] in Ro (‘446)];
per claim 7, depending from claim 6, wherein the at least one DC belt drive generator is driven by the at least one pulley connected to the at least one wheel on the electric vehicle when the at least one wheel is rotated [e.g., as taught by both Jackson (‘014) and Stikkers (‘466)];
per claim 8, depending from claim 7, wherein the electric vehicle uses no fuel to operate [e.g., in Jackson (‘014), paragraph [0052], “The electric vehicle 10 may run on energy from the batteries 18 and from energy generated through rotation of one or more of the wheels 32, 34, 36 and/or 38. Such a design may eliminate the omission [sic] of carbon monoxide and pollutants that may otherwise be generated through the operation of an internal combustion engine.”], and
wherein the main battery is a lithium ion battery [e.g., paragraph [0043] in Jackson (‘014)];
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
For example only, Jackson (8,712,620) is the U.S. Patent corresponding to Jackson (‘014). Note e.g., claims 1 and 2.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID A TESTARDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664
1 FIG. 1 from Stikkers (‘466) is reproduced below/on the next page by the examiner:
2 See e.g., paragraph [0007] in Jackson (‘014), “The first generator can generate direct current (hereinafter "DC") when the electric vehicle has achieved a certain speed. The second generator can generate DC when the electric vehicle is at a range of speeds lower than those causing activation of the first generator. The generated DC is converted into alternating current (hereinafter "AC") by a DC to AC converter, sometimes called an inverter, and AC is supplied to an electric motor, various components of the electric vehicle, and to one or more batteries.” See also paragraphs [0035] and [0036], “The second generator 14 can generate DC when the electric vehicle 10 is at a range of speeds lower than those causing activation of the first generator 12. The generated DC is converted into AC by a DC to AC converter 20, sometimes called an inverter, and AC is supplied to a main electric motor 30 various components of the electric vehicle 10, and to a battery 18.” See also paragraph [0043], “The remaining energy converted by the DC to AC converter 20 that is not used to drive the main electric motor 30, air conditioner 22, heater 24, or radio 26 is transferred to the one or more batteries 18 in order to charge the batteries 18.” See also claims 1 and 2 in Jackson (‘014).