Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims [1-3, 6-10, 11-13 and 16-20] are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yi (US 20210112626 A1).
In regards to claims 1 and 11 Yi teaches an access point comprising: [0118] Example 1 includes an apparatus for an access point (AP) in a Wireless Fidelity (Wi-Fi) network one or more processors configured to: [0065] The processing circuitry 1006 may be coupled to the communications circuitry generate a first frame [0118] encode a first trigger frame, to be transmitted, via the RF interface, to a plurality of stations (STAs) associated with the AP, to query a buffer status of each of the plurality of STAs to trigger a receiver device to send a response frame [0037] After receiving the first trigger frame (e.g., the MU_BSRP trigger frame) 310, each of the plurality of STAs 120 may determine whether it have any data stored in a buffer and to be transmitted to another STA (which may be considered as a “target receiver STA”). If the STA 120 determines that it has data to be transmitted to a target receiver STA, the STA 120 may send a response frame 320 to the AP 110 based on uplink (UL) OFDMA that comprises buffer status data [0038] In an embodiment, the response frame 320 may be an A-Control Buffer Status Report Extension (BSR_Ext) frame corresponding to wireless traffic between the receiver device and another device; [0037] After receiving the first trigger frame (e.g., the MU_BSRP trigger frame) 310, each of the plurality of STAs 120 may determine whether it have any data stored in a buffer and to be transmitted to another STA (which may be considered as a “target receiver STA”). If the STA 120 determines that it has data to be transmitted to a target receiver STA, the STA 120 may send a response frame 320 and wirelessly transmit, via a transmitter, the generated first frame to one or more devices [0118] encode a first trigger frame, to be transmitted, via the RF interface, to a plurality of stations (STAs) associated with the AP, to query a buffer status of each of the plurality of STAs.
In regards to claims 2 and 12 Yi teaches wherein the wireless traffic comprises peer-to-peer (p2p) traffic between the receiver device and the another device. [0027] In the Wi-Fi network 100, all the STAs 120 are associated with the AP 110. When two STAs want to communicate with each other, they may establish a virtual P2P connection. As shown in FIG. 1, three virtual P2P connections have been established in the Wi-Fi network 100, including a first virtual P2P connection 121 between STA1 and STA4.
In regards to claims 3 and 13 Yi teaches set a frame type field of the first frame to a type indicating a buffer status trigger frame. [0051] The first trigger frame may be the MU_BSRP trigger frame. The plurality of STAs may include all STAs that are associated with the AP 110, in the Wi-Fi network 100.
In regards to claims 6 and 16 Yi teaches the first frame includes a Common Info field carrying information that is relevant to a plurality of users or receiver devices, [0043] The MU_P2P trigger frame 500 may include a media access control (MAC) header 510, a common info filed 520, a TX User info field 530, a RX User info field 540, padding 550, and a Frame Check Sequence (FCS) 560, among others. The MAC header 510, common info filed 520, padding 550, and FCS 560 are the same as those in a basic trigger frame defined in the IEEE 802.11ax and in generating the first frame, the one or more processors are configured to set a subfield of the Common Info field to a value indicating a buffer status request for wireless traffic between the receiver device and the another device. [0035] The AP 110 may broadcast a first trigger frame 310 to query a buffer status of each of the plurality of STAs 120. In an embodiment, the first trigger frame 310 may be a Multiple User Buffer Status Report Polling (MU_BSRP) trigger frame as defined in IEEE 802.11ax.
In regards to claims 7 and 17 Yi teaches the first frame includes a Common Info field, and in generating the first frame, [0043] The MU_P2P trigger frame 500 may include a media access control (MAC) header 510, a common info filed 520, a TX User info field 530, a RX User info field 540, padding 550, and a Frame Check Sequence (FCS) 560, among others. The MAC header 510, common info filed 520, padding 550, and FCS 560 are the same as those in a basic trigger frame defined in the IEEE 802.11ax the one or more processors are configured to set a subfield of the Common Info field to a value to trigger a plurality of users or receiver devices[0051] The first trigger frame may be the MU_BSRP trigger frame. The plurality of STAs may include all STAs that are associated with the AP 110, in the Wi-Fi network 100, to send respective response frames [0037] After receiving the first trigger frame (e.g., the MU_BSRP trigger frame) 310, each of the plurality of STAs 120 may determine whether it have any data stored in a buffer and to be transmitted to another STA (which may be considered as a “target receiver STA”). If the STA 120 determines that it has data to be transmitted to a target receiver STA, the STA 120 may send a response frame 320 to the AP 110 based on uplink (UL) OFDMA, that comprise respective buffer status data corresponding to peer-to- peer (p2p) traffic. [0038] In an embodiment, the response frame 320 may be an A-Control Buffer Status Report Extension (BSR_Ext) frame, which is an extension of the A-Control BSR frame defined in the IEEE 802.11ax. FIG. 4 shows an example A-Control BSR_Ext frame 400, according to embodiments of the disclosure.
In regards to claims 8 and 18 Yi teaches wherein the first frame includes a frame type field, and in generating the first frame, the one or more processors are configured to: set the frame type field to a type indicating a buffer status trigger frame for peer- to-peer (p2p) traffic. [0035] The AP 110 may broadcast a first trigger frame 310 to query a buffer status of each of the plurality of STAs 120. In an embodiment, the first trigger frame 310 may be a Multiple User Buffer Status Report Polling (MU_BSRP) trigger frame as defined in IEEE 802.11ax.
In regards to claims 9 and 19 Yi teaches wherein the first frame includes a Common Info field carrying information that is relevant to a plurality of users or receiver devices, and the frame type field is a subfield of the Common Info field. [0042] The AP 110 may send a second trigger frame 330 to the selected group of STAs (e.g., STA1, STA2 and STA5) and the target receiver STA (e.g., STA4, STA3 and STA6) for each of the group of STAs, i.e., the selected group of STA pairs (e.g., (STA1.fwdarw.STA4), (STA2.fwdarw.STA3) and (STA5.fwdarw.STA6)). For example, the second trigger frame 330 may be a Multiple User Peer-to-Peer (MU_P2P) trigger frame. FIG. 5 shows an example MU_P2P trigger frame 500, according to embodiments of the disclosure
In regards to claims 10 and 20 Yi teaches set the frame type field to a type to trigger a plurality of users or receiver devices [0035] The AP 110 may broadcast a first trigger frame 310 to query a buffer status of each of the plurality of STAs 120. In an embodiment, the first trigger frame 310 may be a Multiple User Buffer Status Report Polling (MU_BSRP) trigger frame as defined in IEEE 802.11ax, to send respective response frames [0037] After receiving the first trigger frame (e.g., the MU_BSRP trigger frame) 310, each of the plurality of STAs 120 may determine whether it have any data stored in a buffer and to be transmitted to another STA (which may be considered as a “target receiver STA”). If the STA 120 determines that it has data to be transmitted to a target receiver STA, the STA 120 may send a response frame 320 to the AP 110 based on uplink (UL) OFDMA that comprise respective buffer status data corresponding to wireless peer-to-peer (p2p) traffic. [0038] In an embodiment, the response frame 320 may be an A-Control Buffer Status Report Extension (BSR_Ext) frame, which is an extension of the A-Control BSR frame defined in the IEEE 802.11ax. FIG. 4 shows an example A-Control BSR_Ext frame 400, according to embodiments of the disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim [4-5 and 14-15] are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over by Yi (US 20210112626 A1) in view of Kedar (US 20170332385 A1).
In regards to claims 4 and 14 Yi does teach the limitation of the parent claims.
Yi does not teach the first frame includes a first User Info field that relates to a first device, and in generating the first frame, the one or more processors are configured to set a subfield of the first User Info field to a first value indicating a buffer status request for wireless traffic between the first device and a second device.
However, Kedar does teach the first frame includes a first User Info field that relates to a first device, [0119] as the trigger frame 902 of FIG. 9, is shown to include a frame control field 1001, a duration field 1002, a receiver address (RA) field 1003, a transmitter address (TA) field 1004, a Common Info field 1005, a number of Per User Info fields 1006(1)-1006(n), and a frame check sequence (FCS) field 1007 and in generating the first frame, the one or more processors are configured to set a subfield of the first User Info field to a first value [0123] a trigger-dependent Per User info subfield 1027. The User Identifier subfield 1021 indicates the association identification (AID) of the STA that is allocated the RU for transmitting UL MU data. The RU Allocation subfield 1022 indicates the RU to be used by the STA identified by User Identifier subfield 1021, indicating a buffer status request for wireless traffic between the first device and a second device [0120] a value of “3” stored in the Sub-type field 1001B may indicate that trigger frame 902 is a multi-user ready-to-send (MU-RTS) frame; and a value of “4” stored in the Sub-type field 1001B may indicate that trigger frame 902 is a Buffer Status Report Poll (BSRP) variant trigger frame. These example trigger type values and trigger type descriptions are summarized in Table 1.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Yi and Kedar before him or her, to modify the method of Yi to include the buffer subfield event as taught by Kedar.
The motivation to do so would be to the improved wireless commutation performance. (0046 by Kedar).
In regards to claims 5 and 15 Yi does teach the limitation of the parent claims.
Yi does not teach the first frame includes a second User Info field relating to a third device, and in generating the first frame, the one or more processors are configured to: set a subfield of the second User Info field to a second value indicating a buffer status request for wireless traffic between the access point and the third device, to trigger the third device to send a response frame that comprises buffer status data corresponding to the wireless traffic between the access point and the third device.
However, Kedar does teach the first frame includes a second User Info field relating to a third device [0119] a duration field 1002, a receiver address (RA) field 1003, a transmitter address (TA) field 1004, a Common Info field 1005, a number of Per User Info fields 1006(1)-1006(n), and a frame check sequence (FCS) field 1007 and in generating the first frame, the one or more processors are configured to: set a subfield of the second User Info field [0081] For example, the processor 330 may execute the frame formation and exchange software module 344 to facilitate the creation and exchange of any suitable frames (such as data frames, action frames, control frames, and management frames) between the AP 300 and other wireless devices. The processor 330 may execute the trigger frame control software module 345 to control the transmission of trigger frames to one or more STAs to a second value indicating a buffer status request for wireless traffic between the access point and the third device, [0120] a value of “3” stored in the Sub-type field 1001B may indicate that trigger frame 902 is a multi-user ready-to-send (MU-RTS) frame; and a value of “4” stored in the Sub-type field 1001B may indicate that trigger frame 902 is a Buffer Status Report Poll (BSRP) variant trigger frame. These example trigger type values and trigger type descriptions are summarized in Table 1, to trigger the third device to send a response frame [0110] As depicted in FIG. 9, the AP may transmit a BSR request 910 to one or more of the stations STA1-STAn. The BSR request 910 may request, trigger, solicit, instruct, or otherwise cause the stations STA1-STAn to transmit buffer status information to the AP. In addition to requesting buffer status information, the BSR request 910 also may indicate the granularity (based on the quantization value (QV)) of the amount of queued UL data to be reported by the stations STA1-STAn that comprises buffer status data corresponding to the wireless traffic between the access point and the third device. [0108] As described with respect to FIG. 6, the stations STA1-STAn associated with an AP may each transmit a BSR 601 indicating an amount and the priority level(s) of queued UL data. In response, the AP may select the size and location of RUs to be allocated to the stations STA1-STAn based on the received BSRs 601. For the example of FIG. 6, the stations STA1-STAn may transmit the BSRs 601 to the AP in the absence of a request from the AP.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Yi and Kedar before him or her, to modify the method of Yi to include the buffer subfield event as taught by Kedar.
The motivation to do so would be to the improved wireless commutation performance. (0046 by Kedar).
Conclusion
/SHEHAB A ALAWDI/Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/JAY P PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466