DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant has amended independent claim 1 to distinguish the battery storage area from the temperature adjustment member storage area, and added new claims 6 and 7.
Applicant argues that Agassi modified by Zhao does not disclose the amended portion of independent claim 1 “wherein the battery storage area and the temperature adjustment member storage area are individual and independent from each other, and wherein the temperature adjustment member stored in the temperature adjustment member storage area is not attached to the charged battery”, which changes the scope of the claim to separate the battery storage area from the temperature adjustment member storage area.
Applicant's arguments filed 04/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. New grounds of rejection are presented herein as necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agassi et al (US 20100141206 A1) modified by Zhu et al (CN 114590160 A), Zhu was translated using espacenet.
Regarding claim 1, Agassi teaches a battery replacement station in which a used battery is removed from a vehicle and is replaced with a charged battery, (¶0061 "The exchange station removes at least partially discharged batteries from electric vehicles and replaces them with a least partially charged batteries", ¶0065 "FIG. 2 is a perspective view of an embodiment of the battery exchange station 106")
the used battery having been discharged, the battery replacement station comprising: a battery storage area in which the charged battery is stored; (¶0065 "FIG. 2, the battery exchange station 106 includes at least one swap lane 202 and a warehouse 204 for storing and charging batteries")
[and a temperature adjustment member storage area that stores a temperature adjustment member, the temperature adjustment member being detachably attachable to an outer surface of the charged battery and allowing at least one of heat generation and/or heat absorption without including a heating medium flow path through which a heating medium circulates,
wherein the battery storage area and the temperature adjustment member storage area are individual and independent from each other, and wherein the temperature adjustment member stored in the temperature adjustment member storage area is not attached to the charged battery.]
Agassi ¶0094 discloses "FIGS. 11A and 11B are cut away side views illustrating that the warehouse 204. the batteries 104 are stored underground”, indicating that the batteries are stored in a warehouse which is kept at an ideal temperature. The HVAC system, as taught by Agassi, maintains an ambient temperature to maintain the heating medium which circulates around the stored batteries, the temperature control does not directly contact or control individual battery temperatures.
Agassi does not teach and a temperature adjustment member storage area that stores a temperature adjustment member, the temperature adjustment member being detachably attachable to an outer surface of the charged battery and allowing at least one of heat generation and/or heat absorption without including a heating medium flow path through which a heating medium circulates,
wherein the battery storage area and the temperature adjustment member storage area are individual and independent from each other, and wherein the temperature adjustment member stored in the temperature adjustment member storage area is not attached to the charged battery.
Zhu teaches the temperature adjustment member being detachably attachable to an outer surface of the charged battery and allowing at least one of heat generation and/or heat absorption without including a heating medium flow path through which a heating medium circulates, (¶0089 “battery pack transfer device 5 includes a thermal management module. The thermal management module at least includes: a cold storage unit 501, a heat storage unit 502, a controller 503, and a heat exchange connection interface 504”, FIGs 3 and 4 show battery pack 7 to be in contact via an outer surface to the battery pack transfer device 5 with a thermal management module)
wherein the battery storage area and the temperature adjustment member storage area are individual and independent from each other, (¶0084 “place the battery pack 7 to be charged in the battery pack transfer device 5”)
and wherein the temperature adjustment member stored in the temperature adjustment member storage area is not attached to the charged battery. (¶0089 “thermal management module at least includes: a cold storage unit 501, a heat storage unit 502, a controller 503, and a heat exchange connection interface 504; the cold storage unit 501 and the heat storage unit 502 are respectively”, FIGs 3 and 4 depict the cold storage unit 501 and heat storage unit 502 to be in battery pack transfer device 5 which is an isolated and separate area from battery pack 7)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify the battery replacement station as taught by Agassi modified by Zhao wherein the battery storage area and the temperature adjustment member storage area are individual and independent from each other, and wherein the temperature adjustment member stored in the temperature adjustment member storage area is not attached to the charged battery as taught by Zhu. Agassi depicts the swap station 604 in FIG 9, and further detailed in ¶0089 as “battery storage racks 902 are placed between the swap station 604 (and cleaning station 608) and the automated robotic mechanism 910”. The swap station 604 temporarily holds the batteries until they are housed in storage for charging, using Zhu’s battery pack transfer device 5 comprising a thermal management module as the swap station 604 would result in the claimed invention. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to optimize battery performance and longevity by adjusting the battery temperature prior to charging or use to minimize battery degradation.
Regarding claim 2, Agassi modified by Zhu teaches the battery replacement station according to claim 1. Agassi modified by Zhu further teaches further comprising a battery replacement system, the battery replacement system including: a battery replacement operation section that removes the used battery from the vehicle and attaches the charged battery to the vehicle, (Agassi ¶0061 "The exchange station removes at least partially discharged batteries from electric vehicles and replaces them with a least partially charged batteries", Agassi ¶0065 "FIG. 2 is a perspective view of an embodiment of the battery exchange station 106")
the vehicle having stopped at a predetermined stop position; (Agassi ¶0077 “[FIG 7a] The vehicle 102 is stopped by a wheel stopping unit 702 located adjacent to a conveyor system 706 or 718”)
a battery transport section that transports the charged battery in the battery storage area to the battery replacement operation section; (Zhu ¶0089 “battery pack transfer device 5 includes a thermal management module.”)
a temperature adjustment member transport section that transports the temperature adjustment member from the temperature adjustment member storage area; (Zhu ¶0089 “battery pack transfer device 5 includes a thermal management module. The thermal management module at least includes: a cold storage unit 501, a heat storage unit 502, a controller 503, and a heat exchange connection interface 504”)
and a temperature adjustment member attachment operation section that attaches the temperature adjustment member to the outer surface of the charged battery before the charged (Zhu FIGs 3 and 4 show battery pack 7 to be in contact via an outer surface to the battery pack transfer device 5 with a thermal management module)
battery is transported by the battery transport section or while the charged battery is being transported by the battery transport section, (Agassi ¶0089 “FIG. 9 illustrates an embodiment where the battery storage racks 902 are placed between the swap station 604 (and cleaning station 608) and the automated robotic mechanism 910.”, Agassi’s automated robotic mechanism 910 physically transports the battery from the vehicle to the battery storage area and as detailed above to reject claim 1 is replaced with Zhu’s battery pack transfer device 5)
the temperature adjustment member having been transported by the temperature adjustment member transport section. (Zhu ¶0089 “battery pack transfer device 5 includes a thermal management module.”)
Regarding claim 3, Agassi modified by Zhu teaches the battery replacement station according to claim 2. Agassi modified by Zhu further teaches wherein: the temperature adjustment member storage area is an area in which temperature management is performed, (Zhu FIGs 3 and 4 depict the cold storage unit 501 and heat storage unit 502 to be in battery pack transfer device 5 which is an isolated and separate area from battery pack 7 as detailed above to reject claim 1)
and the temperature adjustment member transport section starts transporting the temperature adjustment member outside from the temperature adjustment member storage area (Zhu ¶0089 “battery pack transfer device 5 includes a thermal management module.”, Agassi ¶0089 “FIG. 9 illustrates an embodiment where the battery storage racks 902 are placed between the swap station 604 (and cleaning station 608) and the automated robotic mechanism 910.”)
in accordance with an estimated time when the vehicle arrives at the battery replacement station, the vehicle requesting replacement of the used battery. (Agassi ¶0109 “battery exchange station is built to accommodate the minimum amount of batteries to allow maximal efficiency of the station during rush hours when traffic volume into the station is high”)
The battery replacement station as taught by Agassi modified by Zhu, as detailed by Agassi ¶0109, is able to anticipate when rush hours will occur. Thereby the controller necessarily estimates when the vehicle arrives at the battery replacement station to request replacement of the used battery.
Regarding claim 4, Agassi modified by Zhu teaches the battery replacement station according to claim 1. Agassi modified by Zhu further teaches a battery temperature management method at the battery replacement station, the battery temperature management method comprising: transporting the charged battery outside from the battery storage area; (Agassi ¶0071 "FIGS. 6A and 6B illustrate some elements of the swap lane 202 and warehouse 204", Agassi ¶0088 "FIG. 9 shows an embodiment for storing and charging flat batteries 906 and thick batteries 908. In some embodiments, forced air cooling ducts and fire proof separators are also employed in the racks 902 to protect the batteries 104")
[and transporting the temperature adjustment member outside from the temperature adjustment member storage area and attaching the temperature adjustment member to the outer surface of the charged battery, wherein in the transporting of the temperature adjustment member and the attaching of the temperature adjustment member, the temperature adjustment member is attached to the outer surface of the charged battery before or immediately after the charged battery is transported outside from the battery storage area.]
Agassi as modified by Zhu does not teach and transporting the temperature adjustment member outside from the temperature adjustment member storage area and attaching the temperature adjustment member to the outer surface of the charged battery, wherein in the transporting of the temperature adjustment member and the attaching of the temperature adjustment member, the temperature adjustment member is attached to the outer surface of the charged battery before or immediately after the charged battery is transported outside from the battery storage area.
Zhu further teaches and transporting the temperature adjustment member outside from the temperature adjustment member storage area and attaching the temperature adjustment member to the outer surface of the charged battery, (¶0064 “S101 , when the electric vehicle 1 enters the parking lot and needs to be charged… the battery pack 7 to be charged is replaced by the power exchange system 2 , and the battery pack 7 is placed in the battery pack transfer device 5; (corresponding to S101a)”)
wherein in the transporting of the temperature adjustment member and the attaching of the temperature adjustment member, the temperature adjustment member is attached to the outer surface of the charged battery before or immediately after the charged battery is transported outside from the battery storage area. (¶0075 “S105a, the electric vehicle 1 enters the power exchange system 2 again, and the power exchange system 2 executes a second power exchange process. The second power exchange process includes: transferring the charged battery pack 7 from the battery pack through the power exchange system 2 The transport device 5 is taken out and loaded into the electric vehicle 1”)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify the method as taught by Agassi modified by Zhu to transport the temperature adjustment member outside from the temperature adjustment member storage area and attaching the temperature adjustment member to the outer surface of the charged battery as taught by Zhu. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to optimize battery performance and longevity by adjusting the battery temperature prior to charging or use to minimize battery degradation.
Regarding claim 5, Agassi modified by Zhu teaches the battery temperature management method according to claim 4. Agassi modified by Zhu further teaches [wherein: the temperature adjustment member storage area is an area in which temperature management is performed, and in the transporting of the temperature adjustment member and the attaching of the temperature adjustment member,]
the transporting of the temperature adjustment member outside from the temperature adjustment member storage area is started in accordance with an estimated time when the vehicle arrives at the battery replacement station, the vehicle requesting replacement of the used battery. (Zhu ¶0075 “S105a, the electric vehicle 1 enters the power exchange system 2 again, and the power exchange system 2 executes a second power exchange process. The second power exchange process includes: transferring the charged battery pack 7 from the battery pack through the power exchange system 2 The transport device 5 is taken out and loaded into the electric vehicle 1”)
Agassi modified by Zhu does not teach wherein: the temperature adjustment member storage area is an area in which temperature management is performed, and in the transporting of the temperature adjustment member and the attaching of the temperature adjustment member.
Zhu teaches wherein: the temperature adjustment member storage area is an area in which temperature management is performed, (¶0089 “battery pack transfer device 5 includes a thermal management module. The thermal management module at least includes: a cold storage unit 501, a heat storage unit 502, a controller 503, and a heat exchange connection interface 504”, FIGs 3 and 4 show cold storage unit 501 and heat storage unit 502 to be in a storage area together separated from the battery pack 7)
and in the transporting of the temperature adjustment member and the attaching of the temperature adjustment member. (¶0084 “place the battery pack 7 to be charged in the battery pack transfer device 5, connect the heat exchange connection interface 504 of the battery pack transfer device 5 with the external interface 701 of the heat exchange module of the battery pack 7”)
Zhu uses cold storage unit 501 and heat storage unit 502, which are stored interior to battery pack transfer device 5 which is isolated from battery pack 7. A heat exchange connection interface 504 is attached to the battery pack 7 and heat transfer is delivered from cold storage unit 501 and heat storage unit 502 as needed.
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the method as taught by Agassi modified by Zhu wherein: the temperature adjustment member storage area is an area in which temperature management is performed, and in the transporting of the temperature adjustment member and the attaching of the temperature adjustment member as taught by Zhu. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to optimize battery performance and longevity by adjusting the battery temperature prior to charging or use to minimize battery degradation.
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agassi modified by Zhu and further in view of Zhao et al (CN 102376997 A), Zhao was translated using espacenet and was provided with the non-final rejection dated 01/27/2026.
Regarding claim 6, Agassi modified by Zhu teaches the battery replacement station according to claim 1. Agassi modified by Zhu does not teach wherein the temperature adjustment member is formed of a latent heat storage material, and the temperature adjustment member storage area is an area in which temperature management is performed based on a solidification temperature of the latent heat storage material.
Zhao teaches wherein the temperature adjustment member is formed of a latent heat storage material, and the temperature adjustment member storage area is an area in which temperature management is performed based on a solidification temperature of the latent heat storage material. (pg 4 “invention uses the phase change material of cooling and heat dissipation and heating protection for the high temperature environment and the low temperature environment of the battery respectively… When the battery pack exceeds a certain temperature, it starts to absorb the latent heat of phase change to achieve the purpose of cooling… When the battery pack temperature is below a certain temperature, the latent heat of phase change is released to heat the battery pack”)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the battery replacement station as taught by Agassi modified by Zhu wherein the temperature adjustment member is formed of a latent heat storage material as taught by Zhao. Zhao discloses a battery temperature adjusting device, similar to the battery pack transfer device 5 as taught by Zhu. However, Zhu does not explicitly disclose the temperature management is performed based on a solidification temperature of the latent heat storage material. It would be obvious to incorporate the phase change material of Zhao into the battery replacement station as taught by Agassi modified by Zhu as the medium transferred through the heat exchange interface 504. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to optimize battery performance and longevity by adjusting the battery temperature prior to charging or use to minimize battery degradation.
Regarding claim 7, Agassi modified by Zhu teaches the battery replacement station according to claim 1. Agassi modified by Zhu does not teach wherein the temperature adjustment member has a rectangular plate shape and is attached to the charged battery so as to cover the outer surface of the charged battery.
Zhao teaches wherein the temperature adjustment member has a rectangular plate shape and is attached to the charged battery so as to cover the outer surface of the charged battery. (pg. 4 “unit battery described in the embodiment of the present invention conducts heat through the L-shaped heat conductive sheets 12 closed at both ends, and the heat conductive sheet is in direct contact with the unit battery”, FIG 2 depicts conductive sheets 12 to be rectangular in shape)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the battery replacement station as taught by Agassi modified by Zhu wherein the temperature adjustment member has a rectangular plate shape and is attached to the charged battery so as to cover the outer surface of the charged battery as taught by Zhao. Zhao discloses a battery temperature adjusting device, similar to the battery pack transfer device 5 as taught by Zhu. Using the conductive sheets 12 as taught by Zhao as the heat exchange interface 504 would result in the claimed invention. It would be obvious to incorporate the phase change material of Zhao into the battery replacement station as taught by Agassi modified by Zhu as the medium transferred through the heat exchange interface 504. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to optimize battery performance and longevity by adjusting the battery temperature prior to charging or use to minimize battery degradation.
Prior Art Not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited by Examiner attached to this correspondence.
Schafer et al (US 20120206093 A1) discloses a battery rental station configured with an air-conditioning device configured to control the temperature inside the holding device.
Oshima et al (US 20160233563 A1) discloses a battery temperature regulating device which uses condensed water as a temperature control medium which is attached to the battery itself
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LISA KOTOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859