DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Arguments /Remarks filed on 08/24/2026.
In the instant Amendment, claims 12 and 21 have been cancelled; claims 1, 10 and 19 are independent claims. Claims 1-11, 13-20 and 22 have been examined and are pending. This Action is made FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments in the instant Amendment, filed on 08/24/2026, with respect to limitations listed below, have been fully considered but they are persuasive in terms of claim limitations: “the personal identity code is generated based on a transaction history of an owner of a user device associated with the user device application”. However, Examiner made new rejections that reads on the above limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, 13-20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hart et al. (hereinafter Hart), Pub. No.: US 2013/03185752 in view of Rule et al. (hereinafter Rule), Pub. No.: US 2022/0414648.
Referring to claim 1, Hart teaches a system for dynamic direction of a user device to a Uniform resource locator (URL) (paras. 0001, 0057, URL is received and figs. 1-4), the system comprising:
a card (para. 0043 and figs. 1-4, smartcard); and
a server (para. 0045 and figs. 1-4, remote server 108), the server further comprising:
a memory (para. 0045 and figs. 1-4), and
a processor (para. 0045 and figs. 1-4) configured to:
open a communication field (para. 0065, step 504, and figs. 5-6, 503 smart cards presented…),
receive, from the card via the communication field, a request to direct a user device application to the server, the request comprising a personal identity code (para. 0064, step 502; para. 0065, step 504; para. 0067, step 508; para. 0068, step 510; para. 0069, step 512; para. 0070-0077, step 516 and figs. 5-6),
determine whether the personal identity code matches at least one of one or more stored personal identity codes (para. 0064, fig. 5, step 502, the user touches their smartcard on the mobile device/ personal identity codes stored in the mobile device), upon a successful match, identify a URL associated with the personal identity code, wherein the URL is associated with the URL after a predetermined number of visits by the user device application to the URL (paras. 0057-0060 and fig. 2, the OTP is associated with the username, and linked with a URL which is fed to the browser on the smartphone. The username and OTP is embedded within the URL and the whole URL is passed to transmitter 212).
receive, from the server, an authentication request (para. 0075),
transmit, to the server, an authentication credential (para. 0076),
validate the authentication credential (para. 0077), and
direct the user device application to the website associated with the URL (para. 0057 and fig. 5-6, “When the smartphone is energized by the NFC field generated by chip inside the smartphone, the URL is received and passed to the browser, which opens up the secure website for the user.).
Hart does not explicitly disclose a personal identity code is generated based on a transaction history of an owner of a user device associated with the user device application.
However, in an analogous art, Rule discloses a personal identity code is generated based on a transaction history of an owner of a user device associated with the user device application (para. 0040 and fig. 1; recent events associated with the account and/or contactless card 104. The events may include any type of event, such as a declined transaction, approved transaction, transaction history, activation of the contactless card, mailing (but not activation) of the contactless card 104 to the customer, etc. ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to combine the teachings of Hart with the method and system of Rule, wherein a personal identity code is generated based on a transaction history of an owner of a user device associated with the user device application to provide users with a means for Contactless cards may include logic to generate and/or store uniform resource locators (URLs). However, contactless cards may have limited resources compared to other computing devices. As such, there may be a limit to the number of different URLs a given contactless card can generate and/or store. Furthermore, the logic of the contactless card may need to be updated periodically. This may pose challenges, as the number of contactless cards may number in the thousands, millions, or more. (Rule: para. 0001).
Referring to claim 2, Hart and Rule teach the system of claim 1. Hart further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: open, upon receiving an authentication request from the server, a second communication field (para. 0074), and perform a diversified key exchange between the card and the server, the card further configured with a private key and the server further configured with a public key (Hart: paras. 0054-0055 and figs. 5-6, PKI Public Key Infrastructure).
Referring to claim 3, Hart and Rule teach the system of claim 1. Hart further teaches wherein the user device associated with the user device application is at least one selected from the group of a smart phone, tablet, smart watch or computer (Hart: para. 0046 and figs. 1-4).
Referring to claim 4, Hart and Rule teach the system of claim 1. Hart further teaches wherein the authentication credential is a password or personal identification number (PIN) number (Hart: paras. 0074-0075 and fig. 6, security data. i.e., password, PIN).
Referring to claim 5, Hart and Rule teach the system of claim 1. Hart further teaches wherein the authentication credential is a biometric fingerprint scan, facial scan, or voice recognition (Hart: para. 0074-0075 and figs. 5-6, biometric info.).
Referring to claim 6, Hart and Rule teach the system of claim 1. Hart further teaches wherein the predetermined URL can be changed manually by the user on the user device (Hart: para. 0016).
Referring to claim 7, Hart and Rule teach the system of claim 1. Hart further teaches wherein the personal identity code is associated with an email, phone number, or card information (Hart: para. 0069-0071 and figs. 6-7, mobile device).
Referring to claim 8, Hart and Rule teach the system of claim 1. Hart further teaches wherein the card is further configured with a private key and the server is further configured with a public key (Hart: paras. 0054-0055 and figs. 5-6).
Referring to claim 9, Hart and Rule teach the system of claim 1. Hart further teaches wherein the card is a contactless card associated with an account holder at a banking institution (Hart: para. 0043, 0080 and figs. 1-4).
Referring to claim 10, This claim is similar in scope to claim 1 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Referring to claim 11, This claim is similar in scope to claim 2 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Referring to claim 13, Hart and Rule teach the method of claim 10. Hart further teaches wherein the personal identity code is a driver's license number, passport number, or birth date (Hart: paras. 0018, 0052, additional authentication info.).
Referring to claim 14, Hart and Rule teach the method of claim 10. Hart further teaches wherein the communication field is Bluetooth, a near field communication (NFC) field, or a Radio Frequency Identification (RFID)-compatible field (Hart: para. 0063 and figs. 5-6).
Referring to claim 15, This claim is similar in scope to claim 9 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Referring to claim 16, Hart and Rule teach the method of claim 10. Hart further teaches wherein the steps further comprise transmitting the authentication request by a short message service (SMS) or a multimedia message service (MS) (Hart: paras. 0062, 0069, transmitted to the mobile device, i.e., SMS, MS).
Referring to claim 17, Hart and Rule teach the method of claim 10. Hart further teaches wherein the steps further comprise directing the user device to a mobile application associated with the URL (Hart: paras. 0057-0058).
Referring to claim 18, Hart and Rule teach the method of claim 11. Hart further teaches wherein the authentication credential is a digital signature from the card (Hart: para. 0059, PKI certificate).
Referring to claim 19, This claim is similar in scope to claim 1 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Referring to claim 20, Hart and Rule teach the computer readable non-transitory medium of claim 19. Hart further teaches wherein a copy of the personal identity code is stored in a memory associated with the server (Hart: paras. 0003, 0052).
Referring to claim 22, Hart and Rule teach the system of claim 1. Hart further teaches wherein the personal identity code is associated with the URL after the user device application has visited the URL for a predetermined time period (Hart: paras. 005periodfig. 2, The username and OTP is embedded within the URL and the whole URL is passed to transmitter 212).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see the attached PTO-892.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YONAS A BAYOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2499 09/25/2026