Response to Arguments
The following is in response to the applicant’s remarks filed 12/17/25.
The applicant argues that Okamatsu does not teach the claimed proportion of columnar crystals or the claimed underlayer thickness, and further changes the scope of the invention by amending the limitations of claim 5 into claim 1. Additionally, the applicant argues that claim 1 exhibits unexpected results in view of table 1.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The applicant submits that the crystal orientation of Okamatsu does not reasonably correspond the claimed columnar crystal structures. The examiner maintains that the crystal orientation can be reasonably interpreted to read on the alleged limitations as evidenced by Tomomori, US20130086971A1. Tomomori teaches a nickel plating process comprising columnar nickel particles wherein the amount of columnar crystals is described through means of crystal orientation [0023][fig. 2]. Then, the crystal orientation of Okamatsu reasonably reads on the claimed feature in view of the generally understood meaning in the art. Regarding the asserted unexpected results, the results rely on parameters not currently present in the argued claim. For instance, the results of table 1 require the main layer thickness and the underlayer thickness. The evidence must be reasonably commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See, e.g., In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 1149, 14 USPQ2d 1056, 1058 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Then, the evidence is considered to be unpersuasive as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 2 and 6 – 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 by Okamatsu, US20180062121A1.
Regarding claim 1, Okamatsu teaches a secondary battery (battery (2))[0030] comprising:
a battery can (can (21))[fig. 2] having a container-shaped structure and containing a battery device inside (electrodes)[0030]; and
a cover member (electrode terminals (22)(211))[fig. 2] attached to an open surface [fig. 2] of the battery can via a gasket (gasket (27))[fig. 2][0030],
wherein the cover member (terminals (22)(211)) includes a stainless steel coated with a nickel plating (nickel plated stainless steel)[0032], and
the nickel plating has a crystal structure in which a proportion of columnar crystals is greater than or equal to 80 percent (example 10 comprising an orientation of 86.3 %)[0106](nickel particles having a (200) plane crystal orientation 70% or more)[0057]
wherein the columnar crystals comprise crystals each having, in a section of the nickel plating, a crystal height (roughness 0.1 – 0.8 μm)[0037] of greater than or equal to one-third a thickness of the nickel plating in a thickness direction (nickel plating thickness 0.5 – 3.5 μm)[0018] of the nickel plating. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists [MPEP 2144.05 I].
a crystal width (roughness 0.1 – 0.8 μm)[0037] of greater than or equal to one-tenth the thickness of the nickel plating (nickel plating thickness 0.5 – 3.5 μm)[0018] in an in-plane direction of the nickel plating. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists [MPEP 2144.05 I].
Regarding claim 2, Okamatsu teaches the secondary battery according to claim 1, wherein the nickel plating coats an entire surface including an end face of the stainless steel [0050].
Regarding claim 6, Okamatsu teaches the secondary battery according to claim 1, wherein the battery can has a cylindrical shape [fig. 1].
Regarding claim 7, Okamatsu teaches the secondary battery according to claim 1, wherein the secondary battery comprises a lithium-ion secondary battery [0077].
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okamatsu, US20180062121A1 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Horie, US20210268770A1.
Regarding claim 3, Okamatsu teaches the secondary battery according to claim 1,
A main layer (plating layer (12))[0063] provided on the underlayer and having a thickness of greater than or equal to 2.1 micrometers and less than or equal to 4.0 micrometers (0.5 μm – 3.5 μm)[0063]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists [MPEP 2144.05 I] wherein the nickel plating includes an underlayer (underlying layer)[0061].
Okamatsu does not teach the under layer having a thickness of greater than or equal to 0.2 micrometers and less than or equal to 0.8 micrometers.
Horie teaches a nickel plating comprising a main layer (12) and an under layer (underlying layer (13)) formed on a metal base material (11)[0053]. Horie teaches the under layer to have a thickness of 1.2 – 1.4 um. Further, Horie teaches that the under layer provides corrosion resistance [0065] when provided underneath a roughened main layer [0065]. The amount of nickel plating contributes to the thickness of the underlying layer [0064] and improves adhesion [0053]. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed thickness of the underlayer of Okamatsu in view of Horie to reduce corrosion and improve adhesion.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okamatsu, US20180062121A1 as applied to claim 1 above, Enomoto, US20210119286A1.
Regarding claim 4, Okamatsu teaches the secondary battery according to claim 1.
Okamatsu does not teach wherein the cover member has an opening, and a proportion of an opening area of the opening is greater than or equal to 9 percent and less than or equal to 12 percent, with respect to a sectional area of an internal space defined by the battery can and the cover member.
Enomoto teaches a secondary battery [0002] comprising a battery can (22)[0028] comprising a cover member (sealing body (11))[0028][fig. 1] wherein the cover member (11) has an opening (holes covered by thin walled portions (12a))[fig. 5] , and a proportion of an opening area of the opening is greater than or equal to 9 percent and less than or equal to 12 percent, with respect to a sectional area of an internal space defined by the battery can and the cover member (10 – 40% area)[0031]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists [MPEP 2144.05 I]. Further, Enomoto teaches the opening to allow for the cover member to deform more stably when internal pressure increases [0032]. Then, it would have been obvious to combine the opening of Enomoto into the battery of Okamatsu to increase stability during pressurization.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK MARSHALL GREENE/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724