DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-6, 9, 11, 12, and 14-23 are pending. Acknowledgment is made of the amendment of claims 1 and 6, the cancellation of claims 7, 8, 10, and 13, and the addition of new claims 21-23, in the reply filed 12/11/2025.
Withdrawn Rejections
Applicant’s amendment to the claims, filed 12/11/2025, overcomes the rejection of claims 1, 7, and 8 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over U.S. Patent No. PP34802 P2. The rejection of claims 1, 7, and 8 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment to the claims, filed 12/11/2025, overcomes the rejection of claims 1, 2, 5-7, 9, 10, and 17-20 under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to a product of nature. The rejection of claims 1, 2, 5-7, 9, 10, and 17-20 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment to the claims, filed 12/11/2025, overcomes the rejection of claims 1, 3-6, 9-11, and 13-16 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Faraci et al. (US 20200037638 A1). The rejection of claims 1, 3-6, 9-11, and 13-16 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment to the claims, filed 12/11/2025, overcomes the rejection of claims 2, 7, 8, 12, and 17-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faraci et al. (US 20200037638 A1) further in view of Schatz (US PP34802 P2). The rejection of claims 2, 7, 8, 12, and 17-20 has been withdrawn.
New Rejections
Necessitated by Claim Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 9, 12, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wendschuh et al. (US 20160250270 A1), and further in view of Chistov (US 12,029,722 B2) with an effective filing date of 06 May 2019.
Wendschuh et al. teaches, in paragraph [0009], compositions comprising new combinations of purified cannabinoids in combination with purified terpenes. Examples 5-7 teach specific formulations comprising THC (37.5-62.5 wt%), CBD (12.5 wt%), CBG (12.5 wt%), b-Mycrene (.0125-.03125 wt%), and limonene (.0125 wt%), as in instant claims 9, 12, and 14-16.
Wendschuh et al. fails to teach the dosage form comprising a plasticizer, bulking agent, diluent, and synthetic excipient.
However, Chistov teaches, in claim 1, an orally administered drug delivery film, comprising: a polymer of about 20% to about 50%; a plasticizer of about 6% to about 9%; a defoamer of about 0.2% to about 0.5%; an antioxidant of about 0% to about 3%; a β-cyclodextrin; and a cannabinoid, as in instant claims 1 and 3-6. Chistov teaches, in claim 28, that the composition comprises one or more of polyethylene glycol, hydroxypropylmethylcellulose and polyvinylpyrrolidone, which could act as a bulking agent and synthetic excipient, glycerol as the plasticizing agent, and sucrose as taste masking agent. Applicant defines the diluent and bulking agent, in paragraph [0097], as including sucrose. The terpenes and cannabinoids used in this composition are taught in claims 17 and 18 to include myrcene, limonene, carophyllene, linalool, Δ-9 THC, Δ-9 CBD, cannabigerol, cannabidigerolic acid, cannabichromene, and others.
It would be obvious to use the active ingredients taught in the composition by Wendschuh et al. in the dosage form taught by Chistov that includes the plasticizer, bulking agent, diluent, and synthetic excipient, because it is taught by Chistov that this method of delivery using dosage delivery films “have proven particularly effective for a class of patients with phagophobia, a fear of swallowing, pnigophobia, a fear of choking, and dysphagia, difficulty swallowing.” Therefore, one would be motivated to use this dosage delivery film in order to treat patients who have difficulty swallowing or a fear of swallowing.
One would have a reasonable expectation of success in using the composition taught by Wendschuh et al. in the dosage film taught by Chistov because the active ingredients in both compositions are taught to include cannabinoids and terpenes, with the only difference being the formulation of the delivery method.
Claims 2, 11, and 17-23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Advisory Notice
Claims 2, 11, and 17-23 appear allowable if written in independent form.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 3-6, 9, 12, and 14-16 are rejected.
Claims 2, 11, and 17-23 are objected to.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.M.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1624
/JEFFREY H MURRAY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1624