DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. With regard to claim 1, the claim indicates details of sensor, server, and communication elements but refers to “the processor” as executing instructions to “collect” and “transmit” data. However, it is unclear how the processor, which is not the sensor, server, or communication element, could be configured in such a manner. Additionally, the claim indicates that in processing the low-fidelity data, the processor will ‘extrapolate’ but also ‘amplify’ the data; however, the extrapolated data is not referred to in the ‘amplify’ process and only the amplified data is used in the final processing aspect making it unclear the role the ‘extrapolate’ function provides. Claim 17 includes parallel relationships and is rejected accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 – 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
According to Step 1 of the eligibility analysis, the claim(s) are directed to a “system” which is within a statutory category of invention
According to Revised Step 2A, Prong One of the eligibility analysis, the claims recite(s) details of a mental steps to “extrapolate” and “amplify” information from collected signals, further “provide” recommendations responsive to the first two mental steps.
According to Revised Step 2A, Prong Two of the eligibility analysis, these judicial exceptions (abstract idea: mental process) are not integrated into a practical application because the claims only provide details drawn to generic measurement aspects beyond the judicial exception, as the claims merely require the processor to be provided the necessary data from generalized sensors having low-fidelity output. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, as indicated, the additional elements relate to nominally recited sensors to acquire the measurement data in a wearable context, but do not serve to meaningfully limit the manner in which a processor acts to apply the analysis to data. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, as indicated, any additional elements in the claims are merely recited in a generalized/high level manner or do not positively limit the claim scope.
Further, no details in any dependent claim are sufficient to show integration of the judicial exception, nor do any of those claims recite details that are considered to amount to significantly more under the eligibility analysis Step 2B, since they merely recite aspects of the judicial exception and/or mere generalized details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5 – 7, 11, and 13 – 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Alivecor (CN 113164057 and/or USPGPub 20200107733 – both cited by Applicant).
Regarding Claim 1, Alivecor discloses a system for collecting data related to user movements (devices, systems, methods and platforms for continuously monitoring the health status of a user (Abstract); Para. [0034], a health monitoring system monitor heart rate and activity data of an individual ... the activity data may be generated as a number of steps taken, an amount of movement sensed, or other data points indicating an activity level.), comprising:
at least one wearable device, wherein the at least one wearable device comprises at least one sensor to collect low-fidelity data (Para. [0081], Input generator 706 may also collect data to determine/calculate other-factor data. Input generator, for example and not by way of limitation, may include a smartwatch, wearable or mobile device (e.g., Apple Watch® or FitBit® smart phone, tablet or laptop computer) ... Preferably user input generator 706 has a sensor (e.g., PPG sensor, electrode sensor) to measure data related to one or more health-indicators; Para. [0082], Low-fidelity sensors 726 (shown in shadow) are provided on the back of watch 714 to collect user health-indicator data ... where the fitness bands have similar processing power and other - factor measurement devices (e.g., ppg and accelerometers));
one or more servers for receiving the low-fidelity data via a communication network (Para. [0082], Low-fidelity sensors 726 (shown in shadow) are provided on the back of watch 714 to collect user health-indicator data ... where the fitness bands have similar processing power and other - factor measurement devices (e.g., ppg and accelerometers); As shown in fig. 12, Para. [0098], the machine may be connected (e.g., networked) to other machines in a local area network (LAN), an intranet, an extranet, or the Internet. The machine may operate in the capacity of a server or a client machine in a client-server network environment, or as a peer machine in a peer-to-peer (or distributed) network environment.), the one or more servers comprising:
one or more databases for storing instructions for processing the low-fidelity data (Para. [0082], Low-fidelity sensors 726 (shown in shadow) are provided on the back of watch 714 to collect user health-indicator data ... where the fitness bands have similar processing power and other - factor measurement devices (e.g., ppg and accelerometers); Para. [0102], The machine - readable storage medium 1228 may also be used to store instructions to perform a method for monitoring user health ... to include a single medium or multiple media (e.g., a centralized or distributed database, or associated caches and servers) that store the one or more sets of instructions.);
one or more processors, in communication with the one or more databases, configured to execute the instructions to perform a method (Para. [0101], The data storage device 1218 may include a machine - readable storage medium 1228 ... including instructions to cause the processing device 1202 to execute a health-monitor 1250 and related processes as described herein; Para. [0102], The machine - readable storage medium 1228 may also be used to store instructions to perform a method for monitoring user health ... to include a single medium or multiple media (e.g., a centralized or distributed database, or associated caches and servers) that store the one or more sets of instructions.), including:
collect the low-fidelity data from the at least one wearable device (Para. [0081], Input generator 706 may also collect data to determine/calculate other-factor data. Input generator, for example and not by way of limitation, may include a smartwatch, wearable or mobile device (e.g., Apple Watch® or FitBit® smart phone, tablet or laptop computer) ... Preferably user input generator 706 has a sensor (e.g., PPG sensor, electrode sensor) to measure data related to one or more health-indicators; Para. [0082], Low-fidelity sensors 726 (shown in shadow) are provided on the back of watch 714 to collect user health-indicator data ... where the fitness bands have similar processing power and other - factor measurement devices (e.g., ppg and accelerometers).);
transmit the low-fidelity data from the at least one wearable device to the one or more servers (Para. [0081], Input generator 706 may also collect data to determine/calculate other-factor data. Input generator, for example and not by way of limitation, may include a smartwatch, wearable or mobile device (e.g., Apple Watch® or FitBit® smart phone, tablet or laptop computer) ... Preferably user input generator 706 has a sensor (e.g., PPG sensor, electrode sensor) to measure data related to one or more health-indicators; Para. [0082], Low-fidelity sensors 726 (shown in shadow) are provided on the back of watch 714 to collect user health-indicator data ... where the fitness bands have similar processing power and other - factor measurement devices (e.g., ppg and accelerometers); Para. [0089], In the case of a wearable, the sensor may be placed on the band of the wearable where the sensor may transmit the data wirelessly or by wire to the computing device/wearable; As shown in fig. 12, Para. [0098], the machine may be connected (e.g., networked) to other machines in a local area network (LAN), an intranet, an extranet, or the Internet. The machine may operate in the capacity of a server or a client machine in a client-server network environment, or as a peer machine in a peer-to-peer (or distributed) network environment.);
extrapolate the low-fidelity data using predictive analysis developed by machine learning models trained with high-fidelity data (Para. [0094], the user's low-fidelity health-indicator data (and optionally the other-factor data) is input into a trained high-fidelity machine learning model, which, in step 1006, outputs a predicted identification or diagnosis for the user based on the measured low-fidelity health-indicator data (and optionally corresponding (in lime) other factor data).);
amplify the low-fidelity data (Para. [0095], FIG. 11 depicts example data 1100 analyzed based on low-fidelity data to generate a high-fidelity output prediction or detection; A machine learning model may generate the prediction based on an input of low-fidelity measurements.);
provide personalized recommendations to a user using the amplified low-fidelity data (Para. [0094], the user's low-fidelity health-indicator data (and optionally the other-factor data) is input into a trained high-fidelity machine learning model, which, in step 1006, outputs a predicted identification or diagnosis for the user based on the measured low-fidelity health-indicator data (and optionally corresponding (in time) other factor data) ... If the identification or diagnosis is not normal, step 1010 notifies the user of the problem or detection; Para. [0050], The alert/notification/detection could be, for example and not by way of limitation, a suggestion to see/consult a doctor, a simple notification like a haptic feedback, request to take additional measurement like and ECG, or simple note without recommendation, or any combination thereof.).
Regarding Claim 2, Alivecor discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the at least one wearable device includes a consumer device (Para. [0081], Input generator, for example and not by way of limitation, may include a smartwatch, wearable or mobile device (e.g., Apple Watch® or FitBit® smart phone, tablet or laptop computer), a combination of smart watch and mobile device [consumer device], a surgically implanted device with the ability to transmit data to a mobile device or other portable computing device, or a device on a cart in a medical care facility.).
Regarding Claim 5, Alivecor discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the at least one wearable device includes a wireless transmitter configured to transmit the low-fidelity data collected (Para. [0081], Input generator, for example and not by way of limitation, may include a smartwatch, wearable or mobile device (e.g., Apple Watch® or FitBit® smart phone, tablet or laptop computer); The watch may have user input generator 706 and communicate with other computing devices (e.g. mobile phone, tablet, lap top computer or desk top computer) via direct communication, wireless communication (e.g., WiFi, sound, Bluetooth, etc.) [wireless transmitter] or through a network (e.g., internet, intranet, extranet etc.) or a combination thereof, where trained machine learning model 702 and health detector 704 may be located on the other computing devices; Para. [0082], Low-fidelity sensors 726 (shown in shadow) are provided on the back of watch 714 to collect user health-indicator data ... where the fitness bands have similar processing power and other - factor measurement devices (e.g., ppg and accelerometers).).
Regarding Claim 6, Alivecor discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the at least one wearable device includes a consumer device and an article of clothing, an accessory or an implant (Para. [0081], Input generator, for example and not by way of limitation, may include a smartwatch, wearable or mobile device (e.g., Apple Watch® or FitBit® smart phone, tablet or laptop computer), a combination of smart watch and mobile device [consumer device], a surgically implanted device with the ability to transmit data to a mobile device or other portable computing device, or a device on a cart in a medical care facility.).
Regarding Claim 7, Alivecor discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the at least one sensor includes at least one of an accelerometer, a gyroscope, a magnetometer, and a heart rate sensor (Para. [0082], Low-fidelity sensors 726 (shown in shadow) are provided on the back of watch 714 to collect user health-indicator data ... where the fitness bands have similar processing power and other – factor measurement devices (e.g., ppg and accelerometers).).
Regarding Claim 11, Alivecor discloses a system for collecting data related to user movements (devices, systems, methods and platforms for continuously monitoring the health status of a user (Abstract); Para. [0034), a health monitoring system monitor heart rate and activity data of an individual ... the activity data may be generated as a number of steps taken, an amount of movement sensed, or other data points indicating an activity level.), comprising:
at least one wearable device, wherein the at least one wearable device comprises at least one sensor to collect low-fidelity data (Para. [0081), Input generator 706 may also collect data to determine/calculate other-factor data. Input generator, for example and not by way of limitation, may include a smartwatch, wearable or mobile device (e.g., Apple Watch® or FitBit® smart phone, tablet or laptop computer) ... Preferably user input generator 706 has a sensor (e.g., PPG sensor, electrode sensor) to measure data related to one or more health-indicators; Para. [0082), Low-fidelity sensors 726 (shown in shadow) are provided on the back of watch 714 to collect user health-indicator data ... where the fitness bands have similar processing power and other - factor measurement devices (e.g., ppg and accelerometers).);
at least one consumer device, wherein the at least one consumer device comprises at least one sensor to collect low-fidelity data (Para. [0081), Input generator, for example and not by way of limitation, may include a smartwatch, wearable or mobile device (e.g., Apple Watch® or FitBit® smart phone, tablet or laptop computer), a combination of smart watch and mobile device [consumer device), a surgically implanted device with the ability to transmit data to a mobile device or other portable computing device, or a device on a cart in a medical care facility. Preferably user input generator 706 has a sensor (e.g., PPG sensor, electrode sensor) to measure data related to one or more health-indicators; Para. [0082], Low-fidelity sensors 726 (shown in shadow) are provided on the back of watch 714 to collect user health-indicator data ... where the fitness bands have similar processing power and other - factor measurement devices (e.g., ppg and accelerometers).);
one or more servers for receiving the low-fidelity data via a communication network (Para. [0082), Low-fidelity sensors 726 (shown in shadow) are provided on the back of watch 714 to collect user health-indicator data ... where the fitness bands have similar processing power and other- factor measurement devices (e.g., ppg and accelerometers); As shown in fig. 12, Para. [0098), the machine may be connected (e.g., networked) to other machines in a local area network (LAN), an intranet, an extranet, or the Internet. The machine may operate in the capacity of a server or a client machine in a client-server network environment, or as a peer machine in a peer-to-peer (or distributed) network environment.), the one or more servers comprising:
one or more databases for storing instructions for processing the low-fidelity data (Para. [0082], Low-fidelity sensors 726 (shown in shadow) are provided on the back of watch 714 to collect user health-indicator data ... where the fitness bands have similar processing power and other - factor measurement devices (e.g., ppg and accelerometers); Para. [0102], The machine - readable storage medium 1228 may also be used to store instructions to perform a method for monitoring user health ... to include a single medium or multiple media (e.g., a centralized or distributed database, or associated caches and servers) that store the one or more sets of instructions.);
one or more processors, in communication with the one or more databases, configured to execute the instructions to perform a method (Para. [0101), The data storage device 1218 may include a machine - readable storage medium 1228 ... including instructions to cause the processing device 1202 to execute a health-monitor 1250 and related processes as described herein; Para. [0102], The machine - readable storage medium 1228 may also be used to store instructions to perform a method for monitoring user health ... to include a single medium or multiple media (e.g., a centralized or distributed database, or associated caches and servers) that store the one or more sets of instructions.), including:
collect the low-fidelity data from the at least one wearable device (Para. [0081), Input generator 706 may also collect data to determine/calculate other-factor data. Input generator, for example and not by way of limitation, may include a smartwatch, wearable or mobile device (e.g., Apple Watch® or FitBit® smart phone, tablet or laptop computer) ... Preferably user input generator 706 has a sensor (e.g., PPG sensor, electrode sensor) to measure data related to one or more health-indicators; Para. [0082), Low-fidelity sensors 726 (shown in shadow) are provided on the back of watch 714 to collect user health-indicator data ... where the fitness bands have similar processing power and other - factor measurement devices (e.g., ppg and accelerometers).);
transmit the low-fidelity data from the at least one wearable device to the one or more servers (Para. [0081), Input generator 706 may also collect data to determine/calculate other-factor data. Input generator, for example and not by way of limitation, may include a smartwatch, wearable or mobile device (e.g., Apple Watch® or FitBit® smart phone, tablet or laptop computer) ... Preferably user input generator 706 has a sensor (e.g., PPG sensor, electrode sensor) to measure data related to one or more health-indicators; Para. [0082], Low-fidelity sensors 726 (shown in shadow) are provided on the back of watch 714 to collect user health-indicator data ... where the fitness bands have similar processing power and other - factor measurement devices (e.g., ppg and accelerometers); Para. [0089), In the case of a wearable, the sensor may be placed on the band of the wearable where the sensor may transmit the data wirelessly or by wire to the computing device/wearable; As shown in fig. 12, Para. [0098), the machine may be connected (e.g., networked) to other machines in a local area network (LAN), an intranet, an extranet, or the Internet. The machine may operate in the capacity of a server or a client machine in a client-server network environment, or as a peer machine in a peer-to-peer (or distributed) network environment.);
extrapolate the low-fidelity data using predictive analysis developed by machine learning models trained with high-fidelity data (Para. [0094), the user's low-fidelity health-indicator data (and optionally the other-factor data) is input into a trained high-fidelity machine learning model, which, in step 1006, outputs a predicted identification or diagnosis for the user based on the measured low-fidelity health-indicator data (and optionally corresponding (in time) other factor data).);
amplify the low-fidelity data (Para. [0095), FIG. 11 depicts example data 1100 analyzed based on low-fidelity data to generate a high-fidelity output prediction or detection; A machine learning model may generate the prediction based on an input of low-fidelity measurements.);
provide personalized recommendations to a user using the amplified low-fidelity data (Para. [0094), the user's low-fidelity health-indicator data (and optionally the other-factor data) is input into a trained high-fidelity machine learning model, which, in step 1006, outputs a predicted identification or diagnosis for the user based on the measured low-fidelity health-indicator data (and optionally corresponding (in time) other factor data) ... If the identification or diagnosis is not normal, step 101 O notifies the user of the problem or detection; Para. [0050], The alert/notification/detection could be, for example and not by way of limitation, a suggestion to see/consult a doctor, a simple notification like a haptic feedback, request to take additional measurement like and ECG, or simple note without recommendation, or any combination thereof.).
Regarding Claim 13, Alivecor discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the at least one wearable device and the at least one consumer device communicate with each other directly (Para. [0081], Input generator, for example and not by way of limitation, may include a smartwatch, wearable or mobile device (e.g., Apple Watch® or FitBit® smart phone, tablet or laptop computer), a combination of smart watch and mobile device [consumer device], a surgically implanted device with the ability to transmit data to a mobile device or other portable computing device, or a device on a cart in a medical care facility; The smart watch, tablet, mobile phone or laptop computer ... may carry the sensor or the sensor may be remotely placed (surgically embedded, contacted to the body remote from the mobile device, or some separate device) where, in all these cases, the mobile device communicates with the sensor in order to gather health-indicator data.).
Regarding Claim 14, Alivecor discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the at least one wearable device includes an article of clothing, an accessory, or an implant (Para. [0081], Input generator, for example and not by way of limitation, may include a smartwatch, wearable or mobile device (e.g., Apple Watch® or FitBit® smart phone, tablet or laptop computer), a combination of smart watch and mobile device, a surgically implanted device with the ability to transmit data to a mobile device or other portable computing device, or a device on a cart in a medical care facility.).
Regarding Claim 15, Alivecor discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the at least one wearable device includes a wireless transmitter configured to transmit the low-fidelity data collected (Para. [0081], Input generator, for example and not by way of limitation, may include a smartwatch, wearable or mobile device (e.g., Apple Watch® or FitBit® smart phone, tablet or laptop computer); The watch may have user input generator 706 and communicate with other computing devices (e.g. mobile phone, tablet, lap top computer or desk top computer) via direct communication, wireless communication (e.g., WiFi, sound, Bluetooth, etc.) [wireless transmitter] or through a network (e.g., internet, intranet, extranet etc.) or a combination thereof, where trained machine learning model 702 and health detector 704 may be located on the other computing devices; Para. [0082], Low-fidelity sensors 726 (shown in shadow) are provided on the back of watch 714 to collect user health-indicator data ... where the fitness bands have similar processing power and other - factor measurement devices (e.g., ppg and accelerometers).).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 12, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alivecor as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, further in view of USPGPub 2015/0154646 to New York University et al. (hereinafter, "New York University" – cited by Applicant).
Regarding Claim 3, Alivecor discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the low-fidelity data is transmitted to the at least one server (Para. [0082], Low-fidelity sensors 726 (shown in shadow) are provided on the back of watch 714 to collect user health-indicator data ... where the fitness bands have similar processing power and other - factor measurement devices (e.g., ppg and accelerometers); Para. [0089], In the case of a wearable, the sensor may be placed on the band of the wearable where the sensor may transmit the data wirelessly or by wire to the computing device/wearable; As shown in fig. 12, Para. [0098], the machine may be connected (e.g., networked) to other machines in a local area network (LAN), an intranet, an extranet, or the Internet. The machine may operate in the capacity of a server or a client machine in a client-server network environment, or as a peer machine in a peer-to-peer (or distributed) network environment.). However, Alivecor fails to explicitly disclose wherein the data is transmitted securely and anonymously to the at least one server.
New York University is in the field of healthcare data (Abstract) and teaches wherein the data is transmitted securely and anonymously to the at least one server (Para. [0037], System 100 may further include server 107 coupled to databases 101, 103, and 105 to programmatically access the databases via secure and authenticated communications ... Server 107 may be configured to restrict access to data stored in databases 101,103, and 105 to the owner of the data and those authorized by the owner; Para. [0055], a selection of at least a portion of a user's data (e.g., stored in databases 101, 103, and 105) to be anonymously released may be received (e.g., by server 107) from the user (e.g., via client device 111, 113, or 115).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Alivecor with the features of New York University since this achieves the purpose of receiving a temporal limitation during which the selected portion of the user's data may be anonymously released (Para. [0055] of New York University).
Regarding Claim 12, Alivecor discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the low-fidelity data collected from the at least one wearable device and the at least one consumer device is transmitted to the at least one server (Para. [0081], Input generator, for example and not by way of limitation, may include a smartwatch, wearable or mobile device (e.g., Apple Watch® or FitBit® smart phone, tablet or laptop computer), a combination of smart watch and mobile device [consumer device], a surgically implanted device with the ability to transmit data to a mobile device or other portable computing device, or a device on a cart in a medical care facility; Para. [0082], Low-fidelity sensors 726 (shown in shadow) are provided on the back of watch 714 to collect user health-indicator data ... where the fitness bands have similar processing power and other - factor measurement devices (e.g., ppg and accelerometers); Para. [0089], In the case of a wearable, the sensor may be placed on the band of the wearable where the sensor may transmit the data wirelessly or by wire to the computing device/wearable; As shown in fig. 12, Para. [0098], the machine may be connected (e.g., networked) to other machines in a local area network (LAN), an intranet, an extranet, or the Internet. The machine may operate in the capacity of a server or a client machine in a client-server network environment, or as a peer machine in a peer-to-peer (or distributed) network environment.). However, Alivecor fails to explicitly disclose wherein the data is transmitted securely and anonymously to the at least one server.
New York University is in the field of healthcare data (Abstract) and teaches wherein the data is transmitted securely and anonymously to the at least one server (Para. [0037], System 100 may further include server 107 coupled to databases 101, 103, and 105 to programmatically access the databases via secure and authenticated communications ... Server 107 may be configured to restrict access to data stored in databases 101,103, and 105 to the owner of the data and those authorized by the owner; Para. [0055], a selection of at least a portion of a user's data (e.g., stored in databases 101, 103, and 105) to be anonymously released may be received (e.g., by server 107) from the user (e.g., via client device 111, 113, or 115).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Alivecor with the features of New York University since this achieves the purpose of receiving a temporal limitation during which the selected portion of the user's data may be anonymously released (Para. [0055] of New York University).
Regarding Claim 16, Alivecor discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the low-fidelity data is transmitted to the at least one server (Para. [0082], Low-fidelity sensors 726 (shown in shadow) are provided on the back of watch 714 to collect user health-indicator data ... where the fitness bands have similar processing power and other - factor measurement devices (e.g., ppg and accelerometers); Para. [0089], In the case of a wearable, the sensor may be placed on the band of the wearable where the sensor may transmit the data wirelessly or by wire to the computing device/wearable; As shown in fig. 12, Para. [0098], the machine may be connected (e.g., networked) to other machines in a local area network (LAN), an intranet, an extranet, or the Internet. The machine may operate in the capacity of a server or a client machine in a client-server network environment, or as a peer machine in a peer-to-peer (or distributed) network environment.). However, Alivecor fails to explicitly disclose wherein the data is transmitted securely and anonymously to the at least one server.
New York University is in the field of healthcare data (Abstract) and teaches wherein the data is transmitted securely and anonymously to the at least one server (Para. [0037], System 100 may further include server 107 coupled to databases 101, 103, and 105 to programmatically access the databases via secure and authenticated communications ... Server 107 may be configured to restrict access to data stored in databases 101,103, and 105 to the owner of the data and those authorized by the owner; Para. [0055], a selection of at least a portion of a user's data (e.g., stored in databases 101, 103, and 105) to be anonymously released may be received (e.g., by server 107) from the user (e.g., via client device 111, 113, or 115).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Alivecor with the features of New York University since this achieves the purpose of receiving a temporal limitation during which the selected portion of the user's data may be anonymously released (Para. [0055] of New York University).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alivecor as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of USPGPub 2017/0188894 to Luma Bodytech Inc (hereinafter, "Luma Bodytech" – cited by Applicant).
Regarding Claim 4, Alivecor discloses the system of claim 1. Alivecor fails to explicitly disclose wherein the personalized recommendations include performance, injury risk, and recovery status of the user.
Luma Bodytech is in the field of activity monitoring (Abstract) and teaches wherein the personalized recommendations include performance, injury risk, and recovery status of the user (Para. [0040], Various forms of feedback can be delivered and/or controlled by the user application. For example, the detection of fatigue may be applied to notifying a participant [personalized recommendations] of information relating to fatigue, analyzing performance and fatigue in one or more sessions, and guiding a participant when training or performing; Para. [0088]. exemplary fatigue state could include ... an injury risk state that includes a pre-injury state and/or other suitable type of injury slate. An injury risk state can be a state where a high risk to injury is predicted, the onset of an injury is occurring, or an injury has been detected [injury risk]; Para. [0028], The system could be used in detecting performance and biomechanical changes that are signs of or early warning indicators of an injury, measuring recovery from injury and/or preventing injury. Exemplary use cases relating to injury detection can identify high-risk states, identifying a type of injury, and measuring recovery progress from an injury [recovery status].).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Alivecor with the parameters of Luma Bodytech for the purpose of enabling a set of different fatigue state classifications to be identified for some activity intensity level (Para. [0088] of Luma Bodytech).
Claim(s) 8 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alivecor as applied to claim 1 and 11 above, further in view of USPGPub 2020/0258631 to Hoffmann-La Roche Inc. (hereinafter, "Hoffmann" – cited by Applicant).
Regarding Claim 8, Alivecor discloses the system of claim 1. Alivecor fails to explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors is further configured to: measure cognitive health and balance of the user; assess the cognitive health and balance of the user; and quantify [as best understood] the cognitive health and balance of the user.
Hoffmann is in the field of cognition and movement disease (Abstract) and teaches wherein the one or more processors is further configured to:
measure cognitive health and balance of the user (Para. [0094], the activity measurements in connection with the term "dataset of cognition and/or fine motoric activity measurements" ... comprise measurements of datasets during performances of an Information Processing Speed (IPS) test, a pinching test performed on a sensor surface of the mobile device and/or from a U-turn test (UTT), a 2-minute walk test (2MWT), a static balance test (SBT) or continuous analysis of gait (CAG) from passive monitoring.);
assess the cognitive health and balance of the user (Para. [0094], the activity measurements in connection with the term "dataset of cognition and/or fine motoric activity measurements" ... comprise measurements of datasets during performances of an Information Processing Speed (IPS) test, a pinching test performed on a sensor surface of the mobile device and/or from a U-turn test (UTT), a 2-minute walk test (2MWT), a static balance test (SBT) or continuous analysis of gait (CAG) from passive monitoring; Para. [0331], The aim of this test is to assess a person's static balance function according to one of the items (i.e., standing unsupported) of the widely used Berg Balance Scale; Para. [0332], Typical ambulation qualimetric activity parameters derived from the SBT and captured as continuous outcome variables reflecting intra-test fluctuations that measure gait and balance integrity are selected from the group consisting of: 1) sway jerkiness: time derivative of acceleration, 2) sway path: total length of trajectory, and 3) sway range.); and quantify [as best understood] the cognitive health and balance of the user (Para. [0094], the activity measurements in connection with the term "dataset of cognition and/or fine motoric activity measurements" ... comprise measurements of datasets during performances of an Information Processing Speed (IPS) test, a pinching test performed on a sensor surface of the mobile device and/or from a U-turn test (UTT), a 2-minute walk test (2MWT), a static balance test (SBT) or continuous analysis of gait (CAG) from passive monitoring; Para. [0332], Typical ambulation qualimetric activity parameters derived from the SBT and captured as continuous outcome variables reflecting intra-test fluctuations that measure gait and balance integrity are selected from the group consisting of: 1) sway jerkiness: time derivative of acceleration, 2) sway path: total length of trajectory, and 3) sway range; Para. [0381], Comparing the determined at least one parameter, in particular, a qualimetric parameter as referred to herein ... Based on said assessment, the subject can be identified as suffering from a cognition and movement disease or disorder ("rule-in"), or not ("rule-out"); Para. [0382], Based on quantitative differences in the value of the said performance parameter, the improvement, worsening or unchanged condition can be determined and, optionally, also quantified.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Alivecor with the method of Hoffmann for the purpose of determining the degree of difference between a determined parameter and a reference for a quantitative assessment of a cognition and movement disease or disorder in a subject (Para. [0382] of Hoffmann).
Regarding Claim 17, Alivecor discloses the system of claim 11. Alivecor fails to explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors is further configured to: measure cognitive health and balance of the user; assess the cognitive health and balance of the user; and quantify [as best understood] the cognitive health and balance of the user.
Hoffmann is in the field of cognition and movement disease (Abstract) and teaches wherein the one or more processors is further configured to: measure cognitive health and balance of the user (Para. [0094], the activity measurements in connection with the term "dataset of cognition and/or fine motoric activity measurements" ... comprise measurements of datasets during performances of an Information Processing Speed (IPS) test, a pinching test performed on a sensor surface of the mobile device and/or from a U-turn test (UTT), a 2-minute walk test (2MWT), a static balance test (SBT) or continuous analysis of gait (CAG) from passive monitoring.);
assess the cognitive health and balance of the user (Para. [0094], the activity measurements in connection with the term "dataset of cognition and/or fine motoric activity measurements" ... comprise measurements of datasets during performances of an Information Processing Speed (IPS) test, a pinching test performed on a sensor surface of the mobile device and/or from a U-turn test (UTT), a 2-minute walk test (2MWT), a static balance test (SBT) or continuous analysis of gait (CAG) from passive monitoring; Para. [0331], The aim of this test is to assess a person's static balance function according to one of the items (i.e., standing unsupported) of the widely used Berg Balance Scale; Para. [0332], Typical ambulation qualimetric activity parameters derived from the SBT and captured as continuous outcome variables reflecting intra-test fluctuations that measure gait and balance integrity are selected from the group consisting of: 1) sway jerkiness: time derivative of acceleration, 2) sway path: total length of trajectory, and 3) sway range.); and quantify [as best understood] the cognitive health and balance of the user (Para. [0094], the activity measurements in connection with the term "dataset of cognition and/or fine motoric activity measurements" ... comprise measurements of datasets during performances of an Information Processing Speed (IPS) test, a pinching test performed on a sensor surface of the mobile device and/or from a U-turn test (UTT), a 2-minute walk test (2MWT), a static balance test (SBT) or continuous analysis of gait (CAG) from passive monitoring; Para. [0332], Typical ambulation qualimetric activity parameters derived from the SBT and captured as continuous outcome variables reflecting intra-test fluctuations that measure gait and balance integrity are selected from the group consisting of: 1) sway jerkiness: time derivative of acceleration, 2) sway path: total length of trajectory, and 3) sway range; Para. [0381 ], Comparing the determined at least one parameter, in particular, a qualimetric parameter as referred to herein ... Based on said assessment, the subject can be identified as suffering from a cognition and movement disease or disorder ("rule-in"), or not ("rule-out"); Para. [0382], Based on quantitative differences in the value of the said performance parameter, the improvement, worsening or unchanged condition can be determined and, optionally, also quantified.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Alivecor with the method of Hoffmann for the purpose of determining the degree of difference between a determined parameter and a reference for a quantitative assessment of a cognition and movement disease or disorder in a subject (Para. [0382] of Hoffmann).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alivecor as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of US 2017/0188894 to Luma Bodytech Inc (hereinafter, "Luma Bodytech") and USPGPub 2012/0259891 to Edoja (cited by Applicant).
Regarding Claim 9, Alivecor discloses the system of claim 1. Alivecor fails to explicitly disclose further comprising an artificial chat bot in communication with the one or more servers to assess all performance, injury risk, and recovery insights to answer questions from the user in real-time.
Luma Bodytech is in the field of activity monitoring (Abstract) and teaches further comprising one or more servers to assess all performance, injury risk, and recovery insights (Para. [0040], Various forms of feedback can be delivered and/or controlled by the user application. For example, the detection of fatigue may be applied to notifying a participant of information relating to fatigue, analyzing performance and fatigue in one or more sessions, and guiding a participant when training or performing; Para. [0088], exemplary fatigue state could include ... an injury risk state that includes a pre-injury state and/or other suitable type of injury state. An injury risk state can be a state where a high risk to injury is predicted, the onset of an injury is occurring, or an injury has been detected [injury risk]; Para. [0028], The system could be used in detecting performance and biomechanical changes that are signs of or early warning indicators of an injury, measuring recovery from injury and/or preventing injury. Exemplary use cases relating to injury detection can identify high-risk states, identifying a type of injury, and measuring recovery progress from an injury [recovery status]; Para. [0129], The instructions can be executed by computer-executable components integrated with the application, applet, host, server, network, website, communication service, communication interface, hardware/firmware/software elements of a user computer or mobile device, wristband, smartphone, or any suitable combination thereof.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Alivecor with the parameters of Luma Bodytech for the purpose of enabling a set of different fatigue state classifications that can be identified for some activity intensity level (Para. [0088] of Luma Bodytech).
Edoja is in the field of Al chatbots and teaches further comprising an artificial chat bot in communication with the one or more servers to answer questions from the user in real-time (Para. [0062], The VAi 120 further includes the Al chatbot 123 serving to convert and process received user input into machine-readable form; the Al chatbot 123 may comprise (or access from a remotely located system) a speech recognition system ... may be used on a server side and/or a user device side; Para. [0047], the system includes two main components: an Analytics Intelligence Engine (AIE) and a Virtual Analyst Interface (VAi). The AIE is built upon an artificial intelligence system for delivery of support services through smart agents; The questions may be sent in a variety of formats, such as SMS messages or voice signals. The system can reply with analyses responses and graphs in the same (e.g., SMS or voice) or different format back to the mobile application for rendering on a user interface; Para. [0053], the terminals may embed software for communicating in the way of real-time direct text-based communication (such as Instant Messaging, chats), audio/video based communication, telephone messages, e-mails, and so forth.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to further modify the system of Alivecor with the chatbot of Edoja for the purpose of using a unique combination of algorithms and rules for the calculation and extraction of client data for multi-dimensional metrics analysis (Para. [0047] of Edoja).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alivecor, Luma Bodytech, and Edoja as applied to claim 9 above, further in view
USPGPub 2021/0358499 to Tempus Labs Inc. (hereinafter, "Tempus" – cited by Applicant).
Regarding Claim 10, modified Alivecor discloses the system of claim 9. Alivecor fails to explicitly disclose wherein multiple trials, tests, assessments, and reports are utilized to answer the questions in real-time. Tempus is in the field of patient reports (Abstract) and teaches wherein multiple trials, tests, assessments, and reports are utilized to answer the questions in real-time (Para. [0025], The data operation is received by the collaboration server and used to access and/or manipulate data the database data thereby generating a data response; Para. [0033], By answering questions when they occur, the system enables oncologists to dig deeper in the moment into data and continue the thought process through a progression of queries; Para. [0056], the second set of data comprises clinical health information comprising one or more of demographic information, diagnostic information, assessment results [assessments], laboratory results, prescribed or administered therapies, and outcomes information; Para. [0163], ASR module 70 receives 61 user voice messages from collaboration application 60 and automatically converts the voice signals to text corresponding to the user's uttered voice messages essentially in real time; Para. [0291], at least some databases will include specialized clinical reports or other report types [reports]: Para. [0312], The KDB includes separate sub-databases related to specific information types including ... clinical trials [trials], immune general, clinical conditions such as clinical diseases; Para. [0330], the second set of data can include laboratory information including one or more of type of lab (e.g. CBS, CMP, PSA, CEA), lab results, lab units, date of lab service, date of molecular pathology test, assay type, assay result (e.g. positive, negative, equivocal, mutated, wild type) [tests], molecular pathology method (e.g. IHC, FISH, NGS), and molecular pathology provider.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the system of Alivecor with the method of Tempus for the purpose of enabling intuitive and rapid access to complex data sets essentially anywhere within a wireless communication zone (Para. [0033] of Tempus).
Conclusion
/ERIC F WINAKUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791