DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9, 13-15, 17-19, 32-40, 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pub. No. 2008/0046387 to Gopal.
Gopal teaches
1. An electric power system (Abstract, Figs. 1-3, paragraphs 35-46) comprising:
a plurality of load controllers that are configured to control the supply of electrical energy from the electric power system to a plurality of loads (paragraph 31, “automated electrical energy control system for making optimal decisions via the monitoring and control of the various devices within a domain. A domain can be a residential or commercial facility equipped with solar based energy generation, with battery for storage,”; paragraph 32, “an electrical energy control system that makes automatic decisions to optimally generate, use, store, buy, and sell energy within a domain driven by the policies from the administrative entity. A control processor is used within the domain to implement this decision making process based on a variety of information from within and outside the domain. A configurable power circuit topology is used to inter-connect the various energy devices. A local area network is used so that the control processor can get measurements from the various devices in the domain and also so that the control processor can send configuration data to the various devices including the switches in the configurable power circuit.”; paragraph 34, “control variables which can be changed by the control processor for a specific time interval are energy storage, energy consumption, energy purchase (buying) and energy sale (selling).”; Fig. 1, paragraph 35, “FIG. 1 shows a block diagram of an embodiment of the electrical energy control system 100 where an energy control processor 101 monitors and controls energy devices inter-connected via a configurable power circuit 1 10 (for electrical power distribution) within a residence (domain). As shown, an energy control processor 101 logically interfaces with at least one solar photo-voltaic panel (energy generating device) 102, lead-acid battery (energy storage device) 107, water heater 104 and air-conditioning 103 (examples of energy consumption device), DC to AC inverter 106 (energy conditioning device). The control processor 101 uses a WiFi LAN (local area network) 109 to monitor these devices, collects data from electrical measurement devices 105 and provides configuration directives to the power circuit 110 and some consumption devices 104 and 103 based on near real time decisions facilitated by pre-determined long-term estimates. The control processor 101 makes multiple decisions for the current time interval and one such decision could be to sell excess energy within a domain to the local utility (external power) grid 112. The administrative entity 111 accesses the energy control system 100 using a web browser located either within the LAN 109 or connected to the system remotely over the Internet.”; paragraph 37, “The domain itself could be a residence where the owner serves as the administrative entity 111 as described here in more detail. Alternatively, a commercial building used for offices, factories, etc. can also benefit from this invention with the building manager serving as the administrative entity. An educational institute with a campus comprising multiple buildings can also leverage a scaled version of this invention in either a centralized mode where a single larger control processor is utilized for multiple buildings or as an aggregation of distributed energy control sub-domains, each with its own dedicated energy control processor 101. In the second case, the individual energy control processors are still driven by the policies provided by the administrative entity 111 who could be the site facilities manager. These are only some examples of different combinations and many more such combinations can easily be identified which are all subservient to the innovative aspects of the invention in managing energy generation, storage and use within a domain”; paragraph 43, “The configurable power circuit 110 is an improvement upon the traditional electrical distribution panels generally used to distribute utility power within a residence and accordingly includes all its functions. Ordinary distribution panels typically include an input point for one or more phases of AC current from the power source. The load for the entire residence is distributed over multiple load circuits rated by the current handling capability (typically 10 to 30 Amperes) of each circuit. A dedicated circuit is used for high energy consumption devices such as electric stoves, electrical garbage disposal systems, and air-conditioning 103 devices connected with a power line 215. Lights and common wall-mounted electrical power outlets for an area of the residence are typically on a single dedicated (other load) circuit 205. Such areas could be living room, kitchen, bedroom, etc. in a residential building.”; paragraph 44, “configurable power circuit 110 in FIG. 3 augments the distribution panel with electronic switching components, driven under the control of the control processor 101 commands transmitted over the LAN 109. A simple on-off switch 204 is implemented using power transistors which essentially connects or disconnects the corresponding power circuit 110 from another point in the configurable power circuit 110 that can source electrical energy. This is one way of controlling energy consumption where a multitude of energy consumption devices (such as lights and small appliances) on that circuit can be disconnected to reduce the amount of power consumption. This bulk arrangement is used for general types of circuits for lightings and power points in the residence. A more effective control of consumption devices is associated with larger loads typically equipped with their own dedicated control apparatus.”);
a control system configured to:
determine an amount of power in reserve and available to be provided to the electric power system (Fig. 5, surplus and stored energy, paragraphs 48-50, 87-98, 112); and
use the determined amount of power in reserve to determine a plurality of different values of a plurality of setpoints (Fig. 5, surplus and stored energy, paragraphs 48-50, 87-98, 112), wherein the setpoints correspond to a parameter of the electrical energy that is supplied by the electric power system to the loads (paragraph 14, “A configurable power circuit with remote controlled switches is used to interconnect various energy generation, storage and consumption devices. A local area network is used to connect the various switches of the power circuit, remote controlled energy devices, and measurement devices to a control processor that provides near real time decisions. To make the invention practical and usable such decisions based on optimization criteria, historical information, current status of the various devices, estimates for future needs, and environmental conditions are made in an efficient and cost effective fashion. This requires an automated approach that can preserve the system state variable values estimated during a long term planning phase and their subsequent near future revisions based on the actual measurement data collected from the devices and external information sources. These estimated state variables provide a bounded region within which a near real time decision process can actually set the optimal energy storage, selling, and purchase values. This innovative hierarchical partitioning of the control method into three phases (long term planning, short term updates, and near real time decision making) makes it feasible to use a general purpose data processing computer for this invention. Thus the system allows the implementation of the control method as software programs running in a control processor for maximum processing and storage flexibility and under the policies specified by the administrative entity responsible for the domain.”; paragraph 16, “”The measurement devices include voltmeter, ampere-meter, and watt-meter which are located at specific points of the circuit so that at least the overall energy generation, consumption, storage, buying, and selling can be measured by the control processor. The electrical measurement data is sent to the control processor over a Local Area Network (LAN). The control data items, corresponding to the near real time decision making by the control processor, are also sent from the control processor to the configurable circuit switches over the LAN for setting a specific circuit topology and also to control specific consumption devices which are equipped with local control apparatus such as a thermostat; paragraph 34, 44, 45, 51-52, 54-58); and
wherein the load controllers are configured to monitor the parameter of the electrical energy that is supplied by the electric power system with respect to the values of the setpoints and to adjust an amount of power that is supplied from the electric power system to the loads as a result of the monitoring of the parameter by the load controllers (paragraph 34, 41-42, 47, 52-86, 89-112).
2. The electric power system of claim 1 wherein the control system is configured to determine the values of the setpoints at an initial moment in time, to determine an amount of power in reserve and available to be provided to the electric power system at a plurality of additional moments in time, and to determine additional values of the setpoints at the additional moments in time (Fig. 5, 7-10, paragraphs 48-51, 54-112).
3. The electric power system of claim 2 wherein the additional values of the setpoints configure the load controllers to supply different amounts of power to the loads at different moments in time for a given value of the parameter (Fig. 5, 7-10, paragraphs 48-51, 54-112).
4. The electric power system of claim 1 wherein one of the load controllers is configured to monitor the parameter of the electrical energy that is supplied by the electric power system with respect to different ones of the values of the setpoints at different moments in time (Fig. 5, 7-10, paragraphs 41, 42, 46, 48-51, 54-112).
5. The electric power system of claim 1 wherein the determined amount of power in reserve is in addition to an amount of power that is supplied by the electric power system to the loads at a given moment in time (Fig. 5, 7-10, paragraphs 48-51, 54-112).
6. The electric power system of claim 1 wherein the load controllers are configured to reduce the amount of power that is supplied from the electric power system to the loads to adjust the amount of power (Fig. 5, 7-10, paragraphs 48-51, 54-112).
7. The electric power system of claim 1 wherein the determined amount of power in reserve is greater at a first moment in time compared with a second moment in time, and the determined values of the setpoints configure the load controllers to increase a reduction in the amount of power that is supplied from the electric power system to the loads for a given value of the parameter at the second moment in time compared with a reduction in the amount of power that is supplied from the electric power system to the loads for the given value of the parameter at the first moment in time (Fig. 5, 7-10, paragraphs 48-51, 54-112).
9. The electric power system of claim 1 wherein the control system is configured to use at least one of headroom of generation sources, a largest planned transient, and the loads of the electric power system to determine the determined amount of power in reserve (Fig. 5, 7-10, paragraphs 48-51, 54-112).
13. The electric power system of claim 1 further comprising a plurality of microgrids that are selectively connected to one another to conduct electrical energy between the microgrids, and wherein the control system is configured to determine the determined amount of power in reserve and determine the values of the setpoints after one of connection or disconnection of the microgrids with respect to one another (Fig. 2, paragraphs 42-43; paragraph 37, “The domain itself could be a residence where the owner serves as the administrative entity 111 as described here in more detail. Alternatively, a commercial building used for offices, factories, etc. can also benefit from this invention with the building manager serving as the administrative entity. An educational institute with a campus comprising multiple buildings can also leverage a scaled version of this invention in either a centralized mode where a single larger control processor is utilized for multiple buildings or as an aggregation of distributed energy control sub-domains, each with its own dedicated energy control processor 101. In the second case, the individual energy control processors are still driven by the policies provided by the administrative entity 111 who could be the site facilities manager. These are only some examples of different combinations and many more such combinations can easily be identified which are all subservient to the innovative aspects of the invention in managing energy generation, storage and use within a domain”; paragraph 43, “The configurable power circuit 110 is an improvement upon the traditional electrical distribution panels generally used to distribute utility power within a residence and accordingly includes all its functions. Ordinary distribution panels typically include an input point for one or more phases of AC current from the power source. The load for the entire residence is distributed over multiple load circuits rated by the current handling capability (typically 10 to 30 Amperes) of each circuit. A dedicated circuit is used for high energy consumption devices such as electric stoves, electrical garbage disposal systems, and air-conditioning 103 devices connected with a power line 215. Lights and common wall-mounted electrical power outlets for an area of the residence are typically on a single dedicated (other load) circuit 205. Such areas could be living room, kitchen, bedroom, etc. in a residential building.”; paragraph 44, “configurable power circuit 110 in FIG. 3 augments the distribution panel with electronic switching components, driven under the control of the control processor 101 commands transmitted over the LAN 109. A simple on-off switch 204 is implemented using power transistors which essentially connects or disconnects the corresponding power circuit 110 from another point in the configurable power circuit 110 that can source electrical energy. This is one way of controlling energy consumption where a multitude of energy consumption devices (such as lights and small appliances) on that circuit can be disconnected to reduce the amount of power consumption. This bulk arrangement is used for general types of circuits for lightings and power points in the residence. A more effective control of consumption devices is associated with larger loads typically equipped with their own dedicated control apparatus.”).
14. The electric power system of claim 13 further comprising a communications system configured to communicate data regarding amounts of power in reserve at the microgrids to the control system (paragraphs 16, 113, 18, 22, 35, 37, 47, Fig. 3).
15. The electric power system of claim 1 further comprising a communications system configured to communicate the values of the setpoints from the control system to the load controllers (paragraphs 16, 113, 18, 22, 35, 37, 47, Fig. 3).
17. The electric power system of claim 1 wherein the loads are end user loads connected with a distribution system of the electric power system (Fig. 1, paragraph 35, “FIG. 1 shows a block diagram of an embodiment of the electrical energy control system 100 where an energy control processor 101 monitors and controls energy devices inter-connected via a configurable power circuit 1 10 (for electrical power distribution) within a residence (domain). As shown, an energy control processor 101 logically interfaces with at least one solar photo-voltaic panel (energy generating device) 102, lead-acid battery (energy storage device) 107, water heater 104 and air-conditioning 103 (examples of energy consumption device), DC to AC inverter 106 (energy conditioning device). The control processor 101 uses a WiFi LAN (local area network) 109 to monitor these devices, collects data from electrical measurement devices 105 and provides configuration directives to the power circuit 110 and some consumption devices 104 and 103 based on near real time decisions facilitated by pre-determined long-term estimates. The control processor 101 makes multiple decisions for the current time interval and one such decision could be to sell excess energy within a domain to the local utility (external power) grid 112. The administrative entity 111 accesses the energy control system 100 using a web browser located either within the LAN 109 or connected to the system remotely over the Internet.”; paragraph 37, “The domain itself could be a residence where the owner serves as the administrative entity 111 as described here in more detail. Alternatively, a commercial building used for offices, factories, etc. can also benefit from this invention with the building manager serving as the administrative entity. An educational institute with a campus comprising multiple buildings can also leverage a scaled version of this invention in either a centralized mode where a single larger control processor is utilized for multiple buildings or as an aggregation of distributed energy control sub-domains, each with its own dedicated energy control processor 101. In the second case, the individual energy control processors are still driven by the policies provided by the administrative entity 111 who could be the site facilities manager. These are only some examples of different combinations and many more such combinations can easily be identified which are all subservient to the innovative aspects of the invention in managing energy generation, storage and use within a domain”; paragraph 43, “The configurable power circuit 110 is an improvement upon the traditional electrical distribution panels generally used to distribute utility power within a residence and accordingly includes all its functions. Ordinary distribution panels typically include an input point for one or more phases of AC current from the power source. The load for the entire residence is distributed over multiple load circuits rated by the current handling capability (typically 10 to 30 Amperes) of each circuit. A dedicated circuit is used for high energy consumption devices such as electric stoves, electrical garbage disposal systems, and air-conditioning 103 devices connected with a power line 215. Lights and common wall-mounted electrical power outlets for an area of the residence are typically on a single dedicated (other load) circuit 205. Such areas could be living room, kitchen, bedroom, etc. in a residential building.”; paragraph 44, “configurable power circuit 110 in FIG. 3 augments the distribution panel with electronic switching components, driven under the control of the control processor 101 commands transmitted over the LAN 109. A simple on-off switch 204 is implemented using power transistors which essentially connects or disconnects the corresponding power circuit 110 from another point in the configurable power circuit 110 that can source electrical energy. This is one way of controlling energy consumption where a multitude of energy consumption devices (such as lights and small appliances) on that circuit can be disconnected to reduce the amount of power consumption. This bulk arrangement is used for general types of circuits for lightings and power points in the residence. A more effective control of consumption devices is associated with larger loads typically equipped with their own dedicated control apparatus.”).
18. The electric power system of claim 1 wherein each of the load controllers is configured to adjust the amount of power that is supplied from the electric power system to an individual one of the loads (Fig. 1, paragraph 35, “FIG. 1 shows a block diagram of an embodiment of the electrical energy control system 100 where an energy control processor 101 monitors and controls energy devices inter-connected via a configurable power circuit 1 10 (for electrical power distribution) within a residence (domain). As shown, an energy control processor 101 logically interfaces with at least one solar photo-voltaic panel (energy generating device) 102, lead-acid battery (energy storage device) 107, water heater 104 and air-conditioning 103 (examples of energy consumption device), DC to AC inverter 106 (energy conditioning device). The control processor 101 uses a WiFi LAN (local area network) 109 to monitor these devices, collects data from electrical measurement devices 105 and provides configuration directives to the power circuit 110 and some consumption devices 104 and 103 based on near real time decisions facilitated by pre-determined long-term estimates. The control processor 101 makes multiple decisions for the current time interval and one such decision could be to sell excess energy within a domain to the local utility (external power) grid 112. The administrative entity 111 accesses the energy control system 100 using a web browser located either within the LAN 109 or connected to the system remotely over the Internet.”; paragraph 37, “The domain itself could be a residence where the owner serves as the administrative entity 111 as described here in more detail. Alternatively, a commercial building used for offices, factories, etc. can also benefit from this invention with the building manager serving as the administrative entity. An educational institute with a campus comprising multiple buildings can also leverage a scaled version of this invention in either a centralized mode where a single larger control processor is utilized for multiple buildings or as an aggregation of distributed energy control sub-domains, each with its own dedicated energy control processor 101. In the second case, the individual energy control processors are still driven by the policies provided by the administrative entity 111 who could be the site facilities manager. These are only some examples of different combinations and many more such combinations can easily be identified which are all subservient to the innovative aspects of the invention in managing energy generation, storage and use within a domain”; paragraph 43, “The configurable power circuit 110 is an improvement upon the traditional electrical distribution panels generally used to distribute utility power within a residence and accordingly includes all its functions. Ordinary distribution panels typically include an input point for one or more phases of AC current from the power source. The load for the entire residence is distributed over multiple load circuits rated by the current handling capability (typically 10 to 30 Amperes) of each circuit. A dedicated circuit is used for high energy consumption devices such as electric stoves, electrical garbage disposal systems, and air-conditioning 103 devices connected with a power line 215. Lights and common wall-mounted electrical power outlets for an area of the residence are typically on a single dedicated (other load) circuit 205. Such areas could be living room, kitchen, bedroom, etc. in a residential building.”; paragraph 44, “configurable power circuit 110 in FIG. 3 augments the distribution panel with electronic switching components, driven under the control of the control processor 101 commands transmitted over the LAN 109. A simple on-off switch 204 is implemented using power transistors which essentially connects or disconnects the corresponding power circuit 110 from another point in the configurable power circuit 110 that can source electrical energy. This is one way of controlling energy consumption where a multitude of energy consumption devices (such as lights and small appliances) on that circuit can be disconnected to reduce the amount of power consumption. This bulk arrangement is used for general types of circuits for lightings and power points in the residence. A more effective control of consumption devices is associated with larger loads typically equipped with their own dedicated control apparatus.”).
19. The electric power system of claim 1 wherein the control system is configured to determine the values of the setpoints as a result of a change in an amount of generation of the electrical energy of the electric power system or a change in the loads that receive the electric energy from the electric power system. (Fig. 5, 7-10, paragraphs 48-51, 54-112).
Claim 32 (Previously Presented): The electric power system of claim1 wherein the control system is configured to determine the values of the setpoints to provide a desired response of the electric power system (paragraphs 31-34, 44, 45, 51, 53-112).
Claim 33 (Previously Presented): The electric power system of claim 1 wherein the load controllers are configured to adjust the amount of power that is supplied in a plurality of different microgrids of the electric power system (paragraphs 31-34, 44, 45, 51, 53-112).
Claim 34 (Currently Amended): The electric power system of claim 33 wherein the control system is configured to determine the different values of the setpoints after one of connection or disconnection of the microgrids with respect to one another (paragraphs 31-34, 44, 45, 51, 53-112).
Claim 35 (Currently Amended): The electric power system of claim 1 wherein the control system is configured to determine the different values for of the setpoints after a change in an amount of generation of the electrical energy of the electric power system (paragraphs 31-34, 44, 45, 51, 53-112).
Claim 36 (Currently Amended): The electric power system of claim 1 wherein the control system is configured to determine the different values of the setpoints after a change in the loads that receive the electric energy from the electric power system (paragraphs 31-34, 44, 45, 51, 53-112).
Claim 37 (Previously Presented): The electric power system of claim 1 wherein the setpoints correspond to respective ones of the load controllers (paragraph 31, “automated electrical energy control system for making optimal decisions via the monitoring and control of the various devices within a domain. A domain can be a residential or commercial facility equipped with solar based energy generation, with battery for storage,”; paragraph 32, “an electrical energy control system that makes automatic decisions to optimally generate, use, store, buy, and sell energy within a domain driven by the policies from the administrative entity. A control processor is used within the domain to implement this decision making process based on a variety of information from within and outside the domain. A configurable power circuit topology is used to inter-connect the various energy devices. A local area network is used so that the control processor can get measurements from the various devices in the domain and also so that the control processor can send configuration data to the various devices including the switches in the configurable power circuit.”; paragraph 34, “control variables which can be changed by the control processor for a specific time interval are energy storage, energy consumption, energy purchase (buying) and energy sale (selling).”; Fig. 1, paragraph 35, “FIG. 1 shows a block diagram of an embodiment of the electrical energy control system 100 where an energy control processor 101 monitors and controls energy devices inter-connected via a configurable power circuit 1 10 (for electrical power distribution) within a residence (domain). As shown, an energy control processor 101 logically interfaces with at least one solar photo-voltaic panel (energy generating device) 102, lead-acid battery (energy storage device) 107, water heater 104 and air-conditioning 103 (examples of energy consumption device), DC to AC inverter 106 (energy conditioning device). The control processor 101 uses a WiFi LAN (local area network) 109 to monitor these devices, collects data from electrical measurement devices 105 and provides configuration directives to the power circuit 110 and some consumption devices 104 and 103 based on near real time decisions facilitated by pre-determined long-term estimates. The control processor 101 makes multiple decisions for the current time interval and one such decision could be to sell excess energy within a domain to the local utility (external power) grid 112. The administrative entity 111 accesses the energy control system 100 using a web browser located either within the LAN 109 or connected to the system remotely over the Internet.”; paragraph 37, “The domain itself could be a residence where the owner serves as the administrative entity 111 as described here in more detail. Alternatively, a commercial building used for offices, factories, etc. can also benefit from this invention with the building manager serving as the administrative entity. An educational institute with a campus comprising multiple buildings can also leverage a scaled version of this invention in either a centralized mode where a single larger control processor is utilized for multiple buildings or as an aggregation of distributed energy control sub-domains, each with its own dedicated energy control processor 101. In the second case, the individual energy control processors are still driven by the policies provided by the administrative entity 111 who could be the site facilities manager. These are only some examples of different combinations and many more such combinations can easily be identified which are all subservient to the innovative aspects of the invention in managing energy generation, storage and use within a domain”; paragraph 43, “The configurable power circuit 110 is an improvement upon the traditional electrical distribution panels generally used to distribute utility power within a residence and accordingly includes all its functions. Ordinary distribution panels typically include an input point for one or more phases of AC current from the power source. The load for the entire residence is distributed over multiple load circuits rated by the current handling capability (typically 10 to 30 Amperes) of each circuit. A dedicated circuit is used for high energy consumption devices such as electric stoves, electrical garbage disposal systems, and air-conditioning 103 devices connected with a power line 215. Lights and common wall-mounted electrical power outlets for an area of the residence are typically on a single dedicated (other load) circuit 205. Such areas could be living room, kitchen, bedroom, etc. in a residential building.”; paragraph 44, “configurable power circuit 110 in FIG. 3 augments the distribution panel with electronic switching components, driven under the control of the control processor 101 commands transmitted over the LAN 109. A simple on-off switch 204 is implemented using power transistors which essentially connects or disconnects the corresponding power circuit 110 from another point in the configurable power circuit 110 that can source electrical energy. This is one way of controlling energy consumption where a multitude of energy consumption devices (such as lights and small appliances) on that circuit can be disconnected to reduce the amount of power consumption. This bulk arrangement is used for general types of circuits for lightings and power points in the residence. A more effective control of consumption devices is associated with larger loads typically equipped with their own dedicated control apparatus.”).
Claim 38 (Previously Presented): The electric power system of claim 37 wherein at least some of the values of the setpoints are different from one another at a moment in time (paragraphs 31-34, 44, 45, 51, 53-112).
Claim 39 (Currently Amended): The electric power system of claim 1 wherein the different values of the setpoints are a first set of values at one moment in time and the control system is configured to determine a second set of values of the setpoints at another moment in time, and wherein at least some of the values of the setpoints of the first and second sets are different (paragraphs 31-34, 44, 45, 51, 53-112).
Claim 40 (Currently Amended): The electric power system of claim 37 wherein the load controllers are individually configured to adjust the amount of power that is supplied to a respective one of the loads (paragraph 31, “automated electrical energy control system for making optimal decisions via the monitoring and control of the various devices within a domain. A domain can be a residential or commercial facility equipped with solar based energy generation, with battery for storage,”; paragraph 32, “an electrical energy control system that makes automatic decisions to optimally generate, use, store, buy, and sell energy within a domain driven by the policies from the administrative entity. A control processor is used within the domain to implement this decision making process based on a variety of information from within and outside the domain. A configurable power circuit topology is used to inter-connect the various energy devices. A local area network is used so that the control processor can get measurements from the various devices in the domain and also so that the control processor can send configuration data to the various devices including the switches in the configurable power circuit.”; paragraph 34, “control variables which can be changed by the control processor for a specific time interval are energy storage, energy consumption, energy purchase (buying) and energy sale (selling).”; Fig. 1, paragraph 35, “FIG. 1 shows a block diagram of an embodiment of the electrical energy control system 100 where an energy control processor 101 monitors and controls energy devices inter-connected via a configurable power circuit 1 10 (for electrical power distribution) within a residence (domain). As shown, an energy control processor 101 logically interfaces with at least one solar photo-voltaic panel (energy generating device) 102, lead-acid battery (energy storage device) 107, water heater 104 and air-conditioning 103 (examples of energy consumption device), DC to AC inverter 106 (energy conditioning device). The control processor 101 uses a WiFi LAN (local area network) 109 to monitor these devices, collects data from electrical measurement devices 105 and provides configuration directives to the power circuit 110 and some consumption devices 104 and 103 based on near real time decisions facilitated by pre-determined long-term estimates. The control processor 101 makes multiple decisions for the current time interval and one such decision could be to sell excess energy within a domain to the local utility (external power) grid 112. The administrative entity 111 accesses the energy control system 100 using a web browser located either within the LAN 109 or connected to the system remotely over the Internet.”; paragraph 37, “The domain itself could be a residence where the owner serves as the administrative entity 111 as described here in more detail. Alternatively, a commercial building used for offices, factories, etc. can also benefit from this invention with the building manager serving as the administrative entity. An educational institute with a campus comprising multiple buildings can also leverage a scaled version of this invention in either a centralized mode where a single larger control processor is utilized for multiple buildings or as an aggregation of distributed energy control sub-domains, each with its own dedicated energy control processor 101. In the second case, the individual energy control processors are still driven by the policies provided by the administrative entity 111 who could be the site facilities manager. These are only some examples of different combinations and many more such combinations can easily be identified which are all subservient to the innovative aspects of the invention in managing energy generation, storage and use within a domain”; paragraph 43, “The configurable power circuit 110 is an improvement upon the traditional electrical distribution panels generally used to distribute utility power within a residence and accordingly includes all its functions. Ordinary distribution panels typically include an input point for one or more phases of AC current from the power source. The load for the entire residence is distributed over multiple load circuits rated by the current handling capability (typically 10 to 30 Amperes) of each circuit. A dedicated circuit is used for high energy consumption devices such as electric stoves, electrical garbage disposal systems, and air-conditioning 103 devices connected with a power line 215. Lights and common wall-mounted electrical power outlets for an area of the residence are typically on a single dedicated (other load) circuit 205. Such areas could be living room, kitchen, bedroom, etc. in a residential building.”; paragraph 44, “configurable power circuit 110 in FIG. 3 augments the distribution panel with electronic switching components, driven under the control of the control processor 101 commands transmitted over the LAN 109. A simple on-off switch 204 is implemented using power transistors which essentially connects or disconnects the corresponding power circuit 110 from another point in the configurable power circuit 110 that can source electrical energy. This is one way of controlling energy consumption where a multitude of energy consumption devices (such as lights and small appliances) on that circuit can be disconnected to reduce the amount of power consumption. This bulk arrangement is used for general types of circuits for lightings and power points in the residence. A more effective control of consumption devices is associated with larger loads typically equipped with their own dedicated control apparatus.”).
Claim 42 (Currently Amended): The electric power system of claim 37 wherein the parameter of the electrical energy corresponds to voltage of the electrical energy and one of the load controllers is configured to reduce the amount of power that is supplied from the electric power system to at least one of the loads as a result of the voltage of the electrical energy being monitored by the one load controller being less than the value of the respective setpoint for the one load controller (paragraphs 15, 34, 38-43, 52, 99, 105).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 10, 16, 20, 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gopal as applied above, and further in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0021133 to Liu.
Gopal fails to teach
8. The electric power system of claim 1 wherein the control system is configured to use the determined amount of power in reserve to select one of a plurality of response curves and to use the selected response curve to determine the values of the setpoints.
10. The electric power system of claim 1 wherein the control system is configured to determine the values of the setpoints using a beta distribution.
16. The electric power system of claim 1 wherein the electrical parameter is frequency and the load controllers are configured to reduce the amount of power that is supplied from the electric power system to the loads as a result of the frequency of the electrical energy that is supplied by the electric power system dropping below at least one of the values of the setpoints.
20. The electric power system of claim 1 wherein the load controllers are configured to adjust the amount of power to provide a desired primary frequency response of the electric power system.
Claim 41 (Currently Amended): The electric power system of claim 37 wherein the parameter of the electrical energy corresponds to frequency of the electrical energy and one of the load controllers is configured to reduce the amount of power that is supplied from the electric power system to at least one of the loads as a result of the frequency of the electrical energy being monitored by the one load controller being less than the value of the respective setpoint for the one load controller.
Liu teaches
8. The electric power system of claim 1 wherein the control system is configured to use the determined amount of power in reserve to select one of a plurality of response curves and to use the selected response curve to determine the values of the setpoints (Fig. 34A, 34B, 35, 36A, 36B, paragraph 10, 20, 23, 61-63, 197, 207, 226, 241-242, 246, 253-256, 265, 285-291, 309).
10. The electric power system of claim 1 wherein the control system is configured to determine the values of the setpoints using a beta distribution (paragraphs 242-245).
16. The electric power system of claim 1 wherein the parameter is frequency and at least one of the load controllers is configured to reduce the amount of power that is supplied from the electric power system to at least one of the loads as a result of the frequency of the electrical energy that is supplied by the electric power system dropping below at least one of the values of the setpoints (paragraph 274, 306).
20. The electric power system of claim 1 wherein the load controllers are configured to adjust the amount of power to provide a desired primary frequency response of the electric power system (paragraph 274, 306).
Claim 41 (Currently Amended): The electric power system of claim 37 wherein the parameter of the electrical energy corresponds to frequency of the electrical energy and one of the load controllers is configured to reduce the amount of power that is supplied from the electric power system to at least one of the loads as a result of the frequency of the electrical energy being monitored by the one load controller being less than the value of the respective setpoint for the one load controller (paragraph 274, 306).
Gopal and Liu are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor or similar problem solving area, power systems.
Since Liu teaches power control that enables multi-dimensional holomorphic embedding method for voltage control of an AC power system includes, by one or more processors, embedding multiple independent symbolic variables representing multiple control elements of the AC power system into AC power flow equations that describe the AC power system, analytically solving voltages for targeted buses of the AC power system in a form of multivariate power series or multivariable Padé approximants about the multiple independent symbolic variables such that coefficients of the multivariate power series or multivariable Padé approximants are obtained non-iteratively, and jointly adjusting the multiple control elements according to the multivariate power series or multivariable Padé approximants to control voltages of the targeted buses; further enables performing probabilistic power flow analysis on status of the AC power system based on the multivariate power series, wherein analytically solving may include identifying a physical germ solution describing initial physical conditions of the AC power system, expressing variables of the AC power flow equations in the form of the multivariate power series, recursively obtaining the coefficients of the multivariate power series, and transforming the multivariate power series into multivariable Padé approximants to increase a radius of convergence of analytical solutions of all variables in the AC power flow equations; further enables voltage stability assessment and control for AC power system load areas to prevent voltage collapse includes, by one or more processors, embedding at least one independent symbolic variable representing a next-period load increase for all load buses of the AC power system load areas into AC power flow equations, analytically expressing power-voltage curves for the load buses in a form of power series or Padé approximants to identify a voltage stability margin for each of the load buses, and controlling load consumption of the load buses according to minima of the voltage stability margins to prevent voltage collapse on the load buses; further enables distributing reactive power among a plurality of reactive power resources of an AC power system to remotely control voltages of the AC power system includes, by one or more processors, modifying bus-types of buses of AC power flow equations describing remote voltage control functionality of the AC power system such that each of the bus-types corresponds to a unique embedding method of the AC power flow equations, embedding participation factors, that define how the reactive power is to be distributed among the plurality of reactive power resources, into the AC power flow equations, and solving the AC power flow equations in a form of power series or Padé approximants such that coefficients of the power series or Padé approximants are obtained non-iteratively, and further includes controlling outputs of the plurality of reactive power resources in an operational environment according to the references to maintain bus voltage magnitudes of selected ones of the buses (paragraphs 21-25), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply the technique of power control as taught by Liu to improve the power system of Gopal for the predictable results of enabling multi-dimensional holomorphic embedding method for voltage control of an AC power system includes, by one or more processors, embedding multiple independent symbolic variables representing multiple control elements of the AC power system into AC power flow equations that describe the AC power system, analytically solving voltages for targeted buses of the AC power system in a form of multivariate power series or multivariable Padé approximants about the multiple independent symbolic variables such that coefficients of the multivariate power series or multivariable Padé approximants are obtained non-iteratively, and jointly adjusting the multiple control elements according to the multivariate power series or multivariable Padé approximants to control voltages of the targeted buses; further enables performing probabilistic power flow analysis on status of the AC power system based on the multivariate power series, wherein analytically solving may include identifying a physical germ solution describing initial physical conditions of the AC power system, expressing variables of the AC power flow equations in the form of the multivariate power series, recursively obtaining the coefficients of the multivariate power series, and transforming the multivariate power series into multivariable Padé approximants to increase a radius of convergence of analytical solutions of all variables in the AC power flow equations; further enables voltage stability assessment and control for AC power system load areas to prevent voltage collapse includes, by one or more processors, embedding at least one independent symbolic variable representing a next-period load increase for all load buses of the AC power system load areas into AC power flow equations, analytically expressing power-voltage curves for the load buses in a form of power series or Padé approximants to identify a voltage stability margin for each of the load buses, and controlling load consumption of the load buses according to minima of the voltage stability margins to prevent voltage collapse on the load buses; further enables distributing reactive power among a plurality of reactive power resources of an AC power system to remotely control voltages of the AC power system includes, by one or more processors, modifying bus-types of buses of AC power flow equations describing remote voltage control functionality of the AC power system such that each of the bus-types corresponds to a unique embedding method of the AC power flow equations, embedding participation factors, that define how the reactive power is to be distributed among the plurality of reactive power resources, into the AC power flow equations, and solving the AC power flow equations in a form of power series or Padé approximants such that coefficients of the power series or Padé approximants are obtained non-iteratively, and further includes controlling outputs of the plurality of reactive power resources in an operational environment according to the references to maintain bus voltage magnitudes of selected ones of the buses (paragraphs 21-25).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11-12 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/20/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Gopal fails to teach a plurality of load controllers that are configured to control the supply of electrical energy from the electric power system to a plurality of loads. The examiner disagrees. Gopal teaches, in an embodiment, that control processor that makes automatic decisions to generate, use, store, buy and sell energy within a domain, wherein the energy is electrical, wherein there are multiple control processors for plural buildings or sub-domains, and also teaches the control processor controls supply of power to specific electrical loads in a building or specific areas of a building (paragraph 31, “automated electrical energy control system for making optimal decisions via the monitoring and control of the various devices within a domain. A domain can be a residential or commercial facility equipped with solar based energy generation, with battery for storage,”; paragraph 32, “an electrical energy control system that makes automatic decisions to optimally generate, use, store, buy, and sell energy within a domain driven by the policies from the administrative entity. A control processor is used within the domain to implement this decision making process based on a variety of information from within and outside the domain. A configurable power circuit topology is used to inter-connect the various energy devices. A local area network is used so that the control processor can get measurements from the various devices in the domain and also so that the control processor can send configuration data to the various devices including the switches in the configurable power circuit.”; paragraph 34, “control variables which can be changed by the control processor for a specific time interval are energy storage, energy consumption, energy purchase (buying) and energy sale (selling).”; Fig. 1, paragraph 35, “FIG. 1 shows a block diagram of an embodiment of the electrical energy control system 100 where an energy control processor 101 monitors and controls energy devices inter-connected via a configurable power circuit 1 10 (for electrical power distribution) within a residence (domain). As shown, an energy control processor 101 logically interfaces with at least one solar photo-voltaic panel (energy generating device) 102, lead-acid battery (energy storage device) 107, water heater 104 and air-conditioning 103 (examples of energy consumption device), DC to AC inverter 106 (energy conditioning device). The control processor 101 uses a WiFi LAN (local area network) 109 to monitor these devices, collects data from electrical measurement devices 105 and provides configuration directives to the power circuit 110 and some consumption devices 104 and 103 based on near real time decisions facilitated by pre-determined long-term estimates. The control processor 101 makes multiple decisions for the current time interval and one such decision could be to sell excess energy within a domain to the local utility (external power) grid 112. The administrative entity 111 accesses the energy control system 100 using a web browser located either within the LAN 109 or connected to the system remotely over the Internet.”; paragraph 37, “The domain itself could be a residence where the owner serves as the administrative entity 111 as described here in more detail. Alternatively, a commercial building used for offices, factories, etc. can also benefit from this invention with the building manager serving as the administrative entity. An educational institute with a campus comprising multiple buildings can also leverage a scaled version of this invention in either a centralized mode where a single larger control processor is utilized for multiple buildings or as an aggregation of distributed energy control sub-domains, each with its own dedicated energy control processor 101. In the second case, the individual energy control processors are still driven by the policies provided by the administrative entity 111 who could be the site facilities manager. These are only some examples of different combinations and many more such combinations can easily be identified which are all subservient to the innovative aspects of the invention in managing energy generation, storage and use within a domain”; paragraph 43, “The configurable power circuit 110 is an improvement upon the traditional electrical distribution panels generally used to distribute utility power within a residence and accordingly includes all its functions. Ordinary distribution panels typically include an input point for one or more phases of AC current from the power source. The load for the entire residence is distributed over multiple load circuits rated by the current handling capability (typically 10 to 30 Amperes) of each circuit. A dedicated circuit is used for high energy consumption devices such as electric stoves, electrical garbage disposal systems, and air-conditioning 103 devices connected with a power line 215. Lights and common wall-mounted electrical power outlets for an area of the residence are typically on a single dedicated (other load) circuit 205. Such areas could be living room, kitchen, bedroom, etc. in a residential building.”; paragraph 44, “configurable power circuit 110 in FIG. 3 augments the distribution panel with electronic switching components, driven under the control of the control processor 101 commands transmitted over the LAN 109. A simple on-off switch 204 is implemented using power transistors which essentially connects or disconnects the corresponding power circuit 110 from another point in the configurable power circuit 110 that can source electrical energy. This is one way of controlling energy consumption where a multitude of energy consumption devices (such as lights and small appliances) on that circuit can be disconnected to reduce the amount of power consumption. This bulk arrangement is used for general types of circuits for lightings and power points in the residence. A more effective control of consumption devices is associated with larger loads typically equipped with their own dedicated control apparatus.”), any of which reads on a plurality of load controllers that are configured to control the supply of electrical energy from the electric power system to a plurality of loads.
Applicant argues Gopal fails to teach wherein the load controllers are configured to monitor the parameter of the electrical energy that is supplied by the electric power system with respect to the values of the setpoints and to adjust an amount of power that is supplied from the electric power system to the loads as a result of the monitoring of the parameter by the load controllers. The examiner disagrees. Gopal teaches the measured values of the various voltage, current, and power levels at specific points in the power circuit belong to the set of state variables monitored by the optimization method, wherein the method uses current measurements and approximate bounds available from the planning phase, and sets the various control variables based on the existing plan, wherein these decisions are made in a near real-time basis and at the start of such an interval, all variable estimates, processed and stored during the planning phase, are obtained from disk drive, and wherein the actual values of the various voltage and wattage measurements in the power circuit are also used by the method, wherein for example, the near real time decision making method, shown as a flow chart in FIG. 9, starts with making all voltage and wattage measurements at the various generation and use points. It then uses the estimates represented by the following variables generate(t), use(t), sell(t), store(t), sell(t), buy(t) and retrieve(t) for the current time interval t. These values were initially determined by the planning method and potentially revised by the update method which was run for time intervals preceding the current time interval the near real time decision making method is running for. If there is no energy generation (for example during the night time) and the estimated value for retrieve(t) is non zero, then the batteries are connected over the configurable power circuit by directing the corresponding switch (or no change if they are already connected) to the inverter and the load (paragraph 34, 41-42, 47, 52-86, 89-112), which reads on wherein the load controllers are configured to monitor the parameter of the electrical energy that is supplied by the electric power system with respect to the values of the setpoints and to adjust an amount of power that is supplied from the electric power system to the loads as a result of the monitoring of the parameter by the load controllers.
Applicant agues Gopal fails to teach determine an amount of power in reserve and available to be provided to the electric power system; and use the determined amount of power in reserve to determine a plurality of different values of a plurality of setpoints. The examiner disagrees. Gopal teaches determining surplus or stored energy which reads on determine an amount of power in reserve and available to be provided to the electric power system, and Gopal teaches the battery is used to store surplus energy while the control processor waits for the right time for selling energy at higher price, and Gopal goes on to teach determining if the surplus amount exceeds the battery capacity, wherein the control processor can use the user-specified information about the expected use of the residence for a special event in the night and applies this extra information to adjust its decision making, wherein accordingly, it reduces the sale of extra energy and stores the surplus energy in the battery to feed the extra load during the specific night time, wherein configurable power circuit with remote controlled switches is used to interconnect various energy generation, storage and consumption devices, and a local area network is used to connect the various switches of the power circuit, remote controlled energy devices, and measurement devices to a control processor that provides near real time decisions, wherein to make the invention practical and usable such decisions based on optimization criteria, historical information, current status of the various devices, estimates for future needs, and environmental conditions are made in an efficient and cost effective fashion based on the actual measurement data collected from the devices, wherein the measurement devices include voltmeter, ampere-meter, and watt-meter which are located at specific points of the circuit so that at least the overall energy generation, consumption, storage, buying, and selling can be measured by the control processor, and wherein the electrical measurement data is sent to the control processor over a Local Area Network (LAN) and the control data items, corresponding to the near real time decision making by the control processor, are also sent from the control processor to the configurable circuit switches over the LAN for setting a specific circuit topology and also to control specific consumption devices which are equipped with local control apparatus such as a thermostat (Fig. 5, surplus and stored energy, paragraphs 48-50, 87-98, 112; paragraph 14, “A configurable power circuit with remote controlled switches is used to interconnect various energy generation, storage and consumption devices. A local area network is used to connect the various switches of the power circuit, remote controlled energy devices, and measurement devices to a control processor that provides near real time decisions. To make the invention practical and usable such decisions based on optimization criteria, historical information, current status of the various devices, estimates for future needs, and environmental conditions are made in an efficient and cost effective fashion. This requires an automated approach that can preserve the system state variable values estimated during a long term planning phase and their subsequent near future revisions based on the actual measurement data collected from the devices and external information sources. These estimated state variables provide a bounded region within which a near real time decision process can actually set the optimal energy storage, selling, and purchase values. This innovative hierarchical partitioning of the control method into three phases (long term planning, short term updates, and near real time decision making) makes it feasible to use a general purpose data processing computer for this invention. Thus the system allows the implementation of the control method as software programs running in a control processor for maximum processing and storage flexibility and under the policies specified by the administrative entity responsible for the domain.”; paragraph 16, “”The measurement devices include voltmeter, ampere-meter, and watt-meter which are located at specific points of the circuit so that at least the overall energy generation, consumption, storage, buying, and selling can be measured by the control processor. The electrical measurement data is sent to the control processor over a Local Area Network (LAN). The control data items, corresponding to the near real time decision making by the control processor, are also sent from the control processor to the configurable circuit switches over the LAN for setting a specific circuit topology and also to control specific consumption devices which are equipped with local control apparatus such as a thermostat; paragraph 34, 44, 45, 51-52, 54-58), which reads on determine an amount of power in reserve and available to be provided to the electric power system; and use the determined amount of power in reserve to determine a plurality of different values of a plurality of setpoints, which reads on determine an amount of power in reserve and available to be provided to the electric power system; and use the determined amount of power in reserve to determine a plurality of different values for a plurality of setpoints.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated any new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Sean Shechtman/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896