Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-6 10-18, 20-24, 44-45, 49 and 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Applicants’ claims are unclear in several instances because applicants use inconsistent terminology or phrases to describe the same subject matter:
Note that claim 1 recites “a high shear mixing apparatus…” and then claim 2 recites “the first stage high shear rotor-stator apparatus”. However, no “first stage high…” has ever been introduced previously in the claim or in claim 1. The definite article “the” implies there is prior antecedent bases and it is unclear whether “the first stage …” is the same as the “high shear mixing apparatus“ of claim 1 or a part (stage) of that apparatus or a separate apparatus altogether. The use of the word “the” suggests a single, previously introduced apparatus, but none is clearly identified.
With regard to claim 3, the claim recites the phrase “the outlet of the high-shear mixing apparatus” However, claim 2 introduces two distinct high-shear mixing apparatuses: (1) (the) first stage high-shear rotor-stator apparatus and a (2) a second-stage high-shear mixing apparatus. Because claim 2 identifies multiple high-shear mixing apparatuses, it is unclear which apparatus claim 3 is referring to when it recites “ “the high-shear mixing apparatus” and “the outlet of the high-shear mixing apparatus”. The use of the word‘ ‘the” suggests a single, previously introduced apparatus, but none is clearly identified.
Claim 4 is dependent upon claim 2 but introduces several new unclear terms. 1) the recited “a hydrocyclone” follows the rotor-stator apparatus” However, claim 2 near introduces a rotor-stator apparatus “ alone. It only refers to ‘ the first stage high-shear rotor-stator apparatus” which lacks antecedent bases in itself as noted above. Thus, it is unclear whether “the rotor-stator apparatus” refers to” the first-stage high-shear rotor-stator apparatus” of claim 2, or “the high-shear mixing apparatus” of claim 1.
Claims 5 and 6 use inconsistent terminology to refer to the composition. Claim 5 recites ‘the composition of nanocellulose” whereas claim 6 recites “the dried or partially-dried composition comprising nanocellulose”. It is not clearly established whether these phrases refer to the same composition or to different compositions at different processing stages. Accordingly the scope of the composition being modified is unclear. See also claims 44 and 45.
Claims 20-23 are dependent upon rejected claim 2 and are therefore unclear.
With regard to claim 22, the claim recites a first and second mixing tank however the neither claim 1 nor 2 disclose a first or second mixing tank.
Claims 24 is dependent upon rejected claim 2 and are therefore unclear.
Claims 44 and 45 see 112(b) rejections for claims 5 and 6 above.
**Claims 49 and 50-57 are dependent on rejected claim 44.
**Claims 1, 7-9,19,25 - 40 are NOT dependent upon rejected claims
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-66 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USP8871056B2 in view of USP9284474B2.
Claim 1 is directed to a method for the re-dispersion of a dried or partially-dried and, optionally, pulverized, and, optionally, filtration cake, composition comprising nanocellulose and, optionally, one or more inorganic particulate material, in a thermosetting resin, the method comprising the steps of:
(a) providing a thermosetting resin;
(b) providing a dried or partially dried and, optionally, pulverized, composition comprising nanocellulose, and, optionally, one or more inorganic particulate material;
(c) mixing the thermosetting resin and the dried or partially dried and, optionally, pulverized, composition comprising nanocellulose, and, optionally, one or more inorganic particulate material, to yield a liquid composition at a solids content of from about 0.5 wt% to about 5 wt% fiber solids under moderate- to high-shear mixing conditions with a shear-head impeller and/or a rotor-stator and/or a rotor- rotor mixing apparatus to form a re-dispersed composition comprising the thermosetting resin and the nanocellulose, and optionally one or more inorganic particulate material; and
(d) collecting the re-dispersed composition for further end-use applications.
USP8871056B2 discloses a process for the production of nano-fibrillar cellulose gels by providing cellulose fibers and at least one filler and/or pigment; combining the cellulose fibers and the at least one filler and/or pigment; and fibrillating the cellulose fibers in the presence of the at least one filler and/or pigment until a gel is formed, as well as the nano-fibrillar cellulose gel obtained by this process and uses thereof.
With respect to claim 1, the reference teaches processes for producing nanofibrillar cellulose gels and redispersed nanocellulose slurries. USP8871056B2 discloses providing cellulose fibers or pulps, optionally dried or partially dried (Examples and Figure 1) and mechanically processing them using high shear devices such as refiners, homogenizers and grinders to form a dispersed redispersed cellulose composition. See cols. 2-6. USP8871056B2 further teaches that fillers or inorganic particulates, such as calcium carbonate, kaolin and talc, may optionally be included in the dried or partially dried cellulose material before or after mechanical treatment. See col. 3-5, specifically col. 4 lines 19-21. Thus, the reference teaches a dried or partially dried, optionally pulverized, composition comprising nanocellulose and optionally one or more inorganic particulate materials, and then mixing and redispersing that composition into a liquid phase.
However, USP8871056B2 does not disclose redispersing the dried or partially dried nanocellulose composition into a thermosetting resin.
USP9284474B2 teaches this limitation in that it discloses thermosetting resins such as phenol formaldehyde resin, urea formaldehyde resin, melamine urea formaldehyde resin, polymeric MDI, epoxy systems, and similar crosslinking adhesives used to create engineered wood products. It further teaches that nanocellulose , micro fibrillated cellulose, and microcrystalline cellulose can be combined with these thermosetting resins to form reinforced adhesive compositions. See cols. 2-6, specifically col. 2 lines 59-67 and col. 5 lines 31-50.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the redispersed nanocellulose composition of USP8871056B2 into the thermosetting resin systems of USP9284474B2 because both references address the formation of compositions containing nanocellulose. USP9284474B2 explicitly teaches the benefit of adding nanocellulose to thermosetting resins to enhance adhesive properties. Combining a known nanocellulose redispersion process USP8871056B2 with a known thermosetting resin adhesion system USP9284474B2 represents a predictable use of known materials to improve known compositions. A person of ordinary skill would have been motived to combine the references in order to obtain the improved mechanical performance of nanocellulose reinforced thermosetting resins. Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended purpose. See Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). (Selection of solvent having boiling point and vapor pressure properties recognized as being ideal for printing inks into printing ink compositions found obvious on its face). See also In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). (Selection of a known plastic to make a plastic container found obvious on its face).
Claim 2 is directed to the method of claim 1, wherein: the thermosetting resin is provided to a mixing tank through a first inlet, wherein the mixing tank comprises a moderate-shear mixing apparatus comprising a shear-head impeller, and wherein the mixing tank further comprises an outlet and a first pump attached to the outlet; the dried or partially-dried, and, optionally, pulverized, composition comprising nanocellulose and, optionally, one or more inorganic particulate material is provided to the mixing tank through the first inlet; the thermosetting resin and the dried or partially-dried, and, optionally, pulverized, composition comprising nanocellulose and, optionally, one or more inorganic particulate material is mixed under moderate-shear conditions via the moderate-shear mixing apparatus to form a flowable slurry; the flowable slurry is pumped to the first outlet of the mixing tank to an inlet of a high- shear mixing apparatus comprising an outlet and a pump attached to the outlet, wherein the inlet of the high-shear mixing apparatus is in communication with the outlet of the mixing tank, and the flowable slurry is subjected to high-shear mixing to form a substantially homogenous suspension, and wherein the high-shear mixing apparatus is selected from a rotor-rotor apparatus, a high-shear rotor-stator apparatus, a colloid mill, an ultrafine grinding apparatus, or a refiner; and the substantially homogenous suspension is pumped from the outlet of the first stage high-shear rotor-stator apparatus to an inlet of a second stage high-shear apparatus selected from a rotor-rotor apparatus, a second high-shear rotor-stator apparatus, a colloid mill, an ultrafine grinding apparatus, or a refiner, wherein the second stage high-shear apparatus produces the re- dispersed composition.
USP8871056B2 discloses successive high shear mechanical processing of cellulose fibers using refiners, homogenizers or rotor stator devices. See col. 1 lines 48-56 and col. 7 lines 64-col. 8 lines 2 and claim 1 and 2.
USP9284474B2 discloses teaches incorporating nanocellulose into thermosetting resin systems. See abstract.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ multiple high shear stages to further refine or disperse a cellulose resin mixture to improve homogeneity as both reference teach consecutive shear improvement of fiber dispersion.
Claim 3 is directed to the method of claim 2, wherein the substantially homogenous suspension is pumped from the outlet of the high-shear mixing apparatus to an inlet of a second stage high-shear mixing apparatus selected from a rotor-rotor apparatus, a high-shear rotor- stator apparatus, a colloid mill, an ultrafine grinding apparatus, or a refiner, wherein the second stage high-shear mixing apparatus produces the re-dispersed composition.
USP8871056B2 discloses multi pass circulation through homogenizing equipment and discloses a pump driven flow between successive shear devices.
Combining these teachings with the resin systems of USP9284474B2 would have made the step obvious to improve dispersion efficiency.
Claim 4 is directed to the method of claim 2, wherein: a hydrocyclone is positioned following the rotor-stator apparatus; the hydrocyclone comprises an inlet, a first hydrocyclone outlet, and a second hydrocyclone outlet; the hydrocyclone separates the substantially homogenous suspension into (i) a sheared fine particle stream and (ii) an under-sheared coarse particle stream; and the method further comprises: pumping the under-sheared coarse particle stream from the first hydrocyclone outlet to a second inlet of the mixing tank to permit recirculation and remixing of the under-sheared coarse particle stream with the flowable slurry in the mixing tank; and flowing the fine particle stream from the second outlet of the hydrocyclone to an inlet of the second stage high-shear apparatus.
USP 8871056 discloses the classification process and removal of coarse fibers and aggregates during mechanical processing using refers, rotor stator mixers and homogenizers. See col. 1-4. These devices perform size based separation by allowing finer fibers to remain dispersed while coarse fibers are further broken down or removed.
USP 8871056 does not teach the use of a hydrocyclone for separating the coarse and fine fibers However, hydrocyclone are well-known devices since used for separating particles from liquids and used for fiber, pulp and particulate classification based on centrifugal forces. Substituting a hydrocyclone for the known fiber classifiers would have been an obvious design choice for improving fractionation and would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 5 is directed to the method of claim 1, wherein the composition of nanocellulose further comprises one or more inorganic particulate material.
USP 8871056 discloses the use of inorganic particulate fillers such as calcium carbonate, talc and other mineral additives.. See col. 4 lines 19-21.
Claim 6 is directed to method of claim1, wherein the dried or partially-dried composition comprising nanocellulose, and optionally one or more inorganic particulate material, is pulverized.
USP 8871056 discloses grinding, milling and refining dried cellulose fibers prior to redispersion. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply these steps to all of the particles improve dispersion.
Claim 7 is directed to the method of claim 1, wherein the liquid composition of nanocellulose is about 0.5 wt% to about 5 wt% fiber solids.
USP 8871056 discloses nanocellulose suspensions and states in col. 4 lines 7-18 that it is advantageous for the use in the present invention that the cellulose fibers are provided in the form of a suspension, especially an aqueous suspension. Preferably, such suspensions have a solids content of from 0.2 to 35 wt-%, more preferably 0.25 to 10 wt-%, even more preferably 0.5 to 5 wt-%, especially 1 to 4 wt-%, most preferably 1.3 to 3 wt-%, e.g. 1.5 wt-% which falls within or overlaps applicants claimed wt’ s. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ particular amounts and/or parameters as known in the art, since it is shown by the primary reference and it is well-established that merely selecting proportions and ranges is not patentable absent a showing of criticality. In re Becket, 33 U.S.P.Q. 33 (C.C.P.A. 1937). In re Russell, 439 F.2d 1228, 169 U.S.P.Q. 426 (C.C.P.A. 1971). One would have been motivated to employ particular wt% amounts and/or parameters as known in the art, since, the primary reference discusses the generally use of such and generally, it is prima facie obvious to determine workable or optimal values within a prior art disclosure through the application of routine experimentation. See In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980); and In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325 (CA Fed 2003).
Claim 8 is directed to the method of claim 7, wherein the liquid composition of nanocellulose is about 0.75 wt%, about 1 wt%, about 1.25 wt%, about 1.5 wt%, about 1.75 wt%, about 2 wt%, about 2.5 wt%, about 3 wt%, about 4 wt%, or about 5 wt% fiber solids.
USP 8871056 discloses nanocellulose suspensions and states in col. 4 lines 7-18 that it is advantageous for the use in the present invention that the cellulose fibers are provided in the form of a suspension, especially an aqueous suspension. Preferably, such suspensions have a solids content of from 0.2 to 35 wt-%, more preferably 0.25 to 10 wt-%, even more preferably 0.5 to 5 wt-%, especially 1 to 4 wt-%, most preferably 1.3 to 3 wt-%, e.g. 1.5 wt-% which falls within or overlaps applicants claimed wt’ s. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ particular amounts and/or parameters as known in the art, since it is shown by the primary reference and it is well-established that merely selecting proportions and ranges is not patentable absent a showing of criticality. In re Becket, 33 U.S.P.Q. 33 (C.C.P.A. 1937). In re Russell, 439 F.2d 1228, 169 U.S.P.Q. 426 (C.C.P.A. 1971). One would have been motivated to employ particular wt% amounts and/or parameters as known in the art, since, the primary reference discusses the generally use of such and generally, it is prima facie obvious to determine workable or optimal values within a prior art disclosure through the application of routine experimentation. See In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980); and In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325 (CA Fed 2003).
Claim 9 is directed to the method of claim 1, wherein the nanocellulose is prepared from a chemical pulp, a chemithermomechanical pulp, a mechanical pulp, a recycled pulp, a paper broke pulp, a papermill waste stream, waste from a papermill, or a combination thereof.
USP 8871056 discloses in col 1 lines 25-30 the reference discloses that, for industrial use, cellulose is mainly obtained from wood pulp and cotton. It is mainly used to produce cardboard and paper, and to a smaller extent it that cellulose is mainly obtained from wood pulp and cotton. It is mainly used to produce cardboard and paper, and to a smaller extent it is converted into a wide variety of derivative products.
Claim 10 is directed to the method of claim 5, wherein the one or more inorganic particulate material comprises an alkaline earth metal carbonate or sulphate, a hydrous kandite clay, an anhydrous (calcined) kandite clay, talc, mica, perlite or diatomaceous earth, or combinations thereof.
USP 8871056 discloses that fillers or inorganic particulates, such as calcium carbonate, kaolin and talc, may optionally be included in the dried or partially dried cellulose material before or after mechanical treatment. See col. 4 lines 19-21. Examples and Figure 1.
USP9284474B2 likewise teaches combining inorganic particulates with cellulose based solids within thermosetting resins. See col. 1 lines 50-52 and col. 5 lines 26-30. Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended purpose. See Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). (Selection of solvent having boiling point and vapor pressure properties recognized as being ideal for printing inks into printing ink compositions found obvious on its face). See also In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). (Selection of a known plastic to make a plastic container found obvious on its face).
Claim 11 is directed to the method of claim 5, wherein the one or more inorganic particulate material comprises calcium carbonate, magnesium carbonate, dolomite, bentonite, gypsum, kaolin, halloysite, ball clay, metakaolin, fully calcined kaolin, or a combination thereof.
USP 8871056 discloses that fillers or inorganic particulates, such as calcium carbonate, kaolin and talc, may optionally be included in the dried or partially dried cellulose material before or after mechanical treatment. See col. 4 lines 19-21. Examples and Figure 1.
Claim 12 is directed to the method of claim 11, wherein the calcium carbonate is precipitated calcium carbonate, ground calcium carbonate or a combination thereof.
USP 8871056 discloses that fillers or inorganic particulates, such as calcium carbonate, kaolin and talc, may optionally be included in the dried or partially dried cellulose material before or after mechanical treatment. See col. 4 lines 19-21. Examples and Figure 1.
Claim 13 is directed to the method of claim 11, wherein the calcium carbonate comprises a calcite, aragonite, or vaterite structure.
USP 8871056 discloses that fillers or inorganic particulates, such as calcium carbonate, kaolin and talc, may optionally be included in the dried or partially dried cellulose material before or after mechanical treatment. See col. 4 lines 19-21. Examples and Figure 1. USP9284474B2 likewise teaches combining inorganic particulates with cellulose based solids within thermosetting resins. See col. 1 lines 50-52 and col. 5 lines 26-30. See also reference under the heading Other Publications directed to oriented crystallization of vaterite.
Claim 14 is directed to the method of claim 11, wherein the calcium carbonate is in a scalenohedral or rhombohedral crystal form.
USP 8871056 discloses that fillers or inorganic particulates, such as calcium carbonate, kaolin and talc, may optionally be included in the dried or partially dried cellulose material before or after mechanical treatment. See col. 4 lines 19-21. Examples and Figure 1. Although not disclosed by the primary reference, calcium carbonate most commonly comes in the rhombohedral crystal form (calcite) but can also appear as scalenohedral crystals, especially when conditions are right for crystal growth. The rhombohedral structure is the mineral's principal and most stable form and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 15 is directed to the method of claim 11, wherein the kaolin is hyperplaty kaolin.
USP 8871056 discloses in the abstract and col. 3 and col. 4 lines 19-24 that at least one filler and/or pigment is selected from the group comprising precipitated calcium carbonate (PCC); natural ground calcium carbonate (GCC); dolomite; talc; bentonite, clay; magnesite; satin white; Sepiolite, huntite, diatomite; silicates; and mixtures thereof and would be inclusive of the kaolin claimed. See also USP9284474B2 likewise teaches combining inorganic particulates with cellulose based solids within thermosetting resins. See col. 1 lines 50-52 and col. 5 lines 26-30.
Claim 16 is directed to the method of claim 11, wherein at least about 50 wt% of the calcium carbonate has an equivalent spherical diameter of less than about 2 m.
USP 8871056 discloses in the abstract and col. 3 and col. 4 lines 19-24, that least one filler and/or pigment is selected from the group comprising precipitated calcium carbonate (PCC); natural ground calcium carbonate (GCC); dolomite; talc; bentonite, clay; magnesite; satin white; Sepiolite, huntite, diatomite; silicates; and mixtures thereof. One would have been motivated to employ calcium carbonate spheres since they offer benefits such as enhanced mechanical strength and stiffness in materials. Such would have been inclusive in the recited calcium carbonate above and a sphere having an equivalent spherical diameter of less than about 2 m would have been obvious to the skilled artisan.
Claim 17 is directed to the method of claim 11, wherein at least about 50 wt% of the kaolin has an equivalent spherical diameter of less than about 2 m.
USP 8871056 discloses in the abstract and col. 3 and col. 4 lines 19-24, that at least one filler and/or pigment is selected from the group comprising precipitated calcium carbonate (PCC); natural ground calcium carbonate (GCC); dolomite; talc; bentonite, clay; magnesite; satin white; Sepiolite, huntite, diatomite; silicates; and mixtures thereof. and would have been inclusive of the recited at least about 50 wt% of the kaolin has an equivalent spherical diameter of less than about 2 m.
Claim 18 is directed to the method of claim 12, wherein the ground calcium carbonate is limestone or marble.
USP 8871056 discloses in the abstract and col. 3 and col. 4 lines 19-24 that at least one filler and/or pigment is selected from the group comprising precipitated calcium carbonate (PCC); natural ground calcium carbonate (GCC); dolomite; talc; bentonite, clay; magnesite; satin white; Sepiolite, huntite, diatomite; silicates; and mixtures thereof and would have been inclusive of the recited calcium carbonate is limestone or marble.
Claim 19 is directed to the method of claim1, wherein the end-use comprises a method of making wood-based panels.
USP 8871056 discloses in col 1 lines 25-30 the reference discloses that, for industrial use, cellulose is mainly obtained from wood pulp and cotton. It is mainly used to produce cardboard and paper, and to a smaller extent it that cellulose is mainly obtained from wood pulp and cotton. It is mainly used to produce cardboard and paper, and to a smaller extent it is converted into a wide variety of derivative products.
Claim 20 is directed to the method of claim 2, wherein the first stage high-shear rotor-stator apparatus is selected from a colloid mill, an ultrafine grinding apparatus, and a refiner.
Note discussion for claim 18.
Claim 21 is directed to the method of claim 2, wherein the second stage high-shear apparatus is selected from a rotor-rotor apparatus, a rotor-stator apparatus, a colloid mill, an ultrafine grinding apparatus, and a refiner r.
Note discussion for claim 18.
USP 8871056 discloses
Claim 22 is directed to the method of claim 2, wherein the flowable slurry is further processed in a second mixing tank under second moderate-to-high-shear mixing conditions to form a flowable slurry, and wherein the first mixing tank and second mixing tank are connected by an overflow tube for passively conducting flowable slurry from the first mixing tank to the second mixing tank when an overflow level of mixing tank is reached.
Note discussion for claim 18.
Claim 23 is directed to the method of claim 2, wherein the shear-head impeller selected from a dispergator, disperser, overhead stirrer for high-speed, high-shear mixing, and Cowles type mixer.
USP 8871056 discloses that suitable for the use in the present invention are any commercially available homogenizers, especially high pressure homogenizers, wherein the suspensions are pressed under high pressure through a restricted opening, which may comprise a valve, and are discharged from the restricted opening at high pressure against a hard impact Surface directly in front of the restricted opening, thus reducing the particle size. The pressure may be generated by a pump such as a piston pump, and the impact Surface may comprise an impact ring extending around the annular valve opening. Example for homogenizers which can be used in the present invention Ariete NS2006L of GEA Niro Soavi. However, inter alia, also homogenizers such as of the APV Gaulin Series, HST HL Series or the Alfa Laval SHL Series can be used. Furthermore, devices such as ultra-fine friction grinders, e.g. a Super Mass Colloider, can be advantageously used therein. See col. 5 lines 29-46.
Claim 24 is directed to the method of claim 22, wherein the second mixing tank comprises a mixing apparatus comprising a shear-head impeller (22b) selected from a dispergator, disperser, overhead stirrer for high-speed, high-shear mixing, and Cowles type mixer.
USP 8871056 discloses that suitable for the use in the present invention are any commercially available homogenizers, especially high pressure homogenizers, wherein the suspensions are pressed under high pressure through a restricted opening, which may comprise a valve, and are discharged from the restricted opening at high pressure against a hard impact Surface directly in front of the restricted opening, thus reducing the particle size. The pressure may be generated by a pump such as a piston pump, and the impact Surface may comprise an impact ring extending around the annular valve opening. Example for homogenizers which can be used in the present invention Ariete NS2006L of GEA Niro Soavi. However, inter alia, also homogenizers such as of the APV Gaulin Series, HST HL Series or the Alfa Laval SHL Series can be used. Furthermore, devices such as ultra-fine friction grinders, e.g. a Super Mass Colloider, can be advantageously used therein. See col. 5 lines 29-46.
Claim 25 is directed to the method of claim 1, wherein the moderate- to high-shear mixing conditions involve use of a colloid mill, an apparatus comprising counter rotating rings, or a dispergator.
USP 8871056 discloses that suitable for the use in the present invention are any commercially available homogenizers, especially high pressure homogenizers, wherein the suspensions are pressed under high pressure through a restricted opening, which may comprise a valve, and are discharged from the restricted opening at high pressure against a hard impact Surface directly in front of the restricted opening, thus reducing the particle size. The pressure may be generated by a pump such as a piston pump, and the impact Surface may comprise an impact ring extending around the annular valve opening. Example for homogenizers which can be used in the present invention Ariete NS2006L of GEA Niro Soavi. However, inter alia, also homogenizers such as of the APV Gaulin Series, HST HL Series or the Alfa Laval SHL Series can be used. Furthermore, devices such as ultra-fine friction grinders, e.g. a Super Mass Colloider, can be advantageously used therein. See col. 5 lines 29-46.
Claim 26 is directed to the method of claim 1, wherein the dried or partially-dried composition comprises a biocide.
USP 8871056 disclose the use of other agents. See col. 4 lines 55-65. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use a biocide since it destroys or inhibits the action of harmful organisms, such as bacteria, viruses, mold, and pests, through chemical or biological means and since generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended purpose. See Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). (Selection of solvent having boiling point and vapor pressure properties recognized as being ideal for printing inks into printing ink compositions found obvious on its face). See also In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). (Selection of a known plastic to make a plastic container found obvious on its face).
Claim 27 is directed to the method of claim 26, wherein the biocide is 2,2-dibromo-3- nitrilopropionamide (DBNPA).
USP 8871056 disclose the use of other agents. See col. 4 lines 55-65. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use a biocide, including 2,2-dibromo-3- nitrilopropionamide (DBNPA), since it destroys or inhibits the action of harmful organisms, such as bacteria, viruses, mold, and pests, through chemical or biological means and since generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended purpose. See Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). (Selection of solvent having boiling point and vapor pressure properties recognized as being ideal for printing inks into printing ink compositions found obvious on its face). See also In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). (Selection of a known plastic to make a plastic container found obvious on its face).
Claim 28 is directed to the method of claim 27, wherein the DBNPA is dosed at about 250 ppm.
In addition to the discussion for claim 26 and 27, note it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ particular amounts and/or parameters as known in the art, since it is well-established that merely selecting proportions and ranges is not patentable absent a showing of criticality. In re Becket, 33 U.S.P.Q. 33 (C.C.P.A. 1937). In re Russell, 439 F.2d 1228, 169 U.S.P.Q. 426 (C.C.P.A. 1971). One would have been motivated to employ particular amounts and/or parameters as known in the art, since, the primary reference discusses the generally use of such and generally, it is prima facie obvious to determine workable or optimal values within a prior art disclosure through the application of routine experimentation. See In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980); and In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325 (CA Fed 2003).
Claim 29 is directed to the e method of claim 26, wherein the biocide is
2-methyl-2h-isothiazolin-3- one/2-methyl-2h-isothiazol-3-one (3:1 ratio) (CMIT/MIT).
USP 8871056 disclose the use of other agents. See col. 4 lines 55-65. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use a biocide, including 2-methyl-2h-isothiazolin-3- one/2-methyl-2h-isothiazol-3-one (3:1 ratio) (CMIT/MIT, since it destroys or inhibits the action of harmful organisms, such as bacteria, viruses, mold, and pests, through chemical or biological means and since generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended purpose. See Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). (Selection of solvent having boiling point and vapor pressure properties recognized as being ideal for printing inks into printing ink compositions found obvious on its face). See also In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). (Selection of a known plastic to make a plastic container found obvious on its face).
Claim 30 is directed to the e method of claim 29, wherein the CMIT/MIT is dosed at about 200 ppm.
In addition to the discussion for claim 29, note it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ particular amounts and/or parameters as known in the art, since it is well-established that merely selecting proportions and ranges is not patentable absent a showing of criticality. In re Becket, 33 U.S.P.Q. 33 (C.C.P.A. 1937). In re Russell, 439 F.2d 1228, 169 U.S.P.Q. 426 (C.C.P.A. 1971). One would have been motivated to employ particular amounts and/or parameters as known in the art, since, the primary reference discusses the generally use of such and generally, it is prima facie obvious to determine workable or optimal values within a prior art disclosure through the application of routine experimentation. See In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980); and In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325 (CA Fed 2003).
Claim 31 is directed to the method of claim 1, wherein the dried or partially-dried composition comprises a flocculant.
USP 8871056 disclose the use of other agents. See col. 4 lines 55-65. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use a flocculant since it works by causing tiny particles like dirt and dead algae to form larger clumps, or flocs and since generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended purpose. See Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). (Selection of solvent having boiling point and vapor pressure properties recognized as being ideal for printing inks into printing ink compositions found obvious on its face). See also In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). (Selection of a known plastic to make a plastic container found obvious on its face).
Claim 32 is directed to the method of claim 31, wherein the flocculant is a cationic flocculant.
USP 8871056 disclose the use of other agents. See col. 4 lines 55-65. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use a flocculant including cationic flocculant since it works by causing tiny particles like dirt and dead algae to form larger clumps, or flocs and since generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended purpose. See Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). (Selection of solvent having boiling point and vapor pressure properties recognized as being ideal for printing inks into printing ink compositions found obvious on its face). See also In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). (Selection of a known plastic to make a plastic container found obvious on its face).
Claim 33 is directed to the method of claim 32, wherein the cationic flocculant is a polyacrylamide solution.
USP 8871056 disclose the use of other agents. See col. 4 lines 55-65. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use a flocculant including a polyacrylamide solution since it works by causing tiny particles like dirt and dead algae to form larger clumps, or flocs and since generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended purpose. See Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). (Selection of solvent having boiling point and vapor pressure properties recognized as being ideal for printing inks into printing ink compositions found obvious on its face). See also In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). (Selection of a known plastic to make a plastic container found obvious on its face).
Claim 34 is directed to the method of claim 1, wherein dried or partially-dried composition is a filtration cake selected from a belt press cake, a plate and frame press cake, and a tube press cake.
USP 8871056 discloses The fibers are ground and cut to a certain fineness (depending on the desired properties). The grinding of the fibers is achieved with a refiner (such as a conic rotor-stator mill or disc- or double-disc refiners). The refiner also fibrillates the fibers on the surface which means that some fibrils are partially pulled out of the surface of the fiber. This leads to a better retention of, and, frequently, adhesion to, pigments, which may be added in paper production, and also to an enhanced potential of hydrogen bonding between the fibers of
Claim 35 is directed to the method of claim 1, wherein the thermosetting resin comprises formaldehyde-based resin.
USP9284474B2 teaches the formation of engineered resin based compositions comprising inorganic particulates, wood-derived fibers, nanocellulose or related cellulose based solids dispersed in thermosetting resins such as phenol formaldehyde, urea-formaldehyde, melamine-urea-formaldehyde and polymeric MDI.
Claim 36 is directed to the method of claim 35, wherein the formaldehyde-based resin is selected from the group consisting of urea formaldehyde, melamine urea formaldehyde, phenol formaldehyde, and combinations thereof.
USP9284474B2 teaches the formation of engineered resin based compositions comprising inorganic particulates, wood-derived fibers, nanocellulose or related cellulose based solids dispersed in thermosetting resins such as phenol formaldehyde, urea-formaldehyde, melamine-urea-formaldehyde and polymeric MDI.
Claim 37 is directed to the method of claim 1, wherein the thermosetting resin comprises isocyanate-based resin.
See col. 4 line 62 of USP9284474B2
Claim 38 is directed to the method of claim 37, wherein the isocyanate-based resin comprises polymeric methylene di-isocyanate.
See col. 4 line 62 of USP9284474B2
Claim 39 is directed to the method of claim 1, wherein the redispersed composition is a homogenous composition.
USP 8871056 discloses homogenization . Note Figures 4a-6b, col. 6 line 67, col. 7 line 5.
Claim 40 is directed to the method of claim 1, wherein the nanocellulose comprises micro fibrillated cellulose.
Note abstract of USP 8871056.
Claim 41 is as taught by 8871056 is directed to a transportable system (1) for re-dispersing a dried or partially-dried and, optionally, pulverized composition comprising nanocellulose and, optionally, one or more inorganic particulate material in a thermosetting resin to form a liquid composition, comprising: a mixing tank (20) comprising a mixing apparatus (21) comprising a shear-head impeller (22), wherein the mixing tank (20) comprises a first mixing tank inlet (24) for reception of a thermosetting resin and the dried or partially-dried and, optionally, pulverized composition comprising of nanocellulose and, optionally, one or more inorganic particulate material and a mixing tank outlet (26) comprising a pump (27); at least one apparatus for subjecting the thermosetting resin and the dried or partially- dried and, optionally, pulverized composition comprising of nanocellulose and, optionally, one or more inorganic particulate material to moderate- to high-shear mixing conditions to produce the liquid composition; and a storage tank (60) comprising a storage tank inlet (61) configured to receive the liquid composition.
USP 8871056 discloses systems and processes for mechanically processing dried, partially dried or fibrillated cellulose fibers including and pulverized fiber materials by redispersing them into a liquid phase using high shear mechanical devices such as refiners, homogenizers, grinders and rotor stator mixers. The reference also discloses the use of mixing vessels equipped with high shear mixing apparatus and pump driven recirculation systems, which teaches the mixing tank, shear head impeller, mixing apparatus and pump based outlet features of the claim. The reference also teaches that fibrillated or redispersed cellulose compositions may include inorganic particulate materials and may be redispersed from died or partially dried states into liquid form. See col. 3-5, specifically col. 4 lines 19-21 and Figure 1 and claims.
However, the reference does not expressly teach redispersing the dried or partially dried cellulose composition into a thermosetting resin nor does it explicitly disclose a storage tank configured to receive a final resin based liquid composition.
However, USP9284474B2 teaches the formation of engineered resin based compositions comprising inorganic particulates, wood-derived fibers, nanocellulose or related cellulose based solids dispersed in thermosetting resins such as phenol formaldehyde, urea-formaldehyde, melamine-urea-formaldehyde and polymeric MDI. the secondary reference further teaches incorporating solid or partially dried cellulose based materials into thermosetting resin systems using mixing tanks, high shear mixing equipment and storage vessels configured to receive the final resin dispersion. These teachings correspond to the missing limitation resin based redispersion and storage take elements of claim 41. See cols. 2-6, specifically col. 2 lines 59-67 and col. 5 lines 31-50.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the high-shear redispersion system of USP8871056B2 with the thermosetting resin based mixing teachings of USP9284474B2. Both references are directed to high shear processing of cellulose based solids in liquid systems using similar high shear mixing and pump driven equipment. Substituting the aqueous dispersion medium of USP8871056B2 with the resin systems described in USP9284474B2 to produce a resin based composition dispersion of dried or partially dried nanocellulose would have been a routine design choice. The motivations include improving dispersion of cellulose solids, adapting known high shear systems to different liquid carriers and achieving predictable flow and mixing characteristics in the resin system. One of ordinary skill in the would have been further motivated to incorporate a storage tank made to receive the resulting resin based on dispersion, since storage vessels are routinely used in both aqueous and resin based industrial mixing environments.
Claim 42 is directed to the system of claim 41, wherein the at least one apparatus comprises: a first stage high-shear rotor-stator apparatus (30) comprising a rotor-stator inlet (31) connected to the mixing tank outlet (26) and a rotor-stator outlet (32); and a second stage high-shear apparatus (50) selected from a rotor-rotor apparatus, a rotor- stator apparatus, a colloid mill, an ultra-fine grinding apparatus, and a refiner, wherein the second stage high-shear apparatus comprises a second stage high-shear inlet (52) connected to the first stage high-shear rotor-stator outlet and an outlet (53).
USP 8871056 discloses high shear mechanical devices including rotor stator mixers, refiners, homogenizers and high energy grinders for dispersing cellulose material. The reference further teaches multistage shear processing and pump driven recirculation systems which would inherently provide sequential high shear stages. USP9284474B2 teaches resin processing systems incorporating a variety of high shear mixing and grinding devices of incorporating cellulose solids into thermosetting resins. Combining these teachings would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as an obvious design choice for achieving enhanced dispersion uniformity under predictable processing conditions.
Claim 43 is directed to the e system of claim 41, further comprising a hydrocyclone (40) comprising a hydrocyclone inlet (41), a first hydrocyclone outlet (42), and a second hydrocyclone outlet (43) wherein the hydrocyclone inlet (41), wherein the hydrocyclone separates a slurry of nanocellulose and, optionally, one or more inorganic particulate material into a sheared fine particle stream and an under-sheared coarse particle stream, wherein the first hydrocyclone outlet (42) is connected to a second inlet (25) of the mixing tank (20) for returning the under-sheared coarse particle stream to the mixing tank (20).
USP 8871056 does not teach the use of a hydrocyclone for separating the coarse and fine fibers However, hydrocyclone are well-known devices since used for separating particles from liquids and used for fiber, pulp and particulate classification based on centrifugal forces. However, substituting a hydrocyclone for the known fiber classifiers would have been an obvious design choice for improving process control and would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art. Moreover, USP9284474B2 reinforces that fiber and particular separation steps are standard in resin based composite preparation. Thus, incorporating a hydrocyclone as recited would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art
Claim 44 is directed to the system of claim 41, wherein the dried or partially-dried and, optionally, pulverized composition comprising nanocellulose further comprises one or more inorganic particulate material.
USP 8871056 discloses teaches that cellulose compositions may optionally contain inorganic particulates such as calcium carbonate, kaolin, talc and related fillers during fibrillation or redispersion. USP9284474B2 likewise teaches combining inorganic particulates with cellulose based solids within thermosetting resins. See col. 1 lines 50-52 and col. 5 lines 26-30.
Claim 45 is directed to the system of claim 41, wherein the dried or partially-dried composition comprising nanocellulose further is pulverized.
USP 8871056 explicitly teaches grinding, milling and refining dried cellulose fibers prior to redispersion. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply these steps to all of the particles improve dispersion. USP9284474B2 similarly teaches that solid cellulose based materials may be reduced in size before incorporation into thermosetting resins. Thus, the pulverization step would have been an obvious step producing an improvement in mixing.
Claim 46 is directed to the system of claim41, wherein the liquid composition of nanocellulose is about 0.5 wt% to about 5 wt% fiber solids.
USP 8871056 discloses nanocellulose suspensions and states in col. 4 lines 7-18 that it is advantageous for the use in the present invention that the cellulose fibers are provided in the form of a suspension, especially an aqueous suspension. Preferably, such suspensions have a solids content of from 0.2 to 35 wt-%, more preferably 0.25 to 10 wt-%, even more preferably 0.5 to 5 wt-%, especially 1 to 4 wt-%, most preferably 1.3 to 3 wt-%, e.g. 1.5 wt-% which falls within or overlaps applicants claimed wt’ s. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ particular amounts and/or parameters as known in the art, since it is shown by the primary reference and it is well-established that merely selecting proportions and ranges is not patentable absent a showing of criticality. In re Becket, 33 U.S.P.Q. 33 (C.C.P.A. 1937). In re Russell, 439 F.2d 1228, 169 U.S.P.Q. 426 (C.C.P.A. 1971). One would have been motivated to employ particular wt% amounts and/or parameters as known in the art, since, the primary reference discusses the generally use of such and generally, it is prima facie obvious to determine workable or optimal values within a prior art disclosure through the application of routine experimentation. See In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980); and In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325 (CA Fed 2003).
Claim 47 is directed to the system of claim 46, wherein the liquid composition is about 0.75 wt%, about 1 wt%, about 1.25 wt%, about 1.5 wt%, about 1.75 wt%, about 2 wt%, about 2.5 wt%, about 3 wt%, about 4 wt%, or about 5 wt% fiber solids.
USP 8871056 discloses nanocellulose suspensions and states in col. 4 lines 7-18 that it is advantageous for the use in the present invention that the cellulose fibers are provided in the form of a suspension, especially an aqueous suspension. Preferably, such suspensions have a solids content of from 0.2 to 35 wt-%, more preferably 0.25 to 10 wt-%, even more preferably 0.5 to 5 wt-%, especially 1 to 4 wt-%, most preferably 1.3 to 3 wt-%, e.g. 1.5 wt-% which falls within or overlaps applicants claimed wt’ s. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ particular amounts and/or parameters as known in the art, since it is shown by the primary reference and it is well-established that merely selecting proportions and ranges is not patentable absent a showing of criticality. In re Becket, 33 U.S.P.Q. 33 (C.C.P.A. 1937). In re Russell, 439 F.2d 1228, 169 U.S.P.Q. 426 (C.C.P.A. 1971). One would have been motivated to employ particular wt% amounts and/or parameters as known in the art, since, the primary reference discusses the generally use of such and generally, it is prima facie obvious to determine workable or optimal values within a prior art disclosure through the application of routine experimentation. See In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980); and In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325 (CA Fed 2003).
Claim 48 is directed to the system of claim 41, wherein the nanocellulose is prepared from a chemical pulp, a chemical thermo mechanical pulp, a mechanical pulp, a recycled pulp, a paper broke pulp, a papermill waste stream, waste from a papermill, or a combination thereof.
USP 8871056 discloses in col 1 lines 25-30 the reference discloses that, for industrial use, cellulose is mainly obtained from wood pulp and cotton. It is mainly used to produce cardboard and paper, and to a smaller extent it that cellulose is mainly obtained from wood pulp and cotton. It is mainly used to produce cardboard and paper, and to a smaller extent it is converted into a wide variety of derivative products.
Claim 49 is directed to the system of claim 44, wherein the one or more inorganic particulate material comprises an alkaline earth metal carbonate or sulphate, a hydrous kandite clay, an anhydrous (calcined) kandite clay, talc, mica, perlite or diatomaceous earth, or combinations thereof.
USP 8871056 discloses that fillers or inorganic particulates, such as calcium carbonate, kaolin and talc, may optionally be included in the dried or partially dried cellulose material before or after mechanical treatment. See col. 4 lines 19-21. Examples and Figure 1.
USP9284474B2 likewise teaches combining inorganic particulates with cellulose based solids within thermosetting resins. See col. 1 lines 50-52 and col. 5 lines 26-30. Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended purpose. See Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). (Selection of solvent having boiling point and vapor pressure properties recognized as being ideal for printing inks into printing ink compositions found obvious on its face). See also In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). (Selection of a known plastic to make a plastic container found obvious on its face).
Claim 50 is directed to the system of claim 44, wherein the one or more inorganic particulate material comprises calcium carbonate, magnesium carbonate, dolomite, gypsum, kaolin, halloysite, ball clay, metakaolin, fully calcined kaolin, or a combinations thereof.
USP 8871056 discloses that fillers or inorganic particulates, such as calcium carbonate, kaolin and talc, may optionally be included in the dried or partially dried cellulose material before or after mechanical treatment. See col. 4 lines 19-21. Examples and Figure 1. USP9284474B2 likewise teaches combining inorganic particulates with cellulose based solids within thermosetting resins. See col. 1 lines 50-52 and col. 5 lines 26-30.
Claim 51 is directed to the system of claim 50, wherein the calcium carbonate is precipitated calcium carbonate, ground calcium carbonate or a combination thereof.
USP 8871056 discloses that fillers or inorganic particulates, such as calcium carbonate, kaolin and talc, may optionally be included in the dried or partially dried cellulose material before or after mechanical treatment. See col. 4 lines 19-21. Examples and Figure 1. USP9284474B2 likewise teaches combining inorganic particulates with cellulose based solids within thermosetting resins. See col. 1 lines 50-52 and col. 5 lines 26-30.
Claim 52 is directed to the system of claim 50, wherein the calcium carbonate comprises a calcite, aragonite, or vaterite structure.
USP 8871056 discloses that fillers or inorganic particulates, such as calcium carbonate, kaolin and talc, may optionally be included in the dried or partially dried cellulose material before or after mechanical treatment. See col. 4 lines 19-21. Examples and Figure 1. USP9284474B2 likewise teaches combining inorganic particulates with cellulose based solids within thermosetting resins. See col. 1 lines 50-52 and col. 5 lines 26-30. See also reference under the heading Other Publications directed to oriented crystallization of vaterite.
Claim 53 is directed to the system of claim 50, wherein the calcium carbonate is in a scalenohedral or rhombohedral crystal form.
USP 8871056 discloses that fillers or inorganic particulates, such as calcium carbonate, kaolin and talc, may optionally be included in the dried or partially dried cellulose material before or after mechanical treatment. See col. 4 lines 19-21. Examples and Figure 1. Although not disclosed by the primary reference, calcium carbonate most commonly comes in the rhombohedral crystal form (calcite) but can also appear as scalenohedral crystals, especially when conditions are right for crystal growth. The rhombohedral structure is the mineral's principal and most stable form and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 54 is directed to the system of claim 50, wherein the kaolin is hyperplaty kaolin.
USP 8871056 discloses in the abstract and col. 3 and col. 4 lines 19-24 that at least one filler and/or pigment is selected from the group comprising precipitated calcium carbonate (PCC); natural ground calcium carbonate (GCC); dolomite; talc; bentonite, clay; magnesite; satin white; Sepiolite, huntite, diatomite; silicates; and mixtures thereof and would be inclusive of the kaolin claimed. See also USP9284474B2 likewise teaches combining inorganic particulates with cellulose based solids within thermosetting resins. See col. 1 lines 50-52 and col. 5 lines 26-30.
Claim 55 is directed to the system of claim 50, wherein at least about 50 wt% of the calcium carbonate has an equivalent spherical diameter of less than about 2 m.
USP 8871056 discloses in the abstract and col. 3 and col. 4 lines 19-24, that least one filler and/or pigment is selected from the group comprising precipitated calcium carbonate (PCC); natural ground calcium carbonate (GCC); dolomite; talc; bentonite, clay; magnesite; satin white; Sepiolite, huntite, diatomite; silicates; and mixtures thereof. One would have been motivated to employ calcium carbonate spheres since they offer benefits such as enhanced mechanical strength and stiffness in materials. Such would have been inclusive in the recited calcium carbonate above and a sphere having an equivalent spherical diameter of less than about 2 m would have been obvious to the skilled artisan.
Claim 56 is directed to the system of claim 50, wherein at least about 50 wt% of the kaolin has an equivalent spherical diameter of less than about 2 m.
USP 8871056 discloses in the abstract and col. 3 and col. 4 lines 19-24, that least one filler and/or pigment is selected from the group comprising precipitated calcium carbonate (PCC); natural ground calcium carbonate (GCC); dolomite; talc; bentonite, clay; magnesite; satin white; Sepiolite, huntite, diatomite; silicates; and mixtures thereof. and would have been inclusive of the recited calcium carbonate having an equivalent spherical diameter of less than about 2 m.
Claim 57 is directed to the system of claim 51, wherein the ground calcium carbonate is limestone or marble.
USP 8871056 discloses marble, limestone and/or chalk, are especially preferred in col. 4 lines 25-28. See also USP9284474B2 likewise teaches combining inorganic particulates with cellulose based solids within thermosetting resins. See col. 1 lines 50-52 and col. 5 lines 26-30.
Claim 58 is directed to the system of claim 42, wherein the first stage high-shear rotor-stator apparatus is selected from a colloid mill, an ultrafine grinding apparatus, and a refiner.
USP 8871056 discloses the use of a rotor-stator mill for grinding in col. 1 line 50.
Claim 59 is directed to the system of
Note col. 3 line 59 of USP9284474B2
Claim 60 is directed to the system of claim 59, wherein the formaldehyde-based resin is selected from the group consisting of urea formaldehyde, melamine urea formaldehyde, phenol formaldehyde, and combinations thereof.
Note col. 3 line 59 of USP9284474B2
Claim 61 is directed to the system of claim41, wherein the thermosetting resin comprises isocyanate-based resin.
See col. 4 line 62 of USP9284474B2
Claim 62 is directed to the system of claim 61, wherein the isocyanate-based resin comprises polymeric methylene di-isocyanate.
See col. 4 line 62 of USP9284474B2
Claim 63 is directed to the claim 41, wherein the liquid composition is a homogenous composition.
USP 8871056 discloses homogenization . Note Figures 4a-6b, col. 6 line 67, col. 7 line 5.
Claim 64 is directed to the system of claim 41, wherein the nanocellulose comprises microfibrillated cellulose.
Note abstract of USP 8871056.
Claim 65 is directed to a method for producing a wood-based panel comprising applying the re-dispersed composition of claim1, or the liquid composition of claim 41, as a nanocellulose-resin adhesive during a wood-based panel production process.
USP 8871056 discloses that fibers are ground and cut to a certain fineness (depending on the desired properties). The grinding of the fibers is achieved with a refiner (such as a conic rotor-stator mill or disc- or double-disc refiners). The refiner also fibrillates the fibers on the surface which means that some fibrils are partially pulled out of the surface of the fiber. This leads to a better retention of, and, frequently, adhesion to, pigments, which may be added in paper production, and also to an enhanced potential of hydrogen bonding between the fibers.
Claim 66 is directed to the method of claim 65, wherein the wood-based panel is selected from the group consisting of plywood, particle board, fiberboard, low-density fiber board, medium- density fiber board, and high-density fiber board.
USP 8871056 discloses The fibers are ground and cut to a certain fineness (depending on the desired properties). The grinding of the fibers is achieved with a refiner (such as a conic rotor-stator mill or disc- or double-disc refiners). The refiner also fibrillates the fibers on the surface which means that some fibrils are partially pulled out of the surface of the fiber. This leads to a better retention of, and, frequently, adhesion to, pigments, which may be added in paper production, and also to an enhanced potential of hydrogen bonding between the fibers.
Claim Objections
Claims 21 and 26 is objected to because of the following informalities:
With regard to claim 21, the recited “r” after the recited “refiner” should be deleted.
With regard to claim 26 the recited “’partially’-dried” is either misspelled or needed clarification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Information Disclosure Statement
Note that any future and/or present information disclosure statements must comply with 37 CFR § 1.98(b), which requires a list of the publications to include: the author (if any), title, relevant pages of the publication, date and place of publication to be submitted for consideration by the Office.
Improper Claim Dependency
Prior to allowance, any dependent claims should be rechecked for proper dependency if independent claims are cancelled.
Correspondence
/Terressa Boykin/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765