DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ackermann (U.S. Patent 7,873,492) in view of Mühlhausen et al. (AU 2021261837).
Ackermann discloses a method for operating a soil compactor (1) movable in a longitudinal direction (unlabeled arrow, Figure 1) and includes compactor rollers (17, 19) with corresponding vibration excitation arrangements (not labeled). The compactor has oscillatory, vibratory and static compaction modes (column 4, lines 9-16). The compactor moves in a plurality of successive passes (n, n+1, for example). Ackermann is silent regarding passes in opposite directions; however, as can be seen, the compactor is essentially symmetrical and the operator’s seat appears to be rotatable, though that is not disclosed. The examiner takes Official notice that it is well known to configure compactors such that they are operational in opposite directions in order to efficiently perform compaction, since no transportation step of returning to the starting position without passing over the to be worked ground would be necessary. For this reason, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have performed these opposite direction pass(es). Ackermann specifically discloses changing among vibration, oscillation and static based upon various parameters. Further, Mühlhausen teaches operating front and rear compactor rollers in different states (last half of first full paragraph, page 16, for example), including optionally deactivating the rear roller. In view of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the claimed process in order to optimally compact a surface.
Regarding claim 7, Ackermann discloses sensors to measure speed, which broadly meet recitations of a movement direction detection unit. An activation unit is inherent, since the vibration excitation arrangement would otherwise be incapable of being activated.
Claims 7 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ackermann (U.S. Patent 7,873,492) and Mühlhausen et al. (AU 2021261837), as applied above, and further in view of Troppman et al. (U.S. Patent 5,781,874).
Ackermann and Mühlhausen are capable of operating in opposite directions. Troppman exemplifies that it is known to detect the direction in order to operate a compacting roller (claim 7d, for example). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a movement direction detection unit as claimed in order to properly compact the surface, in accordance with the teachings of each of Ackermann, Mühlhausen and Troppman.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 26 February 2026 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection. Mühlhausen specifically teaches different modes of operation, including deactivating the rear roller. The movement direction detection unit is essentially an automation of a manual activity, which is not a patentably distinguishing characteristic. As discussed above, this is also known.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GARY S HARTMANN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671